Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Explorer miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Oct 202015


  • 40,000 miles


Exterior door handles loose and sticking.

- Varney, WV, USA

problem #22

Oct 102015


  • 44,000 miles
I have 44,000 miles and over the past few months have been experiencing exhaust fumes entering the cabin after driving on the expressway for a period of time and coming to a stop with the defrost on and rear A/C

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #21

Oct 062015


  • 27,000 miles
Exhaust gas entering the cabin during hard acceleration or when driving at sustained highway speeds. Appears to be related to rear air conditioning sucking air from underneath rear of car!

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #20

Dec 312014


  • 17,000 miles


I purchased my vehicle from the jennings anderson Ford dealer. It had around 17,000 miles on it. Shortly after I vehicle, I brought it in because the exhaust fumes are being sucked into the vehicle when I accelerate such as getting on the freeway. David savinich (service adviser) told me that Ford was aware of the problem and they had a fix for it. They installed their fix but it is still sucking in exhaust fumes. I talked to jeff asher (service dept manager) and I asked him whether Ford had a fix for it. I was told no. I asked jeff to call me if there was a fix. It has been over a year and their is still no repair. I get a bad headache every time I get on the freeway. It is so bad that it also makes me nauseated. I am unable to use the air conditioner recirculatation in the car.

- Boerne, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 012015


  • miles
A warning pops up stating shift to park when it is clearly in park. This has been happening for a few months now. Have to push the button at front top of shifter a few times to make it sense that it is in park.

- Huntingdon, TN, USA

problem #18

Sep 282015


  • miles
Naging door jaar open sensor, for under 2 years its already faulting

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 202015


  • 62,000 miles


Door handle broke off when pulling on the latch to open car door.

- Camden, SC, USA

problem #16

Aug 092015


  • 39,739 miles
On several occasions within the past 3 weeks, while attempting to put our vehicle into "park" we received a warning light that we needed to "shift to park", except the shifter was placed in the park position every time; this occurred to both my husband and myself. I was afraid the vehicle would not stay in park on hills or slopes in parking lots and in my sloped driveway where there are lots of small children playing and riding bikes because of this warning and would roll away killing someone. Recently, our Explorer would not start, our key fobs would not lock or unlock the doors; I was stranded. This last time on August 24, 2015 I contacted Ford roadside assistance to tow it to the closest Ford dealership to find out what was wrong. Turns out the shifter was defective and as a result it drained the battery. It cost me $672.39 to replace the shifter and the battery; which is a lot of money when your out of work/retired with health issues. I also kept the old part for evidence. I talked to another Ford Explorer owner who also had the same problem and to date there is no recall I suppose because no one is dead, yet.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #15

Jul 152015


  • 59,800 miles
Despite the plethora of claims posted on this site about exhaust inside the cabin of 2011-2015 Explorer, and repeated information that the "tsb" Ford has issued does not work, NHTSA has failed to act. How dare you continue to allow so many lives to be put in unnecessary danger" what is the cost of life over Ford's bottom line? who must die? is my accident where I suddenly passed out and wrecked not enough? do you know how it feels when you're told by a pediatrician that your 8 year old may have permanent brain and pulmonary damage from chronic exposure to carbon monoxide and exhaust? why have you done nothing? I'm a single mother who was willing to pay $52K so that I could have a safe vehicle for my family, and instead we are being poisoned. I have had this vehicle in 6 times with no resolution and Ford refuses to buy it back. I have been repeatedly been lied to that the issue is the ptu and continued to drive with my children unaware we were being poisoned for 60K miles. I cannot afford another vehicle until a fix surfaces, what am I to do, drive around with the windows down? I don't feel that is acceptable in a $52,000 vehicle, do you? what about the potential long term health issues that are now surfacing? should I keep putting my kids in this car since it is my only means of transportation? would you put your 4 and 8 year olds in it? shame on the NHTSA for not taking this issue seriously and continuing to allow families to breath in such hazardous and life threatening fumes. I hope you all drive one of these vehicles and put your babies in them and they get sick, just like mine, so that maybe then you'll react. Those that read this message should be embarrassed for your failure to do nothing over such a severe "design flaw", your failure to act makes you not just disgusting examples of human beings, but americans in particular. Do I have your attention now"

- Cloverdale, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 302015


  • 35,000 miles
My mechanic discovered rust bubbles on my hood on or about June of 2015. It is very awful looking for a vehicle which is only 2 years old and parked where there is no river waters.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #13

Nov 242013


  • 20,000 miles


2011-2015 Ford Explorer there is a "design flaw" in which the internal cabin air vents are sucking in exhaust and carbon monoxide. Ford has issued a fix (tsb 14-0130) but not a recall and there is a class action lawsuit. For me it is happening on acceleration and going up steep grades and there is a sulfur/mechanical burning smell that wafts in. The kids and I, as well as anyone else in the car for long durations, have been getting migraines, dizzy and just flat out sick. I drive for work and the dizziness and migraines has become so frequent, as well as mixing up words when I'm speaking, that I was beginning to think something is seriously wrong with me. I passed out and wrecked it when I had only 20,000 miles on it and I kept saying "I don't understand what happened, I just passed out". I had gone up the grade on 101, where the fumes become extremely potent, exited, and had just got on to the ranch road and was going slow and I was (for the most part) un-injured and no one was with me. I have had it in 5 times for the smell but it wasn't until this last time that they told me what was really going on. Ford wouldn't pay for the fix even though I have a Ford premium 100K mile warranty because their warranty excludes "design flaws" but fortunately henry curtis Ford picked up the tab and I had to pay the $100 deductible. While the problem is not happening as frequently, it still happens in certain conditions. Ford is refusing to give me a new car. This is a very dangerous "design flaw", which means it's in every Explorer out there, including the ones the law enforcement officials drive. Every one needs to know and Ford needs to do a recall before someone dies...updated 09/15/15

- Cloverdale, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 082015


  • 0 miles
Exhaust fumes are coming in the cab. Strong smell when accelerating fast. My eyes burn and water everytime I drive it. My allergies have been off charts since we purchased it in May 2015. I took it to Ford thinking I have bumper to bumper and 46000 miles left on my warranty so I thought they would solve it's problem. They call me at work and tell me it's not covered under warranty. They tell me it will cost me $700 to fix. I feel like that's on Ford to fix.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #11

Jun 302015


  • 53,000 miles
Radiator hose breached, decompressing radiator. Radiator hose was rubbed open by nearby metal compressor line running perpendicular. Hole was 1" by 1/2". radiator immediately emptied, engine overheated and shuddered. Repair made by Ford dealership only replaced hose and flushed coolant. Ford did not remedy situation where metal compressor line is adjacent and sometimes in contact with radiator hose. I have photo and video proving the ac line rubbed the hose open.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #10

Jul 122013


  • 36,000 miles
At the3200 mileage I experince brake issues rotary had to be replaced.on the first week of July 2015 additional brake work had to be redone.on july10th 2015 while driving the ac unit went out completly while I was driving on a long extended trip barely made it home no air wierd screehin noise. Scheduled to go back to repair7-14-15. I purchase the vehicle July 2014.the vehicle has 36000. Very unhappy at this point thinking about returning the vehicle and starting over with some other vehicle

- Alvaton, KY, USA

problem #9

Jul 072015


  • miles
The front edge of the hood has bubbling paint, dealer tried to have Ford cover the repair but Ford denied the repair. Dealership instructed me to call Ford customer service and file a complaint. Ford customer service suggested I file a complaint here with NHTSA.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #8

May 012015


  • 60,000 miles
Figured out that the constant annoying flapping noise during cross winds while driving at highway speeds that seemed to be coming from the windshield trim or lower door post was actually coming from a loose panel fastener or shield clip on the inner fender splash shield/skirt. There are several of these fasteners and one was loose enough to allow the shield to vibrate. Once that was resecured it hasn't made the noise since.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #7

May 212015


  • 61,000 miles
Burnt oil smell during acceleration or long trips. This is easily repeatable and happens every time.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #6

Nov 102013

Explorer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,100 miles
Exhaust fumes in cabin when accelerated.

- Manns Choice, PA, USA

problem #5

Nov 082014


  • 44,423 miles
When accelerating, exhaust/gas fumes emitted inside the vehicle through the vent system. Fumes are more profound in the rear, inside vehicle. When vent/climate system is off, no fumes. Seems to be more profound when ac is operating, nevertheless the fumes accumulate to the rear. Started noticing on 11/8/2014 and has worsened each day since. Dealer appointment made for 11/12/2014.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #4

Sep 212014


  • 59,000 miles
Hear a thunk when chassis under certain stress. Dealership reports it is likely body supports that need to be replaced.

- Washington, DC, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?