Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
46,230 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 16 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Feb 152014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


Power steering assist comes on once a month. Ford says my warranty doesn't cover it, ,,, now I have no power steering, , and don't know what to do.. pay off my loan and take this car back to the junk yard...I cant trust driving my kids in this death trap....

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #149

Aug 102014


  • 32,000 miles
As I was driving down a city road at 35 mph on August 10, 2014, my power steering lights came on and my vehicle stated there was a "power steering assist fault". I drove two more miles home with my hazards on because the wheel would barely turn. When I got home, I turned off my car and read the manual, which states to restart the vehicle. I restarted the vehicle and everything worked. On August 27, 2014, I was on the freeway going 65 mph, and my powering steering lights came on and my vehicle stated that there was a "power steering assist fault". I pulled off at the nearest ramp, and turned into a parking lot so that I could park and restart my car. I didn't even get into the parking stall because my wheel would no longer turn. I restarted the car and the power steering came back on.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #148

Aug 232014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,500 miles
I am the owner of a 2012 Ford Fusion and just this past Friday, my teenage son was driving the car to college and all of a sudden it stopped on him in the middle of the road (busy intersection). He was able to turn it back on and make it to a parking lot on campus. When trying to back out of the parking lot, the steering wheel would not budge and the indicator lights came on for service advance trac and service power steering. Needless to say, he was stranded as I was 5 hours away. I immediately contacted the dealership I brought the car from and they verified that I had purchased an extended warranty for my vehicle. One would be delighted to hear that, only that I am still waiting on the insurance company to say that they will pay out on the electrical issue that has nothing to do with normal wear and tear maintenance. We all know how much of a hassle it can be dealing with insurance companies. Nevertheless, I had my car towed by my personal insurance company to the nearest dealership (by the way itâ??S closed on weekends) so I had to let it sit in the parking lot for 2 days. I got a call from the dealership today, that the epas electronic steering gear is bad and needs to be replaced. Imagine me hearing that the bill is $1800+ dollars. I am waiting to hear the final verdict on payout from the insurance company and will update as it becomes available. I am blessed that my son is alive and well and that he did not get into an accident, but who knows what will happen the next time this part goes out unexpectedly ! praise god.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #147

Jun 152012


  • 45,000 miles


Power steering went out on a number of occasions. After turning the car off and on it was able to reboot and the steering started working ok. On 8/26/14 the power steering went out and will not work. This is a major safety issue as the car is very hard to drive without it (it is much more difficult than old cars without power steering). Took the care to Goodyear who said they didn't want to try to fix it. Then to elk river Ford who explained the power steering gear needed replaced at a cost of $2200. The electronics went out and they have to replace the whole thing. That is way too much money for a relatively new car that has been well maintained. This started at approximately 45,000 miles (mostly highway miles). Ford customer service said there was nothing they could do to help with the expense. After talking with them I noted there were many complaints out on the internet about this problem. It is hard to believe Ford can get away with not taking care of a major safety issue like this without charging the customer. This does not meet reasonable expectations for what is supposed to be a good car. If not corrected by Ford, this will be the last one I will ever purchase... you can probably include any family member or anyone who's ear I can get.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #146

Aug 232014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 19,333 miles
Stopped at store on the way back from a trip and when I started the car the power assist failure alert was on the display. The car had no power steering. The manual said to shut off and restart but still had no steering. This is dangerous. I could not turn the steering effectively and thus could not drive it. My soninlaw who is a truck driver came up to get me and the car. He drove it the 65 miles home. Emergency roadside service towed it to the dealer today, . it has been there 9hours and still waiting to hear the fix and cost. Power steering cannot go out in cars this new. Many complaints are being seen online but no recalls.

- Woodway, TX, USA

problem #145

Aug 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Backed out of garage, and upon hitting approximately 5 mph, power steering stopped suddenly and could not steer. There were several alert sounds, and dash light came on indicated "power steering assist fault." Turned off and back on - took 3 attempts to get power steering to come back. Have seen many complaints regarding this exact same issue on the exact same model and year vehicle, and when I called Ford customer service, they explained that they have never heard of it, even though hundreds of people have complained. The hundreds of complaints that address this issue all state that power steering either goes away completely or comes and goes nearly daily. This is a huge safety issue!!! what if you are driving on the highway and the power steering suddenly stops when rounding a curve"?" my car has 63,000 miles on it. This is not a wear issue, this is a design or part defect!!!

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #144

Jul 182014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles


About a month ago my cars power steering locked up and I barely made it to a garage that happen to be down the road from my work. The mechanic told me he didn't have the Ford equipment to fix the problem, but also let me know that all he could and they(Ford dealership) would do was to reset the power steering assist fault system and I would run into this problem again. About two days ago my girlfriend was driving my car and the steering wheel suddenly locked up mid-turn and she barely made it to a parking lot. She turned the car off and after a few minutes turned the car on and it worked (the light was off and the steering wheel turned easily). She made it home safely. This morning when I went to turn my car on, the power steering assist fault light came on and my steering wheel would not budge. I read in the manual that the power steering system gets turned off when there is a problem and will not turn on again until taken to mechanic. Currently my car is sitting in my driveway going nowhere. I also did some research and tried to reset the system myself, but detaching the battery plugs, waiting awhile and then reattaching them to try to "reset" the system. This did not work as well. I also read and found that this problem with power steering is too common among other Ford Fusion, yet there has been no recall made. This needs to be looked into immediately. There are other Ford cards that are having recalls on the same issue.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #143

Sep 252012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Driving down the road at a normal rate of speed between 35 and 65 mph the power steering just stops working. No warning of any kind. This happened several times in the past two years. Luckily we were able to pull over to the side of the road without incident shut the car off, and when you restart the car all the lights in the dash would go out and power steering would presume. Finally on Aug. 9 2014 it stopped working all together and had to have the electronic steering rack replaced. The dealer told me the first time it happened that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle.

- Kennedy , NY, USA

problem #142

Aug 152014


  • 47,191 miles
Was leaving the mall with my son and mother. Got into my car started the engine and right away the alert came on stating service advance trac system and power steering fault indicator came on..... my steering wheel was completely stiff... made it very difficult to make a turn... first thing this morning I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership apprx 3 miles from my home..and was told the repair cost was apprx 1500.00.... I came home and right away began review all the forums showing many Ford owners experiencing this issues.... I don't understand how Ford hasn't taken action.... this should be recalled asap.... the danger of this resulting into an auto accident is very high....

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #141

Aug 152014


  • 19,532 miles
I was checking out yard sales. As I was pulling over to the curb to park my car, the car killed. The steering wheel locked up. The display read: Power assist steering fault. I managed to get the car in park and restarted the car. The display was gone. I did not experience this before today.

- Alvarado, TX, USA

problem #140

Jul 162014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles


The first time, I suddenly lost power steering but was luckily in a private parking area and was able to stop immediately. Restarting the car solved the problem. The second time, I was exiting a highway onto a main road that was straight. I was able to drive until I was at a red light and I restarted the car to solve the problem. The third time was scary. I was on a curvy, busy road when once again, I suddenly lost steering. I couldn't stop and struggled to maneuver the car through a curve when I luckily came to a red light. I once again restarted the car to solve the problem. I immediately drove my car to the Ford dealership because I did not feel my car was safe to drive. This defect could easily lead to a serious accident. The repair cost me $1980.80 and upon complaining to both the dealership and Ford, I could not recoup any of this cost which is due to a defect of the vehicle. I was told to wait and save my paperwork in case there is a future recall. However, this is a serious, dangerous defect. Will they wait until someone is killed? the average mileage on these cars for this to happen seems to be about 36,000 miles which many 2012 don't have yet. I feel I should be compensated for my repair and I fear others may not be a lucky as I was. Please urge Ford to recall this defect before these cars are involved in accidents which may cause bodily injury or death.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #139

Aug 012014


  • miles
2012 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to power steering failure. The dealer informed the consumer, the entire power steering unit needed to be replaced.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #138

Aug 042014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 83,828 miles
I was leaving work on Aug 4, 2014. When backing out of my parking space I lost power steering and the power steering fault message appeared on my dash. I pulled back into my parking spot, turned off my car and restarted. Everything reset and was fine. This morning, Aug 7, 2014, the same thing happened as I was backing out of a parking spot at daycare from dropping my two children off before work. As I put my car in reverse and started backing up the steering once again went out and I had to repark, shut off my car, and reset. Thankfully my incidents occurred at a very low rate of speed, but now I'm scared that this will happen while I have my children in the car and I'm driving in traffic.

- Caledonia, MS, USA

problem #137

Jul 012014


  • 22,800 miles
Was driving on freeway, going on a curve (curving to the right) at about 60 mph, and the power steering went out. Bell sounded, warning light lit up. I was able to get off the freeway. Turned off the car and tried to find info/advice in owners manual-none. After I restarted, it seemed fine. Happened again about a month later, this time, while curving to the left. Turned off, restarted, seems okay today. Scared to drive and won't let daughter drive.

- St Louis Park, MN, USA

problem #136

Jul 082014


  • 36,744 miles
My 84 year old mother went to start her 2012 Ford Fusion and all the lights started flaking and yellow warning sign came up on the dashboard. She took to her mechanic, who informed her to have it placed on a machine to find out the problem. The machine showed nothing and light was back on correctly. The next day, she tried to drive and could not turn her steering wheel. She had it towed to Ford car dealership named[xxx] in dyersburg, tn 731-285-2500 one week ago. And found out her power steering assist module went out and worst part her mfg warranty of 36,000 had just went out. She had 36,744 miles and she did not get extended warranty. The dealership want to charge her $1800 to fix this issue, which she does not have. I've been reading the internet and 1.4 million Ford Fusion 20111 to 2014 had recalls on faulty power steering. Because my mom's VIN number is not part of the recall, they are trying to make her pay. This is a recall and Ford needs to pay for her car. Please help us. My name is [xxx]and my mom's name is [xxx]. this is a major concern and complaint against Ford, who's always advertising the Ford Fusion as the number #1 car! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Caruthersville, MO, USA

problem #135

Jun 122014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,850 miles
On two occasions the power steering on our 2012 Ford Fusion has failed with no warning. Each time the speed has been under 35 mph, after completing a turn, and it was not difficult to get out of the way of traffic while coasting to a stop. Each time the advance track warning light came on along with a similar message followed almost immediately by an engine shut down. On restarting the engine every thing returned to normal. The Ford dealer said they did not know what was wrong but could replace the steering gear ($1575 for parts). This is a dangerous issue with a major component of the vehicle that Ford should except responsibility for. If this had happened at hi way speed with our grandchildren in the back seat the incident may have ended differently.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #134

Jul 222014


  • 51,500 miles
Power steering failure while driving.

- Morrilton, AR, USA

problem #133

Jul 192014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
While accelerating onto highway, the steering wheel locked up and lights on dashboard came on saying "power steering assist fault" and "service advancetrac." Car was pulled over to side of road, turned ignition off and restarted car. This has happened 4 times total, twice within the last 48 hours. The other times were at lower speeds while turning into parking spots. Each time once the car was restarted, the steering began working again.

- Geneseo, IL, USA

problem #132

Jul 212014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I was driving to work this morning, going 65mph when a chime goes off. There is an amber light on the dash and words are under the speedometer saying "power steering assist fault" and then "service advancetrac". I was on a straight stretch of I-35, so I didn't realize how bad it was until I came to my exit ramp. It was very stiff. At the bottom of the ramp I needed to make a series of much sharper turns and that's when I realized how bad it was. I stopped at a light and pulled out my phone and took pictures of what it was showing. When I got into work, I sent the picture to my dealer, who said they could look at it, but that was as far as they would commit. I have owned the car for 20 days and of course the 3/36,000 expired 2000 miles ago. I turned to the internet and found quite a few complaints about this same thing with numerous years of the Fusion. It appears that a short term fix is to shut off the car and when started again, the problem disappears, but may or may not pop up again. Not exactly reassuring, Ford Motor Company. How many complaints does it take for something to be done about this" a car with 38,000 miles having an issue that could be life threatening seems completely unacceptable in this day of car companies knowing about problems, yet doing nothing and then paying the consequences later. Do the right thing, Ford Motor Company, and fix this for those of us who chose to buy your product and put our faith into you delivering a quality, reliable and safe vehicle. I owned a 2005 Hyundai that I put over 270,000 miles on and the only issue was to replace a clutch. I was going to go with Hyundai again, but I thought since Ford didn't participate in the bailout, I would go american. Am I going to regret that decision"

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #131

Jul 182014


  • miles
I was driving on the highway heading home from work. And out of no where the power steering on my car went bad. The advance trac light came on and power steering service light came on. It was nearly impossible to steer to safety. I almost got into an accident and slightly hit the side of the highway wall. Its a big problem and I am no longer feeling safe to drive in my car ever again. It was a big scare!

- Hammond, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?