Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
47,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 15 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #188

Oct 072014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 10,089 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When my wife started the car and began to back straight out of the garage she noticed a warning that the power steering had failed and was not working and did find that it was not working. She drove the car back into the garage and parked it. Later, when I started the car the problem had cleared. No fault codes were present in the obd II monitor.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #187

Oct 042014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Ford Fusion 2012 electronic power steering failure at low speed. The power steering of the Fusion just completely failed while bringing the car to a stop. There was no accident or impact. The car could still be steered manually with difficulty in making turns. Took car to the dealer and received an estimate of 1800 to repair a major part (complete electronic power steering assembly) on a 2 year old car that should not fail on it's own. I have reported the issue to Ford customer service and it escalated quickly within the company. I'm currently waiting for a regional manager to get back to me regarding the issue in the next business day. There are no recalls but this issue seems to be well documented on the web as a problem with the Fusion between the years 2010 and 2012. This car is in excellent shape and the dealer indicated that this is just a part failure(?) - a very expensive one that should not be defective after only a couple of years. Failure could have been disastrous at higher speeds, highways or when trying to make a turn.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #186

Jul 212013

Fusion

  • 35,786 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the power steering seized while making a left turn and excessive force was required in order to maneuver the vehicle. The problem recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the computer program needed to be reset. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed a service defect on the power steering. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 35,786.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #185

Nov 052013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact mentioned the instrument panel warning lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 53,000. Updated 12/18/14 the consumer stated when she pressed the accelerated pedal, the vehicle slightly accelerated, and the vehicle would also jerk forward. At times, the vehicle would cut off while driving. Updated 01/07/15

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #184

Jun 262014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 15,245 miles
While driving the electronic power steering went out making it difficult to steer. A message indicated power steering assist fault. Stopped car and restarted and problem stopped. However it reappeared later on the drive home. I contacted dealer and was immediately scheduled in for warranty repair. The power steering was out even as I dropped it for service. Rack and pinion steering gear assembly was replaced under warranty. Had this not been a warranty repair, the bill would have been nearly $2000. The dealer was very closed lip about the issue and didn't want to go into detail on what/why or how often this happened. It seemed clear to me when I called that they were familiar with the problem. Even now I have no assurances this was replaced with parts of better quality than the original.

- Wooster, OH, USA

problem #183

Oct 042014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
While driving approximately 30 mph, I heard several beeps and then I lost power steering. The warning message said "power steering assist fault" and then "service advancetrac". I drove the rest of the way to work (approximately a 10 minute drive) without power steering. When I started the car again several hours later, I had power steering again, but drove the car straight to my local Ford dealership. It was determined that there is a faulty sensor causing the power steering issue. This would be covered by the 3 year/36,000 mile warranty, but I was out of warranty by just 5 days. The repair was quoted as $1700. I was given a customer service number to call, and was informed by a representative that there was nothing they could do to help me. I called back to the dealership, and they gave me a new quote of $1500, saying that was the best they could do. With this being a known problem in 2010-2012 Fusion, Ford should issue a recall and assist all their owners! they need to stand behind their work, and correct the issue.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #182

Mar 102014

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought a 2012 Ford Fusion brand new from a dealership. First incident occurred within first 2 yrs of ownership while driving 45 mph down an incline - sudden loss of power. It felt as if it lost power steering and thought engine shut off. Dash alarms rang and briefly saw 'power steering fault' light up. Took all my power to pull car off road and to a safe complete stop.turned off ignition. After a few minutes restarted ignition and drove directly to a dealership without further incident. Dealership stated water pump was defective and sent a signal to the engine to shut down. Pump was replaced second incident occurred months later while at a complete stop at a traffic light. Steering wheel suddenly locked, and felt engine power reduce. Dash warning sounded and saw 'power steering fault, service powertrac' light up. Turned ignition off and back on and was able to drive to dealership without further incident. Was told a chip replacement was issued. Replaced chip and was told that would extend the warranty and resolve issue. Continue to have additional incidents (4 to date ) both while moving and at a stand still where the dash warning sounded and felt a reduction or loss of power, each time having to shut off ignition and restart to clear the fault. Dealership continues to attempt to service with no resolve as yet.

- Hayes, VA, USA

problem #181

Jul 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Occurred 3 times where the trouble indicator lamp came on and power steering went out. I was able to shut the car off and restart then it was ok the first time and second time. Third time the steering went out completely with no warning while I was driving. Trouble light did not come on. Lost all power steering. If my wife was driving she would not have been able to man handle the steering wheel to pull off the road. Had the vehicle towed to the dealer and they wanted me to pay $1,300 for a new power steering rack and pinion. I argued the car was just out of warranty and this was a safety issue and refused to pay. The fse called and Ford motor paid a portion of the bill. This was a very unsafe issue and I should not have had to pay for this repair but I needed to get my car back so I settled with them.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #180

Oct 112013

Fusion

  • 18,000 miles
I was driving normally and turned a corner and the power steering quit working and I was forced to manually turn the car and find a safe place to stop. I restarted the car and it drove fine for a couple of weeks. I was driving again when the power steering quit again and I coasted into a turn lane and managed to restart the car again. I drove then to my Ford dealer and told the service manager what had happened, he told me that I probably had hit a bump in the road and had caused the computer to malfunction.the next time this happened I was in my driveway backing up so I just restarted the car and it was fine.this was a lease car that I would be turning in Feb. 2014 so when I did I told the man who inspected it about the power steering problem and he said he would note it and I then got a new car and forgot about this until I show a report on the news and I decided to report my problem.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #179

Oct 062014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,303 miles
On 10/5/14 my steer wheel was making a noise when I started turning it and figured I get it checked when I went to get oil change next day. The next day I was driving to dealership and half way there the power steering failed and light came on. Luckily I was driving with two hands.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #178

May 202014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened 6 times. I will be driving and the power steering will fail. An alarm will sound and the display will read "service advancetrak, power steering failure". power steering will completely fail and it is extremely difficult to steer. It happens with no warning. Ford dealership wanted $116 to possibly diagnose the problem. With no guarantee that they could and that price did not include any actual fix. Restarting the car will fix it, but it has happened 5 more times. I ran the on board diagnostic but they said that wouldn't be accurate. So glad I read the article today and know it's not just my car. This is such an unsafe problem to have.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #177

Jul 152014

Fusion

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While attempting to reverse out of the driveway, the eps indicator illuminated. The contact turned off and restarted the vehicle, but the steering failed. The dealer stated that the power steering failed and the entire steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #176

Oct 062014

Fusion

  • 30,000 miles
Traveling along and accelerator pedal did not respond to pressing and steering was hard to steer. Car was still running. Loss of power steering and no gas pedal. Pulled over and turned car off and restarted. Issue went away but came back 20 miles later. I called dealer shenandoah Ford and was told this is normal and nothing to worry about and keep driving.

- Bentonville, VA, USA

problem #175

Oct 012014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Driving in rush hour traffic in atlanta, power steering failed. Warning light came on stating "power steering assist fault" and "service advancetrac". has happened in the past and simply restarting the car would fix the issue. However, I have restarted the car 4 times since then and the error will not go away. Power steering on car will not work.

- Cartersville, GA, USA

problem #174

Sep 282014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While attempting to exit a parking lot, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the eps indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000. Updated 12/01/14 updated 5/7/2015

- Staffordsville, VA, USA

problem #173

Sep 292014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,328 miles
Leaving a parking space in a parking lot, lost power steering. Power steering is now not working. Dealer says there is no warranty on vehicle for problem. Dealer also said they have had several problems with the power steering on these vehicles. Now it is my responsibility to pay $1,500 + to fix a safety hazard! I also have a 15 year that drives the car regularly. He is no longer allowed to drive the car for obvious safety reasons. I have also heard and read about problems with the steering locking as you are driving.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #172

Sep 282014

Fusion

  • 35,788 miles
I have a 2012 Ford Fusion 4 dr that we have had for about 1 year. I was driving the vehicle when all of a sudden a light came on the dash and I instantly had no power steering. I was travelling 65 mph on hwy 81 and luckily was able to get the vehicle pulled over to the side of the road. I shut the vehicle off and restarted it and the problem went away. I have had this happen now several times and am concerned that if I were passing someone or making a turn and the power steering failed I would have an accident. Ford does not seem to acknowledge this problem.

- North Platte, NE, USA

problem #171

Sep 252014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
We were driving quite slow through roosevelt state park in North Dakota when a warning came across our display saying "check power steering now". we kept driving and came across some road construction, so we turned the car off. When we started the car to continue through the park, we had no more power steering. It became very difficult to turn the car while we looked for a service station. The Ford dealer in that area did not have time to look at it for 30 days and the person at the service station told us to man handle it back to Wisconsin. That is what we did and took it directly to the Ford dealership here in marshfield, Wisconsin. They claimed there is no warranty and that the problem is unusual at this low mileage. We are paying $105 to get it diagnosed and do not know what it will cost to repair. I found that Ford does know there is issues with the power steering. We feel it was dangerous for us to be driving the car in this condition. We are very disappointed in how this issue is being dealt with.

- Marshfield, WI, USA

problem #170

Sep 022014

Fusion

  • 66,655 miles
When first starting the car after it has been parked for a while with turning the ignition on with the key. The steering wheel feels like it is locked in position and can not be turned in any direction. This usually lasts for less than a minute or two, then the power steering return as normal. This has happened several times now in the past 2 months and appears to be increasing in frequency. The Ford dealership at first replaced the passenger side lower arm and charged $637. After returning less than a week later to complain that the same exact problem was still happening. The dealership did a diagnostic check and said it was now the gear assembly which would cost $1,713.18 with parts, labor and tax.

- Tequesta, FL, USA

problem #169

Sep 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,925 miles
I bought the car used from carmax on April 5, 2014 with less than 15,000 miles on it. Apparently it passed their comprehensive 125 pt inspection. Since I had to be back at work later this week, was driving back to sacramento, California in Oregon on my way back from seattle, wa after dropping my daughter off at college. Made a lane change at 60 mph and noticed the stability control light on and the messages "service advancetrac now" and "service powersteering now" come on (I am deaf so I can't hear the chimes). Steering became a increasingly difficult, especially on the I-5 on the mountain passes in Oregon. I slowed down and was able to pull over to the nearest rest stop. Turned the car off to let it rest and turn it back on. Stability control light was off but service powersteering now message still came on at slower speeds. Stability control light came back on again with the "service advancetrac now" message displaying. Did this a few times with the same results and steering became increasingly difficult. Was able to get the car to my aunt's who lives nearby in Oregon. Since the car is still under warranty, my aunt called Ford who then sent out a tow truck to have it towed to the nearest Ford dealership in roseburg, or. Where it's being looked at. Did some research and came across all these recent complaints for the same year and model of my car. Never had anything like that happened to me before and it was a scary experience. I or someone else could've been killed from this issue. It seriously needs to be addressed and dealt with.

- Antelope, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?