If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Ford Explorer one of our worst vehicles on record. "Avoid like the plague" is putting it lightly.

The 2002-2005 Explorer has a very well-established record of expensive transmission failure at under 100k miles. The Explorer has an enclosed transmission which is typically replaced with a rebuilt transmission at a cost of almost $3,000.

Another common problem for the 2002-2005 Explorer is wheel bearing failure at around 90k miles, with a typical repair bill of $500 to $1000 depending on how many wheel bearings failed.

Adding insult to injury, the 2002-2005 Explorer also has a massive problem with the rear panel cracking. While it's a minor annoyance compared to transmission failure, ironically the crack usually goes right through the Ford logo.

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,021.00
Average Mileage:
68,351 miles
Total Complaints:
355 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (179 reports)
  2. replace shift solenoid (56 reports)
  3. rebuild transmission (53 reports)
  4. replace transmission (52 reports)
  5. replace shift solenoid and bands (9 reports)
  6. replaced transmission twice (2 reports)
2004 Ford Explorer transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 18)

problem #355

Jun 162014

Explorer XLS 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,313 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased the 04 Explorer in mid June as a second vehicle for my wife to drive and so we could tow our pop up camper. Thought it would be good for our growing family, easier to get the kids in and out vs the 08 Avenger we traded in. The Explorer was in terrific shape, clean, no rust, underside was immaculate. Did my research, unfortunately didn't see this site and wish I had, and seemed to be a decent vehicle. I only expected to get 3-4 years of low mileage driving out of it. Well 1 week after purchasing the transmission started banging when shifting into reverse but only when the vehicle was warmed up. Sounded like the Explorer was going to break in half.

I took it to a transmission repair shop and said it was somewhat common for this vintage of Explorers. Replaced the shift solenoid, valve body and computer for $1500. Was working great but two weeks later started to do the same thing. After reading numerous similar and even worse stories on this site decided it was better to "cut ties" and eat the nearly $4000 I lost on the Explorer and trade it in for something else. Figured it was better then having my wife and 2 kids stranded and being afraid to drive it anywhere and trying to avoid reversing. I have never been under so much stress over a stupid car!

I realize it was a 10 year old vehicle but with that low of KM's it shouldn't be having major transmission issues, no wonder why Ford didn't need a bailout they never bothered to recall and fix their crappy transmissions! I will need to think long and hard before considering another Ford product. I guess that acronym is true FORD: Fix Or Repair Daily!

- , Grimsby, Ontario, canada

problem #354

Apr 192013

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

I BOUGHT THE EXPLORER FROM AN DEALER IN FRESNO, CA. NOTICED THE TRANSMISSION SLIPPING THE NEXT DAY. AFTER ABOUT 8 MONTHS THE DEALERSHIP AGREED TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION WITH A REBUILT ONE.

- , Fresno, CA, USA

problem #353

Oct 302013

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

I HAD THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED WITH A REBUILT ONE AND THE NEXT DAY THE TRANSMISSION WAS STILL SLIPPING. I CALLED INTO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY REFUSED TO UPHOLD THE WARRANTY ON THE TRANSMISSION. BECAUSE I DIDN'T GIVE UP ON IT THE DEALERSHIP FINALLY AGREED TO CALL IN FOR THE WARRANTY IN APRIL 2014. THE TRANSMISSION WAS ALREADY REPLACED WITH A REBUILT ONE. SO THEY REPLACED IT WITH ANOTHER REBUILT ONE.

- , Fresno, CA, USA

problem #352

May 022014

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

THIS HAS BEEN ON GOING SINCE I BOUGHT THE EXPLORER IN MAY 2013. IT HAS BEEN REPLACED WITH REBUILT TRANSMISSION 3 TIMES. THE TRANSMISSION NOW STARTED TO SLIP AND IT SHAKES A LOT. NO POWER IN THE TRANSMISSION. I'M REALLY IRRITATED THAT I AM SPENDING $17,000 ON A CAR THAT HAS AN ONGOING TRANSMISSION PROBLEM.

- , Fresno, CA, USA

problem #351

Jun 262014

Explorer XLT 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,412 miles

While shifting gears especially in reverse the transmission shakes very hard.

- , Jackson, MS, USA

problem #350

Jun 022014

Explorer V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

I cannot believe that with only 108000 miles this transmission is already going. I see from the responses that this is a known issue and should be covered by FORD.

- , royal oak, MI, USA

problem #349

Jun 012009

Explorer XLT 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine flairs to 3,000 rpm while attempting to shift from 1st to 2nd gear under light acceleration. Careful control of the throttle often mitigates the problem, though not entirely. Transmission fluid and filter were recently changed along with the solenoid pack (which fixed other shifting problems). The solution to the issue likely lies in the OD solenoid piston, which often goes bad in these models.

- , Manhattan, KS, USA

problem #348

Mar 152014

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

We purchased this car used on March 15, 2014 for my son. The day we brought it home from the dealership it started HARD shifting into reverse. Really Hard! I thought I'd done my research on the Explorers but somehow I missed this transmission problem. If you don't search the internet using the right words you don't see the threads expounding on the transmission issue. I've now spent $7500 on a SUV that is likely to have the transmission replaced. NOT GOOD FORD. You know you have a problem and you need to make these transmission right.

- , Charlotte, North Carolina, US, USA

problem #347

Oct 032013

Explorer Eddie Bauer V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

This is the secord Explorer that I have owned and they all do the same damn thing. Around the 70,000 mile marker the whole transmission starts grinding and eventually it seizes up, in traffic no less. This is a serious problem with these Explorers, but it seems if no one gets killed or disabled by one FORD won't recall the damn thing. I really don't know that I would buy another ford just because of this issue that won't seem to be addressed.

- , Grain Valley, MO, USA

problem #346

Dec 112013

Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

The transmission is starting to show signs of a problem. A transmission specialist told me that it may last a while or might fail soon. The minimum repair cost would be $1200, but likely could require the transmission to be replaced with a rebuilt one at cost of about $3000.

- , Madison, WI, USA

problem #345

Apr 062010

Explorer XLT 4.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford built a pile of sh*t when they built the Ford Explorer. They need to recall them all. The government needs to force Ford to recall these transmissions and fix them at no cost...

- , Lagrange, GA, USA

problem #344

Apr 162012

Explorer Eddie Bauer 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,500 miles

I was driving today and all of sudden a car jumps out of nowhere where I had to apply the brakes hard, so when I went ahead to accelerate the engine was revving but the car was moving slowly. What gives? What could be the problem? Also, My ABS light comes on regularly and my cruise control works occasionally also. Can this be all a related problem?

- , Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #343

Dec 062009

Explorer LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

This problem seems to be a routine occurrence with Explorer owners. With all the same problem with the transmission, slipping and jerking, why can't we get together and have a class action suit against the Ford Motor Co. since they know about it and are doing absolutely nothing. It sounds like any day now the transmission will stop functioning and leave us stranded. As much as this vehicle cost, it is no excuse why Ford should not stand behind their product. The jerking is so loud you can hear it when you start driving. It is embarrassing!

- , Laurel, Delaware, USA

problem #342

May 182013

Explorer Edie Bauer V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,230 miles

Have been wondering if other owners have had this same problem. Really takes away from the value of the vehicle. Getting a little fed up with Ford products!

- , Abbeville, SC, USA

problem #341

Sep 012011

Explorer 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

the transmission seemed not to be shifting, I took the truck in for other issues and asked the dealer to check trans also, especially since extended warranty was almost up. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THEY TEST DROVE IT AND DID NOT feel anything wrong, so they could not do anything for me, I kept complaining and was told to bring it by when I felt it again,I did and it didnt happen when they drove it so would not check transmission because he said warranty company would not pay for it. I called and told him how i came off interstate and stopped at light, trans wouldnt shift, then he asked if it shifted really hard after that and I said yes,he said oh bring it in and see if it does again, I drove there again, it did not act up for them on test drive, so once again they did nothing, he knew exactly what I was talking about and finished my sentence but would do nothing!!! Now my warranty is up and problem is worse, I feel like Im going to get in an accident when I pull out in traffic because it doesn't want to shift!

- , Longwood, FL, USA

problem #340

May 022006

Explorer 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

When shifting into reverse there is a second of hesitation and then it grabs with a thud and takes off. We took it into the dealer while it was still under extended warranty and they told my wife it was normal. Once I found out I told her it was not normal. We took it back and of course it was not in under warranty anymore. They changed the shift solenoid but it didn't help much. Bottom line is that I've seen tons of complaints on the internet about the same problem but Ford ignores it. It cost them my business. I have a toyota truck that has 270,000 miles with very little problem. Me and my wife are getting ready to purchase new cars. Since ford didn't take care of me we are going to toyota. That's two new vehicles ford will not get to sell.

- , New Bern, NC, USA

problem #339

Feb 012012

Explorer V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

This transmission in this vehicle is horrible. I bought this to have reliable transportation for family and work. Not only is this the worst vehicle I have owned, I see that many hundreds, if not tens of thousands of Explorer owners are experiencing the same transmission problems. If Ford ever wants my loyalty from them in the future to purchase another Ford product they need to own up to this horrific transmission and recall it. Hard working Americans have spent their earnings on this piece of sh*t vehicle only to be let down.

I bought this vehicle used with 80,000 miles on it. I now have a payment for a scrap vehicle which I cannot afford to fix and the need for reliable transportation. Unbelievable. I will let everyone I can know about the reliability of the Ford vehicles. It's no wonder people are buying foreign cars, what an absolute shame. Way to contribute to the absolute decline of this great country. When you can legally build junk and sell it, and not stand behind it; pathetic. I can see the only reason you did not need bail out money was because you were ripping off the American consumer. Do this country and the people in it a favor; start recalling some of this crap and treat your customers fairly, return to the reputable car company you once were!

- , Canton, OH, USA

problem #338

Jan 072013

Explorer XLS 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,101 miles

I bought a 2004 Ford Explorer last April 2012 and i didn't buy it in ford dealership, now i don't know if i have warranty. Sometime on January 2013 the problem start, after driving my car or sometimes if i just move my car forward a little bit, once i stop my shift gear won't go on park and reverse but it works on drive, shift gear move till neutral and that's it. Now i have to move forward and stop little by little until the shift gear move to park or reverse....

- , Seattle, WA, USA

problem #337

Jun 232013

Explorer XLT 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,882 miles

So I was getting ready to park the Ford Explorer and moved the shift selector to reverse and it just sat there for about 5 seconds and then BAM!!! it hit reverse and started backing up. I decided to pull forward to see if it was just a fluke and shifted back to reverse and it sat there for a few seconds then BAM!! same thing.

- , Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #336

Sep 202012

Explorer XLT 4.0L Cologne V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,596 miles

It's the XLT model, simple with enough features for practical usage and toting the kids around town. Some call it a glorified minivan, I call it an unreliable scam. The truck was purchased new in Nov 2004. It's been in two accidents (idiots rear ended us twice within the first year of ownership). It was always maintained at the original dealer until we moved and had it maintained at the Ford dealer there until it was paid off in 2010 (now it's a regular Midas guest). It's had many expensive repairs throughout its life, but I'm not here to gripe about those, I'm here to complain about the transmission.

The transmission has always shifted a little rough (well, it's a Ford transmission, they all suck) but at 133,000 miles it started to whine and wouldn't get into reverse. We would need to step on the gas and wait for the gear to catch, eventually it would with a nice thud and being jerked backwards at 10mph. It's now at 140,000 miles and we're waiting for it to die. Not to mention the gas mileage has gone out the window since then, making about 10mpg highway.

3/4 Explorers I've personally experienced had transmission issues. The 1st is this one, the second is a 2002 XLT (slipping and eventually replaced), 3rd 2002 Eddie Bauer (unknown), and the 4th 2005 XLT is the same as this 2004.

If you're looking at buying one of these used, please, PLEASE, look elsewhere...but not at a Ford truck. Go Dodge or Chevy, or someone else who knows how to make a decent transmission.

- , Keene, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?