Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,389 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Sep 062016

Town & Country

  • 79,000 miles


Van at times would start then cut of while parked. When it would start and stay on when you are driving van would cut off now the van is at the Chrysler dealership in hopes of repair

- Walden, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 212016

Town & Country

  • 71,000 miles
7/21/2016 car started fine this morning went into store and would not start. Tried turning key about 8 times and then gave up for a minute or two. I tried again and it started. This happened about 1 month before while in my driveway. Same thing, I tried about 8 / 9 times then it started. I decided to call dealership today and have it taken in since I have a extended warranty. I also, did some research where a lot of people are saying that it is the tipm. I now noticed some of the other problems I have had with it tie into tipm, my driver window sometimes wont go up or down. The car will just lock even while running locking my keys inside. I can hear electrical things moving and shutting down after the vehicle is turned off, and about 2 weeks ago I was in park with the car running and I heard a loud pop and the whole car shut down. My check engine light also comes on and turns off whenever it feels like it for no apparent reason, I have 71,000 miles. When I bought the car I had to have the left head gasket replaced after having it towed from the ide of the road. I really think I bought a lemon, but will soon find out what the dealership says Tuesday which is the soonest they can get me in, hopefully I don't break down with my kids in it before then

- Garden Prairie, IL, USA

problem #19

May 122016

Town & Country

  • 63,496 miles
5-12-16 ignition failed could not start car. Ignition replaced @ Chrysler dealership in richmond, va. Haley charged $985.22. Ignition failed again replaced @ Chrysler dealership in bath, NY simmons - rockwell charged $292.04.

- Bath, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 292016

Town & Country

  • 77,465 miles


My car shuts off while driving and wont start right away. It gives no warning. It happens anywhere. It is unsafe in many ways.. I have taken it ot the dealer and the problem persist. I have no more warranty in the vehicle.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 042016

Town & Country

  • 83,000 miles
Vehicle invoved in accident on fwy, collision did over $6500 in damage. But the airbags never deployed. From looking thru internet I see that probs with the tipm can cause airbags not to deploy when needed. Have had other issues with tipm such as veh not starting on numerous occasions.

- Tustin, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Feb 022016

Town & Country

  • 104,000 miles
My blind spot monitoring system is malfunctioning. My vehicle has 104,000 miles. The blind spot system sensors were previously replaced after a similar malfunction at 74,000 miles 1.5 years ago (8/15/14). The vehicle is well maintained and taken care of and most miles are highway miles to and from work. Both blind spot indicators remain lit in the side mirrors once the vehicle is turned on -- both while stationary and while driving. This is extremely distracting and a saftey risk when driving. Also the vehicle information center continued to chime about every 10 minutes and the message screen switches to a warning with the indication to "service blind spot system." While driving. A simple online search of "service blind spot system" brings up multiple complaints of the exact same thing having happened to owners of multiple years of this make and model of this vehicle. All of these complaints, on average, had roughly the same amount of miles (30,000 - 50,000 -- I am now at 30,000 miles from when the system was last replaced. The first replacement occurred at 74,835 miles). Chrysler charges $1,200 per sensor for replacement. This appears to be a recurring problem/defect and there should be a recall for this issue. Both sensors should be replaced by Chrysler at no cost to the owner. The system failure causes a safety risk due to the incessant distraction caused by the system failure warnings flashing on the dash, the chiming, and the triangle lights in the side mirrors, all which I have been unable to turn off.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #15

Jan 312015

Town & Country

  • miles


2011 T&C, 50300 miles, having several ongoing problems with hard starts, hard shifting, power doors not staying open, closes automatically, extremely poor gas mileage.have had into dealer several times for these issues while under warranty and now again having problems and of course vehicle out of warranty. Vehicle has started by its self and have found power doors open when I returned to my vehicle. My current main problem is the ongoing issue of hard starts and now problem has escalated to crank and crank no fire, have to attempt several times (20-30), vehicle then will eventually fire RPM race to 3-4000rpms then stall, again several times of shutting off and attempting to start, eventually it starts sometimes taking 30 minutes to get it running. Also just today while driving vehicle attempted to stall rpms decrease, thankfully it did not stall as I was driving with my children in the vehicle in rush hour traffic. Definitely very concerned as this is a serious safety issue and an inconvenience. What happens when you are driving on the freeway going 70mph and the vehicle stalls, Chrysler definitely needs to do something due to severity of a safety issue

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #14

Nov 032015

Town & Country

  • 41,000 miles
Blind spot indicators began to malfunction with indicators in mirrors remaining on, and driver information system stating the blind spot indicator system failed. Also lost rear back-up camera shortly thereafter. Vehicle just has 41000 miles on it. It is a distraction as the unit constantly chimes of the blind spot monitoring being unavailable

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #13

Dec 012015

Town & Country

  • 71,000 miles
Randomly closes the powered doors and doesn't stop when obstructed, several trips to the dealer and no issues found. Always when in park and with all 3 methods of opening the door, fod, manually and interior button. Warning lights keep coming off and on (check engine and tire pressure low) but service shop says no issue. Autostart doesn't work much of the time but service center says when check engine light is on it won't. I autostarted my car but it wouldn't let me press the brakes, push the start button, put it in drive to operate the vehicle then it died. I was able to start again but it immediately died again several times. I was tehn locked in and the lights and horn kept flashing, the locks would not unlock. It very frequently does not detect the key and will randomly beep that the key is not detected while driving and will not start at all with the key in hand.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #12

Jan 142015

Town & Country

  • 59,000 miles
Purchased vehicle in August, 2014. In January 2015, after starting vehicle, blind spot system chimed and lights in mirrors stayed on steadily. System stated blind spot system not available. After much research, numerous complaints about this problem, and the cost to repair. This is a safety issue as it helps prevent crashes due to blind spots. Now every time I start vehicle, I have to listen to the chime informing me it is not operable. Vehicle had approximately 59,000 miles when this system failed.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #11

May 012015

Town & Country

  • 62,000 miles


-Jan 2015- the key was lodged in the ignition and would not come out. I had it towed to nearest chry dealer to fix. - Jan to may- car intermittently stalls/won't start. Sometimes starts with a jump. -may- mechanic/battery installed $268. -June/July- car intermittently stalls/won't start. Starts if you wait a while. -August-won't start/wont jump/stranded with kids/towed to mechanic. -changed my batteries in my key fobs at least 3 times in 2015. -I am constantly stranded with my children and spend days without my car waiting for mechanics to find out the problem. The Chrysler dealer informs me that it's a minimum of $200 just to look at it. It will most likely be more if it's electrical and they need a day or two. I have to get my kids to and from school and can't pay for another car. Mechanic said to look at bulletins/info on tipm and win. Other chry year/makes have had exact same issues and were recalled. There is a class action suit for this year/make and many more. How am I still driving? I was given a tip by a mechanic: Open the hood and then the fuse box. Remove the M27 fuse. Wait 10 seconds. Replace fuse. Start car. It's been working so far! apparently, this clears a software lockup in the module.

- Whitman, MA, USA

problem #10

Aug 202015

Town & Country

  • miles
We can not get Chrysler to order parts and repair the recall for the rear quarter vent window switch. This is recall P25/NHTSA 14V-234. They never have the parts and are not willing to order the needed parts for the recall. They suggest calling them weekly to see if any part came in that week.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #9

May 212014

Town & Country

  • 42,671 miles
While traveling on an interstate highway, the check engine light lit-up on the dash. I pulled off the road and called my dealer which was located 15 miles away and was told that I may not make it back to them for service. The engine would quit. I did drive to the dealer without incident. The alternator was replaced by the dealer at a cost of $577.35. The cause of the failure of the alternator was not identified, 14V-634 does not include the Town and country but includes other Chrysler, Dodge and Jeep vehicles of the same year. I am requesting that this vehicle be considered for this recall.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #8

Jun 232015

Town & Country

  • 42,000 miles
The blind spot detection system stopped working. Upon further investigation, it was determined that both sensors in the rear quarter panels and 1 plug need to be replaced. The right rear sensor was completed corroded through and separated apart. The plug for this sensor is also melted from the corrosion. The left rear sensor has a large bulge in the plastic from over heating. I contacted the dealer and was told that this is a known problem but there is no recall. The estimate over the phone was $3,000

- Highland Heights, OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 252014

Town & Country

  • 68,000 miles
Blind spot monitoring system failed. Warning triangles in both outside mirrors stay on constantly. Menu showed message to service blind spot monitoring system. From research on the internet premature failure of this system is common, and very expensive. There should be a recall since it is a safety system.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #6

Jun 052015

Town & Country

  • 55,000 miles
Car would not start or turn over, air bag light came on!

- Pembroke, GA, USA

problem #5

Feb 182015

Town & Country

  • miles
I received a safety recall for the rear quarter vent window switch. When we went to the dealer to make an appointment to have it replaced, they told us they have requested this part numerous times with no success.

- Chiefland, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 232015

Town & Country

  • 36,545 miles
Blind spot monitoring intermittently working. Very dangerous for lane changes

- Round Lake, IL, USA

problem #3

Jul 212014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving at night, a fault appeared in the dash stating that the blind spot detection system needed service. The blind spot indicators in each side view mirror stayed illuminated. At night these orange lights are distracting to the driver. Since they are always illuminated, it causes the driver to second-guess whether a lane change can be made or not even after checking the blind spot. Took the van in to be serviced at a Chrysler dealership. The service technician determined that the blind spot detection module is damaged due to water getting inside and shorting it out. The module would need to be replaced at a cost of over $1,200. He also stated that it is a common problem and gave me the Chrysler star case([xxx]) documentation that they have from Chrysler. This is obviously a design defect as the module is not designed to get wet but is located in a location that allows it to get wet. Replacing this would not solve the problem, it would only lead me to replace it in another few years, not to mention the module on the other side of the vehicle. The service technician disabled the system via the console controls, which solved the problem of the indicator lights constantly being on. However, this has led to another safety concern in that the driver of the vehicle has been driving the vehicle for three years with the detection system enabled and is used to seeing the indicators illuminated when a vehicle is present in the blind spot. I contacted Chrysler but they would not help out with the cost of the repair. Due to this issue being safety-related, the fact that Chrysler has acknowledged the issue with their own service case, and the fact that the repair is prohibitively expensive for most owners, that this problem should result in a recall and be repaired and the root issue solved by Chrysler so that the issue does not keep re-occurring. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #2

May 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Several weeks ago the blind-spot alert system in my 2011 Chrysler Town and country malfunctioned. I brought the vehicle to my local Chrysler dealer. The vehicle has over 50,000 miles (and less than 55,000 miles, at that time) so this was not a warranty issue. When the bumper was removed, it contained a significant amount of road debris and road salt. The left side blind-spot alert module was corroded. They quoted replacing that module at about $1200. At the dealer I saw a rear bumper assembly that has relatively small openings that allow debris to enter without a way for it to leave. This made it easy for salt and debris to enter and difficult for it to leave. This promoted the corrosion. I contacted Chrysler. Their position was they did not cover corrosion under any circumstances. I can forward my email exchange with Chrysler to you. I visited a local collision repair shop. They removed the rear bumper. With their expertise, they were able to inform me that the opening that allowed debris and salt to enter was located where the rear tires would throw road debris and road salt at the opening. Chrysler is replacing between 375 and 400 of these modules a week ? at over $1000 each, before labor to install.

- Lynn, MA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?