Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Escape windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Mar 232014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 76,069 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 3/22/14 I purchased a used 2010 Ford Escape at rountree Ford in swanzey nh. On 3/23/14 I parked the vehicle, let my dogs out of the back cargo area, when I closed the tailgate the rear window shattered into a million pieces for no apparent reason.

- Keene, NH, USA

problem #26

Nov 072012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 36,100 miles
Right after the warranty went out the vehicle starting slamming from 1st into 2nd upon acceleration. The idle is very rough and quite loud, the engine makes a funny noise and I take extremely good care of my vehicle, getting all of the scheduled oil changes on time, replacing the air filter, etc. I also explained to them that the vehicle wasn't idling properly and that the engine used to be quiet. The windshield is extremely thin as well, a small pebble hit my windshield causing a 8 inch crack in a matter of minutes to where it was beyond getting it fixed. Then liftgate started giving me problems. When you press the button, it would make the sound, but sometimes open, then on May 17, 2013 it just quit working all together. On May 18, 2013, I took it to reynolds Ford for a scheduled oil change right before a trip to Mexico and upon telling them about it, they wanted $250 just to look at it before parts and labor. Now, the rear blinker doesn't work and you can't replace it due to the fact that you can't get the liftgate to open in order to remove the rear taillight assembly. So, when you are trying to make a left turn, vehicles behind you don't know you are turning and almost hit you (safety hazard). You also can't change a flat tire since you can get to the jack, which is in the rear compartment accessed through the liftgate. This is a serious problem as there is no manual release for the hatch to get it open period, once the latch doesn't work, it just doesn't work.

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #25

Nov 032013

Escape

  • 39,400 miles
On Sunday, November 3, 2013, at approximately 8:40am, I returned to my car with several bags of groceries. I opened the rear door and placed the bags inside. When I shut the door, the rear hatch window exploded into a thousand pieces. There was glass everywhere inside the car and in the lot. It was a cool morning (maybe 45 degrees F), but not particularly cold.

- Indiana , PA, USA

problem #24

Feb 022013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 26,829 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was parked in a lot of a grocery store, opened hatch and put grocery in back of hatch. When I closed hatch door the window exploded sending glass inside the back and on the ground. Temperature was below freezing and there nothing that hit the glass to cause it to shatter. Did not close hatch door with any excessive force.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #23

Dec 252012

Escape

  • 34,000 miles
When closing the rear hatch of the 2010 Ford Escape, the glass shattered. Temperature below freezing at the time and matches tsb: Tsb-11-2-9. no reason for the glass to break at all. Glass shattered and cut my finger. Small chunk of glass had to be removed from finger.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #22

Nov 162012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
My family was about to leave on a trip, my wife closed the rear trunk of our 2010 Ford Escape, and the window on the rear trunk shattered completely. There was absolutely no obstruction; the window exploded on impact. Broken glass fell in all directions: In the car, in the parking lot, on my wife, and around the neighboring cars. We cleaned up the glass on the ground and drove the car to our dealership. We have a full bumper-to-bumper warranty, but were told this type of damage is "unwarrantable." As it was explained to me, any instance in which a window shatters completely and glass shards fall inside the car, Ford concludes there must have been an obstruction and does not cover the cost of replacement. Ford's corporate office said they could not overturn the serviceman's conclusion unless there was a recall on the part in question. I believe this is an abuse. The window is clearly defective: I have been driving for seventeen years and never witnessed a window explode as this one did, and then I find that at least 18 similar complaints have been filed with the NHTSA for the same issue. To insist that a part must be under recall before they honor a warranty is an unrealistic hurdle that Ford puts in place.

- Summit, NJ, USA

problem #21

Feb 152012

Escape

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Escape back hatch and window fail to open. This is a keyless window and hatch. Ford dealership wants to charge $380 to repair. Ford does not have a manual or secondary system to open the back hatch and/or window. This fail has rendered the back portion of the Escape useless. In an emergency, a secondary manual opening device from the interior and exterior needs to be retro-fitted, after market by Ford. The dealership where we purchased the vehicle, has no interest in resolving this obvious engineering blunder.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 112012

Escape

  • miles
I was shutting the tailgate when the back glass just shattered. It was 15 degrees outside.

- Rolla, MO, USA

problem #19

Jan 202012

Escape

  • 25,400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked when the rear liftgate window exploded. The contact found a technical service bulletin under service bulletin number: Tsb-11-2-9 (visibility:glass, side/rear) but was told by the manufacturer that the failure was not covered under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 25,400 and the current mileage was 26,000.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #18

Dec 162011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Moved some items from rear of vehicle to back seat area. Closed liftgate, then closed rear passenger door. Rear liftgate glass shattered a few seconds later. Both window shocks shot outward. Glass landed both inside and outside of vehicle. I took photos with my cell phone.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #17

Dec 272011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 46,307 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling during the holidays and went to a car wash. When the attendant went to close the rear lift gate the back window glass exploded outward and completely shattered. I have had the window replaced at my expense with the revised window components listed in the Ford tsb 11-2-9. the car wash provided me with security camera footage of the incident.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #16

Dec 152011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 40,500 miles
The glass on the driver's side door of my vehicle has many vertical scratches - more as I use the window. I am fearful that as time passes these scratches will impair my view. I have read of many owners having the same problem and at least one in which the glass spontaneously 'spider webbed'. I have contacted the local Ford dealer as well as Ford customer care regarding this issue and because the vehicle is out of warranty for that component they will not repair. They will not even allow a field representative to have a look. Ford has issued a technical service bulletin - tsb 10-25-5 that describes the problem I am experiencing and the repair procedures. Currently there are numerous scratches on the driver's side and a few on the passenger side (passenger window is used less frequently). There are numerous complaints regarding window glass - www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2010/Ford/Escape/window+glass. I am contacting you because I feel this and other glass problems are a safety issue and should be recalled and repaired by Ford.please help to fix these problems and mine. Thank you,

- Broadway, VA, USA

problem #15

Jan 132012

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
I went to close the rear and went it shut, the rear window exploded shattering glass and sending it about 15 feet from the vehicle, no unnecessary force was used in closing the hatch, nothing was blocking it or anything. Bought this vehicle in October 2011. This happened Jan. 13, 2012. Just closed the hatch and boom, glass went everywhere.

- Jasper, TN, USA

problem #14

Nov 082011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 38,521 miles
Subject: Rear window "exploded". I closed the tailgate, not the window, and by the time I was 2-3 steps away, the window "exploded". the car was parked for about an hour before opened and I closed the tailgate door, then the window chattered into pieces that flew in all directions. I only opened and closed the door, I did not operate or touch the window but it chattered. It was the first and only door I had opened when it happened. Glass flew in all directions in little pieces like 8 feet away on the outside and like 3 feet on the inside. The sock absorbers are sticking out of the window and are too hard to retract and can't be put back inside the car. The rear wiper asembly is hanging and the heater elements are dangling too. The outside temperature was around the 40's at around 10:40 pm. Nothing could've touched the glass at the time of closing door since I only had a charcoal bag laying flat on the cargo area with a small box of aluminum foil, a small toolbox (like 4" X 8" X 12"), also laying flat on the cargo area floor, and a small blanket.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #13

Oct 242011

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
Rear wiper fails to operate at constant speed, often preventing driver from seeing what is behind, which creates a safety concern. Owner's manual (page 66) states that rear wiper has a normal speed and an intermittent speed. However, dealership and Ford customer care claim that two intermittent settings (one with longer delay) is the design intent. This is absurd. No other vehicle with a rear wiper which I have driven (rent frequently) does not have a constant speed operation.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #12

Aug 072011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
2010 Ford Escape limited(hybrid) rear windshield glass exploded sometime during the day while I was working a 12 hour shift in the parking lot of my current job. Location being indianapolis, in, yesterday was in the 90 degree range of temperature. Walk out to my car about 1:30 a.M. this morning and saw glass all over the ground, looked up to my vehicle, and noticed the back window was still in one piece in the middle and glass cracked out all around the edges. No sign of an accident or damage to the exterior of my vehicle except little scratches from where the glass had busted out. Components holding the glass were hanging out of the latch including the windshield wiper component, hinges glass was attached to., and glass latch you would use to open the compartment. Being that this happened on a Saturday night/Sunday morning, no replacements were done as the Ford dealership will not be open until Monday. Have a 5 year/100K warranty on the vehicle and plan on taking it in the first thing tomorrow morning. The trunk compartment had not been used all day or even the vehicle since about 11 am earlier Saturday morning. Had been sitting for close to 13 hours. Glass exploded out about 4-5 feet behind the vehicle. Very displeased.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #11

May 062011

Escape

  • 10,295 miles
My husband and I were at our camp site and loading the vehicle for a trip in the woods. It was early morning, around 34 degrees outside. We had the rear hatch door open, putting the dogs inside the back of the vehicle. Upon closing the hatch, the rear hatch window violently exploded. Glass went flying everywhere, luckily the dogs weren't hurt and no persons were in the car at the time. We immediately called our Ford dealer to report the incident & asked if there was a defect known and if this was a warranty issue. They said they had never heard of a problem. This is extremely dangerous!!! I can only imagine there are probably lots more of these incidents that haven't been reported because most companies flat out tell you glass is not covered.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Dec 022010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
In December 2010, I was closing the liftgate on my 2010 Ford Escape and the liftgate glass shattered as it closed. The glass shattered inside and out. The shattering glass also caused damage to the paint on the liftgate. The glass had to be replaced and the liftgate repainted.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 242011

Escape

  • miles
I just leased a 2010 Ford Escape only 10 months old. The hatch back window exploded 3 times. The last 2 times was in a matter of 2 months. The last time it exploded by daughter was by the glass and most of the pieces shattered on her. This is crazy. Know as I google I see this is an ongoing issue. I am going to Ford. They better do something about this. The glass company I went to get it fixed said it will happen again. This car should be recalled!!!!!!!

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 202011

Escape

  • 11,342 miles
Closed rear door on my 2010 Ford Escape. The window shattered and the glass cut up my hand.

- Spokane, WA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?