Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,414 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 26 of 27)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Mar 042013


  • 36,000 miles


I had approximately four occurrences of losing all throttle response, basically a complete loss of power while driving on the los angeles freeway system. Engine RPM drops to 1,000 and provides idle power only. A very dangerous situation while on a 4 lane congested highway traveling at speeds upto 65 mph.

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #37

Mar 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 77,550 miles
Vehicle's throttle stopped working in traffic traveling at 35 mph and had to coast vehicle to side of road where engine was idling roughly but no response to pressing accelerator pedal. Vehicle needed to be shut off and restarted several times to get throttle working again. Vehicle exhibited this problem many times over last 30 days (even at 65 mph we lost throttle on interstate and had to coast off in traffic). We have been fortunate in avoiding an accident. Took vehicle to service station which read computer reading and said "throttle body actuator" needed to be replaced and that I should go to local Ford dealer asap as there should be a recall for a 2 year old vehicle with this dangerous condition. Ford dealer informed me that there was no recall and that its just something that happens and that it would be $399 to fix. This is a huge safety issue and I will not let my family drive the vehicle until Ford fixes this issue at Ford's expense. I researched online and this problem seems to be happening a lot to many owners. This needs an immediate mandate by NHTSA to Ford to issue a recall for this life threatening defect.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #36

Feb 232013

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
2010 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to throttle control malfunction and requests reimbursement for repairs. The consumer stated the vehicle suddenly lost all acceleration while traveling on the highway in cruise control mode. The RPM would not go above 700 despite, the consumer applying the accelerator pedal. The local Ford service department gave the consumer some troubleshooting steps to reset the vehicle. The service advisor explained, the computer had stopped functioning., which caused the vehicle to shut down. The consumer was informed to allow the vehicle to sit in the off position for a few minutes and the re-start it again. It provided a temporary fix, which allowed the consumer to continue to her destination. The after the consumer retrieved her vehicle, the low pressure sensor had activated. She took the vehicle to her local mechanic, who observed the vehicle was leaking transmission fluid on the driver side between the axle and transmission. The consumer took the vehicle back to the dealer. An inspection revealed the leak was coming from a seal. When the consumer picked the vehicle up, later that evening, the low tire pressure light illuminated. The consumer took the vehicle to a tire dealer, where they found a screw in the sidewall of the driver front tire. The consumer was informed, she would need to purchase two new tires.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #35

Jan 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 74,100 miles


The wrench icon illuminated the 4 times the Escape failed to respond to acceleration. Each time it needed to be turned off and restarted. 1st failure (1/24/13) was at about 20mph (or less) while making a U-turn. I was able to coast over to bus lane. 2nd failure (2/4/13) was at 50mph after traveling 30 miles in heavy traffic. I drove directly to a transmission shop and was told "what an extreme safety issue this could be and that this was an expensive transmission to rebuild and it would be $2000 to $2500." 3rd failure (2/5/13) and by now I am quick to start emergency flashers. I was unable to restart in N. I was able to pull into a turn lane and had to turn Escape off and restart. I started researching on internet and determined that the problem was the electronic throttle body. 4th failure (2/11/13) same senerio. 2/14/13 I drove to don reid Ford, maitland, fl. I spoke to the service manager who agreed with me that the problem was the throttle body. $300 fix included $99. Labor with a 12 month warranty at any Ford dealer. That point sold me since this vehicle was likely to travel out of town, and that it could be done while I waited. I was not happy to check my paperwork after I got home and find that instead of stating the issue it said "customer states replace throttle body per customer request" I called the service manager and expressed my concern that this very dangerous safety issue was not documented on my paperwork. I was told that since the dealer did not diagnose the problem, which would have cost another $99 that this was the way it had to be written up. I believe that this sudden gas pedal failure could cause an accident and should be a recall before a death occurs. This 2010 was built 12/09. We bought this Escape 10/3/12 with 73,600 miles on it. We have tested it out on a 200 mile trip and a 1,000 mile trust the 2010 Escape.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #34

Apr 022012


  • 43,869 miles
Driving at 35mph, check engine light came on and SUV went into "limp home mode", slowing to only 10mph. After re-starting SUV 2-times same error appear. Took SUV to local Ford dealer tom holzer, and they said it was a failing throttle body sensor. Inquired if there was a known warranty issue and dealer confirmed no, but a service bulletin existed at customer's expense - which was not agreeable. Tom holzer service manager advise to contact Ford directly (which we did) and Ford said to contact service manager (which we did). After numerous phone calls and formal complaints we received no satisfactory resolution. Ford was blaming the local dealer, the local dealer blaming Ford, and we still had to pay $525 to replace defective throttle body sensor. (ironically our good friends have a 2010 Chevy equinox with 80,000 miles that had the same problem and their local Chevy dealer replaced their throttle body sensor and provided loaner vehicle during service procedure, both at no charge). Needless to say, we were very disappointed with the local dealer and Ford's handling of this known problem, and this will be our last Ford vehicle purchase after 30-years of dedicated Ford vehicle purchases.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #33

Oct 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving in traffic slowed to turn left across railroad tracks and car died. When I tried to accelerate the gas pedal went to floor but car crawled slowly to where we could pull off road. Disconnected and reconnected battery, car started ran 1 mile stopped again. Friend cleared electronic error code with tester and car has run ok until recently when back gate will not open until error code was cleared by car dealer. After car slowing incident occurred we returned car to dealer where we purchased it and they said they never heard of that ever happening and they could find nothing wrong with the car. We fear it may happen again and lead to an accident.

- Rossiter, PA, USA

problem #32

Oct 072012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while accelerating from a stop, the vehicle jerked and then the transmission failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 46,000. Updated 4/1/13 after the vehicle jerkes, the consumer stated he speed was 3 mph. The incident also occurred while drivng 15-20 mph.

- New York Mills, NY, USA

problem #31

Jan 022013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle decelerated then stalled. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure occurred three separate times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the throttle assembly was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000. Updated 3/28/13

- Brownstown , MI, USA

problem #30

Feb 262013


  • 43,000 miles
Driving at 45-50 mph, car stalled and "wrench-shaped" warning light came on. By descriptions I've read, car went into "limp home" mode. I was able to pull to the side of the road... no acceleration capability, tight steering, RPM bouncing between 500-900. Shut off engine, restarted, ran fine for next 30 minutes of drive with speeds ranging from idle and 10-60 mph. Friend notified me of the below open investigation that fits what happened. Investigation subject : electronic throttle body malfunction date investigation opened: Feb 21, 2013 date investigation closed: Open NHTSA action number: PE13003 component(s): Engine.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #29

Feb 242013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Upon entering the flow of traffic on highway my 2010 Ford Escape began to accelerate on its own and increasing speed, realizing what was happening I engaged the brake to no avail, I was unable to stop my vehicle. I navigated to the shoulder and was gaining speed on the traffic ahead so I looked for an exit into a parking lot with no one walking in my way and turned into the lot literally on two wheels due to my increasing speed. I saw a wooded area with a snow bank and thought I would head that way rather than the alternative of other vehicles, building or people. As I got closer I then turned the engine off and stopped but not after standing on my brakes and smelling burning from them.

- Bergenfield, NJ, USA

problem #28

Jul 132012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles


Car went from 70 mph to idle on the highway, would not accelerate. Dealer replace faulty throttle body, but we continue to have sporadic acceleration issues. Dealer cannot find faults in the current throttle body.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #27

Dec 212012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving to work, going approximately 40 mph, my car experienced a sudden loss of power and acceleration. The car did not respond when I pressed the gas pedal, and the engine was sputtering and the car would barely move forward. Luckily I was able to pull into a parking lot and shut the car off. I had the car towed to a Ford dealer, and was informed that the problem was the electronic throttle body. I soon found out that my third party warranty did not cover this part. The dealer stated that the warranty doesn't cover the part because they know it is going to malfunction in almost every Ford Escape. So I had to pay over $300 out of pocket to get a part fixed that the dealer knew was going to break! this is ridiculous!

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #26

Feb 152013


  • 34,336 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled independently. The contact attempted to restart the vehicle with the illumination of the check engine warning light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 34,336.

- Yeadon , PA, USA

problem #25

Feb 062013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 41,788 miles
I was driving down the road and my car stalled and started jerking before shutting down entirely. I would push on the gas and my car would not drive forward, as if it lost its power. The Ford dealership had to replace the throttle body, after I owned the car for less than a year.

- Prairie Village, KS, USA

problem #24

Jan 202013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 26,490 miles
While driving there was a sudden loss of power. The wrench icon lit up on the dash display & the engine light came on too. There was no response from the gas pedal at all. The engine stayed on & all other features of the vehicle worked. I shut the car off & restarted the vehicle & continued driving. This occurred 4 times within a half hour. It was a miracle that I was not involved in an auto accident. I brought the vehicle back to a Ford dealer where they replaced the throttle body. Vehicle has been operating fine ever since & the gas pedal is more responsive than it was before. The original bumper to bumper warranty expired less than 2 months ago & I had to pay for this repair. I am very unhappy.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #23

Nov 152012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the check wrench light illuminated and the vehicle lost power. The vehicle was moved to the shoulder and restarted where it began to function properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 57,000...updated 02/01/13 the consumer stated the failure occurred multiple times at various speeds which would cause the vehicle to power off unexpectedly and without control. The dealer advised the issue was stuck throttle. Updated 02/08/2013

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #22

Jan 042013


  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while accelerating from a complete stop, the vehicle stalled and the service engine light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was confirmed that the throttle casing was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileage was 12,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fort St Lucy, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 032012

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35-70 mph, the vehicle stalled as the wrench warning light illuminated. The contact was able to coast to the side of the road and restart the vehicle. The vehicle was later taken to a dealer where they advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure however, the contact stated the dealer wanted $400 to replace throttle body, which was only guaranteed for 12 months.. the manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance, as the three year 36,000 miles warranty had expired. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. The current mileage was approximately 45,400.

- Kearney, MO, USA

problem #20

Dec 302012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 47,577 miles
On 30 December 2012 at approximately 5 pm I was driving my 2010 Ford Escape XLT on us 61 in port gibson, Ms. I was traveling at approximately 55 mph with the cruise control engaged when the vehicle began to slow down unexpectedly. I glanced down to observe the gauges and discovered the cruise control had ceased functioning and the trouble light (shaped like a wrench) had illuminated. I pressed the accelerator pedal and the engine failed to respond. I pulled to the shoulder and shut down the engine. After checking under the hood for any loss of fluid or obvious mechanical failure I could detect nothing indicating a major mechanical failure. I restarted the engine and observed the gauges noting the trouble light was no longer present. Thinking the problem may have been a temporary issue, I again proceeded to travel upon the highway for approximately 100 yards and again the same trouble light illuminated and I lost the ability to accelerate after reaching around 45 mph. I again pulled over, shut off the engine, and restarted. I managed to turn around and go home, but not before I had the same failure occur approximately 4 more times at 65 mph. I contacted Ford roadside assistance and the vehicle is being towed to a dealership in vicksburg, ms, 35 miles away. This is the first time the vehicle has exhibited any defects since I purchased it in June, 2012 with approximately 33,000 miles on it. I feel this vehicle is not safe to be operated upon the roads and could endanger my family's safety as well as other motorists.

- Port Gibson, MS, USA

problem #19

Jun 012012


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when accelerating from a stopped position, the vehicle hesitated and the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was in the dealers possession for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 18,000. The current mileage was approximately 24,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Harmony, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?