Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: With questionable safety ratings, a faulty power control module (PCM) and a rear subframe that can rust out, the first model year Escape is known for problems. But the worst one of all? A design flaw that carried through multiple model years and caused dangerous unintended acceleration.

A lack of clearance between the engine cover and the speed control cable connector meant the throttle could get stick open when the accelerator was fully depressed. Following a petition from the Center for Auto Safety, NHTSA opened an investigation and eventually issued a recall to fix the sticky throttles in the 2001–2004 model years.

Even with the throttles fixed, the 2001 model year could still have trouble stopping due to multiple problems with leaking brakes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
115,310 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jul 202015

Escape

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. While driving between 5-10 mph, the throttle became stuck when the accelerator pedal was fully depressed. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The contact was informed that the differential pressure feedback egr (dpfe) sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V353000 (engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 190,000.

- Wilseyville, CA, USA

problem #22

May 202010

Escape

  • miles
Despite numerous calls to Ford, I still receive recall notices on this vehicle, however it was a cash for clunkers vehicle. I participated in this program and the vehicle was permanently disabled back in 2009/2010.

- Howard City, MI, USA

problem #21

Jul 132016

Escape

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. While accelerating from a stop light, the vehicle shook, stalled, and all the lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 04V175000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000. Updated 09/08/16

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #20

Apr 202016

Escape

  • 260,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the express way the car engine was stuck accelerating until it threw a rod and the engine quit after that. Was driving 60 until the car started accelerating

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #19

Mar 072016

Escape

  • 267,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. While parked, the vehicle failed to move when the gear stick was shifted from park to drive. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. In addition, the contact mentioned that the check engine light illuminated. It was detected that oil was leaking onto the exhaust manifold. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 267,000.

- Waterford Twp, MI, USA

problem #18

May 142014

Escape

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owned a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number; 12V353000 (engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control). While driving approximately 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed however, the vehicle failed to accelerate causing the vehicle to crash into a commercial vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #17

Jul 062015

Escape

  • 122,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. While driving at 45 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly decelerated and the battery light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle stalled and was able to be restarted after several attempts. The contact was able to drive for approximately five more minutes before the vehicle stalled again. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Petula, NE, USA

problem #16

Feb 102015

Escape

  • 186,000 miles
Was running fine then started the car one morning and idle was out of control and is unsafe to drive with the idle as high as it

- Paris, TN, USA

problem #15

Mar 192015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
While parked in employee's parking lot the Ford Escape engine started to smoke then caught fire.

- Forest Park, GA, USA

problem #14

Apr 012005

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact stated that whenever it rained or snowed, the vehicle would stutter and fail to accelerate over 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the coil pack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired numerous times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #13

Nov 152014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 210,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son was going down the road about 60 miles an hour when a big deer came out in front of him. He jammed on his brakes skidding but still hit the deer totaling the car. Not one of the airbags came out. He went forward hitting his upper body and face on the steering wheel. He had his seat belt on. The police were called to the accident. He was taken to the hospital by friends. He turned black and blue and still is hurting. The car was just inspected the end of October. I feel Ford and the manufacturer should be held liable. That the car should be replaced because of the airbags not working causing injury. I'm without a car...updated 12/04/14 updated 06/2/2015

- Campbell, NY, USA

problem #12

May 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Here recently I have had several occurrences of my 2001 Escape stalling while driving. On 2 occasions I was approaching a stop light, slightly uphill and when I pressed the brake the car completely shut off losing all power and steering and I had to "stand" on the brakes to stop. A few other times it happened while I was turning a corner as well as going through a stop light turning right or left, not going fast at all. Pretty scary stuff. I have had no problem starting it back up after the occurrences, however it keeps happening.

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #11

Dec 242012

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle made a loud noise and black smoke started to emit from the rear end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the engine was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was unknown.

- Waynesboro, MS, USA

problem #10

Jun 142014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 135,423 miles
We were driving around a curve and onto a straight part of the road about 40-43 mph and the engine just cut off. We were able to coast over to the side of the road and stop. The steering and brakes had no power. We tried starting the engine and it cranked but acted like it was not getting any fuel (there was half a tank). We left to get a ride and when we returned to tow the car it started right up and has been driving fine since. We are afraid to drive it now because if we had been in traffic we would have been in an accident.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #9

May 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Stuttering and stalling.

- Glen Gardner, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jul 292013

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, a fire started in the engine compartment. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was not diagnosed to determine the cause of the fire. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available. Updated 06/24/14 the consumer stated while driving approximately 65mph, a low pop was heard. Black smoke rolled into the interior of the vehicle. The vehicle was totaled. Updated 06/25/2014

- Marshalltown, IA, USA

problem #7

Oct 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Shortly after being parked and shut off the vehicle caught fire within the engine compartment and destroyed everything in the front end of the vehicle.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #6

Oct 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
On October 10th, 2013, my wife and I had met for her birthday dinner at a restaurant in our town. My wife drove the 2001 Ford Escape to the restaurant, about 5 miles, from our home and parked the car. We had been at dinner for approximately 25 minutes when the waitress asked us if we drove a red SUV. We were led to the vehicle that was on fire and in the process of being extinguished by the fire department. The fire investigator said that it looked as if the fire had started on the driver's side of the engine compartment and that nothing else looked suspicious. He pointed out that the wire insulation on that side of the engine compartment was all melted away to bare copper and that the passenger side wiring was still more intact. The fire destroyed the entire front end of the car, the engine compartment, the driver's side fender, the driver's side tire and rim and melted the driver's side dashboard. The entire inside of the vehicle is smoke damaged since the car was locked up. The vehicle is a total loss. Just grateful that my daughter or wife weren't driving it at the time of the fire.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 102013

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact stated the hatch failed to lock. The contact also stated that the vehicle suddenly and intermittently stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were unavailable.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #4

Jul 032013

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,528 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while ascending a hill at 50 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle down shifted and the throttle seized. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 12V353000 (engine and engine cooling, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was 70,528. Updated 08/27/13

- Minden, NV, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?