Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #101

Sep 252014


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the front and rear doors appeared to be pushed out from the vehicle. In addition, the rear door hatch fractured and detached and the battery died. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new battery, the hatch handle needed to be soldered back on, and weather stripping needed to be added to the doors. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V495000 (electrical system), 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts), and 16V643000 (latches/locks/linkages). The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bethel Island, CA, USA

problem #100

Oct 012016


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle began to decrease in speed and was unable to accelerate. The dealer diagnosed that the engine, alternator, and wiring failed. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Stoneham, MA, USA

problem #99

Jul 262016


  • 49,043 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 20 mph, the battery warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact had to turn off the air conditioning in order for the vehicle to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,043.

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #98

May 112016


  • 38,000 miles


Engine fault service now light comes on frequently. Dealership replace map sensor. Worked for one week. Continues to happen which causes car to hesitate and stall. Garage says I have to drive it there when message comes on without shutting it off as the code clears upon shut down. Impossible to continue to drive a stalling car on the freeway to the garage. Now the computer screen above the steeing wheel went out. Less than 40,000 miles on the car. Fault message occurs when starting the car. Continues to happen.

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #97

Aug 092016


  • 23,000 miles
On 8/09/16 my Escape stalled repeatedly while driving on a rural highway at 50 mph. Limped to the dealership on 8/10/16. Dropped my vehicle off about 10 a.M. mechanic searched most of that day but did not find problem, early the next morning found problem, it was the splice in the electrical wiring harness could not send proper signal to the engine. My car was previously recalled to correct this problem. Recall 14S17-S1. Currently Ford issued a recall again to start on January 4 2016. I had to pay to have the splice problem fixed, asked, dealer why should I pay for a Ford manufacturing problem. They said my VIN number was not on the Ford recall list. This problem has been ongoing since 2013, VIN number should not give Ford a excuse to select a controlled list of Escapes so they do not have to pay for fixing this problem, no matter when it occurs just an excuse so they save money by sticking it to the dealer or customer. Ford should honor the above recall no matter how old the car is.

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #96

Aug 032016


  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving various speeds, the windshield sensor failed to function. The failure recurred numerous times. In addition, while driving 60 mph and changing gears, the vehicle lost power and stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the electronic sensor and transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #95

Jun 012016


  • 30,000 miles


A warning indicator will appear on the dash stating "engine malfunction service now". the car shudders, jerks, hesitates and can stall when the throttle is pushed. Pulling over, powering the car down, and turning it back on seems to temporarily resolve it. Issue may be associated with high temperatures since this was serviced in August of 2016. After 5 trips to the dealer with repairs related to the wiring harness, I was told it was resolved. The problem has recurred starting in June of this year. Went to the Ford dealer again and they failed to diagnose. Drove it to the dealer in failure mode with warning displayed to prove there is an issue. This happens when in motion. I have video of the error display.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #94

Jul 122016


  • 51,000 miles
Got the same wiring harness problems as recall #15V81300 but it seems my vehicle is not included. Are the dates of manufacture too restricted" do I have one of those improperly made harnesses"

- Oconomoc, WI, USA

problem #93

Nov 202015


  • 58,259 miles
Vehicle shut off while getting on the highway traveling at about 25 mph. It would not restart, had to be towed to nearest Ford dealer. Failure was due to electrical harness shorting wire. There are a couple of recalls for this same issue on Escapes but I am told my vehicle isn't one of the recalls, despite being the same problem

- Cumbrland, RI, USA

problem #92

Jun 282016


  • miles
Purchased used 2013 Ford Escape vehicle with approximately 33K miles in October of 2014. Purchased extended warranty as warranty was due to expire at 36K miles. A week or two after purchase, car stalled. In the shop it went. Several months later check engine light came on. In the shop it went again. Multiple times later car has been in the shop again for same "check engine light" for 2-3 weeks at a time; transmission replaced twice. The car was back in shop again last week for same issue check engine light this time dealer claims purge valve issue.

- Totowa, NJ, USA

problem #91

Jun 142016


  • 23,000 miles


We came to a stop at a stop sign on a city side street. The engine died and would crank over but not restart. This has happened twice. Ablown fuse was found labeled vehicle power. No codes were found. No other problems have occurred. The second time was on a highway when we had to make a sudden stop.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #90

Jun 262016


  • 55,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled and shut off without warning. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and restarted it, but the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall; however, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts). The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

problem #89

Jun 082016


  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle overheated and lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The service engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wires in the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V813000 (electrical system) and 14V495000 (electrical system), but the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 78,000.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #88

Jun 172016

Escape 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
My 2013 Ford Escape's information display with all required information and odometer reading has gone blank all of a sudden. The vehicle was stationary at the time. I addressed this issue to Ford and the Ford dealer, but they don't care to help me and asking me to pay too much amount to replace it. How can I pay too much amount for replacing this if its there manufacturing defect. I know as per federal law this is must and the screen cannot happen on this case to any vehicle. Its definitely a much needed thing and its not a fault from the user. They said there is no recall for information cluster. When I searched, I found many recalls (15C03 recall) which they said my car cannot be included since it is 2013 model. Please help me. This is really a safety issue. I am scheduled by colonial Ford, danbury on 6/27/16 to check the problem and I have end up paying too much money. Please consider this complaint and please take actions as soon as possible. Thank you

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #87

Jun 172016


  • 82,600 miles
After starting my 2013 Ford Escape, the instrument cluster information display with system warnings and only odometer display went blank. Technicians checked for a bad fuse, but none found. Also, found that there is a recall (15C03 - reprogram instrument panel cluster) issued against 2014 Ford Escape for the same issue.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #86

Apr 112016


  • 29,000 miles
First problem April 2016 - engine shaking at 55/60 mph - rear transaxle mount replaced 5/3/16 second problem - car stalling and shaking / but not turning off - towed 5/11/16 - replaced main harness wiring 5/12/16 third problem - car stalled / not starting - towed again 5/12/16 - replaced left ac mount, now to replace right ac mount. Still at dealer - 5/31/16

- Rye Brook, NY, USA

problem #85

Jan 182016


  • 42,000 miles
Since January 18, my car has stalled many time while driving, has been to the dealership six times, not fixed, always unable to replicate. It has now been there for a week, trying to replicate the stalling. It has stalled while diving out of my driveway, on side streets, and twice on the highway. No engine lights go on, it just stalls. The radiator, the map sensor and now the battery have been replaced, still no fix. The water pump was replaced after a recall in 2014 after overheating and coolant leaks.

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #84

Jan 282015


  • 12,583 miles
On January 28, 2015, while driving the vehicle in the city of trujillo peru. The engine stopped, the witnesses of the engine, oil and also the battery sign lit up. So I decided to take the vehicle to the authorized Ford, , where Ford mechanics determined that the engine had no oil, intercooler and ducts, spark burnt with oil residue workshop. Then the workshop asks me to authorize disassemble the engine to repair, the vehicle had 12.583 km long, and is within the factory warranty then, ask the college of engineering of the city of trujillo to conduct an ocular inspection. To determine the cause of the fault and the determination of the severity occurred in the vehicle, of course with the consent of Ford peru, Ford which he refused to perform an expert.

- Trujillo, KS, USA

problem #83

Mar 102016


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the cause of the failure was unable to be undetermined. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V813000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #82

May 032016


  • 59,500 miles
I have had three issues with check engine lights coming on from November through May. I've had two coolant sensor valves replaced and now have another code for cylinder head temperature sensor. This is three times in six months and I've spent close to $1,000 in repairs and the codes keep coming up. I even had the car temperature spike and the vehicle idle funny as sensors indicated my car was overheating. I believe Ford should look into this for a possible recall.

- Columbia, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?