Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,983 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 15 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Oct 102007

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car started jerking and hesitating at first...and then I heard strange noises coming from the engine. Engine jerking got progressively worse. Took car to dealer who informed us that we need a new transmission at a cost of $3,500. Car only has 89,000 miles.

- Leonardtown, MD, USA

problem #55

Sep 182007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 25 mph, the transmission jerked and felt as if it were popping out of gear. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer once the service engine light illuminated. The dealer stated that the transmission completely failed. Honda stated that the transmission should not have failed so soon and paid for half of the repair costs. The contact felt that they should have paid for everything since the failure was a manufacturer defect. The current mileage was 93,000 and failure mileage was 92,000.

- Reedley, CA, USA

problem #54

Oct 082007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
My 2002 Honda Accord transmission fails and now I have to pay $3,700 for repair on a vehicle with only 66,000 mile's on it.

- Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #53

Sep 182007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2002 Honda Accord ex had an internal transmission failure. The car has about 80,000 miles; I have maintained the car as directed; I know that Honda extended the warranty on the 2000 and 2001 models due to this problem. I also know that certain 2002 models had transmission warranty extended. My VIN number did not fall into this category. Since the design of the car was not changed, why do some cars receive extended warranty and mine does not? it is, in my opinion, ridiculous that transmission failure happen at 80,000 miles. It is also dangerous - I am now having to replace the failed transmission with a new Honda transmission at the cost of $3400. Honda advertises its pride on quality and dependability and value - I received none of this. Honda has a problem with the transmission, and has not corrected this problem - at least to 2002. Thanks for listening.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #52

Jul 302007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Note: Transmission broke three times in the past 8 months and an SRS problem as well. Even this was covered under warranty, does not really appear to be normal issues and happened too frequently.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #51

May 012007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
Around 65,000 miles I noticed when I stop at a stop light or get a rolling start from a stop light or stop sign, the car makes a very loud clunk, it feels as if someone has ran into the back of me. I really think that Honda should handle the problem, from what I have read, alot of people have this problem on the 2002's. I have always very thought highly of Honda's and there customer service, but I am now having second thoughts there are too many other brands that do offer a 100,000 mile warranty.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #50

May 082007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,565 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

05-08-2007 oil seal was replaced due to leaking transmission fluid. On 05-21-2007 transmission fluid again was leaking, dealer service center advised the the left seal needed replacement, and/or the transmission needed to be replaced. The out of balance or wheel rotation sound began after an extended trip to Wisconsin, on the return trip. There was no leaking at that time. After having the wheels cheked, and no explanation for the sound, we continued to identify the source. When we spotted the fluid on the garage floor we took car in for service. 05-28-2007 precision trans verified definetly the transmission was going bad and seal replacement would not solve the problem. The vehicle has only 71640 miles.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #49

Feb 012007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
I have started to experience problems with the transmission on 2002 Honda Accord ex V6, (purchased new. I felt sudden jerks while starting after stopping at lights or stop signs. I knew Honda did do free transmission replacement for 2001 models. I would like to know if this has been problem with other people too and a fix by manufacturer.

- Lansdale, PA, USA

problem #48

Apr 012007

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
I purchased my 2002 Honda Accord V6 ex in 2005. When the car reached about 55K miles a couple months ago the transmission started badly slipping. It had been slipping since about 45K miles but became much worse at 55K. Took it to multiple mechanics, and transmission shops. The final diagnosis was that the transmission was out and would have to be replaced. I was forced to purchase a re-manufactured transmission from a Honda dealer. Total cost of repairs $2345.30. There was a recall the 2001 models that covered the exact problems. My 2002 was not part of this recall, and because I had not purchased an extended warranty I was forced to pay for the entire cost of repair.

- Rexburg, ID, USA

problem #47

Apr 072007

Accord

  • miles
Honda transmissions: 2002 Honda Accord tansmission slipping or not changing gear. This is the 2nd transmission in a years time. This one is now slipping and not going into gear. 8ak

- Auburn, GA, USA

problem #46

Mar 222007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2002 Honda Accord, leased it new for 2 years and then purchased it. I serviced it only at the dealership. When my car was at 95,000 miles the transmission started slipping. I called Honda and told them about the problem and they said it wasn't under warranty. I had told them that I would have purchased a Chevy for half the price of the Honda had I known the transmission would go out as quickly as that on the less expensive car. I also had a main rear seal go out which is not typical with the age or mileage of this car, and the engine mounts. They agreed to only charge me labor for all of the problems; however it was still almost $1000 that I should not have to be paying right now. I just graduated from college and have over $60,000 in student loans. All of the aforementioned problems should not have been taking place for at least another 50-100,000 miles. I looked online and saw that other Honda Accord have been recalled up to 2001. This did not include my car right now, but probably will in the future. The dealership was very cooperative; however, Honda corporate was not.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #45

Mar 082007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission slips, drive light flashes, check engine light on 2 times in last 2 months. Honda dealer said needed new transmission. Other shop claimed nothing was wrong. Car has always shifted differently than others. Took car to Honda in 1st year owned asked about it and was told it was normal for this car took car to transmission shop in 08/06 to have it checked, and they said nothing wrong. This was done at 100,400 miles. I had ext warranty, but daughter did not take to shop before it went over 100,000. Honda claimed my car not included in settlement, adding 5% to mileage. Honda stated my car not included in transmission recalls. I bought my car in early November 2002.

- Armuchee, TX, USA

problem #44

Feb 122007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Accord V6 ex. Transmission slipping, with abrupt shifting between first and second gears, and abrupt downshifting between gears. Potential safety defect as car hesitates when crossing traffic. Currently 69,000 miles, but problem surfaced at around 55K miles and is getting progressively worse. Apparently Honda is covering replacement transmissions for 2001, but not 2002 models with the same problem. Love Honda, but they dropped the ball on this one.

- La Canada, CA, USA

problem #43

Jan 112007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
Honda Accord 2002 value package the transmission starts to fail at 59000 miles. Symptoms include clunking when shifts from neutral to drive, failing to change gears sometimes, and sudden clunks when changing gears. I am afraid that this failure may lead to an accident and request a recall from the manufacturer. I tried to change transmission fluid, but it still leaves the same problem.

- Haymarket, VA, USA

problem #42

Dec 202006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Automatic transmission failure on 2002 Honda Accord with 50,000 miles. Transmission fluid leaked into the differential. I am afraid the gears might lock & cause a crash. I've been waiting for a replacement re-manufactured transmission for almost a month. The Honda dealer said it was ok to drive until the parts come in.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #41

Jan 022007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The SRS light comes on for no apparent reason, I took it to a dealership, they told me that there were cases of this light coming on for no reason, so they went ahead and reset it for me. However, just recently it came on again for no reason. I took it to the dealership again, now they are saying that I need to pay 180 dollars just for a diagnostic, and repairs would be additional. Transmission keeps slipping, gears do not change properly.

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #40

Dec 202006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,500 miles
Noticed the slipping/jerking when it changes gears (severe on lower gear shifts). I brought the vehicle for check-up, and mechanic diagnosed as transmission problem. Researched the problem, and it seems that this is a widespread issue, that even a recall of Honda Accord to 2001 models. I called the Honda customer service but was told that the vehicle is not part of the recall since it does not cover 2002 models. It seems to me that Honda is negligent in not including the 2002 models since this problem is exact/similar to the symptoms of the recalled models.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #39

Dec 202006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
I took my Honda Accord V6 ex to change the transmission oil and they told me it needed a new transmission. All Honda was prepared to do is give me $1000 toward the repair estimated at $4000. The problem is that the transmission slips between 1st and 2nd gear. The problem manifests itself more when the vehicle is cold. This is highly dangerous because when you turn on the highway or cross an intersection if the vehicle looses power because the transmission fails to shift, this puts the vehicle at risk of being rear ended or hit from the side. This is an intermittent problem since occurs mostly cold but sometimes during the day. The rest of the time there appears to be no problem. I don't know of many motorists who would rush out to spend $4000 to fix this problem until it becomes constant. Until then the motorist is at risk of a severe accident. Honda cannot fix this problem other than to replace the transmission at great cost. At least if they provided the transmission and the owner paid for the labor that would be a reasonable compromise. It is not reasonable for a transmission to fail at 72K miles. I have heard of other Honda owners with this problem. I am reporting it so that if this is a trend, pressure may be put on Honda to recall these transmissions or at the very least replace it immediately when identified. Their current lack of response shows callous disrespect for human life.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #38

Oct 102006

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles
: the contact stated the transmission died twice when the vehicle was just over a year old. It was taken to the dealer after each incident and the transmission was replaced. The manufacturer was contacted, and determined the transmission would have to die two more times before the vehicle would be replaced. The transmission problems persisted by jerking and the transmission became caught between gears. It also had difficulty with driving up hills.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #37

Sep 212006

Accord 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,010 miles
I own a 2002 Honda Accord 4-dr sedan. I am now at 51,000 miles and have been experiencing transmission slipping. I called Honda today and they said that my car is no longer warranted but that 2000-2001 Honda got a 7yr/100K mile extended warranty for free. I am dismayed by Honda's decision to not help me pay for this repair as I know I am not alone in this complaint and there are many many many people with the same problems. I am hoping that nhsta will be able to help me out. Thank you.

- Stockton, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?