Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 1998 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, peeling paint, & subframe rust. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Peeling paint has also been a huge issue for these Accords. Most of the complaints are with darker paint colors -- especially green & blue.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,803 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #142

Nov 072013

Accord

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While driving various speeds, the engine stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred numerous times. An independent mechanic replaced the ignition switch. NHTSA campaign number 02V120000 (electrical system) was related to the failure; however, it had expired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000. Updated 08/18/14

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #141

Aug 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 197,000 miles
Engine stalls without warning. Can happen at any speed. There is an existing recall for this exact same issue (02V120000) for the same make, model & year but my VIN is not covered. Honda says those covered by that recall had a different ignition switch. Well guess what, they need to include mine too!

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #140

Oct 271999

Accord

  • 2,450 miles
Please be advised that this has happened on multiple dates ranging from 1999-2012. I thought it was covered through NHTSA campaign id #: 98V018000 but I did not use the car enough to recognize a pattern until 2002. I think at that time, there may have been several thousand miles in 2002 when I began to use the car on more routine bases. There are two occasions that cause the issue to arise. While I am driving, the steering column will lock up causing an issue to shift from gear to gear and the mobility of the car. As the steering column would lock and cause the horn to malfunction and not make a sound and the limit my mobility to park the car. Most streets that I drive are not on an incline but there have been few occasions, where if the car was on a slight incline, it would begin to roll. I would use the gear brakes to prevent an accident. Another issue involves another path (occasion) which causes the steering wheel to lock which causes malfunctions in the horn and the interlocking incident. If I am driving and in the stages of parking my car, the steering column will lock affecting the ability for me to change gear and my ability to adequately mobility when park. This has occurred more frequently now but it has occurred in 1999. When I was advised of the interlock recall, I thought this was addressed. Once this occurs, the car can only be unlocked when I drive when I press down of the hear charger, put the key in the slight covering the gear changer and move the steering wheel. Between NHTSA campaign id #: 03V423000 and NHTSA campaign id #: 02V120000, I thought these issue was addressed. When I called Honda today and spoke to [xxx] 800-999-1099 ext [xxx], the recall is associated with the VIN soi wanted to make sure this was acknowledged for incidents for my car model & VIN. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #139

Apr 242012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 192,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car experienced stalling at both highway speeds and slow speed operation. This of course led to a loss of throttle response and power steering, jeopardizing the safety of the vehicle. The smell of burning plastic and light smoke were also evident coming from the steering column during these events. This stalling had the exact same symptoms as if the key had been switched to the accessory position (I.e. power was lost to the dash and the engine shut off, but radio and other accessories stayed powered), indicating an electrical failure. The engine would turn over and catch when the key was put in the "start" position, but it would stall when the key returned to the "on" position. Research indicated that these symptoms matched recall 02V120000 exactly. This recall called for the replacement of a faulty ignition switch. Honda dealer and Honda America both said the car had already been serviced under this recall and that they would only honor the recall if it was inspected at a dealer at owner expense. When the owner replaced the ignition switch the problem was rectified. The replaced part showed melted solder (that had melted off of the contact and into the outer casing of the switch) and melted plastic at the "1G1" terminal of the ignition switch, explaining the smoke event. A multi-meter also showed inconsistent continuity between the "1G1" terminal and the wiring harness when the switch was in the "on" position, matching the description of the prior recall and explaining the stalling. Upon searching online forums and the NHTSA safety complaints database, it is evident that this problem is widespread in cars that have already been serviced under the recall. Please investigate.

- Old Lyme, CT, USA

problem #138

Mar 292012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact was driving 45 mph when smoke was seen coming from the steering column. The contact merged into a parking area where the vehicle was towed to the mechanic. The mechanic inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the ignition switch had burned out. The dealer was notified of the failure and the contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 02V120000 (electrical system: Ignition: Switch). The dealer advised the contact that they had previously made repairs to the vehicle under the recall and they would not repair the failure a second time unless it was at the contact's expense. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact stated that the mechanic would repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 04/25/12 the consumer stated the vehicle would only stall in the evenings. Updated 04/30/12 updated 05/15/12 updated 05/31/12

- Northport, AL, USA

problem #137

Sep 082011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 250,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated the vehicle would stall abruptly and without warning. The contact spoke with a mechanic who advised that there was a recall for the year, make and model vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 03V42300 (electrical system: Ignition switch). The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 250,000 and the current mileage was 252,000. Updated 02/15/12 the consumer stated since the harness was installed, the stalling has ceased. Updated 02/22/12

- Orwell, OH, USA

problem #136

Jul 292011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated the vehicle stalled without warning. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 02V120000 ( electrical system:ignition:switch). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic and was awaiting diagnosis. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileages were 130,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 01/04/12 updated 01/09/12

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #135

Mar 012010

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While driving at various speeds, the contact stated that the vehicle would stall intermittently without warning similar to NHTSA campaign id number: 03V423000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The dealer and manufacturer informed the contact that her vehicle was not included in the previous recall and offered no additional assistance. A local mechanic informed the contact that the ignition switch needed to be replaced but did not perform any repairs. The current mileage was 168,000 and the failure mileage was unknown.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #134

Jul 302010

Accord

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord ex. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning. The vehicle was able to restart at times and the vehicle inspected by a dealer who informed the contact that he needed to replace the ignition switch. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 200,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- West Ministerq, MD, USA

problem #133

Jul 162010

Accord

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The vehicle was previously repaired for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000, electrical system:ignition:switch. While driving at an unknown speed the vehicle stalled. He was unable to give an approximate speed and he was also unaware if any service lights illuminated on the dashboard. Upon restart the vehicle continued to drive as normal. This failure became intermittent and sometimes the vehicle did not immediately restart. The vehicle had not been taken to have the failure diagnosed and had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 180,000.

- Passaic, NJ, USA

problem #132

Jun 102010

Accord

  • 225,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated that when driving at any speed, the vehicle would stall without warning. The dealer advised that the ignition switch was defective and would need to be replaced at the owner's expense. The manufacturer advised that there was a recall for the failure but the contact's VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 225,000.

- Hebron , KY, USA

problem #131

May 052010

Accord

  • 165,000 miles
My Honda Accord 1998 engine has stopped. When I was trying to start it was working but only till I loose switch in "on" position. So I couldn't to drive, because it not safe. In my understanding it is electrical switch (part of ignition switch) problem.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #130

May 142010

Accord

  • 138,445 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph when the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and began to function normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic prior to the failure regarding ignition problems; however, no repairs were made. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there were two recalls under the NHTSA campaign id numbers 02V120000 and 03V423000 (electrical system: Ignition: Switch). The VIN was excluded from the recall defect. The failure mileage was 138,445.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #129

Jan 182010

Accord

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to coast onto the emergency lane. She was able to restart the vehicle and continue driving until the vehicle stalled a second time within a few miles. The dealer replaced the ignition switch and stated that the electrical wires were defective which caused the vehicle to stall. Although there was a recall for the failure, the manufacturer stated that her VIN was not included in the recall (NHTSA campaign id number 02V120000 (electrical system: Ignition: Switch). The failure and current mileages were 150,000.

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #128

Dec 102009

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
1998 Honda Accord ignition switch recall 02V120000. The consumer stated he had to return to the dealer for a second time because the ignition switch failed again. The consumer stated it seemed that the problem with the ignition switch was not permanently resolved.

- Blacksburg, VA, USA

problem #127

Sep 192009

Accord

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving approximately 5 mph. He was able to restart the vehicle. He removed the key from the ignition and noticed that it was not making a sufficient connection. The dealer stated that they had to replace the ignition switch at his expense and that the repair cost was $300. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not a part of any of the related recalls, 02V120000, electrical system, ignition switch 03V423000, electrical system ignition switch. The current and failure mileages were 140,000.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #126

Sep 062009

Accord

  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled and shut off. He was able to restart the vehicle and drive normally. There where no warning lights when the failure occurred. A local mechanic inspected the vehicle and determined that the VIN was a part of NHTSA campaign number 03V423000, electrical system: Ignition:switch; however, the repair cost was $200 and the failure recurred. The manufacturer advised the contact that vehicle was previously repaired per the recall and no compensation would be offered. The failure mileage was 151,000 and the current mileage was 151,200.

- Middle Village , NY, USA

problem #125

Aug 062009

Accord

  • 88,300 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired according to a recall; however, the failure still persists. While making a turn at 30 mph, the entire vehicle shut off and lost power without warning. The failure has occurred twice. The dealer stated that the ignition switch was previously replaced by the previous owner according to NHTSA campaign id number 03V423000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The contact stated that this was a serious safety issue and defect. He would be responsible for the repair cost. The failure mileage was 88,300 and current mileage was 86,100. Updated 08/31/09 updated 09/03/09.

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #124

Jun 252009

Accord

  • 159,100 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda Accord. While driving between 25-30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The engine was able to be restarted after several attempts. The failure occurred intermittently and the vehicle was taken to two different independent mechanics on two separate occasions. The technicians were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that there was ignition switch corrosion. The ignition switch was replaced. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 02V1002000 (electrical system:ignition:switch), although the failures were identical. The failure mileage was 159,100 and current mileage was 159,950. Updated 10/06/09 updated 10/08/09.

- Marshalltown, IA, USA

problem #123

Jun 132009

Accord

  • 126,500 miles
Had the ignition switch replaced on our 1998 Honda Accord dx in 2002 via the NHTSA# 02V120000 recall at Honda dealer. Recently car stalled a few times and I discovered it was the ignition switch they replaced in 2002. I have since moved but called nearest Honda dealer 60 miles away and asked if they would replace it and they refused, stating I did not have the extended warranty on vehicle. I feel since the part was on safety recall and it failed again; I should be reimbursed for the $150 I had to spend locally to repair problem so the vehicle could be driven safely. I also have the defective part that was replaced. Thank you.

- Landaff, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?