Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 1998 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, peeling paint, & subframe rust. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Peeling paint has also been a huge issue for these Accords. Most of the complaints are with darker paint colors -- especially green & blue.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,803 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #102

Sep 142005

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact received a recall letter in February or March 2005.that same week the car stopped. She called the dealer, and the dealer was hostile, and told her she would have to pay for the repair. She was going to have to have the car towed to dealer. However, she called before she took vehicle to the dealer. She went to dealer on 9-7-05, and the person in charge was not there. On 9-14-05 she went to the dealer again, and he was hostile. Dealer told the contact that there might be something else wrong with the car. The dealer finally looked it up in the computer and said they would service it under the recall. He told her she could bring the car anytime. The contact advised the dealer that she would bring the vehicle tomorrow, and he told her he would not be there. He was evasive about when she should bring the car in.

- Hormigueros, PR, USA

problem #101

Jun 292004

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Had to different parts on the vehicle for the igition switch and the inner lock switch. There was a recall on the egr for the exhaust emission.. had recall repairs done, but the vehicle still did not function properly. Contacted the three dealers, and manufacturer and still had no help from either. These problems starting happening about a year ago around June 29, 2004. After they fixed the igition switch it was good for about 3 months. Then, vehicle competely stalled while driving on the road.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #100

Jul 052005

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,200 miles
Caller received manufacturer's recall 03088 concerning ignition switch key interlock. The key would come out in any gear, and the dealer tried to fix it. Currently, the key will not come out when it is in park. Dealer will not fix it unless caller pays for it. Manufacturer has not been contacted yet. Caller took vehicle to dealer on July 18, 2005 to get it fixed.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #99

Mar 192005

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. She is having problems with the ignition switch. Some of the 1998-1999 Honda Accord were recalled for this problem, but the dealer told consumer that her vehicle was not covered under the recall due to VIN. She stated that while driving about 65 mph the car will shut off, and the steering will lock up. Dealer said it had something to do with faulty wiring to the ignition switch. There was another recall on the vehicle for the ignition switch. She did qualify for the first recall but not for this one.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #98

Sep 282002

Accord

  • 73,165 miles
Recall campaign: Ignition switch failure. Reconnect alarm system. Recall campaign: The consumer complained that she was charged for service completed under the recall for her vehicle. The consumer was charged for the service of reconnecting the alarm system through the new working part installed. A full refund is requested by the consumer. The recall issue dealt with the ignition switch interlock on the vehicle.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #97

Jan 172005

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1) nothing noticeable. Car was able to start all the time cold and warm. 2) car all of sudden stalled while driving. When step on gas pedal car did not accelerate. It just silently stalled. Center console where shift-selector indicator has no power while radio, hazardous signals were working after the stall. Weren't able to restart right away. However after about 45 sec to 1 min, car started normally. 3) dealer wanted to replace iac valve and main relay on my expense but will not verify the ignition switch is functioning properly that was replaced 2 years earlier except that an updated ignition switch was already installed.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #96

Dec 172004

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I parked my car in my driveway Friday night and took the keys out of the ignition the car was still in drive. The car rolled down my driveway, into the yard, and hit a tree with no one in the vehicle. Since there was no key in the ignition the airbags did not deploy. I did some research and realized that there had been a recall on my car for this very reason, but I had not been notified about this recall. I contacted Honda and they said that I had not been notified because the car still had the previous owners info in their system. I bought the car from a Honda dealership, yet they said that it was my responsibility to contact them to change the information over to allow them to contact me with recall information. Is there anything that can be done about this. Would Honda not have some responsibility in the accident?

- Climax, NC, USA

problem #95

Jan 012003

Accord

  • miles
Nar 1/29/2003. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer for stalling and sputtering issues. Honda issued a recall on the ignition switch, but the consumer has taken the vehicle in to the dealer 3 times and the problem has not been resolved. The passenger side power window would not work when the control panel was used on the drivers side.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #94

Aug 082004

Accord

  • miles
The vehicle failed to start when the key was turned in the ignition, two months after the ignition switch recall 03V423000 was performed.

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #93

Mar 092000

Accord

  • 42,539 miles
Manufacturer recalled ignition switch twice. Consumer seeking reimbursement for repairs. (nar)

- Brooklyn Center, MN, USA

problem #92

Jul 152004

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After the ignition switch repair was performed NHTSA recall #03V423000. The car was in worse shape than it was before. Honda refused to repair the car, despite the fact that the vehicle was fine when it was brought into the dealership.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #91

Feb 112004

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1998 Honda Accord was turned off and key removed while vehicle was in drive. After leaving the car, it rolled backwards into a guardrail, causing damage to left rear bumper and left rear panel. This occurred on 2/11/04. Two days later we received recall notice from Honda acknowledging ignition failures that could potentially cause such incidents. We have contacted Honda and they are "dragging their heels" to take responsibility for the costs to have this repaired.

- Madill, OK, USA

problem #90

Apr 102004

Accord 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 71,000 miles
My cars stalls in the middle of driving. It is incredibly dangerous. When I searched the recalls for 98 Accord, it came back as saying that there is a recall for this exact problem (electrical system ignition switch) on other 1998 Honda Accord. However, Honda says my VIN is not part of that recall.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #89

Sep 202003

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle rolled down the hill with key out of ignition switch and car was still on drive. The driver wasn't inside the vehicle. Recall notice on ignition switch was received by consumer 4 months after incident. The vehicle rolled fast down the hill and crashed into a concrete barrier and curb. Recall#03V423000

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #88

Jul 012003

Accord

  • miles
Vehicle crashed due to ignition switch interlock system failure. The consumer requested reimbursement for the deductible cost of the ignition switch, and compensated for the loss of the use of the vehicle for 58 days.

- Nineveh, IN, USA

problem #87

Feb 232004

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
Safety recall was received by consumer on ignition switch interlock and now seeking reimburse for repair on vehicle.

- Oxford, NC, USA

problem #86

Oct 152003

Accord

  • 134,651 miles
When starting the vehicle it vibrated, then engine shut off. Consumer noticed that this problem only occurred when driving for a long period of time. After the vehicle was returned to the consumer from having a recall performed, the air bag light illuminated. The dealer stated it was not their fault and therefore the consumer would have to pay for the repairs.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #85

Feb 242004

Accord

  • miles
Consumer states roof leaks when it rains. She does not think dealer will take care of it because the warranty doesn't cover it. Consumer received a recall notice for ignition switch.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #84

Feb 112004

(reported on)

Accord

  • 130,000 miles
Consumer received a recall notice concerning ignition switch failure, and made an appointment. While waiting for the appointment date, consumer took vehicle on an errand. Vehicle shut down in a parking lot. Dealer advised consumer to get vehicle towed for recall repairs at their expense.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #83

Jan 262004

Accord

  • miles
The consumer received a recall notice and contacted the dealer. The dealer informed the consumer that they are not making appointment because they do not have the parts. Recall 03V423000 subject: Ignition switch.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?