Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 10 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Mar 022015

Town & Country

  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Blind spot monitoring system failed. The safety system is no longer functioning and the dealer said that both sensors have internal failures. Quoted over $2400 to replace the sensors.

- Palos Heights, IL, USA

problem #149

Feb 032015

Town & Country

  • 50,884 miles
I was driving and the vehicle kept prompting me blind spot service is not available. Like it was trying to reset. After rotating several times, it got stuck with message service blind spot monitor service. Both mirrors had the amber triangle lit up, kind of distracting. Dealer will not cover due to out warranty. Cost is > $2000 for two sensors with harness. I don't understand how both sensors went out at the same time. Each sensor is for each side. If Chrysler had a lifecycle that was short, consumers should have been made aware (similar to changing bulbs, fluids, battery, brakes, etc.). if you review the number of complaints, the vehicle should be recalled for this issue. Seems like Chrysler produced a part which was not fully tested.

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #148

Sep 172014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) in September of 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. Updated 4/30/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was scheduled to be repaired. Updated 10/23/15

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #147

Jun 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A recall was issued for the rear quarter vent window switch in June 2014 and I had the switch disabled as per the recall notice. The replacement part is still unavailable in March 2015. I travel with my dogs in crates in the back of my van and this means less ventilation for them. It would appear that Chrysler has probably figured that they can get away without manufacturing the part to complete the recall. A call to their group recall assistance center assured me that my "call was important to (them)" but obviously not important enough to answer in the 25 minutes I was on hold, which gave me time to fill out this complaint form while I was waiting for them to answer.

- Simsbury, CT, USA

problem #146

Mar 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to rear quarter vent window switch recall notice issues. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #145

Mar 022015

Town & Country

  • miles
2011 Chrysler Town and country. Consumer writes in regards to the rear quarter vent window switch recall notice. The consumer stated the part was not available, despite receiving the recall notice six months ago.

- Cloquet, MN, USA

problem #144

Feb 092015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Milan, MI, USA

problem #143

Mar 012015

Town & Country

  • 66,596 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The contact was made aware that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 66,596.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #142

Mar 162015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wyckoff, NJ, USA

problem #141

Mar 122015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/13/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired by Chrysler. Updated 6/29/2015

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #140

Dec 312014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #139

Mar 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to no replacement parts to complete recall. Recall # 14V234000.

- Sun City Center, FL, USA

problem #138

Sep 102014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the vehicle was unable to be serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/30/15 updated 05/05/15

- North Highlands, CA, USA

problem #137

Mar 032015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the blind spot sensor would falsely alarm. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the blind spot sensor and the wire harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 4/30/15 the consumer stated an internet search revealed others wiith a similar problems concerning the blind spot issue due to corrosion. Updated 10/23/15

- North Pole, AK, USA

problem #136

Mar 102015

Town & Country 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Re: recall P25. I took my car into Chrysler dealer this am. They said they did not have part. My car needs the parts for green lights. If I had blue lights, they have plenty of parts. I was told they had no idea when the parts would come in. First the technician told me to follow up with him in a few weeks. Finally he said he would order the part but didn't think there were any, anywhere. It would not help me to go to another dealer...no one has the part. He did not say anything about disconnecting the wires (as the message suggested when I called Chrysler). Not happy, I called the vehicle safety hotline and got a reference #763877. They told me to call Chrysler direct. After being on hold with Chrysler for an hour, I decided to write up this complaint. Where are the parts for the green light cars"?" I don't think there are any representatives at the Chrysler 800 number. Terrible service.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #135

Nov 052013

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #134

Jun 252014

Town & Country

  • 24,000 miles
Received recall notice from Chrysler Corp. For control switch on driver's armrest for rear vent windows, warning that the switch might malfunction and start fire. I took car to dealer as recommended for disconnection of switch and was informed that replacement switch was not currently available but I would be informed when replacements were received by dealer. Since then I have not received notice of replacement availability and when I contacted dealer they said they had not yet received replacement part. Since 8 or 9 months have now transpired since I could use my rear vent windows I am very disappointed. This seems to be an unusually long delay to replace a relatively simple component that requires less than 5 minutes to remove and replace!

- Jensen Beach, FL, USA

problem #133

Mar 042015

Town & Country

  • 54,000 miles
Blind spot monitoring system (bsms) malfunctioned at less than 54,000 miles and 4 years of driving. Dealer quoted cost to repair exceeds $1100 per side. System has been deactivated as the information system did not seem to function properly with the bsms turned on.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #132

Feb 152015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 59,900 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. In addition, the contact stated that the speedometer displayed zero and the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician stated that the electronic ignition device needed to be replaced and the key needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,900. Updated 3/31/15 updated 7/8/2015

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #131

Feb 242015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?