10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,318 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #35

Jan 062015

Escape

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On January 6, 2015, I started the car to move it out of the garage. I could barely steer the car; it was very hard to maneuver. A power steering fault message appeared on the dash. I took the vehicle in for service in October 2014 for the power steering recall. According to the dealership, the recalled item was taken care of and the vehicle was in compliance.

- Lathrup Village, MI, USA

problem #34

Jul 012014

Escape

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. While making a left turn at 15 mph on a hill, the vehicle hesitated before shifting into drive. Two months later, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) and had been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 76,000.

- Depot, NY, USA

problem #33

Dec 162014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
My car cut off while I was driving & when I was at a stop light. The car came to a sudden stop in the middle of an intersection (completely losing all power) a large SUV swerved to prevent from hitting me. I immediately took the car to the vic bailey Ford, they kept my car on & off for 5 days. Charging me $98 for a diagnostic test (that they stated revealed nothing about the problem) & then they turned around & charged me #130 for a new battery, the car continued to cut off on me. They kept my car for another 3 days. Finally they called me & told me to come pick up the car. The service dept. Stated that they didn't know what was wrong w/ the car, but they knew something was wrong w/ it. They told me to wait til the problem got worst. They sent me home w/ a car that cuts off constantly, they don't care that I need to drive a dependable car. I'm an educator/state employee that doesn't have all this money to keep putting my car into the shop & missing days from work. They donżżT care that I have a young son who rides in that car w/ me to school. They don't care that by driving that car my life & my son life is (was) put in danger. All they saw was a black single mother that they thought they could tell anything to. I have spoken with the service mgr. (no help) Ford rep (no help) the customer service mgr. (no help). It is awful, that in 2015 an America woman is treated w/ such disrespect & pushed to the side. Ford made this car, they sale this car, so they should be able to fix the car. Ford should make reliable cars for the consumer. Who is suppose to help when the big vic bailey Ford, vic bailey Honda, vic bailey Ford repair shop, Ford Motor Company, & Ford service all do nothing to fix this issue? by putting this information out to the public I hope to make others aware of the treatment that I have received & make sure this doesn't happen to anyone else.

- Spartanburg , SC, USA

problem #32

Dec 192014

Escape

  • 85,495 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering on my 2010 Ford Escape has stopped working, making the vehicle unsafe to drive. I took the vehicle to my local dealer who wanted $1,054 to replace the entire steering column. I contacted Ford Motor Company corporate customer service department who said there was nothing they could do. The vehicle only has 85,495 miles.

- Mount Clemens, MI, USA

problem #31

Dec 112014

Escape

  • 77,342 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,342.

- Demotte, IN, USA

problem #30

Dec 112014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power control warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were not available.

- Demotte, IN, USA

problem #29

Dec 092014

Escape

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on a service road and was entering the freeway when the transmission started slipping. This caused my vehicle to start jerking. The vehicle behind me almost ran over me as I was loosing speed due to the transmission slipping. I managed to pull over and after a couple of minutes the transmission started working again and I was able to pick up speed and continue driving. This incident also caused my braking and steering to be erratic. This happened 3 times on Dec 9, 2014. This is unsafe as it nearly caused a major accident in heavy traffic going South on interstate 35 out of austin. By my estimation there would have been no fewer than 5 to 6 vehicles involved in an accident had I not managed to pull over.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 292014

Escape

  • 32,000 miles
The first time this happened I was coming to a stop during rush hour traffic in Feb 2014. I was slowing down to stop when I noticed the red battery & wrench light come on. When I tried to accelerate the vehicle wouldn't move & the engine was off. I attempted to restart the vehicle several times with no luck. The dash lights & radio would work but it wouldn't start. I had to be pushed out of traffic. While waiting for the tow truck I tried again & it started (approximately after 15 min). I immediately took it to the Ford dealer. They "supposedly" fixed it under a recall. It just happened again (Oct 2014) to me while coming to a stop during rush hour. Again the lights turned red and the engine died. I attempted to restart several times without any luck. The dash lights & radio worked but it wouldn't start. Finally after several attempts it started again. I'm waiting for my appointment with the Ford dealer. This issue needs to be reviewed before someone gets seriously hurt given that the engine dies without notice. Plus the "repair" didn't work!

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #27

Sep 272014

Escape

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. While driving 40 mph, the power steering assist failed and caused the steering wheel to become difficult to turn. The contact had to use extreme force to turn the steering wheel. The failure occurred after the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (electric power steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for further inspection, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,000. Updated 11/21/14

- White Oak , PA, USA

problem #26

Mar 102013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
First incident: I was driving along rte 95 heading towards the tapanzee bridge going 65 mph when suddenly the power steering went and it became very difficult to steer. I immediately tried to safely exit the highway to find out what was wrong. It was extremely hard to steer, but thankfully I found a fairly safe place to stop and turn the car off. I waited about 5 minutes trying to figure out what to do. Then I started the car and the problem was gone. Second incident: My wife was coming home from work on April 11th, 2013 when she stopped at a stop sign. When she began to make a right turn onto a busy street, the power steering went again. Luckily she made it home safely and informed me of what happened. I turned the car on and took it for a drive. The power steering was back on. There were at least two more times when all of a sudden the power steering went off and after awhile came back on. We had a new power steering column assembly put in our Ford Escape on June 6th, 2013. Luckily we had a Ford premium care warranty plan and this problem was covered, but had to pay $100 deductible. Recently Ford has announced a safety recall on the power steering assembly on Ford Escapes manufactured in certain parts of the country. My VIN number was not part of that safety recall, yet I had the same problem with my power steering. What would I have had to pay to replace this power steering if I hadn't had a warranty plan? I want Ford to reimburse my $100 deductible, but they say since my VIN number at this time was not part of the recall they won't reimburse me. What kind of customer relations in this with a big company like Ford who wants to sell cars in good faith. It is lucky for them that my family or someone else was not injured when the power steering went in my Ford Escape.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #25

Jul 232014

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #24

Jul 012014

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) and stated that the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- East Peoria, IL, USA

problem #23

Oct 092013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Throughout all of last winter, I had issues with my 2010 Ford Escape stalling. This occurred countless times, and nearly caused many accidents. It most frequently occurred when it was very cold (zero or below), and on some occasions would stall numerous times in a row, or fail to re-start. No warning light of any sort ever came on. After paying well over $1000 to get various things "fixed" that I was told would solve the problem, it continued happening. Then I received the first bulletin letter regarding throttle body issues and took my car to the Ford dealership in South burlington, vt. They proceeded to tell me that because they couldn't duplicate the issue, or get a code, they couldn't help me. A few weeks later when it happened again, the wrench light came on for the first time, so I drove directly to the dealership again. I was told once again that they couldn't fix the throttle body issue, and tried charging me over $300 for diagnosing my car (looking into the issue of why the wrench was illuminated). I refused to pay, because this is a Ford issue, it's well documented all over the internet, and it's something they need to pay for. My car is still not fixed.

- Essex, VT, USA

problem #22

Sep 062010

Escape

  • miles
1st got Escape had to have some reprogramming affecting the transmission. 2nd had to have the transmission repair. 3rd my dash lights blink from bright to dim during the daytime/ 4th had to have the ignition replace - when I put my key in--would not turn-. 5th even after having the transmission repair-still changes hard. 6th sometimes when parked on and incline-place in drive-will make a "pop" noise. Still do not feel like my car is working/running at a 100%. I did take out another wrty--just incase--however it is almost up. My husband & I have drove Ford for the past 35 years-am very disappointed with my Escape. 7th use stability control once---is it suppose to sound like the car is breaking into?

- Bluff City , TN, USA

problem #21

Dec 282013

Escape

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The contact stated that he coasted the vehicle to the side of the roadway to restart it. The vehicle was taken to the manufacturer for inspection and they stated that the power steering shaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,000.

- New Boston, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 122014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 107,189 miles
The steering at first start up will not turn after restart works with a shake in the steering wheel an at stop light.

- Hermon, ME, USA

problem #19

Mar 072014

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
I bought the car 6 months ago. Parked the car on Friday night, came outside to start my car and drive and the power steering does not work. Took the car to the dealership and they are quoting $1500 to fix. Not covered by Ford. Can't believe a not even 4 year old car is having this problem, and sounds like so many others are dealing with the same problem. I feel like I got a lemon. This should definitely be recalled.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #18

Feb 082014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 92,535 miles
I was traveling down the road at approximately 35mph when my power steering completely went out. I had to use extreme force to maneuver my vehicle to the side of the road. I turned it off, waited about 5 minutes, and then turned it back on. The power steering worked for about 1 mile, at which time I lost my power steering. I was unable to complete a turn on a roundabout and almost hit another vehicle because it was so difficult to steer.

- Kimberly, WI, USA

problem #17

Feb 062014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed without warning and became hard to turn. The contact drove very slowly to be able to complete the turn. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have diagnostic performed or repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 86,000...updated 04-22-14

- Ledgewood , NJ, USA

problem #16

Jan 172014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 50,028 miles
Lost power steering - was hard to maneuver vehicle out of roadway. Serious traffic hazard with oncoming traffic. Happens out of the blue and there is no warning that loss of power steering is going to occur. I shut the vehicle off, waited a few minutes, turned the vehicle back on and the problem resolved. However, this has happened prior about 3 months before this incident. Have there been any recalls regarding this issue?

- Orono, ME, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?