10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
98,395 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 11 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #403

Mar 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving to work and the steering column started to vibrate and then the power steering went completely out. My vehicle was doing the same thing last summer and I received a mailed postcard with a power steering recall. I took it to my local dealer and they reset a sensor. It had been working fine until two weeks ago. The power steering has gone out several more times for short periods. I called Ford regarding the issue and they told me they could do nothing for me this time & that the repairs would be at my expense. I feel as if the power steering going out is a safety issue and because of the recall from last summer, Ford should be responsible for fixing it. Updated 09/23/15.

- Galena, OH, USA

problem #402

Jan 222015

Escape

  • 128,000 miles
I went to my Ford garage at about 100,000 miles complaining that the power assist steering stops working sporadically. With no warning the car steers manually, with no lights that go on. After starting the car sometimes it would drive fine and sometimes it would revert to manual steering. Took it to the garage knowing something was wrong and they tested it and told me there was nothing wrong with it. Again it happened at about 115,000 miles and when they tested it they said nothing was wrong with it. I told them there is something wrong with it, whether the code is showing up or not. About 2 months and 123,000 miles the vehicle was recalled for power steering assist fail, which I knew was the problem with the car from the beginning. At that time, they said again, they performed the recall and nothing needs to be fixed. Now at 128,000 miles the power assist fail light comes on and stays on and I only have manual steering. I took it to the garage for which I thought would be covered repairs and they stated that Ford will not cover the steering column replace, which is needed, because the recall sensor was replaced the last time I was in. To me that is not fixing the problem at all, it is simply now able to tell me there is something wrong with the vehicle, which I knew about over 28,000 miles ago. The garage says it is totally up to Ford to decide if they will pay for the recall and they say that they are not responsible. This is not how a recall should be repaired. They are not covering what is actually wrong with the vehicle, just the sensor that tells you something is wrong. According to my paperwork when I received the recall, if repeated problems the steering column should be a covered recall by Ford.

- Whitelaw, WI, USA

problem #401

Jan 082015

Escape

  • 145,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape. While driving, the steering wheel would start to shake and the steering was slightly drifting to the right. Made an appointment with the Ford chapman dealership in warminster, pa who wouldn't 'see' the car and schedule an appointment for 2 weeks away. Driving into work Thursday morning, 22-Jan-2015, the "power steering assistant failure" light came on. After work, when I went to leave, my car wheel wouldn't turn at all so I called the dealership. Steering wheel was now in 'manual' mode. Dealership said to drive it to the shop. Dealership said the steering sensor has failed again, the column needs to be fully replaced, but isn't covering it, which costs ~$1,500 plus a rental car. Ford Escape had an initial steering sensor fail in 2014.

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #400

Jan 152015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) but the problem has recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Butler , PA, USA

problem #399

Jan 242015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 110,898 miles
My car was serviced at century Ford mt. Airy on 11/14/2014 at 110,472 miles for Ford recall 14S05. Ticket showed recall work was "completed". on 1/24/15 at 110,898 miles, the power steering failed and almost caused me to crash. Luckily, I was able to force the steering wheel to avoid the accident. Obviously, the work being conducted by Ford to correct this steering failure issue under recall 14S05 is not working. The NHTSA needs to investigate what type of work Ford has done on my car and others that is not correcting the problem. Ford may just be completing a "software update" to update the software for the power steering control module (pscm) and the instrument cluster module system that is not correcting the problem and the entire steering system my need to be replaced to avoid such system failures in the future. Updated 04/13/15......updated 10/15/15

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #398

Jan 092015

Escape

  • 105,493 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician was unable to determine the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,493.

- Odessa , TX, USA

problem #397

Jan 232015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After the recall on the power steering for the 2008 Ford Escape we have had numerous issues. Moses Ford of St. Albans, wv said the computer must re-set. At 7:30 a.M. on 1/23/15 the power steering went out. Ford Motor Company states we must pay for all repairs even though a problem has existed. Was told that some cars had to have complete system replaced because of problems. This comment was made when I contacted Ford Motor Company. The computer was just re-programmed on mine.

- Poca, WV, USA

problem #396

Jan 142015

Escape

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel began shaking uncontrollably. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that steering column electric motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Hadley, MI, USA

problem #395

Jan 202015

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel was stiff and difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 4/13/15 the consumer stated upon putting the vehicle in reverse, he discovered there was no power steering. A diagnosis revealed the torque sensor needed to be replaced. Updated 06/04/15

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #394

Jul 012014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at 70 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to turn and the throttle control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician serviced the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Collinsville, OK, USA

problem #393

Nov 172014

Escape

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn. The recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (power steering) was received in August of 2014. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who updated the power steering software but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that the failure was no longer covered under the recall due to the failure codes not being previously present when performing the recall remedy. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #392

Nov 052014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 146,000.......updated 03/31/15

- Diberville, MS, USA

problem #391

Jan 202014

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
Despite performing Ford's safety recall 14S05, my vehicle's power steering continues to fail, ceasing to operate for hours or days, along with loss of traction control. The unpredictable failures seem to be associated with torque sensor (wheel angle) faults at low outdoor temperatures (<10F). The last failure occurred with a guest at the wheel (in the driveway, thank goodness) resulting in her backing into a snow bank and damaging the tail pipe. Despite the clear documentation of this problem in NHTSA recall 14V-284, after two full days at the dealer, the service manager indicates Ford will not authorize any action until they can replicate the failure in real time. Does that mean they need to keep the car until the next cold front" or should I contact someone from Ford to come immediately to wherever I am when the steering next fails? will that be from a ditch on the side of an icy road when steering suddenly activates or deactivates without warning" given the very well documented problems with the Ford Escape electronic power steering system, I would expect Ford to authorize at least the next step in repairing this problem immediately. I would also expect a very reasonably priced repair of the damaged tail pipe connection. Unfortunately, according to [xxx], a second tier Ford customer relations manager, "there is absolutely nothing Ford can do to correct this problem unless is occurs while at the dealer." Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #390

Jan 142015

Escape

  • 70,000 miles
Approximately in March of 2014, we had an issue with the ABS light coming on and traction control coming on for no reason at all. This made driving/steering extremely difficult. We took it to the shop where the tone ring and speed sensor were replaced. In December 2014, we had similar issues and we took it to the Ford dealership. We were told it was a speed sensor issue again. The work was done at the independent shop though since they did the original work. Yet again, in January 2015 we were experiencing the same issues again and had the car towed to the shop. The left front speed sensor was diagnosed as the problem. There is obviously some sort of failure that is occurring to trigger this issue. If you do a google search, there are several complaints similar to mine. I believe this should be investigated for a possible recall. This is crating a safety issue that can lead to accidents.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #389

Jun 112014

Escape

  • 106,883 miles
My 2008 Ford Escape started having power steering failures in 6/11/2014 said they wouldn't have the program to fix it until July. 2014. So in November 2014 I took it in to have the recall fixed.. they said it was a reprogram fix. And after 2 weeks it was doing the same thing again so I have it towed on a flat bed and they say another reprogram fix.. this is the 3rd time it's been to the dealer for the same problem. So just yesterday January 14,2015 it started doing the same thing again!! obviously they never fixed the recall in the first place.!!! they tell me it's the steering column that has to be replaced and it's not covered!!! omg the first letter stated either they would do the reprogram fix, the steering column or the torque sensor.and it would be covered parts and labor. So here I sit with a piece of junk that the recall never fixed in the first place. I will never buy a Ford again!! I called Ford Motor Company and they told pretty much that I was out of luck and I could file legal papers!! if I had the money to fight Ford Motor Company I would have already junked the piece of crap and bought a new Chevy..

- Black River, NY, USA

problem #388

Jan 022015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
On several occasions my steering wheel would shake and shut off. This problem started right over my 40,000 mile mark. Strangely this problem would happen for four months out of the year, then would come back on. I reported it several times to the dealer when I took it in for my lifetime oil change. In July 2014 I received a letter stating that Ford Motor Company has issued a recall to fix the problem with the steering. In the same paragraph it said replacement of torque sensor or steering column replacement may be needed. I took the car in Aug. And a reboot was done to the computer so the error for the steering fault would alarm. I thought this problem was fixed. Well I was driving last week, and my steering alarm went off then my steering shut off. I called the dealer and tried to get the car back in to fix the steering problem, I was told that Ford decided to not pay for the replacement of the entire steering column that we were going to have to pay for it ourselves. I called the Ford help line, and they created a case# and I spoke with a couple of different people, they then told me that unless the steering was out at the exact time of the recall that the don't have to fix it. I continued to argue my letter stating that it said, that either item column or sensor were covered and going to be replaced. Nowhere does it say only the first time you take it in for the recall, either or would be replaced. The woman then kept reiterating that Ford doesn't have the financial recourses to fix the problem. Wow apparently everyone else has $2000 laying around to fix it too. I am so disappointed in this slimy business practice by this company. I expected more from such a reputable company. I will never buy another vehicle from Ford again! they are not guaranteeing their recall!

- Eagle, ID, USA

problem #387

Jan 072015

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering assist light illuminated. The contact had to apply excessive force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Rushylvania, OH, USA

problem #386

Jan 072015

Escape

  • miles
After they did the recall on the 2008 Ford Escape went and got it fix then in January 7 2015 the power steering just completely went out while in mid turn on a highway.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #385

Jan 052015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Ford issued a recall in July 2014 for steering torque sensor issues. Remedies included reprogramming the pcsm or repairing/replacing the entire steering column. I took my vehicle in to get repairs under the recall in November 2014. Apparently, the dealership only found it necessary to reprogram the pcsm. In the immediate weeks following, I started to have steering problems and was getting fault codes for power steering sensor failure. I thus took my vehicle in again to get it checked out. The torque sensor needed to be replaced, which incidentally required that the entire steering column be replaced.. this is the exact issue Ford issued a recall for, and agreed to fix, but has refused to repair because they said the "repair" was performed when they reprogrammed the pcsm. This was not a repair. (incidentally, it may have been what accelerated or caused the ultimate torque sensor failure.) a quick online search reveals I am not alone in this problem. This forum has numerous 2008 Ford Escape owners describing exactly what happened to me: www.Escape-city.com/viewtopic.php?F=24&T=25610. Please request that Ford actually repair the steering column issues in its vehicles, instead of using the guise of reprogramming in an attempt to limit its liability.

- Boulder, CO, USA

problem #384

Sep 012014

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
We purchased the 2008 Ford Escape XLS in May 2014. Soon afterwards the power steering would randomly cease functioning making it difficult to steer. There were multiple failures between May 2014 to December 2014. This prompted me to do some research into the issue. I discovered that there was a factory recall (14S05) that dealt with the faulty software/hardware. On Friday 12/05/2014, in the am, brought 2008 Ford Escape XLS, to the ken garff Ford in american fork for them to perform the necessary action to resolve Ford Escape recall 14S05. I dropped off the vehicle and assuming the Ford service department would take all the necessary actions to fully complete the work called for in the recall. My wife picked up the vehicle that evening and we assumed that all steps in the recall were completed. On Thursday 12/11/2014, in the am, the electric power steering went out on the vehicle twice while driving the vehicle. We returned to the dealership on that date (12/11/2014). They were not able to look at the vehicle until the following day, Friday 12/12/2014. On that date, we were told that the steering column parts were not replaced and that all the did was perform a software update. I asked them why they had not replaced part that was called for in the recall. They told me that when they checked that there were no error codes recorded. I told them that was not possible because it had just failed the previous week. They told me that they would not replace the steering column per the recall as they had fulfilled their obligation the previous week and that Ford Motor Company had deemed the recall as completed. I am writing this letter as it is my belief that Ford Motor Company and ken garff Ford in american fork did not properly execute this recall and they are responsible for the parts and labor to make my 2008 Ford Escape safe to drive.

- Eagle Mountain, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?