Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,686 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 3 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #420

Feb 072014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 14,450 miles


I was pulling into a parking spot at a cvs pharmacy, about to put my car in park when it surged forward and into the doors of the store. I was not injured but mortified that I could have killed someone. When I received the recall notice I took my vehicle to five star Ford in plano, tx. Today, I had my state inspection yesterday and asked if they could pull up the trouble codes on my computer. The manager told me that the shop's computer couldn't but he had his own code reader that would show the complete record. He did and told me it was erased and there was nothing on it. Five star Ford in plano is the only place my car has been to that could possibly do this since the accident. I asked them at that time if I could get a transcript from the computer but they said they couldn't do it.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #419

Aug 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
I was driving my vehicle onto I-95 when the wrench light came on and the car started to buck and pull unable to accelerate the vehicle; pulled over to the side of the highway and turned car off for a few minutes and restarted the car but was no able to accelerate and had to drive on the shoulder until I was able to exit. The vehicle had done it before a few times but since last episode, having returned home on side streets, the car will not drive and is sitting on my driveway.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #418

Jan 232014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,125 miles
While driving at 55mph on road. I lost all power to gas pedal the car was hard to steer to the side of the road. Put car in park shut car off.waited a few minutes an started car up. It ran this happens 2 or 3 times on the same day then it might not happen again for a week or two this a ongoing problem that Ford should place a safety recall not on soft customer satisfaction program#13no3 this is a serious safety issue.

- Frankfort, NY, USA

problem #417

Jul 202014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 33,044 miles


I was driving at 40mph on a city street. The vehicle suddenly shuddered and began to slow down. I am now aware to look for a trouble light. The wrench light was illuminated although difficult to see through the glare of the windshield. I was clearly able to see the light. The car slowed to a complete stop. The engine continued to run rough and there was no loss of electrical power. I put the car into park and restarted the car. The car ran without incident until I was able to park at home-about 5 miles away. The car had routine service on 7-16-2014. A throttle body reading was not done, as I requested at time of service, although it was documented, in writing, that there was a calibration update for my vehicle at this time. A previous incident of complete electrical failure was blamed on a faulty battery in March. I had absolutely no previous indication "failure" or cranking issues up until the time of electrical power/battery failure. Even the key fob did not work to unlock the doors. The battery was replaced at my expense. Inquiries about the throttle body issue was were also ignored, by the dealer, at that time.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #416

Jul 132014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 56,015 miles
The car entered into failure mode effects management (fmem) mode or limp mode when it was on high way, malfunction indicator lamp (mil) or wrench lamp were both on the dash. The power and vehicle speed was getting reduced, even when I was trying to accelerate the car. Before this issue happened, software program for the PCM (powertrain control module) is updated with responding to a service letter from Ford and the problem is not fixed.

- Canton , MI, USA

problem #415

Jul 022014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 61,250 miles
While traveling on I495 at a steady highway speed of 68mph the car without warning dropped to idle speed with rapid deceleration. The engine did not shut down but ran approx. 800-900rpm. We pulled to the side of the to avoid being hit from behind. I had to shut the car off and restart to get any throttle response. I traveled off the interstate on slower roads to get home for fear of this happening at high speed again. It has happened three more time both at high speed and acceleration from a stop. It was back to the Ford dealer for the recall 13B17 on 7/7/14. There have been two more events of no power from stop and low power at highway speed since the tsb was performed. No parts have been replaced, no codes set.

- Salisbury, MA, USA

problem #414

Jun 212014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles


I was pulling out of a parking lot gave it gas. The car went clunk and then stopped moving but engine was still running. Luckily I got to the side of the road shut it off waited a but then tried to start it. At first it hesitated but started. 2 days later it did it again. Had it on a computer nothing showed up. 2 weeks later on a Saturday it happened again. Then on Monday going to work it did it again. When I was coming home from work that day it did it 2 more times at that time the service engine light came on and then we were able to get a code. He code came up as P2112. Thank you.

- Hackettstown, NJ, USA

problem #413

Jun 232014

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate and the wrench light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure and no repairs had been made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 52,800 and the current mileage was 53,000. Updated 08/14/14 the throttle body assembly was replaced. Updated 09/16/14

- Ukiah, CA, USA

problem #412

Jun 112014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 95,456 miles
On numerous occasions I have noticed my truck accelerating while I was stopped. On June 10, I was on my way to church and I was driving and my car stopped accelerating and when I pressed the accelerator it no power went to the car and it started spurting. I had to coast and pull over. The wrench light came on. I cut the truck off and then cranked the car again and I was accelerating. Two days later this happened to me again two different times.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #411

Jun 092014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
I was driving to work on I75 at 75 mph when my 2010 Ford Escape lost power dropping to less than 20 mph. I was able to get from the left lane to the berm three lanes to my right. I waited about 5 minutes and restarted the car driving about 100 yds. When it happened again. I turned the car off and waited about 20 minutes then restarted and was able to get to work on side roads with the car surging and jerking along the way. I took the car to huntington Ford the next day and they could not find a cause. The following day I received a letter from Ford regarding what huntington referred to as a "limp home" mode which let take to a dealer and have the throttle body reprogrammed, which I did. The car was ok for a few days after that and then started stalling and surging again. I called the dealer and they said I should replace the throttle body but that even though it was under an extended warranty I would still need to pay for the replacement.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #410

Oct 062010


  • 2,000 miles


My 2010 Ford Escape has been hesitate and then lurches since I brought brand new the first year I brought it they had to put a transmission in it for this problem and still the problem has continue I has almost been in several accident because I think this is a safety concern please let me know what step should I take to get this problem solve thank you U can contact me at[xxx] cell home [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Belton, MO, USA

problem #409

Jun 132014


  • 57,000 miles
Traveling approximately 30-40 mph when the wrench indicator illuminated and the vehicle lost all power. I coasted into a pull off on the side of the road. Turned off the vehicle. Restarted a few minutes later and was able to accelerate. In approximately five minutes, at the same approximate speed, the wrench indicator illuminated again and the vehicle lost all power. Again I turned off the vehicle and then restarted. I was able to get to the local Ford dealership. The dealership could not find any codes stored in the system and they were unable to duplicate the problem. The recalled "reprogramming" was completed on the car. They have offered to keep my vehicle for an additional day to try to reproduce the problem and to check a few additional items.

- Forest, VA, USA

problem #408

Jun 122014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Traveling on freeway 65mph sudden loss of speed, unable to accelerate when pushed on gas pedal, was able to steer and brake, maneuvered to side of the road, "wrench" warning light appeared on dashboard. Turned off ingniton then restarted car functioned normally. Felt car was to dangerous to drive and had car towed to Ford dealership, replaced electronic throttle body. Very dangerous to loose power at that speed on the freeway, was in middle lane in heavy traffic.

- Concord, OH, USA

problem #407

Jun 072014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The first incident occurred approximately 2months ago (April 2014) as I was driving on a state road (new circle rd in lexington ky)at around 60mph during my morning commute around 8am. The vehicle seemingly stalled but all the systems were fine (still had power steering, lights, radio, braking system etc) with the exception of the accelerator which didn't do anything when I put my foot on the gas. I was able to coast over to the side of the road turned the engine off, sat for about 5 mins & was able to continue on the road without further issue (the check engine light didn't even come back on). The most recent date was 06/07/14 with my family in the car as passengers. I was at a stoplight turning left when, as previously, the engine stalled as I was turning. Again, all systems registered and were working but when I put my foot on the gas nothing happened. Again I was luckily able to coast to the side of the road and turn off the engine. This time after waiting roughly 5 mins and turning the engine back on, nothing happened after I hit the accelerator. I turned the engine back off and waited an additional 5 mins. This time I was able to give the car gas and as my home was nearby was thankfully able to make it to my house. The check engine light however did not go off as it had previously. I took the car to my dealership on 06/09/14 and they confirmed that it was the throttle body.

- Lexington , KY, USA

problem #406

Sep 062010


  • miles
1st got Escape had to have some reprogramming affecting the transmission. 2nd had to have the transmission repair. 3rd my dash lights blink from bright to dim during the daytime/ 4th had to have the ignition replace - when I put my key in--would not turn-. 5th even after having the transmission repair-still changes hard. 6th sometimes when parked on and incline-place in drive-will make a "pop" noise. Still do not feel like my car is working/running at a 100%. I did take out another wrty--just incase--however it is almost up. My husband & I have drove Ford for the past 35 years-am very disappointed with my Escape. 7th use stability control once---is it suppose to sound like the car is breaking into?

- Bluff City , TN, USA

problem #405

May 252014


  • 59,000 miles
I was driving on a highway and the wrench symbol appeared on the dash. Then power was cut to the engine and I coasted to the side of the road. Restarting the car removed the wrench and I was able to drive home. The exact same incident occurred again four days later on 5/29/14.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #404

May 142014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,800 miles
Slowly approaching a stop sign, vehicle stalled. Battery light, wrench light, and oil light came on. Put the car in park to restart it, started and went on.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #403

May 162014


  • 96,000 miles
I went to stop at the light and SUV jerked and shook. Sounded like bottom fell out of SUV. Pulled into parking lot. SUV running but when putting foot on gas nothing would happen, no matter what gear. Took it to repair shop and they said throttle body bad. This is the 2nd part that is defective on the 2010 Ford Escape!!! replaced transmission at 60,500 miles (got ripped off when Ford would not warranty)!

- Trenton, FL, USA

problem #402

May 122014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Escape sitting at stop light wrench light illuminated on dash and Escape had no power turned car off and then restarted the Escape and drove home not another issue for the next 16 miles.. used obdii code reader to scan Escapes on board computer and it had freeze frame data from a P2111 code which indicates throttle body issue.

- Rocky Mount, MO, USA

problem #401

May 052014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 37,400 miles
1st occurrence: I was driving at 35mph and suddenly my car surged forward then slowed down to 5mph. I tried to accelerate to a higher mph but it would not let me go any faster. I could steer and the radio was still on. Confused, I coasted off the side of the road, looked at the instrument panel for a light of some kind (none were there). I then turned off the engine and let it sit for approximately 2 minutes then it restarted and I drove home (about 1 1/2 miles) the 2nd occurrence - May 6th. I had just left my doctor's office, within 1 1/2 minutes & driving 15 mph (1/16 of a mile) the failure happened again. I again had to coast to the side of the road apply my hazard lights and turn off the engine for approximately 2 minutes. It re-started and I drove it home (it was intermediately surging forward) about 5 miles. The 3rd occurrence: May 8th on I-70 westbound :speed 60 mph: Loss of power, coasted to the berm of the highway, ( thank goodness all the traffic was 1 mile behind me or this could have caused a serious accident) turned it off and waited about 2 minutes and restarted made it to work and home without further stalling but the jerking continued. I called interstate Ford (miamisburg) explained the problems I was experiencing and my fear to drive this vehicle.

- Springfield , OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?