Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford changed a lot of things for its 3rd generation, just none of them were a good idea.

The transmission tends to hesitate and jerk when accelerating. The new electronically-driven power steering can fail suddenly and without warning. Even Ford's SYNC can be a headache. Actually, scratch that last one --- it's always been a headache.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,525 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Oct 022016


  • 69,000 miles


My 16 year old son was driving home from work when his car just stopped in the middle of the road. He pulled off to the side of the road and waited in his hot car till we could get there because he was unsure of the safety of the area. A friend of his dads towed it to the local Ford dealership. They immediately knew what was wrong with it. They said the purge valve was stuck and caused a vacuum affect on the fuel tank causing it to cave in and the fuel pump to break. They wanted $1400 to replace the fuel pump and fix the tank. After calling Ford Motor Company 2 times. The first time, they completely reported the incorrect information to the service manager saying it was a door handle recall issue. Not true at all. The second time the were going to offer financial assistance. So we went from having to pay $1400 to $900 to now I had to pay $777. I explained to them how I should not have to pay for a manufacturer defect and this could have caused harm to my child. It can also cause harm to others that own this same kind of vehicle if it is not corrected. I asked them if it was going to take someone getting killed before they decide to correct the problem. So they put a band aide on my son's car and sent us away. I'm very unhappy with the way this matter has been resolved. I want my money back and I want this problem to be fixed so others do not experience the unsafe conditions that my son has been placed in. Please help get this recalled.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #23

Sep 052016


  • 50,000 miles
Many problems with this Ford Focus.1st problem I had was a year after I bought the vehicle the fuel pump was leaking.I notice because my car was parked and it smelled like gasoline inside the vehicle.2nd incident happened a year later. I was driving home from work when car just shut off on the road. I was so scared.I was in notion barely move to the side of the road on rt 50.that was so scary I could have died.I had to tow the car to get serviced at sheehy Ford. They gave me the car back again and it happened again on the road on my way to work. At that time I towed it again but to koons falls church.looked at the vehicle and didn't find anything either until I got upset and they told me to go for a test drive with the mechanic and it happened while on the test drive. The mechanic stated to keep the car running so he can plug in the machine that reads the problems on the vehicle. He also stated that once you turn of the car and you turn it back on that it would reset it self and that's why they didn't know that tcm or tmc control needed to be replaced. This was very scary for for the passed 3 weeks I have been dealing with a static /popping noise /sound that comes from the vehicle when I'm driving & when the vehicle is parked, the key is out the ignition.I took it to sheehy since that's where I bought the vehicle. They provide the worst service on the vehicle. Bcuz they had my car for 4 days and didn't provide me with a loaner and had the audacity to tell me that the master tech was on vacation and I would have to wait still with no loaner vehicle.the radio is completely off and they want me to pay out of pocket to fix has just given me problem after problem is manufactured problems.I had so many safety issues that scared shutting off on the road and now making loud popping/ static noise where I thought I might be electrocuted.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #22

Sep 102016


  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 65 mph, the fuel gauge displayed a quarter of a tank. The contact proceeded to a fuel station and the vehicle stalled. The contact had to push the vehicle to the fuel station for fuel. The vehicle was restarted and driven home. The following day, the dealer diagnosed that the deformed fuel tank needed replacement. The failure recurred once. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 91,000.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #21

Aug 172016


  • 67,000 miles


My vehicle has 67K miles and was purchased certified pre-owned four months ago. On Wednesday 8/17/16 I filled my tank, and when I tried to start the ignition right after fueling, the car sputtered but would not turn on. After a few more tries the car turned on and I was able to drive and turn the car on and off with no problem. The following day I was driving on a surface street, and when the car came to a stop at a red light it completely shut off even though my gas gauge still showed fuel in the tank. I had the car towed to a Ford dealership, and they informed me that the purge valve, was stuck in the open position causing my fuel pump to deliver too much fuel to the engine, and created a vacuum pressure so strong that it warped my tank and damaged my fuel pump and fuel sensor, making my sensor think there was more gas in the tank than there really was. They informed me that I would need a new purge valve, a new evaporator canister, a new fuel tank and fuel pump, totaling $2100 and which was not covered under warranty because emissions components are only covered for 2 years or 25K miles through Ford. The purge valve malfunction is a known problem in 2012 and 2013 Ford focuses yet a recall has not been issued by Ford, and customers are having to pay for the expensive repairs out of pocket for defective engine component that was not damaged by the drivers. Can someone at the NHTSA please research the vapor canister purge solenoid malfunction on 2012-2013 Ford Focus? having the purge valve stuck in the open position can collapse the fuel tank causing catastrophic engine failure with little to no warning and could potentially lead to accident and injury if the failure occurs on the highway or in traffic. Ford technicians are aware of this issue but since no recall has been released, they can only say to the customers "bad luck, you gotta fix it".

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #20

Jun 092016


  • 79,500 miles
Car will die while driving or stopped at light or stop sign. Car will die after putting gas in tank. Car died will driving at a speeds of 20mph-65mph on multiple occasions. Was forced to make dangerous maneuvers to get off highway and on 2 occasions car died in middle of an intersection. Was told by mechanic the vehicle gas tank had the pressure of a diesel (1000lbs) when a normal sedan should be 300-400lbs of pressure. The pressure caused the gas tank to become inverted and broke all attachments contained to the fuel pump. This is not the result of driver. The car is defective and the results may lead to serious injuries or possible death.

- Grand Forks Afb, ND, USA

problem #19

Mar 142016


  • 57,600 miles
I have a 2013 Focus and on 3/14/16 on my way home on the freeway, my oil & battery light started flickering on and off at the same time and as it did the car was stalling out. I put my 4-way flashers on, slowed down and moved to the right lane as a safety measure. After another few miles both lights came on and stayed on and the car shut down. I pulled over to the berm, waited a few minutes, tried starting, it started and drove home with no issues. I drove to work the next day with no issues. On the way home things started happening again, the car shut down, but this time after waiting a few minutes the car never started. I had it towed to the dealer and they found that a wiring harness was up against the throttle body and wore through the protective insulating tape, then the wires causing the problem. Also, in speaking to the mechanic he said that the bracket the harness was using to keep in place was causing it to be up against the throttle body so he unclipped the bracket. I'm going to call the Ford customer service center to discuss. Another issue was that the "book" said it would take 3 hours, but only took 2. and yes they tried to charge me for the 3. interesting at $125/ hour, that would be $250/ hour they're making while the mechanic starts on the next car! unbelievable.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #18

Mar 162016


  • 86,000 miles


I can't start the car or it randomly will not start. I leave heading to work everything is ok, car starts no problem. When I get back into the car and try to drive home or store. Car will not start, dashboard says car is in park or neutral. When I turn key to the on position, I move the gear shift to other gears, still dashboard says it's in park. My T-mobile more than likely went out but, they can't replace it until my check engine light comes on for the codes for my tcm. If the problem for the car is known for having bad seals and tcm, why not just replace it. This will be the 3 time I have taking my car back to the dealer, and there only solution is reprogramming the car computer. I have taken it twice this week alone.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 042016


  • 40,750 miles
While on a highway (August 2015), vehicle transmission began to slip followed by the car shutting off while driving at freeway speeds, vehicle would not turn back on and left me stranded in the middle of the highway. November 2015, while driving along freeway, car transmission began to slip, causing the car to again shut off completely while driving at 65mph. December 2015, driving on a city street, once agin transmission started slipping and vehicle shut off in mid motion while going 30 mph. In February 2016, vehicle started normally, once we pulled out onto a road, car began violently bucking transmission seemed to engage then disengage placing the vehicle in danger of being hit by cars from behind, and jostling passengers substantially. In March 2016, vehicle was driving 70 mph down freeway when transmission slipped, the transmission then seemed to engage normally again, but as vehicle exited freeway on feeder road, transmission disengaged, bucking car, driver had gas pedal floored and the vehicle would only move a few feet. After transmission re engaged, the car lurched forward without drivers foot on gas, putting vehicle at risk for hitting car in front of it. Each time vehicle has had an incident, we have taken it to a local Ford dealership, transmission computer module was replaced, clutches replaced, transmission re programmed 3 time, PCM replaced. Each time vehicle has been given back within a month their is an issue. Ford has told us that they really do to have a fix for the problems, and each time we are given an unsafe vehicle back that has imposed danger on our lives and others on multiple occasions. Ford even returned vehicle after it had stalled on them, because they could not find anything else wrong. We have been very lucky that each incident has not resulted in a crash.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #16

Jan 032016


  • 52,000 miles
This vehicle exhibits the same problem as described in NHTSA campaign # 15V813000, recall# 14S17- S1. I contacted Ford who stated that this vehicle is not covered under the recall, even though it was manufacturer during the dates covered by the recall. This vehicle has hesitated and almost stalled while entering high speed traffic on several occasions and with increasing frequency, nearly causing an accident. I would like this vehicle added to the list of vehicles being recalled for repairs before bodily injury or death occurs because of this defect

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #15

Jan 262016


  • 59,916 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Focus. While driving at any speed, the vehicle shut off. The contact placed the gear in neutral and restarted the vehicle after three attempts. The check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed that the purge canister valve was defective and caused the fuel tank to collapse. The dealer stated that the defective part was not covered under warranty. The manufacturer stated that the part was not recalled. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 59,916.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #14

Apr 012014


  • 40,000 miles


Transmission issues: Clutch repairs X3 (drove off lot with issues. My mistake. I knew something was wrong with it during test drive, was reassured it was new technology.) 1 cleaning, 1 replacing of parts, then transmission control module went out while in motion on city street, going forward 25+ mph, quit completely. Had towed. Ran out of gas (in motion on a highway, 65 + mph) while monitor noted 150 to empty, found to be valve pressure management system failure, resulting in gas tank replacement

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 142015


  • 60,082 miles
I was driving in town, had not had any indication previous to this that there was anything wrong with my car. As I was at an intersection, pulling away from a full stop, the car just quit. 100% would not move another inch even with coaxing etc. After trying to start the car a few more times I realized it was not going to start again and got it towed. The fuel pump was replaced. The way the car stopped made the situation dangerous. Sudden and without warning. I put this here, in case it becomes a pattern with this vehicle.

- Hudson, CO, USA

problem #12

Jul 102015


  • 68,420 miles
While driving down a highway going around 70 mph the car shuts down. I pull over and call Ford road side assistants. 2 hours later rsa brings gas and I pay them $50 because I'm out of the warranty that covers rsa. As the gentlemen pours gas in my tank the gas pours right out. I call my insurance company and have my vehicle towed to a Ford dealership. The dealership looks at my vehicle the next day and they say the gas tanked was hit by something on the road while driving. I reply I did not hear anything hit my car. They request my insurance info so they can call to file a comp claim. I say no I will call my insurance company myself. My insurance adjuster comes out to the dealership to look at the damage and when the dealership shows him the gas tank they see that the gas tank is deformed and the fuel pump is fried. The adjuster says this is a mechanical problem not a comp claim. The dealership does some further investigating and says that there is a seal that did not close in the gas tank after pumping gas and the gas tank was suction upped with the pressure while driving and fried the gas pump. My concern is the safety of myself and the people driving around me. If gas was spraying on the highway while I was driving and the gas tank and fuel pump malfunctions I think this should be a safety recall. My service advisor did inform me that the Ford models fiesta, Focus and F-150 have had these issues, but the newer models have been fixed.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #11

May 162015


  • 41,692 miles
While travelling on an interstate in the passing lane, the check engine lite came on and there was an instantaneous and complete loss of transmission. Was able to pull over, restart car, and had a couple of gears, but same thing happened 3 miles later. Ford warranty simply reset the transmission computer. On 26 may, on the way home from work, the transmission again cut out; this time I had 2 gears and was able to get to a dealership. This time they replaced the dual clutch transition control module (tcm). 2 total and sudden failures of the transmission, and Ford only resetting and not replacing the tcm the 1st time is dangerous to me and my family, and irresponsible by Ford. This is much more unsafe than the airbags issue. This is the 4th clutch issue: 3 new clutches already put in due to the shuddering/jerking issue. But total loss of power is simply dangerous.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #10

Feb 202013


  • 320 miles
The car will nearly stall (as if transmission slipped/disengaged), engine sputters, transmission grinds and jerks then gears catch and car lurches forwards and speeds off as if it is possessed. This is very dangerous when attempting to enter moving traffic and especially dangerous when crossing multiple lanes of traffic or if the driver is less experienced or isn't aware that he/she needs to accommodate it. The more miles accumulated, the worse and more pronounced the issue. Ford "reprogrammed" my transmission July 2013 (11,000 miles) with no results. Ford's response, "shudder" is normal and the intentional design of the car. The issue worsened to the point the transmission would disengage while climbing hills ( worse on moderate to steep grades) and reliability of this car deteriorated to the point I was rolling backwards down a hill I had attempted to climb at 50-55mph because the car just stops moving forward then the car will grind, bang shake, jerk then lurch forward and speed off like it finally got gas and found the gears (May 1,2015). October 22, 2014, I took the vehicle in for an oil change, with the Ford letter in hand and asked them to check my car again. Parts were ordered and it was safe to drive until then but, if I was left stranded to call roadside assistance. Ford is stalling progress & repair of this issue because they intend to avoid lemon law. My complaints went undocumented on service request paperwork because "shudder is normal/intentional operation" and subsequent complaints were ignored/undocumented because there were no parts to repair it. Resale & trade-in value is low, depreciate at a faster rate and are generally unsafe. Ford needs held accountable, remedy the issue in a timely manner to minimize loss, investment and potential danger to those who unfortunately purchased this defective product. This car is unreliable & dangerous!

- Newton, WV, USA

problem #9

Mar 022015

Focus 4-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
For the 3rd time in a 3 month span, my 2013 Ford Focus SE stalled while driving. Vehicle would not restart for approximately 20 minutes. This created an unsafe situation where I was stuck with a disabled vehicle. 1st failure instance occurred when I was coming to a stop at a traffic light 2nd failure instance occurred while driving at highway speeds (65mph) 3rd failure instance occurred while just after entering a highway at approx 45mph.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #8

Jan 152014


  • 10,000 miles
My car shutters and hesitates when pulling off, rpms rev up and gas mi is not as advertised. It also makes noises that I thought were the door locks clicking when car is off, later to be told its the transmission is re-setting? besides that I have had 3 flat tires on the same side of the car, from rivet looking things that I think are falling out of the wheel well (at least 1 did!) this is my 1st new car and I've taken care of it! in fact I got it early 2013, and as of now it only has 15,600 miles on it! the last oil change was due at 16,000miles and I had that done @ November because that date was recommended. Everytime I have mentioned this to Ford they blow me off and say there is no recall, well bs I want, and deserve what I paid for, a new car, not a big headache!

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #7

May 102013


  • miles
Every recall event for my 2013 Ford Focus, I have encountered. After a year and half of continued trips to and being without my car for service. The transmission issues still not resolved along with the electrical issues. The stereo display goes blank, at times shows incorrect date and clock jumps to different hours. The car lunges forward when you get to about 25 to 30 mph or hesitates when you excel. When you put in park it will lunge forward or act like you've popped the clutch even when brake is on. It shudders, has bump & bang noises, lunges, suspension noises. I can feel bumping/thumping under my feet when turning corners. Have had issues with the gas tank assembly and fuel system gauge (this part has been fixed) continued issues with the digital panel, intermittent erratic cluster radio, clock and sync issues that the service department cannot duplicate. When I have issues with the digital panel, I take a picture. Once I turn vehicle off and back on it sometimes clears it up. I've complained about tires noises and ride, they say tires are fine. I went to the dealership to just trade it in and the dealer suggested I contact Ford motor to have them buy it back. I have placed a complaint on the Ford website, but have yet to receive a response. I am afraid to drive this vehicle but have no other choice. Do I have to ruin my credit by just dropping my vehicle off and walking away for them to take back. Ford Motor Company does not make it easy to talk to someone regarding my vehicle. They should be more accessible now before something tragic happens.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 252014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Driving at highway speeds and car acts as if starved of fuel and rapidly decreases speed. There was no power, but vehicle was on. There have now been three incidents while on freeway at speed that the vehicle has done this and each time I have had to pull off onto shoulder (almost getting hit by traffic each time). Luckily the first 2 times I was able to restart car and get off freeway by staying on shoulder since car could not reach freeway speeds. This last incident (on 1/11/15) left me stranded on freeway between an on ramp and first lane. They did not do anything with first incident because they could not duplicate problem. After second incident Ford replaced fuel pump, gasket and tank. After two weeks and for a third time vehicle again "stalled" on freeway at 65-70mph. Car is again getting same parts replaced. All these incidents have occurred with in less than a 6 month period.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #5

Feb 202013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 30 miles
The transmission shudders during accelerating and has continued to do so fir the past 18 months. The issue has progressively gotten worse.

- Pooler, GA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?