If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three time, twice because of the threat of engine fire.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.

8.2

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,305 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 202013

Escape

  • 15,617 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the driver began to smell an electrical burning odor. The vehicle was stopped on the shoulder and before the keys were removed from the ignition, flames engulfed the vehicle. The contact was able to exit the vehicle without injury. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,617.

- Fort Dick, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 072013

Escape

  • 1,276 miles
My wife and 6 year old grand daughter were traveling East bound hiway 190 and vehicle started smoking from the vents and shut off in traffic. My wife wrestled the stalled car to the media where itt died. I had just traded a 2011 Escape with a somilar problem. It only had 28 K in mileage and it never made warranty.\ Ford wont even return my calls.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #19

Aug 072013

Escape

  • 6,171 miles
Was driving on manetto hill road in plainview, NY when vehicle stalled. No power to the accelerator. Kept pressing the gas, and the car didn't move. No warning chimes, no appearance of anything wrong-radio was playing, ac, etc. Was able to pull over (roll to the side of the road), put the car in park and restarted it. The computer then showed "engine fault service now" drove to a local gas station, though the car was bucking and difficult to drive. Car was then towed to dealership service station. Have learned that there are multiple tsb's issued for my car, but no recall. Parts are not available so the car remains at dealership service station. I was lucky I was not in rush hour traffic or on/getting on or off a highway when the car died. I shudder to think what would have happened then.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 252013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 5,817 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Ford Escape sel 2.0L. Recurrent issues with "engine fault service now" displaying when car is started (first instance at 5817 miles, now at 11K and still happening). Results in rough idle, poor shifting, harsh acceleration. Can be reset with restart so the error must be visible and the car driven (in terrible and unsafe condition) so the dealer can validate the condition. Condition validated at dealer twice (has occurred five times total) computer has been reset twice, map sensor has been replaced. Issue still occurring with no proposed repair to resolve.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 242013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 2,200 miles
While driving, in humid weather conditions the vehicle lost power and began lurching, shuddering and jerking. Center, driver side screen (behind steering wheel) displayed "engine fault - service now". was able to drive about a mile back home in "limp mode". I shut off the engine, waited and then restarted and all seemed ok. Next day I went to the Ford dealer's service and explained the problem. They could not pull any codes and said it was probably just a "fluke".... it's happened again twice more this week since then. It's not a "fluke". Ford engineers need to get involved here to determine the cause of the problem, and communicate with the dealer service centers, and issue a tsb fix or recall. It's become a serious performance and reliability concern, and a very serious safety issue as well. I can find similar complaints to mine all over the internet, yet Ford claims ignorance of any problems."??"

- Batavia, IL, USA

problem #16

Mar 032013

Escape

  • 4,580 miles
When the start button of the vehicle is pressed, the instrument cluster and synch panel of the vehicle will energize but the starter motor will neither turn over nor engage. This problem is intermittent and has neither been reproduced nor correctly diagnosed at a Ford dealer service department. No errors codes have ever been recovered from the vehicle immediately following the malfunction when a Ford mechanic has searched the system. The vehicle has been returned to the dealership multiple times with none of the attempts to correct the problem being successful.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #15

May 162013

Escape

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford touch radio malfunction

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #14

Apr 252013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles
Starting around 6,500mi, Escape would not start without a jump start. After several days of calling tow trucks for these jumps, took it into Ford dealership. They swapped battery and said that's all it needed. After a week, Escape engine cut out at while stopped at red signal light. Engine warning lights for oil and battery came on, and nothing else. Pushed car to side of road and after waiting for tow for 20 minutes, I tried to start engine again and everything came back on as if nothing had happened. After two days of "all systems normal, " I went to start the engine and it began to shake violently and a "engine malfunction-service immediately" warning came up on the dash. I tried to pull car out of parking spot and it had almost no power. Barely putted along despite my really giving it the gas. Parked and had it brought to Ford dealership again. On arrival they pulled a code P0106 off reader. It's been there for 10 days and they say they can not reproduce issue, and have made no repairs. Still waiting for news.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Apr 202013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 9,100 miles
Saturday morning, 4-20-2013, after I filled up my gas tank at the station, when I started the car the insync system did not turn on. The screen remained blank for at least 5 minutes, when I reached my destination and stopped the car the screen turned on and it was downloading to turn on again. System works fine now. The dealer was not concerned when I called. They said as long as it is working now it is a non-issue, I spoke with [xxx] at North brothers, the service rep. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #12

Feb 102012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
The check engine light came on and averaged 15mpg highway getting to the dealership. They said it was the knock sensor. They replaced it and 24 hours later check engine light on again, same mpg. This time they say its the computer needs to be changed. One month later, check engine light on again with a fault and the engine surges.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 312013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2013 Ford Escape in Oct 2012. It has been in service three times for the same issue. Faulty engine light "service now" but computer didn't capture any issues with vehicle. First time dealer changed the mass pressure air sensor. The second time they contact Ford which told them to upgrade the computer software, this time I called to have the manufacturer send the Ford engineer which states it is the onboard computer. He emailed Ford for the diagrams since vehicle is new and not available to the dealer (so that is what I am being told). The dealer has no idea of what the problem truly is. Finally contact manufacturing who states it is a computer component. Vehicle still at dealership for repair. It is a safety hazard due to the lunging and hesitation of the vehicle when you depress the accelerator. It doesn't have enough power to get you out of an intersection if needed. It lunges forward as if the transmission is defective or the fuel injectors.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #10

Feb 012013

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Ford Escape. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle throttle issues and consumer seeks reimbursement. The consumer stated the throttle response on the vehicle was horrible. The consumer stated there was an abnormal hesitation. The dealer claimed it had to with the new 1.6 no boost engine and the delayed response of the turbo. However, there was no fix for it. Also, the consumer noticed the clock would reset for not reason and the preset radio stations would randomly go blank. The dealer re-loaded the software for the display to fix the issue. However, a week later the radio went completely dead for one day, but came back on the next day. Also, the gas mileage was no where near where Ford indicated it should be ( 23 mpg city, 26 mpg combo, 33 mpg highway).

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 112012

Escape

  • 1,000 miles
The myfordtouch system with navigation is unsafe. Due to continuous software and hardware errors, the large video screen is distracting to the driver. Phone does not sync from time to time, navigation does not acquire gps signal or vehicle position is incorrect. Many problems with bluetooth and usb integration, too many to list here. When glitches occur, the screen often goes completely blank, showing nothing at all. I have had my Escape in for service three times for these problems. My spouse complains when she rides in the car that I am distracted by continuous errors of the mft display. Problems with mft system have also been noted by consumer reports. I will take advantage of the lemon law to correct this unsafe situation with my vehicle.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #8

Nov 302012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that an unknown warning light illuminated while driving 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was awaiting a return call. The failure mileage was 100. Updated 01/30/13 the consumer stated there was a never notice sent and received. 1/31/2013

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #7

Aug 122012

Escape

  • 28 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the active sync technology malfunctioned which causes her to take her eyes off the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure mileage was 28 and the current mileage was 3,233.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 102012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
There is an acceleration lag on partial throttle. This mainly occurs when starting the vehicle or when accelerating after a turn. When no acceleration is felt, the throttle pedal is depressed further and, after a delay, the vehicle takes off like a rocket. When driving the vehicle using the manual shift mode, it operates without an acceleration delay. The vehicle was brought to the dealership for this problem. They looked at the vehicle and stated it drives like all of the other 1.6 liter Escape vehicles on their lot. The delay in acceleration has the potential to cause an accident. A side issue is with sync. The clock loses time, it's very slow to respond, it isn't always able to sync phones, understand voice commands, and it's locked up...requiring a master reset. There's also too much road noise transmitted to those on the other end...consequently, it's difficult for them to hear the conversation.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #5

Sep 042012

Escape

  • 22,083 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the mytouch system failed and would not allow her to make a call. In addition, the mytouch system would not properly respond to commands. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for testing on several occasions where the dealer advised that the mytouch chip needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact that someone would call the contact at a later date. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 22,083.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #4

Oct 212011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1,725 miles
My 2013 Ford Escape, 1.6 liter engine, had 3 recalls, (two were engine fire related). All 3 recall repairs were done by the local Ford dealer, salem, va. We picked vehicle up after third recall work had been done on 9/17/12. We assumed the recall work was done correctly, and that Ford's "fix" worked correctly. On 9/21/12 we were traveling East at 65 mph in the right lane on I-64 near charlottesville, va. It was about 1 pm in the afternoon. There was a "pop" sound in the engine area. Instantly, the accelerator had no response, the high engine temperature warning light came on, and then all warning lights, gauges, & tachometer all went dead. Luckily, we were adjacent to an exit ramp, and we coasted to a stop on rte 20/53. Immediately, white steam came out of the engine compartment. Knowing the third recall dealt with the "risk of engine fires", we got out, and moved well away from the vehicle. Within minutes, brown, oily smoke came out from under the hood. Then flames came out from under the hood, at the windshield and out the sides of the engine compartment. Then the car burst into flames and was destroyed. Pictures were taken of the vehicle on fire, and after it was out, with a cell phone. After the fire was out, the vehicle was taken to the Ford dealer in charlottesville, va.. we were told the insurance company had retained a fire inspector to look at the car, and ask me questions, which he did. Later the inspector said the insurance company did not require a report. We feel we are lucky to be alive!

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #3

Jul 202012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 700 miles
Cross traffic warning system is overly sensitive and provides false warnings. This creates a distraction from driving. When the transmission is in reverse the cross traffic warning system will alarm when vehicles are approximately 50 feet away or when traffic is passing on the opposite side of the road (I.e. when parallel parking). The system has also alarmed when no vehicular or pedestrian traffic is present. It is unpredictable. The alarm is extremely distracting to the driving task at hand. Additionally, when in reverse, the driver should be looking behind the vehicle, not at the dashboard where an alarm message is displayed. Silencing the alarm requires the driver to find a small "ok" button or scroll through several menus that is located next to the speedometer. The alarm has also activated as the transmission gear shift passes 'reverse' while being put in 'drive'. the dealer has acknowledged this can be distracting and that a repair for this does not exist.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #2

Jul 252012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Numerous faults with radio and navigation system part of myfordtouch system. The radio will come on by itself and will not shut off. This usually occurs when a cell phone is in use and connects or disconnects via bluetooth when the car is started or turned off. When this fault occurs the radio will not allow different stations to be selected. The radio will not turn off even after the engine is turned off and the doors are opened. The power button for the radio will not function to shut off the radio at these times. The radio will remain on for approximately 20 minutes after the vehicle is shut off and the alarm is turned on. The dealer has acknowledged this problem exists with similar vehicles and has stated that a repair does not exist. The navigation system is slow to respond and at times cannot properly locate the vehicle. The navigation system also has faulted by not allowing manual entry of addresses or selection of saved destinations. The dealer has acknowledged a repair for this does not exist other than to disconnect the battery terminals for at least 10 minutes.

- Rockville, MD, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?