Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 1998 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, peeling paint, & subframe rust. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Peeling paint has also been a huge issue for these Accords. Most of the complaints are with darker paint colors -- especially green & blue.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,803 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #122

Feb 012004


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact is able to start the engine with any key other than the actual vehicle key. She has started the vehicle with her home keys. In addition, the vehicle stops abruptly when slowing down and driving over 10 mph. In 2004, she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 03V423000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The dealer stated that they repaired the interlock shift; however, the recall mentioned that it should have been replaced. The contact believes that the recall repair was performed incorrectly and should be remedied again for free. The failure mileage was 70,000 and current mileage was 99,000.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #121

Apr 172008


  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While driving various speeds, the vehicle would stall without warning. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic and the entire engine was replaced. One year later, the failure resurfaced accompanied by a no-start condition. The dealer would not repair the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch) because she allowed an independent mechanic to replace the engine. The manufacturer also would not assist. She never received a recall notice, even though she is the original owner of the vehicle. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 127,111.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #120

Mar 012009


  • miles
1998 Honda Accord had recall for the ignition switch. ***** the consumer stated the vehicle would unexpectedly shut off while driving. The consumer had to put the vehicle in neutral and had to try several times to restart it. The auto service informed the consumer the ignition switch needed to be replaced. When the consumer contacted the dealer, he was told that no such recall showed in the computer database. The consumer contact Honda and was told his vehicle was not on the recall list and with the amount of miles on the vehicle that he should expect for the ignition switch to fail.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #119

Sep 192008


  • miles


The ignition system fails in my 1998 Honda Accord. It has already been through the recall process for the same problem (03V423000). Design problems were obviously not corrected. The recall appears to have replaced existing parts with new parts that are the same. Car cuts out due to failure of ignition circuit to be completed. This can occur anywhere. It has happened driving down the road at 60 mph. Sitting for 1 minute will sometimes correct the situation. Jiggling the key will sometimes correct the situation. Can result in dangerous situations in traffic.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #118

Nov 222007


  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated that on five separate occasions, while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle completely shut off without warning. The vehicle was restarted after approximately five minutes. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but they could not locate the cause of the failure. The vehicle was then taken to another mechanic and they stated that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The current mileage is 118,238 and failure mileage was 117,000. Updated 07/03/08

- Savanna , GA, USA

problem #117

Apr 102008

Accord 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 138,065 miles
My stepdaughter's car would shut down with no warning. Being an aircraft mechanic I spent a lot of time trouble shooting this intermittent problem and was quite sure this was an electrical problem which can be the hardest problem to narrow down so I change quite a few of the common part and tuned up the vehicle I changed the following components: Distributor cap rotor, timing belts wires cleaned the fuel injection and a few other components yet the vehicle would mysteriously shut down. Going in to Florida winter the problem seem to go away however I was not surprised once it warmed-up the problem started again and more frequently. I did an internet search and found there had been a recall on the ignition switch for this exact problem. I called Honda America and the informed me the recall had been performed on the vehicle I was less than convinced. I finally switched vehicle for a week to trouble shoot the problem. Having to main suspect in mine the ignition switch and the main relay I went to the local junk yard to see if I could find these two components with out spending. Finding these two components on my way home the car stalled I quickly change the relay car still stalled then changed the ignition switch and the problem has again seemed to gone away since Honda said the performed the recall work I can only surmise the replacement parts are also faulty or the recall work was not done, however documented. I have the switch as an exhibit should any one want to see the fault. I noticed the solder has flowed off two of the contacts and the inner working look excessively heat worn.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #116

Oct 132006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated that his vehicle was repaired in may of 2002 for NHTSA campaign id number 03V423000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). Five years later, while driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle completely stalled without warning. The dealer stated that because the vehicle was already repaired under the recall, they would no longer assume liability. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 105,000.

- Portown, WA, USA

problem #115

Sep 212002

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,068 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the ignition switch was defective and was included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The engine would occasionally shut off when the vehicle was stopped. The dealer inspected the vehicle and confirmed that the cause was the iginition switch. The contact had the vehicle repaired previously, but it failed again. The current mileage was 246,000 and failure mileage was 124,068. Updated 01/29/08

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #114

Oct 102007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,500 miles
Follow up to phone complaint 10/11/07 3:50 pm pst. No reference number, told 4 to 6 weeks before I get form to review and another 4 to 6 weeks to review. I decide to use website. I'm original owner of 1998 Honda Accord LX. On 9/24/02 ignition switch was recalled as engine stops running when driving. Did not find recall on your website, have copy if needed. Dealer is bill pearce 780 kietzke lane reno nv 89502 tel 775-789-7999 who completed warranty work on 10/12/02. Daughter owns car and moved to las vegas in August a few days later engine cut off at a stop sign. After talking with our mechanic he thought it might due to key chip as car started right up or one time occurrence it was 112 degrees. On 10/5/07 driving on the freeway engine turns off at 70 mph. Tries to pull over car recycles and starts. Spoke to our mechanic asks about ignition switch recall. Dealer confirms they replaced the part. Mechanic said its unlikely to be ignition switch if replaced. Daughter inquired with local mechanics who gave various solutions. I elect to retrieve car. She is a full-time student with 22 credits could not afford to be without car or spend time seeing if an unknown mechanic resolve. Driving back to reno engine stops again. Going about 70 mph able to pull over. Drive home close to rode side. My mechanic works only on Honda and Toyota (own three Honda cars). He determines its ignition switch. Dealer confirms to him part was replaced. But had no record of part coming out of inventory and VIN was not punched for recall replacement. Dealer would not replace without charging (I can forward paper work on repair and other issues that occurred after they repair. Concern/complaint, if replaced why almost 5 yrs to date issue re-occurred. Is manufacturer part still defected" have there been other consumer complaints" odd original recall was 5 yrs from the date of purchase 10/31/97, have invoice if needed.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #113

Oct 052007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While the contact's daughter was driving 70 mph, the vehicle began to lose power. As she pulled to the shoulder, the vehicle reset itself and regained normal acceleration. The ignition switch was recalled on September 9, 2002 and was replaced by the dealer. Five years later, in October of 2007, the ignition switch failure recurred. While driving to the dealer regarding the ignition failure, the vehicle stalled. The dealer stated that the ignition switch was the cause of the failure and they will not repair it a second time. The current mileage was 98,000 and failure mileage was 50,000. * updated 12/12/07

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #112

Feb 012007

Accord 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles


The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact is experiencing the same failure with his vehicle as noted in recall # 02V120000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). He has taken the vehicle to the Honda dealer for inspection, however, the paperwork does not provide a remedy or state whether or not the component has been previously replaced. The contact would like clarification regarding this as well as the remedy for the recall. The current mileage is 153,000 and failure mileage was 140,000.

- Palm Beach Garden, FL, USA

problem #111

Jan 012005

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda. The contact experienced a duplicate failure per NHTSA recall #02V120000 regarding the ignition switch. When the ignition was engaged the vehicle didn't start normally, the engine shut off and occasionally started again. Honda stated that this was not recall related, and that he needed to have the ignition switch column replaced. The dealer diagnosed all of the components except the ones that were related. A local mechanic stated that there was NHTSA recall on this year, make, and model vehicle. The failure mileage was 85,000, and the current mileage was 106000.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #110

Mar 192007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,573 miles
My car shut off when I was in the highway doing 60 M.P.H, this car was recall in 2002 for a ignition switch that was bad. It was replaced but unfortunately I'm having the same problems. I'm very thankful that it was early in the day and not rush hour or anything could had happen.

- Temple Terrace, FL, USA

problem #109

Oct 202006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
During the last 6 months I began having problems with my ignition locking up and car would not start & occasionally the car would stop running while in motion for no reason. The dash lights would all flash and then lock-up & die. I checked online and discovered there had been two recalls on my 98 Honda Accord LX, ignition switch and interlock. I phoned my local dealer, Honda of ocala and they gave me an appt. For 10/20/06. They took a look at my car and then tried to sell me other services. I asked that they only fix the two recalls as scheduled. I waited for 1 1/2 hours and then was informed that the ignition switch was bad but I would have to pay $205 if I wanted it fixed because it had already been fixed. They couldn't tell me where or when this was. I refused to pay for a recall that was supposed to be done free of charge. After making me wait another 35 minutes my car was returned. I asked about the interlock recall, had it been fixed? he said no you'll have to call and make another appt. This appt. Was for both recalls. They had my car for over 2 hrs and did nothing. I went home and called Honda of America. I spoke with a rep that took my complaint. On 10/23 I was told by both reps that my only option was paying labor and getting it done at Honda of ocala. I did not want to return to this specific dealership due to them treating me so miserably at the first appt. I have no records that this recall was ever fixed. My parents were the previous owner's and they don't either. Regardless the part is obviously defective as this is not normal and should be covered in full, free of charge by this recall.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #108

Dec 012005

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at various speeds the vehicle stalled without warning. A NHTSA recall, #02V120000 was performed in late 2002 concerning, the electrical system: Ignition: Switch. When the recall work was performed there were no problems with the vehicle. Since December of 2005, the vehicle has been having the problems associated with the recall. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall. Updated 7/13/2006 -

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #107

Jun 222006


  • Manual transmission
  • 135,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving between 30-65 mph, the engine failed suddenly without warning. An NHTSA recall, #02V120000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the electrical system: Ignition: Switch however; the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #106

May 292006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
Faulty ignition switch on 1998 Honda Accord causes car to die while driving. Same problem has been source of recall for many vehicles of this year and make but not my car.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #105

Mar 302006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles
I am a first hand owner of a 1998 Honda Accord ex coupe, the car has exhibited failure of the ignition switch since 2 months (March 2006) ago. One time I was driving about 65 miles at freeway 15, all the sudden the car just stall and lost all power; no dashboard lights, no air-conditioning and car engine stall. Fortunately, there was not much traffic and I was on a downhill slope, so the car gained some momentum and I was able to pull it to the right shoulder. The same thing happened 3 times on local streets. When I took the car to my mechanic, he said the ignition switch failed. He told me that there was a recall on Accord ignition switch and suggested that I call Honda to find out the details. I didn't received any notice of recall regarding ignition switch failure. I did received one regarding ignition switch interlock operation (campaign id# 03V423000) which I had fixed. I call Honda customer service today and they said that my VIN# was not included in the recall of the ignition switch failure (campaign id# 02V120000), they will not pay for the cost of repair. But my car is exhibiting the exact behavior as describe in the recall (ignition switch failure caused car engine stall without warning while driving) the car was running fine before the incident happened, I believe this is a failure caused by manufacturing defect of the car and my car(VIN#) should be included in the recall!

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #104

Mar 102006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
Ignition switch failure for the second time over five years. Honda recalled this item once and now they are charging me for a second replacement. $154.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #103

Mar 162006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at various speeds the engine stalls without warning and intermittently the vehicle does not start. There is a NHTSA recall, # 02V120000 regarding the electrical system: Ignition: Switch. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. The dealership has been alerted. The interlock switch has been replaced due to bulletin #03-088 however; this did not correct the problem.

- Dana Point, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?