Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2001 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for Honda Accords & other models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as settlement for a class action lawsuit, but that period is over & owners of Accords with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad. Also make sure your 2001 Accord has been checked for the airbag recall: excessive pressure may cause metal fragments during airbag deployment.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,095 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Accord transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #85

Feb 272010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 83,402 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission failure of Honda Accord LX 4-cylinder fwd - occurred. The D4 indicator started blinking. I am unable to drive beyond 10 miles or go to 2nd or more gears. Automatic transmission fluid (atf) leaks occurred. An abnormal loud noise from the transmission. The vehicle has 83,000 miles on it. Single owner and all service maintenance completed at the Honda dealer. I contacted Honda dealer, they said, need to change shift solenoid B or linear shift solenoid set. If that don't fix the problem, need to change the entire transmission.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #84

May 282008

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
My 2001 Honda 4-cyl ex repeatedly experiences transmission slipping between first and second gears, especially when decelerating and re-accelerating (e.g., in stop and go traffic or when descending on a parking garage ramp and then reaccelerating once on the parking level. Symptoms can include a neutral idle followed by sudden lurch, to no traction and a racing of the motor while the vehicle "hunts" for transmission engagement somewhere between first and second gear before engaging. Symptom is most frequent during a deceleration between second and first gears. Symptom first started at ~80K miles and has gradually worsened (car now has ~116K miles). Honda's only response: You should buy a new Honda. I reported to dealer and Honda national office, but they could not "replicate" the symptom.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #83

Jan 202010

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
My 2001 Honda Accord (with 80K miles) automatic transmission shifts with a jerk and the transmission lost power and the vehicle would not accelerate past 30-40 miles on the freeway. This is due to the defective transmission that Honda has in these vehicles. I believe this is a safety problem and a sudden loss of power while driving could put the occupants in a hazardous situation. Honda states that the warranty has expired and refused to replace the transmission and instead wants the customer to pay for their defective design/implementation.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #82

Jan 272010

Accord

  • 152,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Honda Accord transmission broke down at 150,000 miles. Check on internet, this was an ongoing complaint from Honda Accord owners, some of them breakdown even at less than 70,000 miles only. This is not a regular mechanical repair, this is a defect in the transmission.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #81

Jul 242006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,092 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving 50 mph the check engine light illuminated and the vehicle began to slow down and accelerate. The vehicle was driven to a dealer who stated that the transmission failed. The vehicle was taken to an auto body shop to be repaired for $2,000 at the owners expense. The transmission failed three years prior to the most recent failure. The failure mileage was 99,092 and the current mileage was 162,000. Updated 02/23/10. Updated 08/11/10

- Richton Park, IL, USA

problem #80

Jan 032004

Accord

  • miles
In 2003, I bought a 2001 Honda Accord from prime Honda (then known as clair). After having the car for less than a month, I noticed that the car wasn't shifting out of gear properly. I took it back to the dealership who told me they couldn't find the problem. The gear shifting/slipping continued and every time I went in for service and told them, they claimed they could never find the problem. I even mentioned to them that I thought it was the transmission and they assured me that there wasn't. they kept telling me that they drove the car and nothing happened. Around December 10th of 2009, I once again took the car in for service and mentioned that shifting of gears. The service department looked over the car and again found nothing. On December 17th, I took the car to another dealership and it was found that there is in deed a problem with the transmission and that it couldn't be fixed.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #79

Nov 162009

Accord

  • 82,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Honda Accord's automatic transmission has severe hesitation in switching gears, especially when climbing up a hill. I read that this is a common problem for Honda Accord made around 2001. I tried to get Honda to perform repair but was told that the car past the extended warranty (as a settlement of a class action suit). Since this is a common problems for many Accord, there should be a recall on these cars.

- Green Brook, NJ, USA

problem #78

Dec 012009

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Honda Accord has transmission problems. The consumer stated for the past three weeks she had problems shifting gears.

- Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #77

Oct 302009

Accord

  • 66,232 miles
My name is earlene belsey and I am a 79 year old widow. I own a 2001 Honda Accord. In 2002, the Honda motor company sent out a notice notifying all Honda Accord owners that there is a defect in this model's transmission and the company was going to extend the warranty for an additional "seven years or 100,000 miles, which ever comes first." They did not recall this model car to obviously save money.they stated that "if you have any problems with your transmission during this extended warranty period, just bring your car and they would replace it at no cost." Problems that could occur are " abnormally loud noises...extremely slow or delayed gear engagement...abnormal gear shifting...erratic harsh shifting...hard shifts when engine is cold" which is just a few of the issues listed. I always kept this in the back of my mind and hoped that nothing would occur. Since they did not take action to recall the car, I just hoped a safety issue would not arise. Even though the manufacture suggests you due transmission service at 60,000 miles, I acted conservatively knowing there could be a potential problem in the future, so I serviced the transmission at 30,000 miles, and again, hoped there would not be an issue. About a week ago, my transmission started shifting erratically. I have just 66,000 miles on this car, but the seven year part of the warranty has expired on this defective product. I asked my son if he could respond to this problem with my car. He agreed and was driving my car to the Honda dealer and was almost killed on the freeway by a semi-truck when the car failed to shift. He took the car to the Honda dealer and they suggested to file a claim with corporate which he did on Friday, Oct 30th. On Monday Nov 2, 2009 corporate offered a "hypothetical offer of a 25% discount on the replacement of the trans, which will cost $3,000. I want 100%, replacement and they refused. Can you please help me? my case # with Honda is N012009-10-3000303. Ph 800 999-1009.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #76

Jun 102007

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 25 mph on normal road conditions; the transmission began to slip without warning. The failure occurred intermittently. The contact received recall notice 03V423000 (electrical system:ignition:switch). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The dealer charged $100 for a diagnostic test which determined that there was a crack on the outside casing of the transmission. The technician refused to perform the recall remedy until the transmission was repaired. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure and current mileages were unavailable.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #75

Aug 212009

Accord

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission failure on a 2001 Honda Accord 12 days and less than 400 miles after having Honda replace (rebuild) the transmission. Code 1705 (transmission failure) on the 7th day it came out of the shop. Car slams in R from P then gets stuck in 2nd (won't shift) no matter haw fast or even if you move the shifter. 3800 RPM's in 2nd gear on the freeway at 55 mph. Took back to Honda on day 12 and was told" if its covered, they'll fix it". if its covered its 12 days and 400 mi. From your shop and you treat me like your not responsible. The code shows 1705 (trans. Failure) the same reason you replaced the trans in the first placed. After getting a service rep. To look at it they are ordering a sensor to replace, and now are telling me that it is the alarm that is causing the problems. The alarm has been on the car for a long time now, and Honda knows aftermarket products are used by a large percentage of their owners, so if it's the alarm, there should be a fix by Honda for that problem. Why my car won't shift out of 2nd, doesn't seem like my alarm would tell my trans. Not to due that. I placed 2 exactly the same alarms on my wife's and my daughters cars (Honda and a Toyota) one's doing fine !!!

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #74

Aug 172009

Accord

  • 88,800 miles
2001 Honda Accord just had my transmission replaced at 88,000 miles at my cost from a Honda dealer. Have had our car back 12 days on a rebuild transmission (less than 300 miles) and engine light on with code 1705 (transmission failure). Filed a previous report (#10276399) on July 9 2009. Same issues hard shifts, slamming in reverse, won't shift from 2nd gear at freeway speeds (3800 RPM's at 55 mph) for my wife to get home from work! talk about a safety issue!!! what has to happen before someone will take action!! I'm sure it's deaths (like the faa) gov.'t agents due nothing till after the deaths ( its all about the money ) these transmission failures have been going on for years, where's our help "?"

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #73

Aug 112009

Accord

  • 75,650 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 45 mph, the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle jerked and vibrated excessively. The driver pulled over to the side of the road and turned off the engine. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 75,650.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #72

Jul 182006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the transmission was slipping and jerking. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that it was not covered under the warranty. The issue began three years ago and is currently worsening. The failure mileage was 107,000. Updated 07/27/09.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #71

Jul 082009

Accord

  • 86,000 miles
Automatic transmission 2001 Honda Accord no D4 light on the on the dash cluster and the check engine light is on with code 1705 automatic transaxle failure. Being a mechanic and after checking the vss, tcs solenoids ( lock up, shift control a B C & cpc) and even checking the gear position switch, shift interlock system and shift cable adjustment and with no results went to the internet to find out why? I found about 40 pages of problems and complaints about this same issue!! hard shifting, loud noises when shifting, no shifting, throttle stickage, check engine light, and best of all codes 1705 1706 1738 1739 1753 1768 1773 & 1791 automatic transaxle failure !!!!!!! not malfunction or replace part, failure !! Honda has been aware for years with little action ! I hope my wife and kids are not the death they need to fix the problem !! so far no help for the dealer, car will not move now.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #70

May 112009

Accord

  • 118,500 miles
2001 Honda Accord ex defective transmission this model were sold with defective transmissions. This model should have been recalled and replaced new transmission on these model cars.

- Roselle Park, NJ, USA

problem #69

May 082009

Accord

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving, the tcs light illuminated and the drive light began to blink. While driving between 35-40 mph, the transmission slipped and the brakes failed. The vehicle has not been inspected by a mechanic. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 163,000.

- Hometown, IL, USA

problem #68

Apr 252009

Accord

  • 106,000 miles
Transmission problem. Engine code P0780. I noticed that my engine light and tcs light would turn on occasionally. It was completely random when it would turn on and off. I took the vehicle to get an engine code scan and was told that I have a transmission problem. The vehicle is shifting hard between all gears. Seems to be getting worse. I have noted on various online forums that eventually led me to this site that there are hundreds of complaints for this same problem, same year, same model. In my eyes this calls for a serious investigation into poor components used. My car has passed the extended warranty coverage with 106,000 miles. I am afraid of a serious problem if this is not addressed.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #67

Mar 252009

Accord

  • 77,000 miles
Transmission shifts rough. Check engine light came on. Independent repair shop said transmission needs replaced ($60.) called Honda America to see what they could do to help. They gave a case number and said it needs to be checked by a Honda dealer ($105.) same thing: Transmission needs replaced. Will cost $3638. On 3-26-09 called ha back. They said I'd hear from them in 24-48 hours. Had to make copies of all service records and take to dealer. On 4-6-09 they finally called to say they would help a little. My question is, why has there not been a recall? a transmission failure could be dangerous, especially in high speed traffic. I would like the NHTSA to take a good look at all the Honda transmission problems and force a recall.

- Goshen, IN, USA

problem #66

Jan 122009

Accord

  • 104,000 miles
Own a 2001 Honda Accord. Not made aware of the class action law suit extending the warranty on transmission. If I had known that the slippage was transmission related I would have taken it in at the first sign of trouble while I was still within the mileage requirements. Over time (two years) the situation became worse and I called american Honda after learning on line about the class action law suit. I bought the car used from the local Honda dealer as a certified used car. I get all of their sale and service ads but american Honda claims that they were not aware that I was the current owner and the letter went to the original owner. Took the car to get the transmission problem formally identified and the service manager asked local Honda rep for assistance and this was declined. Called american Honda and was issued a case number and was told I would be contacted in 2 business days. After several weeks of calling and leaving messages I finally had someone named caroline call me back. She was difficult to work with and would not listen without cutting me off and accusing me of interrupting her. Very frustrating which may be part of their plan to get me to go away. To make a long story short she said she could not help me since the local rep for the area had already declined. She can't over rule this. All this work for nothing. She indicated that she would refer the case to the escalation unit after I pushed for a supervisor. Because she was difficult to work with I hung up without warning. After two weeks of no call from the escalation unit carolyn informed me that because I had hung up she had not referred my case. Apparently wanting to punish me.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?