Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,289 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jun 112011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact started the vehicle and the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel, and it remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure occurred whenever the contact was driving the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they refused to repair the vehicle under the recall even though the VIN was included. The recall was associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V259000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module). The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 8/29/11 updated 09/21/11

- Prairieville , LA, USA

problem #24

Sep 102009

Accord 4-cyl

  • 228,232 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that she received two notifications of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V259000 (air bags: Frontal: Driver side inflator module). The first letter was received September 2009 and the dealer was contacted to have the vehicle repaired. The dealer advised the contact that the parts needed for repairs were not readily available and would need to be ordered. The dealer advised the contact that she would be contacted when the parts became available. The contact received the second recall notice October 2010 but did not contact the dealer. She stated that she had not experienced a failure but was upset that the dealer never informed her that the parts had become available. The current mileage was 228,232. Updated 5/9/11 the consumer stated the problem was resolved in Dec 2010 by the dealer. Updated 05/18/11

- Edon, OH, USA

problem #23

May 062010

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle in front stopped short and a crash occurred. The driver side air bag deployed but the passenger side did not. The passengers in the vehicle sustained minor head injuries and were taken to the hospital. The contact also sustained minor head injuries. The vehicle was totaled. A police report was filed. The contact called the manufacturer who advised her to contact the insurance company because there was nothing they could do to assist her. The VIN was unavailable at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 109,000. Updated 11/16/10 updated 11/16/10

- Bristol, RI, USA

problem #22

Apr 022010

Accord

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at approximate speeds of 10 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact's vehicle was destroyed and the air bags did not deploy upon impact. There were no injuries. The current and failure mileages were approximately 175,000.

- Azusa, CA, USA

problem #21

Feb 122009

Accord

  • miles
I purchased a 2002 Honda Accord coupe brand new in 2002. Almost immediately after the purchase the SRS indicator light began to indicate a problem with the airbag and restraint system. The indicator light illuminated intermittently at first but finally remained on constantly. I made the dealership aware of this and they refused to acknowledge a manufacturer problem and I had to pay for repairs in order to pass inspection. In the spring of 2006 Honda finally acknowledge a problem and sent notification to owners. I was reimbursed for the money I had paid for repairs. Given the problems that had been reported they extended the warranty on this part for all owners. Unfortunately, a malfunction of the SRS happened again in 2006. Again I had to pay out of pocket for repairs. Again I submitted the information to Honda and was reimbursed. Finally, in 2009 another problem with the SRS was discovered. I assumed all would be as before and that I could submit a claim and be reimbursed. Honda did pay to have the problem evaluated, but this time Honda refused to acknowledge a problem and denied the claim for reimbursement. I have been in talks with Honda over this issue since February 2009. I have appealed their denial as often as possible because it's obvious this part was defective from the beginning. Now, a recall of Honda involving the SRS system is under way, but again my claim is being denied. I am being told that the part in question is not defective. However, I think it's obvious that something is wrong with the entire SRS system in this model year Honda and they should acknowledge this. Honda was late in acknowledging a problem from the beginning and it seems to me that this is more of them taking no responsibility for their error. I do hope other owners have come forward as I am to make Honda take responsibility and to reimburse owners for the expenses they have incurred for Honda's defective part.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #20

Aug 062009

Accord

  • 23,336 miles
My experience very similar to complaint #10311376. The SRS warning light came on and stayed on this 2002 american mfg. Accord with only 23,336 miles. I inquired whether the "recall" or extended warranty applied, and the service department told me it did not apply because the faulty part was a sensor in the seat belt latch, not in the module for the opds. Replacement will cost about $200. A part #04813-S84 - A33zc, buckle set, was ordered. The disconnected the sensor so the light won't glow until the sensor is fixed. They also said the air bag won't deploy if the SRS light is on.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #19

Jan 172007

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was in an auto accident on 01-17-07 and was hit head on. My car is now totaled. Not one single air bag deployed. My car was a 2002 Honda Accord and was in excellent shape.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 142006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Involved in serious head on mva where my vehicle was totaled, injuries sustained. Spent 24 hrs in icu due to head trauma, memory loss, contusions, and abrasions. Air bag did not deploy, driver seat fractured while seat belt held, which allowed forward thrust into windshield.

- Austin, AR, USA

problem #17

Aug 162006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,585 miles
My 2002 Honda Accord V-6 4 dr sedan was in a 40 mph head-on collision with another vehicle and the drivers side airbag did not deploy. I was caught solely by the seat belt. Ouch! the auto was totaled by the insurance company.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 152006

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
2002 Honda Accord air bags failed to deploy upon impact. (lawyer wrote on behalf of consumer)

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 282005

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was accelerating to merge onto a freeway. While I was looking in my mirror, the car in front of me stopped. I hit her without ever hitting my brakes. I was going approximately 30-40 mph. The passenger side airbag deployed and both seat belts locked. The driver's side airbag did not deploy. The faulty airbag was replaced by my insurance company, but so far, Honda has not examined my car or the airbag to see what the problem was.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #14

May 242004

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer states he was in a front end collision in his vehicle, but neither air bag deployed. He was driving approximately 30-40 mph.

- Demorest, GA, USA

problem #13

Dec 032004

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,560 miles
Driver's side impact air bag deployed while sitting at a red light. Consumer contacted manufacturer, and was told to take the vehicle to the dealer to inspect for collision. After the inspection manufacture refused to make the repairs.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #12

Nov 062004

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at 65 mph consumer's struck a guard rail. Upon impact, air bags did not deploy.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #11

Jun 102004

Accord

  • 28,000 miles
Consumer's vehicle was involved in a frontal collision at 55 mph. Upon impact, dual air bags did not deploy. As a result, driver sustained severe head injuries.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #10

May 252004

(reported on)

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer's vehicle was rear ended at a high speed while at a complete stop. When this occurred vehicle hit another vehicle. The front end was severely damaged. Upon impact, air bags failed to deploy. Driver sustained chest injuries shoulders and arms from impacting the steering wheel. Consumer was hospitalized.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #9

Apr 012004

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
The air bag didn't deploy when the vehicle was in a collision, but it did deploy for no reason at all. The seat belt did not work during the accident as well.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 042004

Accord

  • miles
While driving 65 mph driver applied the brakes and brake pedal went to the floor. This caused another vehicle to merge into consumer's vehicle lane, resulting in a frontal collision. Upon impact, both frontal airbags did not deploy. Driver sustained head injuries, and was transported by ambulance to the hospital. Vehicle was totaled.

- Naugatuck, CT, USA

problem #7

Mar 012003

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle was involved in a frontal collision, and the air bags failed to deploy.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #6

Dec 042003

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Honda Accord - seat belt and airbags malfunctioned during a front impact collision. Car traveling approximately 40 mph. Seat belt did not restrain driver (pulled entirely out) and airbags did not deploy. Auto body shop exaimed safety features and in their opinion, safety features did not operate properly.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?