Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Power steering problems started rearing their ugly head in the 2010 Fusion, so you'd think Ford had plenty of time to make sure those problems didn't creep into the 2012. But here we are.

The Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS) is a mess. It fails at an alarming rate. Don’t believe us? Take a look at NHTSA’s data on the subject.

And much like the power steering, we’re still seeing the same throttle body failures that started in 2010 continue in 2012.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 1
Average Mileage:
46,673 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 23)

problem #458

Oct 082015


  • 69,000 miles


Was backing out of a parking space in a parking lot and the steering wheel lock while in motion.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #457

Oct 092016


  • 71,000 miles
While driving on the highway, my power steering just stopped, when I looked at the dash it states to check power steering now. When I researched the problem on line there is a recall for this problem on 2012 Fusion but my manufacturer date is a month passed. I notice other Fusion on social forums from 2012 to 2014 having the same issues, I brought my car into Ford and they said its not covered under recall.I called Ford main headquarters and they wont budge. If this wasn't a safety issue, I would not be as concerned, but power steering failure is extremely dangerous.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #456

Sep 182016


  • 71,617 miles
2012 Ford Fusion recall when coming to a stop sign, I went to put my foot on the brakes and my steering pulled to the right and I could not steer the car and the brake pedal went straight to the floor. There is no broken brake lines. When this happen it steered me into another car that was parked on the street. After the accident I did a safety recall through car max and found out that there is a safety recall 15N01 and 13N03, which showed that they were not done. So I went to the dealer ship that I brought the car from 6 months ago and they said no they did not do the recall only re-programmed the car 15S18B. I tried calling Ford directly but they said that there is nothing that they will do about it. Even after asking the question how can you just re-program medal and steering components? still yet I have no answers from anyone.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #455

Sep 232016


  • 40,000 miles


The steering went out while diving( high and low speed). Called the dealer said not under warranty.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #454

Oct 042016


  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #453

May 222015


  • 30,000 miles
Power steering cuts out while driving, either turning or driving straight. No advance warning, but get error message when it fails. I can fix it by turning the car off and then back on. Took it to the dealer in May 2015. They found nothing wrong. When the recall came out in June 2015, I was never notified, despite having just been at the dealer with that very problem. Just hearing about it on the news yesterday. The power steering problem has happened about a dozen times. Sometimes 2 or 3 days in a row, sometimes every few months. Could be on a city street or in a parking lot. Could be moving fast or slow. Very dangerous.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #452

Oct 032016


  • 101,000 miles


Power steering went out

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #451

Sep 292016


  • 73,092 miles
While trying to reverse out of my driveway, the "power steering assist fault: Service immediately " message came on, and it was very hard for me to turn the steering wheel. By not being able to drive it completely...I just drove it back in the driveway which was very difficult due to me having to turn the wheel. I did take it to the Ford dealership, and I was told that I need a steering gear assembly. I was told that resetting the codes would not work. I did inform the worker about that part being recalled for my vehicle, but he denied any type of recall for this particular vehicle. I have only had this car for two years, and this happen out of the blue. If there was a recall for this part on this particular model...I deserve to get it fixed, free of charge as stated in the NHTSA. They are trying to charge me $1, $944.50 to replace this. I just need to know if this part was recalled.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #450

Sep 232016


  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 25 mph, the steering wheel seized and the service power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #449

Aug 012016


  • 65,000 miles
While sitting still or driving the steering will make an audible "clunk" you can hear and feel when turning left or right from the centered position. No code present upon first trip to dealer who recommended rack and pinion replacement. They "updated" the software per the recall specs. Service advancetrac warning came on about a week later and dealer said code C1278 appeared and recommended rack and pinion replacement. Seems like this should fall under the recall of the rack and pinion, but the service dept said it doesn't.

- Stayton, OR, USA

problem #448

Sep 012016


  • 64,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 30 mph and making a right turn, the power steering failed and the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. During the failure, the "power steering assist fault" warning message displayed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that there was a computer failure and it needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 64,000.

- Winsted, CT, USA

problem #447

Sep 162016


  • 100,125 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving 30 mph, the power steering failed and became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering gear assembly failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,125.

- Cascade Lock, OR, USA

problem #446

Jul 212016


  • 42,000 miles
When the vehicle was in motion, the power steering abruptly stopped working, due to an electrical problem. Over 400,000 Ford cars were recalled for this problem, all made at the same location, during the same time. Ours was not recalled, however and therefore created a very dangerous situation for us.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #445

Sep 152016


  • 70,500 miles
The power steering has failed twice in less than one year. Once while turning left across oncoming traffic resulting in a near miss head-on collision. Ford has a recall on the electronic power assisted steering (epas), which is what fails (NHTSA recall 15V-340), but it is only for Fusion manufactured between Sept 2010 and Feb 2012. My vehicle was manufactured in May 2012 - 3 months too late - in the very same facility as the cars included in the recall. The problems I am experiencing with my car are exactly as those described in the findings reported in the NHTSA investigation. I paid $1,400 to have the epas replaced the first time in Dec 2015, and I should not have to pay that amount to have it replaced a second time in less than a year. The Ford dealership quoted almost twice that amount. The recall obviously needs to be extended.

- Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA

problem #444

Sep 122016


  • 48,653 miles
While turning yesterday, my car lost power steering. The light for advance track system light illuminated and the message center read "power steering assist fault: Service immediately." I man handled the car home a short distance and turned it off. Mad and aggravated I called the Ford dealer and explained what happened. The checked warranty info, recall info, and found nothing for my car. I was able to find a recall alert that my insurance company matches to my car. I gave the recall number to the Ford dealer. They were very nice and were able to find out the warranty only covers cars built Sept 2010- February 2012. Guess what? my car was built June 2012. I called Ford customer care. They say I have to take it into the dealer to be diagnosed. I call dealership and have it "officially" diagnosed. The motor code U0211:49 and dealership suggests calling customer care to get a validation code. I called customer care again, lady was rude, says she doesn't know what a validation code is and that I would have to pay for it because the recall is not on my car particularly. My car only has 48K miles on it. I should not be having these kind of problems. It is a huge saftey issue for me as I travel quite a bit with my family. The code matches the same code that is pin pointed in the recall according to dealership. The best customer care could do is tell me to keep receipts in case Ford expands recall later.....its $1800+ out of pocket that I can't crap out!!

- Centralia, IL, USA

problem #443

Sep 062016


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. After the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V25000 (steering) and while driving at an unknown speed, "power steering assist default" was displayed across the message board. The steering wheel completely seized. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #442

May 012016


  • 44,000 miles
With no consistency in timing, the power steering has been going out. I may be driving, turning or waiting at a stop light, on city streets or the highway. This problem started in May 2016, happening 1-2 times per month. I took it into my local Ford dealer and they said there was nothing wrong. They thought it could be a problem with the steering rack, but weren't sure. They denied that my vehicle was included in Ford's recall of several 2011 and 2012 Fusion for the same problem. Now (September 2016), the power steering is going out 1-2 times per day. The "power steering assist fault" and "service advanctrac" error messages appear. I feel this is a serious safety issue for me and the other drivers on the road, and Ford should be responsible for their design flaw.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #441

Aug 292016


  • 80,000 miles
Popping noise present from steering wheel whenever steering wheel is turned in either direction. Whenever vehicle hits a bump regardless of the size, the steering wheel is yanked around causing the control of the vehicle to become compromised. These issues happen at any speed and in all road conditions, stationary or non stationary, highway or city and regardless if I'm turning or not. When steering wheel is turned all the way to the right or left the wheel will stiffen and throw itself back the opposite direction. Must use a lot of force to keep steering wheel in that position. Was told by a certified Ford dealership and a shop by the name of midas that it was the rack and pinion. Ford refuses to fix issue due to the fact that the rack and pinion is not throwing any sort of trouble code. The rack and pinion on this vehicle however is not only under a current recall but is also backed by an extended warranty issued by Ford Motor Company.

- Brighton, CO, USA

problem #440

Sep 092016


  • 111,000 miles
I started my car, service power steering warning came on, drove 10 miles and power steering went out. Looked online and saw a recall for electric power assist system, so I called the dealership I purchased the car from and they told me my car is not covered under that recall.

- Charlotte Hall, MD, USA

problem #439

Aug 232016


  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Fusion. While driving various speeds and turning the steering wheel, an abnormal noise was heard without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 81,000.

- Brighton, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?