Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
46,673 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 19 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

May 242014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,192 miles


While driving on the interstate car went into power steering assisted default setting, rendering the power steering to little more than 15% usage while messaging an service advancetrak message. The automobile users guide mentions a 10 second wait in between starts. I performed the troubleshooting activity to no avail. This problem occurred while I was traveling on the interstate highway and could have been a serious incident while traveling the recommended speed limit. I purchased this vehicle used at a local dealership (cape girardeau, Missouri) on 3/18/2014 and have had this issue occur on more than one occasion. My hope is that you folks look at rendering the situation in a timely manner considering the safety of myself and others whom have experienced this issue. I appreciate your help and look forward to continued business with your company, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Carterville, IL, USA

problem #97

May 272014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
While backing out of the garage, the warning chime came on, the warning message about the power assist steering failure came on, and there was no power steering. This has happened more than 5 times previously. It usually happens when backing out of a parking space, but it has happened while at freeway speed once. I took the car to the dealer and they indicated that there were no codes and they could not duplicate the problem. They suggested driving it to the service center the next time the power steering fails. That is not a safe idea!

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #96

May 012014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
After running errands came home and parked car. Restarted car to go somewhere else and power assist fault message appeared and could not turn steering wheel. Turned car off and read manual. Restarted car and continued on my way. 5-19-2014 drove to ball park. Turned on car to leave. Power steering assist fault message. Turned car off and sat there a few minutes, turned it on an continued on my way. Mileage 16, 760. 5-21-2014. Driving to work at approximately 40 miles an hour. Power steering fault and advantrac trac warning came on. (mileage 17,403) barely able to get the car turned into a parking lot. Sat there a while until car started and drove to dealership. They were unable to get the car in that day and made appointment for 5-22-2014. At dealership, I was first told they didn't know anything about this happening to this model car. I researched and found many incidences of this and took the information to the dealership. They replaced rack and pinion. Dealership did not have part in stock and had to keep car overnight. It seems this is a common problem and the dealerships should have these parts in their inventory at all times. Also, the dealerships do not hire enough mechanics to service all the vehicles in a timely manner. I am very disappointed with Ford Motor Co. I purchased this car thinking I was buying a safe car to drive. It is only 2 years old with less than 18,000 miles on it and something as serious as this occurs. I am now wondering what will happen next or even if this will happen again.

- Moore, OK, USA

problem #95

May 272014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles


While driving at 45 mph straight on 3 lane paved street I suddenly got a message on my dash saying power steering assist fault. The steering wheel became stiff and very hard to turn. I was safely able to pull off the road. I checked for any possible leaks and found nothing. I turned the car off waited a minute and restarted the car. Upon restarting the power steering appeared to be working again. I took the car to a near by auto repair shop. They looked for any stored codes on the computer and found nothing stored. This is a safety hazard. If this failure would have happened in a turn the vehicle would be difficult to control. Possibly resulting in a collision.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #94

May 162014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The power steering quit without warning, luckily the car was just getting under way. The car had previously indicated a fault with the system (the warning light on the dash would flash for a moment, then go out) the dealer said 'no code had been stored' so they could not diagnose any further. My concerns are 1) the steering could have failed on the highway and caused harm or death 2) with the available technology today, why doesn't the computer 'store a code' so the dealer can diagnose and repair before a deadly incident occurs?

- Toluca, IL, USA

problem #93

May 172014


  • 60,500 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving at various speeds, the power steering malfunctioned several times. The contact found it difficult to maneuver the steering wheel. During each incident, the low tire pressure sensor illuminated prior to the failure. The contact checked the tire pressure and discovered that it was normal. After restarting the vehicle, the service power steering and advance trac sensors illuminated as the power steering failed again. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 60,500.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

problem #92

May 162014


  • 42,250 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 25 mph, the power steering failed as the power steering indicator illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The manufacturer was contacted, but did not provide a remedy. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The failure mileage was 42,250.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #91

May 182014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,012 miles
Driving 2012 Ford Fusion, 2.5L., at 50 mph to enter highway, power steering failure, advantrac warning. First occurrence of this. Caused driver to pull over. Stopped and restarted vehicle and problem persisted. Driver returned home without power steering assist. Problem corrected with next vehicle restart 10 minutes later. Updated 11/24/2014

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #90

May 142014


  • 36,000 miles
When stopped at a red light, power steering failed and warning message to service advancetrac. Not the first time, don't remember dates of prior incidents. Turning off ignition and restarting car solved problem (for now).

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #89

Oct 152013


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the steering wheel was very hard to turn. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #88

May 282013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,500 miles


While in a residential neighborhood the electric power steering gear stop functioning. Causing the car to be extremely hard to control.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #87

Apr 262014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 31,238 miles
Traveling 65 mph on highway and "power steering assist fault" "service advancetrac" warning displayed (occurred on 4/26/14) lost power steering and almost caused an accident trying to navigate to safe area to pull over. When this steering goes out it is not like having manual steering in the old days. It is 10 times harder to move the wheel...essentially no steering. Happened again on 4/27/2014 driving 45 mph. Turned car off and on in both instances and warning disappeared. Scheduled an appointment immediately for service at a local Ford dealer for 5/2/2014. In transit to dealer on the evening of 5/1/2014 was on a local highway traveling 55 mph and lost steering again. I went online and was surprised to see hundreds of these claims. There a too many claims to count on Fusion and Focus with this same diagnostic messages. Dealers are aware this is occurring and one acknowledged it might be a design problem. People are paying allot of cash out of pocket with no guaranteed it will not fail again (ie a design problem and replacing parts with a faulty part again).

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #86

Apr 302014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,202 miles
This part should be recalled, happened once in my drive-way thought it was just a glitch, , what happens is you loose your power steering all of a sudden, was going 65 when I had no power steering. Power steering assist lamp came on, had to pull over. Had that happen in a turn with no warning, , I'd have crashed the car, or worse.. took it to the dealer, they want $1,800 to fix it, have only had the car for 6 months, , very upset, now I cant trust driving the car, just got put on disability for 45 days making payment on a car I cant put my kids in, , I want to see something done about this, , I'll wait a few days for your reply, after that, ,,, ill be forced to take other action on this, ,

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #85

Apr 262014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,600 miles
I was just driving home when the alert came on reading service advancetrac/ service power steering now. I then had no power steering at all. I have tried turning the car off and back on. Nothing has helped I still have no power steering.

- Richfield, UT, USA

problem #84

Apr 172014


  • 59,000 miles
Total loss of power steering while car was in motion, thankfully at low speed. Dash warning read as follows: Service advancetrack power steering assist fault system reset itself after car was turned off then back on, but failed again (same error message) upon arrival at my home.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #83

Dec 072013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 24,190 miles
When backing up and turning steering wheel fully to the right there is a rubbing or grinding sound from the pass. Side right front tire area and the steering wheel seems to lock.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #82

Apr 072014


  • 37,500 miles
I was slowing doen and making a sharp right turn when suddenly my steering wheel got real stiff. I had two messages flashing "power steering assist fail" and "service autotrac". I have taken it to the dealership and they're charging me $2,500 to change the steering rack and 2 outer rods. My car has 37,500 miles this is not normal.

- Severn , MD, USA

problem #81

Apr 022014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 15,742 miles
Driving straight and steady 45mph on surface street, no traffic, no braking or lane change. Suddenly chimes sounded, "service advanced trac" in message center and yellow advance trac idiot light on. In about 20 seconds chimes, message and light go off and message text returns to real time mpg reading. Continued driving home without shutting engine off or any further warnings/incident. Took to dealer 7am next morning (4/3/2014) at 15753 miles. At end of day service advisor said test code showed bad "torque sensor" which is in the steering column and measures turning effort on the steering wheel and that they needed to keep vehicle overnight. 1130am next morning (4/4/2014) spoke to service advisor. He said car fixed by changing the rack and pinion gear assembly w/electric steering motor (Ford part number: Ae5Z-3504-ce). Before and during incident I never noticed anything wrong with steering or braking--just the warnings. Vehicle repaired under warranty.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #80

Feb 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
All four tires had to replaced by me after only 12,000 miles. Two of the tires blew out. Power steering failure occurred while I was driving. Service advancetrac is also no longer working. I have tried taking my care to a Ford dealership but they refused to fix anything. They told me the tires were my fault, and I told them either they think I am stupid or they were not the sharpest tool in the shed if they think I believe any of these issues were my fault. I called Ford and they were no help. They told me it is up to the dealership if they decide to fix anything because the dealership is not owned by Ford. I currently have less than 20,000 miles on this car and I bought it brand new. Ford is a horrible company and does not honor their warranty. The dealership I took it to was park place motorcars in dallas tx. They have been several other problems with this car but if this was honored by Ford I will take it. No way I ever buy another Ford.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #79

Mar 142014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 51,463 miles
I was driving this morning and my low tire pressure signal flashed. I went to put air in the tire and the tire was completely flat! I had spare put on and this is when the "service power steering now" warning came on as well as the service advance traction control light came on.

- Livonia, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?