CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford changed a lot of things for its 3rd generation, just none of them were a good idea.

The transmission tends to hesitate and jerk when accelerating. The new electronically-driven power steering can fail suddenly and without warning. Even Ford's SYNC can be a headache. Actually, scratch that last one --- it's always been a headache.

7.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,120.00
Average Mileage:
29,142 miles
Total Complaints:
91 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (46 reports)
  2. replace clutch (12 reports)
  3. software update (9 reports)
  4. waiting for ford to figure out what it takes to repair it (8 reports)
  5. replaced clutch mechanism (6 reports)
  6. rebuild tranmission and replaced input shaft seals (3 reports)
2013 Ford Focus transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #91

Sep 012013

Focus SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Ford Focus, started shuttering, hesitating when talking off, lurching not long after I purchased it. It has been in service several times, it drives good for a while and then the problems start again. Now they say mine does not meet the standards for a clutch replacement, I like to see them drive it for a while and then tell me that. I only have a total of 25,000 miles on my car and should not be having all these issues and no, that is not a typo my 4 year old car only has 25,000 miles on it.

I also want to say that I also own a 2014 Ford Fiesta (husband's car) with the same issues and the Fiesta has had two clutch replacements which did nothing to solve the problems. This will be the last Ford cars for us.

- , Greensboro, US

problem #90

Feb 012014

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

This Ford Focus only had 75 miles on it when I bought it. I needed a vehicle that would get me not only to work but my son to all 13 of his Specialist. When this problem with the transmission started I took it right in it would shake, jump and transmission just wasn't shifting right. I was told its the type of car at first. Then they replaced the clutch several times, reset the clutch and computer and this December transmission had to be replaced. Costing me a single mom 2300.00. My dad went up there with me several times demanding to have a new car and that this one was a lemon. They did nothing. Now the electrical system is all messed up the radio will static then make a big popping noise then the radio goes dead until you turn car off and turn it back on. My truck opens at random while in drive. I was going down interstate and out of nowhere it came open it was so scary. I took the car in and was told that they don't know why but if I want to spend the money it may take 300.00 to figure out what is wrong then cost to fix it. I am so sick of this car it's been nothing but a headache. Even with the transmission replace it stills misses out, jumps and shifts hard when you are taking off. I don't know what else to do I how so much money on this car and can't afford to even trade it. I believe that if ford doesn't want customers then treat us this way but if they value us then you would think they would make it right. Turn all those cars in and get something new that runs right for all these families. Will never ever get another Ford every again. Sad thing is that's all I had owned and had such good luck until know. When I buy a brand new one has been nothing but trouble.

- , Mcpherson, KS, US

problem #89

Apr 222014

Focus Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

ford should buy all these cars back garbage my car has been to the shop already 5 times, today makes 6 for the same problem. now it shuts off and the gauges go crazy. i was told it comes from the transmission module and it jerks and makes noise the service tech said its the worst car ever and that i was lucky it wasn't a fiesta. Ford you lost a life time customer never again will I buy Ford

- , Orlando, US

problem #88

Jan 032017

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car used in January 2017 and wanted to buy something I could purchase outright. This was within my price range. I just thought this was something I had to live with but it is really annoying. I had to drive in traffic to work and you must softly and carefully press the gas to avoid the sputtering and occasional jerking.

- , Mira Loma, US

problem #87

Dec 192013

Focus 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,717 miles

Transmission feels like it slips, revs up and then jumps into next gear. This happens from being at a complete stop, then accelerating, to slow or high speeds. Car is warmed up when this happens. Sudden jerking is felt when transmission jumps into next gear. Car has also lost power when trying to accelerate while pushing the gas pedal -very dangerous when left turning (which was when it happened the first time). Car also seems to jerk more when it is driving at slow speeds, around 30km/hr, especially at low speeds while ascending a small hill. Car has also lost power/no response on gas pedal while driving at a steady speed.

- , Surrey, BC, Canada

problem #86

Oct 282015

Focus LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,207 miles

My service manager was great ,Ricky Turner. My car is a piece of junk I even told them I needed to be compensated it fell on deaf ears. They reprogram pcm my recall letter did not come until after I was complaining about my car. I told them my car I was not driving right, it was jerking, hesitating and not getting power for take offs. My letter for recall came 10/2016. I called the corporate office 12/28/2015 and complained. they gave me a case# CAS8476525K5T6V8 FOR THIS COMPLAINT.

- , folsom, PA, US

problem #85

Apr 152015

Focus LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,893 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

CALLED CORPORATE AGAIN AND GOT THE SAME RUN AROUND 03/09/2016.CASE#CAS8987120 AND CASE#CAS8987203. THIS IS A DISGRACE TO SELL CARS KNOWING THEY HAVE PROBLEMS AND PEOPLES LIVES ARE IN JEOPARDY.

- , folsom, PA, US

problem #84

Feb 102016

Focus 2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,280 miles

I have no idea where to begin.

When I first got the car, low mileage, reasonably priced, seemed like it was in good order even on the test drive. I feel totally ripped off. They saw me coming. Stupid me bought the first car I test drove. I feel like an idiot. I wish I had of taken a mechanic or someone who knows about cars, because was absolutely ripped off. This model Ford Focus would never recommend it to anyone. One day once this car is paid off I'm going back to Toyota or Mitsubishi. Two recalls, jerks and hesitates on take off

I read there is a lawsuits allege in the states, among other things, that Ford: failed to disclose the fact that the PowerShift transmission contains one or more design and/or manufacturing defects that cause problems and unsafe conditions, including, but not limited to, suddenly lurching forward, delayed acceleration, and sudden loss of forward propulsion.

This is what I am experiencing now, and the mechanics told me there was nothing wrong. How does a person like me stand up against people like them?

What can I do, I would like to go to Ford and tell them to give me a new car so that the loan I am paying is not wasted on this stupid model.

- , Wentworthville, Australia

problem #83

Sep 302015

Focus SE 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,461 miles

Fifth time to the dealership, they reprogram the transmission module, also we contacted the regional representative regarding the trans issue what a joke she told us basically we are on our own with this piece of crap of a vehicle!!

- , Belle Fourche, SD, USA

problem #82

Aug 212015

Focus SE 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,653 miles

Fourth time the vehicle is in the dealership got the numbers required by Ford, dealer replaced the clutch and resealed again.

- , Belle Fourche, SD, USA

problem #81

Jul 172015

Focus SE 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This would be the third time the vehicle is in the dealership for repair, Ford Company advised the dealership the vehicle must get the right numbers to repair the vehicle.

- , Belle Fourche, SD, USA

problem #80

Sep 292014

Focus SE 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,502 miles

My wife and I first received the Customer Satisfaction Program letter 14M01 in August 2014, we took delivery of our vehicle Oct. 2012. We contacted our dealer they set-up an appointment to reprogram the vehicle. We were having issues with the transmission shuttering and making grinding noise. Our first visit regarding this piece of crap was in Sept. 2014. I will now add another complaint of many regarding our on going issue.

- , Belle Fourche, SD, USA

problem #79

Oct 102016

Focus SE 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,822 miles

Sixth time in now the dealer tries to get the numbers required by Ford; Service Advisor tells us this vehicle is the worst that they have every seen. Dealer had the vehicle several days could not get the required numbers for ford to repair. sent the vehicle back with us no fix...

- , Belle Fourche, SD, USA

problem #78

Dec 032016

Focus Titanium 2.0L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,550 miles

I bought a 2013 Ford Focus Titanium brand new in late 2013. The reason I bought it was because I needed something RELIABLE to get me back and forth to work, school, and home. I traded in an '89 Chevy that I had been toying around with when I was in the service, because it was more of a toy than a reliable car. My family has owned Ford Focus' in the past, and I even owned a 2007 which was everything I could have asked for in a car; it was reliable, got great gas mileage (35mpg or so) and it never broke down.

I have had this 2013 Ford Focus Titanium in and out of the shop now 4 times for transmission issues. The first three times, they told me they could not see what I was talking about, with the stuttering, hesitation, jerking, poor gas mileage (28mpg) and lack of acceleration. Each time they simply reset the computer and said "It needed to re-learn my driving habits." I decided to just live with it, as it is the only car I have. Don't get me wrong, it was never fixed, I just put up with it, and got used to it. Others would sit in the passenger seat and ask me "Why is it shifting like that?"

Here we are just over 30,000 miles and I barely made it in the dealership yesterday. By the time I parked the car, it would not even shift in to reverse. I drove in first gear with my hazard lights on to the dealer. They have not had time to look at it today, but said they "think it's the TCM, as they've seen this before."

I will not keep my mouth shut on this one because I feel I bought a lemon. This is now the fourth time in with the same complaint, except this time it is UNDENIABLE. This is unacceptable, and my father who has worked at Ford for the last 20 years is embarrassed he recommended this car to me.

- , Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #77

Jan 032017

Focus LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,498 miles

worked on vehicles last 35 years. Good and bad with all breeds. My loyalty lies with GM and always will. I take care of 2 cute little old grannies down the street with any help they need. They offered to let me use their 2 year old Focus to drive the hour and a half to the birth of my first grandchild today. Very thoughtful as my 2500HD isn't the most frugal long distance driver. This Focus is barely 2 years old with 13,498 miles on it. It aint even dirty. Got started on the trip with dicey road conditions from a stop sign down the road a piece, and felt what I thought was tire spin. Felt a little turdish once underway, but hey, I'm in a Ford I say to myself. I'm used to 6 litres of foreskin shreddin torque, so I assumed a third of what I'm used too was to blame for the low power impression. Forty nine miles later I get to the next stop. Once underway, I almost load my pant's thinking I have done something terrible to the little old grannies car. What a shuddering shaking and rattling piece of rat sh*t this thing turned into in the course of 45 minutes! Now we are downtown New York somewhere, and this thing sounds and feels like the end is near..It proceeds to take my focus[ironic] of what is supposed to be a wonderful event today, and for the next 7 hours, I'm shittin my drawers thinking I'm going too cause two fatal coronaries in the sweet little old grannies. One is very hard of hearing, the other puts you in danger of losing your own hearing.. Managed to limp it back in crappy weather thinking I'm walking any minute now, but scared to death nonetheless. I explain to grannies what I went through on my trip. Much to my surprise, loud granny proceeds to tell me that has done that since day one!!! She took it back 2 days after purchase and was assured it was all good and cozy. 76 years old. Brand new off the lot. Not her,the Focus. She proceeds then too never question it again.Not even at service appts. I tell loud granny that I will dig into and get answers for her. That was 3 hours ago. It has taken me this long to read all the complaints on just this one forum. I am blown away at the apathy with which for Ford has dealt with this issue. Class action is nowhere near what my first remedy thought was. My personality doesn't lend itself to public safety when being treated as many Focus owners have been..What a disgusting and cowardly way to deal with a problem of this scale with no end in sight.All I can say is thank Jesus himself my name isn't on the registration!!! Now how do I tell these sweet old grannies they are up sh*t creek with a Ford, and their life jacket is an anchor. To which Fomoco could give two sh*ts.

- , Ticonderoga, NY, USA

problem #76

Oct 012016

Focus SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

From history its been checked but never fixed, feels like the transmission is going to let go at times.

- , Leroy, IL, USA

problem #75

Sep 052016

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,845 miles

This doesn't happen every time I stop. Sometimes it is much worse then others.

- , Paris, TN, USA

problem #74

Nov 052015

Focus SE 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Here I go again, back to the dealer to have transmission repaired. Bought used 2013 Focus in October 2015. It's been in 3 times for the same problem, transmission slips and jerks when taking off. Last visit to Ford dealer service department they adjusted the clutch and told me it will have to be replaced if problem continues. Well here goes another trip to service department and hope they can really fix it but won't get my hopes up. I'm 70 years old and told my family if I die or get injured in a car crash with this car sue Ford for everything they have!

- , ORLAND HILLS, IL, USA

problem #73

May 052015

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

This is the last time I am going to purchase a Ford car. They say this is the way the car is. We already have had it in 4 times and had software updates. I WILL NEVER PURCHASE A FORD CAR AGAIN.

- , Marlboro, NJ, USA

problem #72

Aug 012015

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

I had my ford focus since July 2015. My dealer was nice we talk about the issue I know its not their fault its Ford corp. Its a Pretty nice car but yes the transmission is really bad for this model 2011-2016 He told me my best bet is to get the Ford Fusions.

If you all didn't know a while back In response to complaints Ford made the Transmission Control Module coverage up to 100,000 miles and the clutch is 120,000 miles. More info: http://californialemonlawgroup.com/ford-to-extend-warranty-on-2012-2014-ford-focus/ My TCM went bad on me 2 months ago I just took it in to my dealer and they fix it for free. He told me ford was giving some kind of trade in incentive because of my car trans issues. There is "The Ford Transmission Defect Class Action Lawsuit" Make sure to fill out the info on the side at: http://fordpowershiftlawsuit.com/ I take to the lawyer back in August 2016 she told me we should know something by the end of the year. This case is maybe a long one though. I been on got another car by then. smdh

- , CINCINNATI, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?