Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,617 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #14

Jun 032012

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact was driving approximately 40-50 mph when the vehicle lost acceleration. The vehicle then idled and would not accelerate over 15 mph. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure was approximately 2,800 updated 7/9/12 the dealer determined the problem was a faulty electronic throttle body. Updated 07/10/12

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #13

May 082012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 32,700 miles
I took my 2010 Ford Escape 4 cylinder automatic transmission 2wd vehicle in due to the NHTSA recall notice for the transmission. Even before I got the recall notice I noticed that 1 time out of 10 when I engaged my car from park to drive that the car would shake violently ( like, someone just hit my car with their car ). in addition, often, I would notice that the vehicle would not switch gears in a clean and proper fashion. So, when I got the recall notice, I thought this will be fixed. After getting the car back from the Ford dealership and them saying nothing was wrong with the vehicle and the my car was not effected by the recall, I still had these same issues all the while. Well, on May 8, I was driving home and the "wrench" light (powertrain fault indicated/detected ! ) came on the display/instrument panel. In addition, I noticed that the transmission was also not running that well. I took it into the dealership and dropped it off right away that night. It has been 5 days and the work is still not done. My service advisor tells me that it is the valve body that needs to be replaced. He said perhaps on Wednesday it will be done.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #12

Aug 262011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
While driving to the tpa on I-75 approaching the exit for I-4 we slowed for a truck that cut us off. Our vehicle shifted down at least two gears which caused the engine to over rev. We tried to speed up, but the engine just reved higher. So we slowed while exiting on to the ramp for I-4. we were able to get over to the right and pull off the ramp road before getting on to I-4. we turned the engine off and sat for a few minutes to compose ourselves. I was hoping that the system would reset itself so we could continue. We started the engine and we continued to the airport without anymore problem. I drove home and for two weeks drove without incident until 8/26/2011. The same thing happened as before. The engine down shifted about 65 mph and the engine began revving. We slowed the vehicle and came to a stop to make a left turn. After excelerating we felt the engine over revving before shifting. The vehicle is unsafe to drive. It is unpredictable as to when a problem will occur. It?S a matter of time before something bad is going to happen. We need this problem fixed with assurance that it is truly fixed or we need restitution from Ford for selling us an unsafe vehicle.

- Sun City Center, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 082011

Escape

  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Escape XLT. Starting with about 1200 miles the transmission began hard shifts, hesitation between gears, jerking hard into reverse when engaging, high speed shifts jerk into gear sounding like the rear end is falling out. Ford dealer first stated it was normal, after several more complaints they decided to rebuild the transmission. It worked smoothly for about 200 miles then started the same things again, it gets more frequent as the miles mount up. My wife is afraid of the vehicle and will not drive or ride in it. When roads are wet the shifts are hard enough to make the wheels spin. Last time the dealer adjusted the transmission, it now hesitates when putting into gear. I was turning around on a road that I should have had ample time but when I put the car into reverse it delayed so long to engage that traffic was heading toward me. If the car sits 2-3 days, it gives a long hesitation to go into 2nd and 3rd gear. Also, have experienced squealing coming from engine compartment, Ford has change the belt several times and the tensioner, it lasts for a few hundred miles and starts again. All items I have been told are normal. I have owned more than 20 cars and do not find hard shifts, hesitations, excessive noise and hard clunks to be normal by any stretch of the imagination. I paid $25,000 for this car, I have driven cars that cost half this price that handled better. I have been a loyal Ford owner of F150's, Explorer, Expedition and even a couple of old F100's. I had always been very happy with them. The Escape was an attempt to downsize for our 2nd vehicle and have something more economical, we liked them when we rented them but this one has been a very big disappointment and time consuming.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 302011

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The automatic transmission in my 2010 Ford Escape started "flaring" between 2nd and 3rd gears last September a month after I bought it. "flaring" is a term used by Ford to describe when the transmission delays shifting between gears and the engine revs until it finally shifts. The dealer has worked on it several times and the problem continues. This has not really been a safety issue until two weeks ago. It started "flaring" occasionally between 1st and 2nd gears also. This is a concern because I'm not up to speed when this happens between 1st and 2nd. With traffic being heavy at times, I'm concerned that someone could rearend me when this happens. The car is at the dealership now to try to diagnose the problem. The dearer along with the Ford representative haven't been able to resolve the problem between 2nd and 3rd gears so I doubt they will resolve this problem either. I'm further concerned that it could start happening with 1st gear and I could start to enter a highway and the car would not accelerate when intended and then suddenly accelerate when it wasn't safe to do so.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #9

Apr 052011

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that she was unable to take the vehicle out of gear. She mentioned that the failure recurred twice before and it was after she started towing the vehicle behind her rv. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission was defective and needed to be replaced. Two weeks later, while towing the vehicle the transmission started smoking. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission was burned beyond repair and needed to be replace. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 43,000 and current mileage was 44,000. Updated 07/20/11 the consumer stated the transmission failed twice. The consumer was informed that flat towing caused the transmission failure, even though the owner's manual stated towing was allowed. Updated 02/08/12

- New Port Beach , CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 192009

Escape 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 4-cyl, at, 2010 Escape XLT in December 2009, from healey Ford in ansonia ct, which is now closed. Transmission slippage, jerking, growling noise in reverse, sudden acceleration on highway, all started almost immediately with this vehicle. Recall repair on solonoid done, problem persists and is even worse. Several near accidents with my $25,000 suicide ride I call an Escape...Ford has had it twice for repair without success. In ct, I have one more try and I will proceed with connecticuts lemon law arbitration, and Ford gets to buy it back.

- Derby, CT, USA

problem #7

Aug 202010

Escape

  • 11,000 miles
My 2010 Ford Escape has slammed violently into gear while being driven a total of 5 times. The first time this happened, my wife was driving and she thought someone had hit her from behind and she actually hurt her neck because the jerking was so violent. Three of the 4 other times that this has happened have not been as violent but it just happened again about 2 weeks ago (at about 11,000) miles and it was very violent (and my wife got ┐jerked┐ again).

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #6

Sep 202010

Escape

  • 5,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Escape limited on 29 July 2010. On 20 Sep 2010 I noticed as I placed the vehicle in drive it jerked violently and sounded like the bottom fell out of the car. When I came to a red light it shifted hard down to first gear. I had my dad check it out and it did the same thing with him. He took it to the dealer on 21 Sep 2010 and they said there was a problem, it was not suppose to do that. They checked with Ford and there was some adjustments they had to do to the computer. This did not fix problem and they kept the vehicle. They now have to take out the transmission and check solenoids before Ford will send a new transmission. This could become a safety issue, if the operator has to accelerate and the vehicle will not respond. The vehicle has 5000 miles on it.

- Ozark, AL, USA

problem #5

Mar 192010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated when driving at various speeds, the transmission would slip and sporadically jerk. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V222000 (power train: Automatic transmission) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The dealer repaired the failure twice however; it did not remedy the failure. In addition, there was a winding noise coming from the vehicle and water was also leaking in the rear of the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000 and the current mileage was approximately 7,000. Updated 10/26/10. The consumer stated the gas pedal would stick and then the vehicle would lurch. There was a rattle and noise coming from under the vehicle. Updated 10/26/10

- Hartsville, SC, USA

problem #4

Jun 192010

Escape

  • 7,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2010 Ford Escape that was recalled for transmission problems, I brought the vehicle in and it was supposedly fixed. I took the vehicle on a trip this weekend, the transmission seized up and almost caused a tremendous rear end accident. I left the car 100 mile from home because now Ford has to do the work again. I am concerned that the vehicle has other problems that they are not fixing with the transmission.

- Demarest, NJ, USA

problem #3

Mar 302010

(reported on)

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Ford Escape. Consumer states vehicles shifted into second gear hard after she moved from a stop.

- Wonder Lake, IL, USA

problem #2

Jan 142010

Escape

  • 242 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford Escape 1/2/10. A couple of weeks after the purchase I went to back up and then go forward. In doing so, when I put the car into gear to go forward there was a jerking motion as well as a loud clunking noise under the car. Since that time, I have on numerous occasions experience the same thing. As the car switches gears it will jerk with the same noise. It feels as if the whole bottom of the car is coming apart and about to fall off. I have experienced this at different speeds and it does not happen all the time, but when it does you definitely know it. In the last three days it has happened twice. I try to notice the RPM's to see if it is in the midst of changing gears or not and it is not always when it is due to change gears. I took it to the Ford dealer where I purchased the vehicle and they took it for a drive and found nothing wrong. They then did a diagnostic and said they found the factory failed to enter all the correct coding for the transmission so they kept the car and updated it. Once I received the car back it has continued to do the same thing. I went online and found the 2005-2009 Escape owners had the exact problem I am currently experiencing and found the transmissions burned out at approx 20,000 miles. Ford is telling me there is nothing wrong with mine as the problem had been fixed. I took it back in Friday evening and was told they just received information that some dealers found they have had to take the 2010 models in, tear out the transmissions and put them together starting from scratch to stop the problem. I was told they would look into it and get back to me. I don't want to wait and have my transmission go out before they will finally see there is a problem.

- Yuba City, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 122010

Escape

  • 15,000 miles
I have had numerous issues with my 2009 Ford Escape 6 speed transmission. The transmission was replaced after 17000 K with total internal failure. With both the new and old transmissions I have had experienced the following safety issue on numerous occasions. Failure to downshift coming to a stop, which has resulted in the car lingering in the middle of intersections without the ability to accelerate. This has either resulted in a 3 second pause while the transmission decides to downshift, or on about 5 occasions the car has right out stalled. It is a very scary situation sitting in the middle of an intersection with cars bearing down on you without the ability to accelerate to safety. The car has been in the shop numerous times and the transmission technician has updated the transmission control software (via technical bulletin) 3 times, which has not helped at all. The technician has mentioned that there are a steady stream of 2009 Ford Escape owners in the shop with similar problems, but there clearly is no real solution to the problem. This is a brand new transmission that has been rushed into the Escape to improve fuel economy without proper testing. It is clear to me that the Ford engineers have not figured out how to electronically control this transmission. I am an engineer myself and understand that components sometimes fail or have weaknesses, but to have failure like this in normal driving circumstances constitutes a serious safety issue in my opinion. I just hope no one gets seriously hurt before Ford fixes this properly.

- Ajax, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?