Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.

The 2013 is the first model year of the Escape's 3rd generation and proves once again that you want to avoid the first model year when at all possible.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,349 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #109

Nov 082016

Escape

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the road about 50mph, the car lost all power and it actually felt as if the someone had depressed the brakes. Since I had not hit the brakes the car behind me did not see any brake lights and almost rammed me. The engine light came on briefly at some point but I can't remember exactly when. My car then stalled. I was able to drift to the side out of the way. I tried starting and it would not start. After about 15 minutes it did start up and drove perfectly fine. This has happened to me 3 times over the past couple of months. I searched recalls and found recall 14S17 and notified Ford. They said it doesn't cover my VIN. Why doesn't it" this is the problem I am having and it looks like many other people are experiencing the same issue. This has the potential to cause an accident, hurt someone or even cause death! my car was manufactured in Nov 2012 and the recall states that it covers Jan 2012 to April 2013 but not my vehicle. Why??"

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #108

Nov 162016

Escape

  • 35,866 miles
** accident*** Ford dealer diagnosis found codes P2036 and P26B7 as map sensor and pefr wire and engine coolant bypass valve. The Ford dealer stated that this vehicle VIN#1fmcu0gx4duc67351 is not under recall and wants over $1100 to repair. The NHTSA campaign number 15V813000 covers this vehicle's diagnosis made by Ford and should be recalled also under Ford's recall number 14S17-S1. I've called Ford Motor Corp. A second time 11/16/16 and was given case #11069892 and then transfered over to the dealer who again stated this vehicle is not covered under the recall. In the condition that this vehicle is at present I am seeking repairs under NHTSA campaign # 15V813000.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #107

Nov 102016

Escape

  • 42,200 miles
The myfordtouch system will sporadically shut down. At times this shut down is evidenced by a loud pop through the audio speakers, then the audio goes out and the bluetooth phone connection resets. Often it will display an error screen saying "shutting down to save battery" with a progress bar. That progress bar never finishes to the right before the system restarts. This will happen multiple times during a trip, with no similar characteristics between trips where this issue occurs (day/night, highway/city, warm/cold, driving or stopped, none of it matters) and I can't recreate it on demand. It will happen one day and then not for a week or two. The lack of ability to recreate means that the Ford dealer will not repair it. The Ford service rep suggested I replace the battery and on his advice I did. However, this not fix the problem. He tested the alternator, and checked for error codes all with no change in the situation. Ultimately it has been with the dealer 3 times for service, with no resolution. I have video of it occurring on 11/6/2016. It has happened as far back as July 2016. Most recent occurrence was today, 11/10/2016 date entered in field below is last time it happened.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #106

Oct 222016

Escape

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had gotten into my vehicle and after turning it on I managed to make it to my neighbors house. My vehicle for the second time started to over heat and the engine light came on and the vehicle was stating that I need to refill the coolant. I just parked it and the next day we had filled the coolant again taken it to get the error codes checked and were informed we need to get a new thermostat. When taking it to the mechanics they had tried everything from checking codes to driving my vehicle and they were unable to get the issue taken care of due to not being able to re-create the codes. They had informed me that this is a known issue with Ford, however when contacting Ford they have no idea what I am talking about. I checked online and see there is a recall for this, but my VIN even though having the qualifying manufacturing date is not eligible. I have had my vehicle for 1 1/2 years and have had it shut down on me, not have any power, start to put and stall, refilling coolant every so often, over heat, and I can never get a straight answer from the dealership. I have called for information in regards to recalls and these issues and am transferred to a person who is not there so I can leave a voice mail. I have never had a call returned. I just want to know what I have to do to understand what is going on with my vehicle. Why is my VIN not eligible as well?

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #105

Oct 192016

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Engine wiring assembly failure (CV62*14290 & CV62*12A690) at 29,000 miles. Advised by dealer service advisor vehicle too dangerous to drive as car may stall or stop. I first learned of this as I was driving on 4 lane highway, 10/8/16 & warning notice came on. Vehicle hesitated while on freeway. Sensor replaced at dealer. Problem recurred on 10/19/16. Again on interstate & engine hesitation, moved to right lane for fear of stall. Dealer diagnosed engine wiring assembly failure. I contacted Ford & was informed that my 1.6 engine not covered by similar recall (14S17) for 2.0 engine & car out of warranty. Ford customer service assigned a case number.

- Welch, MN, USA

problem #104

Oct 012016

Escape

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the vehicle randomly hesitated and stalled several times without warning. The dealer was unable to replicate and diagnose the failure, so the condition continued. The vehicle was later taken back to the dealer who indicated that the fuel canister and line assembly needed to be replaced. The parts were replaced by an independent mechanic, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer stated that they would investigate the failure. The contact was waiting for a solution from the manufacturer. The failure mileage was not available.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #103

Sep 262016

Escape

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car will stall while driving at any giving time you can restart it and it will go until you hit third gear then it will stall everytime.

- Stanwood, MI, USA

problem #102

Sep 222016

Escape

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The vehicle was able to restart and resume driving. The failure recurred twice. In addition, when the vehicle stalled, smoke appeared inside the vehicle. The dealer was unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #101

Sep 252014

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the front and rear doors appeared to be pushed out from the vehicle. In addition, the rear door hatch fractured and detached and the battery died. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new battery, the hatch handle needed to be soldered back on, and weather stripping needed to be added to the doors. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V495000 (electrical system), 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts), and 16V643000 (latches/locks/linkages). The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bethel Island, CA, USA

problem #100

Oct 012016

Escape

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle began to decrease in speed and was unable to accelerate. The dealer diagnosed that the engine, alternator, and wiring failed. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #99

Jul 262016

Escape

  • 49,043 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 20 mph, the battery warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact had to turn off the air conditioning in order for the vehicle to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,043.

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #98

May 112016

Escape

  • 38,000 miles
Engine fault service now light comes on frequently. Dealership replace map sensor. Worked for one week. Continues to happen which causes car to hesitate and stall. Garage says I have to drive it there when message comes on without shutting it off as the code clears upon shut down. Impossible to continue to drive a stalling car on the freeway to the garage. Now the computer screen above the steeing wheel went out. Less than 40,000 miles on the car. Fault message occurs when starting the car. Continues to happen.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #97

Aug 092016

Escape

  • 23,000 miles
On 8/09/16 my Escape stalled repeatedly while driving on a rural highway at 50 mph. Limped to the dealership on 8/10/16. Dropped my vehicle off about 10 a.M. mechanic searched most of that day but did not find problem, early the next morning found problem, it was the splice in the electrical wiring harness could not send proper signal to the engine. My car was previously recalled to correct this problem. Recall 14S17-S1. Currently Ford issued a recall again to start on January 4 2016. I had to pay to have the splice problem fixed, asked, dealer why should I pay for a Ford manufacturing problem. They said my VIN number was not on the Ford recall list. This problem has been ongoing since 2013, VIN number should not give Ford a excuse to select a controlled list of Escapes so they do not have to pay for fixing this problem, no matter when it occurs just an excuse so they save money by sticking it to the dealer or customer. Ford should honor the above recall no matter how old the car is.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #96

Aug 032016

Escape

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving various speeds, the windshield sensor failed to function. The failure recurred numerous times. In addition, while driving 60 mph and changing gears, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the electronic sensor and transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #95

Jun 012016

Escape

  • 30,000 miles
A warning indicator will appear on the dash stating "engine malfunction service now". the car shudders, jerks, hesitates and can stall when the throttle is pushed. Pulling over, powering the car down, and turning it back on seems to temporarily resolve it. Issue may be associated with high temperatures since this was serviced in August of 2016. After 5 trips to the dealer with repairs related to the wiring harness, I was told it was resolved. The problem has recurred starting in June of this year. Went to the Ford dealer again and they failed to diagnose. Drove it to the dealer in failure mode with warning displayed to prove there is an issue. This happens when in motion. I have video of the error display.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 122016

Escape

  • 51,000 miles
Got the same wiring harness problems as recall #15V81300 but it seems my vehicle is not included. Are the dates of manufacture too restricted" do I have one of those improperly made harnesses"

- Oconomoc, WI, USA

problem #93

Nov 202015

Escape

  • 58,259 miles
Vehicle shut off while getting on the highway traveling at about 25 mph. It would not restart, had to be towed to nearest Ford dealer. Failure was due to electrical harness shorting wire. There are a couple of recalls for this same issue on Escapes but I am told my vehicle isn't one of the recalls, despite being the same problem

- Cumbrland, RI, USA

problem #92

Jun 282016

Escape

  • miles
Purchased used 2013 Ford Escape vehicle with approximately 33K miles in October of 2014. Purchased extended warranty as warranty was due to expire at 36K miles. A week or two after purchase, car stalled. In the shop it went. Several months later check engine light came on. In the shop it went again. Multiple times later car has been in the shop again for same "check engine light" for 2-3 weeks at a time; transmission replaced twice. The car was back in shop again last week for same issue check engine light this time dealer claims purge valve issue.

- Totowa, NJ, USA

problem #91

Jun 142016

Escape

  • 23,000 miles
We came to a stop at a stop sign on a city side street. The engine died and would crank over but not restart. This has happened twice. Ablown fuse was found labeled vehicle power. No codes were found. No other problems have occurred. The second time was on a highway when we had to make a sudden stop.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #90

Jun 262016

Escape

  • 55,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled and shut off without warning. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and restarted it, but the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall; however, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts). The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?