Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,085 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Mar 102013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Starting out, throttle had no response on take off, now taking a right hand turn throttle has no response then jumps forward, very difficult pulling out onto a highway. I've taken it to two different Ford dealers and they refuse to do anything till the check engine lite comes on, meanwhile I'm driving a dangerous car...

- Aurora, TX, USA

problem #26

Feb 042014

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that she received a letter notifying her of a customer satisfaction program related to NHTSA action number: PE13003 (engine). The contact mentioned that she was very concerned for her safety and that there should have been a recall issued for the defect. The dealer was contacted, who refused to assist her unless the vehicle was exhibiting the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 18,300.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #25

Dec 122012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 3,841 miles
Was at a stop sign when I accerlerated the engine stoped. I veered to the right and the car restarted. I took it to the local Ford dealership. They said they could find nothing wrong the car. It has happened a total of three times with the same result, they say nothing wrong with the car. I called Ford they initated a buy back but the car did not pass California lemon law muster so my case was closed.

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #24

Sep 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,599 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

September 24, 2013-I was driving home and the car began to shut down. The wrench came up and it lose all power. I was able to coast into the median as it was 5;00 traffic. I turned completely off and restarted again. December 5, 2013.. the same thing happened as I was on a side street. I turned off and restarted. 2/24/2014 I was going to work and it cut off on very busy 6 lane highway. It was very scary as no one was behind me. I turned off and then restarted the car. I was so relieved that no one was on this busy road which is always traffic going very fast. I have a service all into Ford for Friday 2/28/2014.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #23

Nov 252013

Fusion

  • 27,000 miles
I have had several issues leading up to this and the dealer would say nothing is wrong. Car jumps forward when idling, car looses power when accelerating on highway. Lastly was complete loss of power and nearly hit by bus with kids in car. They replaced throttle body, A/C motor etc....two weeks gone bye and it is starting again. I need to give this car to my daughter to drive but it is not safe.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 032013

Fusion

  • 28,000 miles
I noticed a "jumpy ride' during trip to albuquerque and back....first road trip since buying car in April, '13. It was sort of a shifting of a gear when there should have been nothing like that at that speed. Started noticing around town at 35 the same jumpy feeling...just seemed like too much shifting. The ride is very "rough"...never had a car like this...loved my '09 Fusion, but this one stinks. Afraid it's wearing out the tranny and could be dangerous. 3 dealers have just blown me off along with the corporate person I talked to...a "[xxx]" for my region for Ford. I am worried and can get nothing done! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ruidoso, NM, USA

problem #21

Oct 312013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle intermittently stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 5,000...updated 12-30-13 updated 1/14/2014

- Vicksburgh, MS, USA

problem #20

Jun 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
On 10/9/2013 I was stopped at a light and then when I proceeded to go on a green light, my car stalled without any warning or lights on my dash while in traffic. There was a car behind me that almost rear ended me. Went to restart the vehicle and it did not start right away. I had to put the car in park with hazards on, in the middle of traffic, and tried to start the car two more times before the car started again. The car has been giving me issues with hesitation and vibration for the past 4 months. I have taken it to Ford and they have checked my car 2 times and never was able to solve the problem. Before I took it to Ford the car has stalled on 6/19/2013 prior to taking the car to the local Ford shop. They said it was the programming and they installed the update for the computer, but it never solved the problem. The last time it stalled on me, my husband, who is an Acura technician, pulled the P2111 code out using a pocket code reader out of freeze frame data. There was no codes stored in PCM 6 hrs after the incident. 2 days later checked for freeze frame data again and there was no freeze frame data.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated while driving 60 mph the vehicle lost power, the wrench light illuminated when the failure occurred. The contact was able to coast the vehicle onto the emergency lane, restart it and resume normal function. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 35,000....updated 12/03/13 the consumer stated the vehicle shut down 3 times displaying the wrench warning. Updated 12/6/2013

- Decatur , GA, USA

problem #18

Sep 272013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,250 miles
Was driving on interstate in heavy traffic. Car immediately-without warning- lost power to accelerate. Went to a limp driving mode. Warning light (wrench) came on. Was very dangerous situation. Had to maneuver to side of road. Almost was hit from behind. Car shook and stuttered. Turned off ignition and waited a couple minutes. Started car, all warning lights cleared. Was able to make it home without any other in incident. Few days later same malfunction happened again. Car lost acceleration and had to limp to safe place in heavy traffic. Turned off car and restarted. Took car to Ford dealership and was told car is out of warranty and diagnosis was throttle body. A common problem but not a recall. Wow.

- Mount Sterling, KY, USA

problem #17

Sep 202013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,498 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at highway speed, engine stalls while attempting to merge. Orange wrench light appears near fuel gauge. Rough idling below 1000 RPM. Turn car off and wait one minute. Restart car and drive without incident.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #16

Sep 062013

Fusion

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was merged off the roadway where the engine was restarted. The vehicle was not taken for repairs or diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000.

- Blue Spring, MO, USA

problem #15

Aug 312013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,723 miles
My son got into the car, going to the store, he said something wrong with the car. I said what, he said when I cranked it up, sound like I heard it clicking. He check the oil, it was a half of a half quart low. He left in 2 seconds he called back, said something is wrong, so his daddy went where he was, it was still running, but lost speed, it would only go 2 or 3 miles per hour. After getting it back home, it sat a little while and it was good to go. Labor day I was on interstate 85 it done the same thing to me, but I had to call a wrecker I was to far away from home. Now everyone want me to pay for the testing of the car to determan what the problem is. Ford need`S to do something about this too many complaints I have read them. !!!! don`T wait until death occurs!!!!.

- China Grove, NC, USA

problem #14

Aug 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Pulled out of driveway got approximately 1/4 of mile from home and all of the sudden no gas, no power and looking at the dashboard the only indicator that was lit was the wrench. I drifted to the side of the road waited a few minutes to try and start the car, luckily it did and drove it back home. Called the Ford dealership to explain what happened, and they said more than likely it is the throttle body. They suggested to have the car towed because it could happen again without warning. As of this morning, it has been confirmed that it is the throttle body and it will only cost me a $100 deductable because (lucky me) I am paying for extended warrantly... can't imagine how much if I didn't!!! I asked if this is a common problem with this car and the service person said that this is not the first time she has seen this happen. I am deeply concerned because this situation could have been catastrophic. I drive almost 90 miles a day, five days a week roundtrip on a major beltway and I feel this problem is bigger than Ford wants to admit.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #13

Aug 152013

Fusion

  • 4,350 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated as the vehicle independently decelerated to 1 mph. The vehicle failed to respond to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was shut off and once restarted, it operated normally for a few miles until the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 4,350.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 242013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Last Wednesday, 7/24/13, I was on the interstate coming home from work in the far left hand lane when my engine shut off and put me in a really bad situation. I had to cross multiple lanes of traffic, while not being able to accelerate, to get to get back to the shoulder. The car seemed to being working fine, but when I hit the gas there was no response. The lights, gauges, and radio still worked and a wrench light came on. I was nearly rear ended twice and barely made it to the shoulder. Today, 7/30/13, on my way to work the same thing happened. Thankfully this time I was not on the interstate, but rather on a busy city street, and was able to quickly and safely get out of the way.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 192013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
On my way to work in the morning on a back country road, I went around a 90 degree turn, braking before going into the turn. On the way out of the turn, the engine stalled as I was trying to accelerate. I came to a stop, put the vehicle in park, and then it restarted with not problem, but shocked me a bit.

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Electronic throttle body went out on my 2012 Ford Fusion.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #9

May 252013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 10,300 miles
Driving on freeway in heavy traffic car suddenly lost power and slowed to 30-40 mph. Had to cut across 2 lanes of traffic to the shoulder. Limped to exit where car driven at slow speed. Dealer could not find problem.

- Grosse Ile, MI, USA

problem #8

Mar 142013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
While driving at approximately 50 mph vehicle suddenly lost all power. Engine stopped running and all lights turned off. This is the second instance of this happening. After coasting to a stop was able to put the car in park and restart engine.

- Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?