CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
47,648 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 17 of 25)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #162

Aug 062014

Fusion

  • 32,689 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering suddenly quit working on our car, so my wife restarted the car and it worked fine again for about a month. Now it has suddenly quit working again and will not start working again even if I restart the car. This could potentially be a very dangerous problem. I have done some research online, and the internet is full of this same complaint on the same: Make, model, and year of vehicle.

- Deridder, LA, USA

problem #161

Sep 102014

Fusion

  • 54,800 miles
I was driving downhill at a steady 60 mph with no turns and got a error message on the dashboard to "service power steering now" and "service advancetrac now". the tow was covered under roadside assistance, however the estimate for this fix has not yet been received. For a brand new vehicle purchased with 0 miles, this sort of problem has been common among other vehicles and deserves a recall. Had I not known what to do given the situation, there could have been a very bad accident.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #160

Sep 082014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,800 miles
On several occasions the power assist failure light would come on while driving. The power steering would go out. You would have to stop, turn car off, wait 5 seconds then start car again. The power steering would re-engage at that point. Then it happens again a day later, sometimes months later.

- Meadville, PW, USA

problem #159

Sep 052014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on interstate suddenly power steering stopped working. At the same time service light appeared on dashboard.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #158

Jul 152014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 36,744 miles
What action has your dealer taken to address the issue?:the dealership has been giving her the run around, the service mgr ([xxx]) is always too busy to look at her paper work; says they have been short-handed and I called him several times with no luck; [xxx] originally told me he would contact a Ford sales agent to get try and get her some assistance but never did. Finally, today, 8/5/2014, I spoke to the GM, [xxx] and asked about a credit card Ford supposedly has to help with repairs. He called me back and said the application had to be mailed in, which will take even longer to see if my mom would get approved. There was nothing else he could do. My mom is still trying to come up with the money. She has been without a car for three weeks! this is so horrible the run-around I've been getting and especially her. I have reported to BBB, NHTSA (ODI# 10618045) and your cust relations with no help from Ford, her case# is cas-[xxx] - VIN# [xxx] and all cust relations say is I'm sorry; that is not helping what assistance are you seeking from Ford Motor Company?:my mom need her repairs paid by Ford; there is no way a car that new should have something major happen to it. At this point the warranty is not important; she could have been killed or seriously injured or vice versa. This should be a recall and this is a safety issue. Call me with your decision, [xxx] or send email to [xxx] are you the owner of the vehicle :yes VIN : [xxx] mileage : 36,744 where is your vehicle now : at home now have you contacted the dealer :yes dealer name : [xxx] contact information first name :[xxx] last name :[xxx] address :[xxx] city : [xxx] email address :[xxx] phone number :[xxx] sent from windows mail information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Caruthersville, MO, USA

problem #157

Sep 072014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Vehicle's power steering assist fails at random while driving. At this point, it becomes very hard to turn the steering. The problem temporarily resolves if the engine is stopped and restarted again. This poses a serious safety issue while driving on highways or making sharp turns. Although this issue has occurred at least 6times at random occurrences in the past 2 months, on Sep 7 2014, when the issue occurred again while driving on a highway, restarting the engine did not resolve the issue. The vehicle was purchased as new in Nov 2011 and approx.47000 miles on it. No engine issues or service engine light were present at the time of the problem.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #156

Aug 292014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was approaching a red light and all of a sudden my power steering went out. The dashboard at the same time read steering fault service now! I am lucky that I was not on the highway or that my grandchildren were not in the car. I am scared to drive the car. It's at service now and they claim there is nothing wrong.

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #155

Sep 032014

Fusion

  • 23,000 miles
While driving at 45 mph, my power steering stopped working. I was able to pull safely to the side of the road, but could not steer the vehicle. I turned the vehicle off, and started it again. The power steering worked again for 2 more miles, and then went out again. I turned the vehicle off and reset the steering again. After driving 3 more miles, the power steering stopped working again. When I went to the Ford dealership to have this fixed, they told me that they could not do anything to fix the problem unless the power steering was not working at that particular moment. This could be a potentially fatal problem, depending on speed, traffic, and road conditions.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #154

Aug 292014

Fusion

  • 48,000 miles
Was driving around 30mph down a residential street when my power steering light came on and I suddenly lost power steering. Luckily I was on a slow street with not many cars but had there been a car in front of me, I would've crashed. Looked into it and it was a faulty power steering rack, something Ford has heard about a lot but hasn't acknowledged it as of yet.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #153

Jul 212014

Fusion

  • miles
On 7|8|2014 I bought a Ford Fusion at mandal in D'iberville. On 7|21|2014 until 8|4|2014, it was brought to the ship due to steering repair which cost me $50 out of pocket (costing the warranty $1661.14). On 8|20|2014, the car made a complete stop in traffic while I was driving it. Mandal instructed me to call a tow service to have them tow the car back to the dealership. It is currently still in the shop due to front end lose. They are now telling me that it will cost me $165 plus taxes out of pocket. I've called and spoken to them and they are giving me a hard time saying that they have nothing else to do with it because it is no longer their responsibility. I have had this car for less than two months and it is already costing me too much. They are refusing to return the car. I am frustrated and very disappointed in the service that I have received at mandal and truly believe that I will never again make a purchase with them nor will I recommend their business to anyone. Is there anything that I can do about this? I really need to return the car and buy another because I am severely dissatisfied with the overall service that I have received thus far.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #152

Aug 252014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was coming home from the store on a back road and slowed for a curve and she said the power steering just quit working with a warning light power assist failure she called me and I told her to cut the engine off and restart the car now it works.but I bought this car for my daughter to drive and it happened to me 3 or 4 times since we bought this car used in April with no warranty what can I do since there is no recall on this car ?

- Disputanta, VA, USA

problem #151

Feb 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Loss of power steering.. with no warning. Multiple times...,

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #150

Feb 152014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Power steering assist comes on once a month. Ford says my warranty doesn't cover it, ,,, now I have no power steering, , and don't know what to do.. pay off my loan and take this car back to the junk yard...I cant trust driving my kids in this death trap....

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #149

Aug 102014

Fusion

  • 32,000 miles
As I was driving down a city road at 35 mph on August 10, 2014, my power steering lights came on and my vehicle stated there was a "power steering assist fault". I drove two more miles home with my hazards on because the wheel would barely turn. When I got home, I turned off my car and read the manual, which states to restart the vehicle. I restarted the vehicle and everything worked. On August 27, 2014, I was on the freeway going 65 mph, and my powering steering lights came on and my vehicle stated that there was a "power steering assist fault". I pulled off at the nearest ramp, and turned into a parking lot so that I could park and restart my car. I didn't even get into the parking stall because my wheel would no longer turn. I restarted the car and the power steering came back on.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #148

Aug 232014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,500 miles
I am the owner of a 2012 Ford Fusion and just this past Friday, my teenage son was driving the car to college and all of a sudden it stopped on him in the middle of the road (busy intersection). He was able to turn it back on and make it to a parking lot on campus. When trying to back out of the parking lot, the steering wheel would not budge and the indicator lights came on for service advance trac and service power steering. Needless to say, he was stranded as I was 5 hours away. I immediately contacted the dealership I brought the car from and they verified that I had purchased an extended warranty for my vehicle. One would be delighted to hear that, only that I am still waiting on the insurance company to say that they will pay out on the electrical issue that has nothing to do with normal wear and tear maintenance. We all know how much of a hassle it can be dealing with insurance companies. Nevertheless, I had my car towed by my personal insurance company to the nearest dealership (by the way itâ??S closed on weekends) so I had to let it sit in the parking lot for 2 days. I got a call from the dealership today, that the epas electronic steering gear is bad and needs to be replaced. Imagine me hearing that the bill is $1800+ dollars. I am waiting to hear the final verdict on payout from the insurance company and will update as it becomes available. I am blessed that my son is alive and well and that he did not get into an accident, but who knows what will happen the next time this part goes out unexpectedly ! praise god.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #147

Jun 152012

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
Power steering went out on a number of occasions. After turning the car off and on it was able to reboot and the steering started working ok. On 8/26/14 the power steering went out and will not work. This is a major safety issue as the car is very hard to drive without it (it is much more difficult than old cars without power steering). Took the care to Goodyear who said they didn't want to try to fix it. Then to elk river Ford who explained the power steering gear needed replaced at a cost of $2200. The electronics went out and they have to replace the whole thing. That is way too much money for a relatively new car that has been well maintained. This started at approximately 45,000 miles (mostly highway miles). Ford customer service said there was nothing they could do to help with the expense. After talking with them I noted there were many complaints out on the internet about this problem. It is hard to believe Ford can get away with not taking care of a major safety issue like this without charging the customer. This does not meet reasonable expectations for what is supposed to be a good car. If not corrected by Ford, this will be the last one I will ever purchase... you can probably include any family member or anyone who's ear I can get.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #146

Aug 232014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 19,333 miles
Stopped at store on the way back from a trip and when I started the car the power assist failure alert was on the display. The car had no power steering. The manual said to shut off and restart but still had no steering. This is dangerous. I could not turn the steering effectively and thus could not drive it. My soninlaw who is a truck driver came up to get me and the car. He drove it the 65 miles home. Emergency roadside service towed it to the dealer today, . it has been there 9hours and still waiting to hear the fix and cost. Power steering cannot go out in cars this new. Many complaints are being seen online but no recalls.

- Woodway, TX, USA

problem #145

Aug 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Backed out of garage, and upon hitting approximately 5 mph, power steering stopped suddenly and could not steer. There were several alert sounds, and dash light came on indicated "power steering assist fault." Turned off and back on - took 3 attempts to get power steering to come back. Have seen many complaints regarding this exact same issue on the exact same model and year vehicle, and when I called Ford customer service, they explained that they have never heard of it, even though hundreds of people have complained. The hundreds of complaints that address this issue all state that power steering either goes away completely or comes and goes nearly daily. This is a huge safety issue!!! what if you are driving on the highway and the power steering suddenly stops when rounding a curve"?" my car has 63,000 miles on it. This is not a wear issue, this is a design or part defect!!!

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #144

Jul 182014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
About a month ago my cars power steering locked up and I barely made it to a garage that happen to be down the road from my work. The mechanic told me he didn't have the Ford equipment to fix the problem, but also let me know that all he could and they(Ford dealership) would do was to reset the power steering assist fault system and I would run into this problem again. About two days ago my girlfriend was driving my car and the steering wheel suddenly locked up mid-turn and she barely made it to a parking lot. She turned the car off and after a few minutes turned the car on and it worked (the light was off and the steering wheel turned easily). She made it home safely. This morning when I went to turn my car on, the power steering assist fault light came on and my steering wheel would not budge. I read in the manual that the power steering system gets turned off when there is a problem and will not turn on again until taken to mechanic. Currently my car is sitting in my driveway going nowhere. I also did some research and tried to reset the system myself, but detaching the battery plugs, waiting awhile and then reattaching them to try to "reset" the system. This did not work as well. I also read and found that this problem with power steering is too common among other Ford Fusion, yet there has been no recall made. This needs to be looked into immediately. There are other Ford cards that are having recalls on the same issue.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #143

Sep 252012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Driving down the road at a normal rate of speed between 35 and 65 mph the power steering just stops working. No warning of any kind. This happened several times in the past two years. Luckily we were able to pull over to the side of the road without incident shut the car off, and when you restart the car all the lights in the dash would go out and power steering would presume. Finally on Aug. 9 2014 it stopped working all together and had to have the electronic steering rack replaced. The dealer told me the first time it happened that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle.

- Kennedy , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?