Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 12 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #383

Aug 282014

Escape

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. Also, the air bag and traction control lights intermittently illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose a failure and no repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 139,000.

- Union Town , OH, USA

problem #382

Jul 142014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the failure recurred. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized on several occasions. Additionally, the contact was unable to turn the steering wheel and was not able to start the vehicle due to the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #381

Dec 282014

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Took the vehicle in for the 14S05 recall, which is intended to correct a steering issue. This occurred on 12/10/2014. The repair supposedly reprogrammed the power steering torque sensor to prevent the power steering from turning off while driving. On 12/28/2014 the power steering failed, which seems to be the reason for the recall. We took the vehicle in for repair on 12/29/2014. The Ford Motor Company denied repairing the vehicle because the recall work was already done on the vehicle. My complaint is that the service action completed on 12/10/2014 by the lawley Ford, silver city dealership, directed by the Ford Motor Company, did nothing to actually fix a known safety issue. In addition, it provided my family with a false sense of safety because it is reasonable to assume the steering issue was resolved.

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #380

Dec 222014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second time in two years that the electronic power steering has failed in the vehicle. The fist was in 2012 and caused the steering to lock up while my wife was driving. At that time I had the entire steering column replaced at the dealership for a considerable expense. The vehicle is currently loosing steering sensation in a way the vehicle feels as if it is slipping on ice. The steering wheel will turn at highway speed with no response from the vehicle. Needless to say this is a nightmare. The vehicle feels unsafe and out of control when it exhibits these characteristics. I checked recall info and have found that this is a common complaint on these vehicles. There is a recall, but my VIN is not included. I hope this gets handled quickly before there are more accidents and injuries.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #379

Oct 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 28,311 miles
The condenser is combined with power steering and transmission. This vehicle should not of had a leak as it only has 28311 miles on it. This is bad for ground water as fluid leaks goes on street and into storm drains. Cost to fix is about $700.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #378

Dec 102014

Escape

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle stalled. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was able to restart after multiple attempts. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the recall remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 116,000.

- Orem, UT, USA

problem #377

Dec 092014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 95,092 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since owning vehicle problems with steering would happen once in a while ( once a month ) on 10/09/14 took car in for re-call. Two months later no power steering again...company who worked on car the first time said it was a different issue.not possible, doing same thing before they so-called fixed it..(12/10/14) the cost was over 500 dollars..

- St.Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #376

Dec 152014

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated when starting the vehicle, the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Silver City , NM, USA

problem #375

Dec 032014

Escape

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the power steering assist failed. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 79,000.

- Polland , OH, USA

problem #374

Nov 242014

Escape

  • 250,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the power steering control module and instrument control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 250,000. The VIN was not available.

- Los Alamitos, CA, USA

problem #373

Nov 212014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford recall 14S05 / NHTSA recall 14V-284, concerning power steering failure software update, completed 4 August 2014. Software update alone was a failure. Vehicle re-exhibited steering wheel shimmy symptoms 20 November 2014, and completely failed 21 November 2014, without any accompanying visible/audible warnings, I.e. chime or lighted dash indicator. Dealer appointment is scheduled for 26 November 2014.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #372

Nov 172014

Escape

  • 150,732 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the steering unit sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). However, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,732.

- Summerville, GA, USA

problem #371

Nov 182014

Escape

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the power steering failed and no warning indicators illuminated. The failure had recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the torque system was faulty. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was not available. ## VIN failed ## 2008 Ford Escape ##

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #370

Nov 152014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The power steering failed 2 month after the recall was done to fix the problem. There was a recall notice (14S05) from Ford advising me to take my car in to fix the sensor that causes loss of power steering. The only thing they did was a software upgrade to alert you when the sensor fails. This is not fixing the problem. Please contact me if you need additional details.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #369

Oct 012014

Escape

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving various speeds, the steering wheel seized and extreme force was required to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering), but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the torque sensor or steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Wadsworth, TX, USA

problem #368

Nov 192014

Escape

  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 20 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they remedied the recall. However, the failure recurred. The dealer stated that the torque sensor failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 185,000.

- Pittsboro , IN, USA

problem #367

Nov 142014

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
Pursuant to the 2014 recall on my vehicle, I took my 2008 Escape to be serviced. Upon information and belief, the torque sensor module was reprogrammed to prevent the loss of steering. Said service was performed on October 1, 2014. On November 14, 2014, the vehicle lost complete control of steering while driving with my young child, three hours from home. After having the vehicle towed to the dealership that performed the work under the recall, I was told we were responsible for the repairs, despite the mechanic admitting and agreeing with us that it was an issue that should have been fixed under the recall. The mechanic's hands were tied as Ford would not authorize the work to be performed on the company's expense. The estimated price of repairs is $1600. The mechanic also told us had we not brought the vehicle in as instructed by the well publicized recall and the steering failed, it would have been covered under the recall. The recall states, "alternatively, the dealer may need to replace the torque sensor or the steering column. This service will be performed free of charge (parts and labor)". Ford indicated by phone that this only applies to the first visit. Any subsequent visit for a recall issue is the owner's expense. Ford's misrepresentations in its recall notice and subsequent actions are unfair and deceptive trade practices, not to mention an extreme safety issue and danger to consumers who believe not that their vehicle is safe to drive after being serviced by the recall.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #366

Sep 142014

Escape

  • 184,097 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the torque sensor was faulty. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician did not replace the torque sensor. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 184,097.

- Hamilton , NJ, USA

problem #365

Sep 012014

Escape

  • 120,000 miles
I took my Escape to the Ford dealership because it was having power steering problems. I was told there was a recall and they took my car for about 15 minutes. I received it back and was told that it was reprogrammed and fixed. A few days later the power steering went out completely while driving in southern Indiana.. I took it back and was told that nothing could do because it had already been reprogrammed.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #364

Nov 062014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
10/8 per recall14S05/14V-284 brought vehicle into koerner Ford of syracuse where they updated the pscm. 11/6 while driving, car lost power steering. 11/11 brought car into mechanic who identified it as a B2278 steering shaft torque sensor malfunction. Called koerner as this should have been fixed under the recall. Koerner advised that they've already serviced it under the recall and we would have to pay for the vehicle to be fixed. Called Ford customer service rep twice (11/11 and 11/13) who said that the service manager from koerner advised that his recall notice states that if he updates the software and there is no other codes coming up when the car is brought in for the recall service, they do not need to fix it. Per my recall notice, that is not directly or indirectly stated. Also learned from Ford rep on 11/13 that the koerner service manager stated that this happened to another vehicle and they refused to fix it under the recall. To me, this appears to be shady business practice.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?