Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Ford Escape has been in the news quite a bit and for all the wrong reasons. Within a few months of its release the SUV was recalled three times, twice because of engine fires.

In July 2012, due to a fuel line that could split and leak, Ford told owners to park their cars because even driving to the dealership for repairs was deemed too dangerous. Instead, in a somewhat unprecedented move, Ford sent tow trucks to pick up the affected vehicles and handed out rental cars while the owners waited for repairs.

A few months later the Escape was recalled again because antifreeze could leak out onto the engine due to a freeze plug becoming dislodged. As the coolant hit the hot engine there was, once again, a threat for fire.

The 2013 is the first model year of the Escape's 3rd generation and proves once again that you want to avoid the first model year when at all possible.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,349 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Escape electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #89

Jun 082016

Escape

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle overheated and lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The service engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wires in the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V813000 (electrical system) and 14V495000 (electrical system), but the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 78,000.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #88

Jun 172016

Escape 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
My 2013 Ford Escape's information display with all required information and odometer reading has gone blank all of a sudden. The vehicle was stationary at the time. I addressed this issue to Ford and the Ford dealer, but they don't care to help me and asking me to pay too much amount to replace it. How can I pay too much amount for replacing this if its there manufacturing defect. I know as per federal law this is must and the screen cannot happen on this case to any vehicle. Its definitely a much needed thing and its not a fault from the user. They said there is no recall for information cluster. When I searched, I found many recalls (15C03 recall) which they said my car cannot be included since it is 2013 model. Please help me. This is really a safety issue. I am scheduled by colonial Ford, danbury on 6/27/16 to check the problem and I have end up paying too much money. Please consider this complaint and please take actions as soon as possible. Thank you

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #87

Jun 172016

Escape

  • 82,600 miles
After starting my 2013 Ford Escape, the instrument cluster information display with system warnings and only odometer display went blank. Technicians checked for a bad fuse, but none found. Also, found that there is a recall (15C03 - reprogram instrument panel cluster) issued against 2014 Ford Escape for the same issue.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #86

Apr 112016

Escape

  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First problem April 2016 - engine shaking at 55/60 mph - rear transaxle mount replaced 5/3/16 second problem - car stalling and shaking / but not turning off - towed 5/11/16 - replaced main harness wiring 5/12/16 third problem - car stalled / not starting - towed again 5/12/16 - replaced left ac mount, now to replace right ac mount. Still at dealer - 5/31/16

- Rye Brook, NY, USA

problem #85

Jan 182016

Escape

  • 42,000 miles
Since January 18, my car has stalled many time while driving, has been to the dealership six times, not fixed, always unable to replicate. It has now been there for a week, trying to replicate the stalling. It has stalled while diving out of my driveway, on side streets, and twice on the highway. No engine lights go on, it just stalls. The radiator, the map sensor and now the battery have been replaced, still no fix. The water pump was replaced after a recall in 2014 after overheating and coolant leaks.

- Beverly Hills, MI, USA

problem #84

Jan 282015

Escape

  • 12,583 miles
On January 28, 2015, while driving the vehicle in the city of trujillo peru. The engine stopped, the witnesses of the engine, oil and also the battery sign lit up. So I decided to take the vehicle to the authorized Ford, , where Ford mechanics determined that the engine had no oil, intercooler and ducts, spark burnt with oil residue workshop. Then the workshop asks me to authorize disassemble the engine to repair, the vehicle had 12.583 km long, and is within the factory warranty then, ask the college of engineering of the city of trujillo to conduct an ocular inspection. To determine the cause of the fault and the determination of the severity occurred in the vehicle, of course with the consent of Ford peru, Ford which he refused to perform an expert.

- Trujillo, KS, USA

problem #83

Mar 102016

Escape

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate and stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the cause of the failure was unable to be undetermined. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V813000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #82

May 032016

Escape

  • 59,500 miles
I have had three issues with check engine lights coming on from November through May. I've had two coolant sensor valves replaced and now have another code for cylinder head temperature sensor. This is three times in six months and I've spent close to $1,000 in repairs and the codes keep coming up. I even had the car temperature spike and the vehicle idle funny as sensors indicated my car was overheating. I believe Ford should look into this for a possible recall.

- Columbia, IL, USA

problem #81

Apr 212016

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
My engine light came on and my car started to stall and not drive. It started to skip and at as if it was not going to go while driving. When I stopped it started to act as if it was going to cut off in the street. I had to get it towed to a dealership. They said it was my engine wiring system. Cost 500 dollars to fix.

- Hardwick, GA, USA

problem #80

Dec 192014

Escape

  • 55,225 miles
My car is a 2013 Escape and since I took it to service and to fix one recall that was causing my car to overheat and shut off engine 1.- (recall no. 13S12) risk of localized overheating of the enginecylinder head that may lead to oil leak filters. And.some other recalls, like 2.- (recall no. 13Y03 fuel line jumper), 3.-(recall no. 14so4 reprogram restrains control), and 4.-(recal no.14S03 exterior door handle) since that day Ive called many times to service manager ivan regarding this. My car has been malfuntioning overheating in the freeway, and in the streets, most of the times, even when it was right out of the service, I was going on a vacation with my family, where I even had D to pay to replace engine coolant bypass valve, $330.18 dlls because my car is over 30,000 miles but not yet 3 years.and at this time they performed another recall "???" yes... this was recall no 14S21 restraints control module replacement. And now when I got my car out of horne Ford nogales AZ. When I turn I hear a sound on the right side of my tires or brakes need a solution please help what can I do I need a solution this is not fair

- Nogales, AZ, USA

problem #79

Dec 012015

Escape

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the engine was defective and the engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized mechanic for diagnostic testing, which located a failure code at the coolant system. When the engine was started, smoke and a burning odor was detected from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Central Falls, RI, USA

problem #78

Feb 102016

Escape

  • 50,500 miles
Correspondence with flood Ford of East greenwich, ri to: Michael whyte (Ford service adviser), re: Crash risk with 2013 Ford Escape (stalling while driving and also lack of being able to accelerate vehicle while engine is running). Vehicle was brought to 2 different Ford dealers for same problem and was told that they could diagnose and/or replicate problem. This issue and circumstance has been reported numerous times upon goggle searches (please see below). I contacted the Ford customer relationship center again today to document the situation surrounding our vehicle (case # 8980601). Please note that I had contacted them originally on February 29th (case #8916920) and they referred me to the flood dealership after we had brought the vehicle to the tasca dealership on February 28th and 29th. They tried to contact the service department at flood Ford at 4:00pm today but were not able to get through. I also contacted the consumers for auto reliability and safety and they responded back with the following message and strongly emphasized not to drive the vehicle because of the potential crash risk. I am also in the process of reporting the defect to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and have also contacted the wjar consumer advocate department surrounding our dilemma to see if they can help us as well. Hopefully the experts at Ford can help provide additional insights as to how to best address this situation. With best regards, victor www.autonews.com/article/20140815/oem11/140819918/Ford-recalls- > 2013 -Escape-for-11th-time-this-time-for-wiring-problem > > > M.carcomplaints.com/Ford/Escape/2013/engine/engine_stalls_shuts > _do > wn_while_driving.shtml > > www.lemonlaw.com/wordpress/Ford-Escape-stalling-problems-contin > ue- > 160000-vehicles-recalled/

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #77

Mar 032016

Escape

  • 52,000 miles
Purchased vehicle in August of 2014 with 28,000 miles on it. About 2-3 weeks ago the vehicle just stalked, lost all power then died on my wife with my 19 month old baby girl in the car. Vehicle starts right back up when this occurs. It happens a couple of times a week and is very dangerous. Sometimes it will die when you are trying to accelerate or merge into traffic. Took it to the same Ford dealer we purchased the vehicle from and they were able to replicate the problem. However, no codes are present in the vehicle even when it happens. The Ford service writer and technician said that it was the throttle body. The vehicle has 52,000 miles on it however I was told no warranty or recall covered the replacement of the throttle body. I paid for the throttle body repair. Less than 48 hours later the vehicle dies again on my wife while pulling out of our neighborhood. Again with my child in the back seat.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #76

Mar 012013

Escape

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While attempting to start the vehicle, it failed to start. The failure occurred randomly, but was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.

- Skokie, IL, USA

problem #75

Feb 192016

Escape

  • 38,300 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact had to stop and restart the vehicle. The vehicle was driven to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact also stated that the failure recurred every day. The approximate failure mileage was 38,300.

- Saltrock, WV, USA

problem #74

Dec 172015

Escape

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled as the oil, the battery and the check engine warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V813000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Little Egg Harbor, NJ, USA

problem #73

Feb 052014

Escape

  • 8,000 miles
Ongoing list of recalls some of which do not even work its a dangerous distracting vehicle to drive endless trips to the dealers.this is not a safe and reliable car

- Minster, OH, USA

problem #72

Dec 312015

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
Driving on the interstate when the car lost all power and all warning lights came on. I pulled onto the shoulder and noticed smoke coming from under the hood. Got out to get a better look when the engine compartment burst into flames.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #71

Dec 072015

Escape

  • 42,612 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the service engine warning light kept randomly flashing. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a short with the wires and the engine wiring harness. The dealer replaced the parts. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V813000 (electrical system) and 14V495000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 42,612.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #70

Nov 172015

Escape

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 65 mph, the ignition key independently moved into the off position and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000.

- Niles, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?