Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue ever since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially replaced the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 1
Average Mileage:
86,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Oct 132014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I contacted the pat peck Honda dealership in gulfport, ms in Oct 2014 to schedule a service appointment for my daughter's car because of the airbag recall. I was told that the part was on backorder and she would be contacted when it came in. My daughter called once to check on it and was told they were still waiting on the part. On Jan 3, 2015, she called the service dept and was passed around to approximately 4-5 different people/departments, none of whom acted like they knew what to do or who to transfer her to. She was told to leave a message, which she did, and she was still not called back. I then called the service dept and asked for the manager, explained who I was and who I was calling for and about and was told they had no record of the initial request in Oct 2014 and no record of any parts being ordered. I was assured that the replacement part would be ordered immediately and she would be contacted to set up an appt. It is now Feb 3, 2015 and we have not heard anything. We received the 1st safety recall notice regarding the airbag issue in the mail today and now there is a 2nd recall on the same airbag(s). I am contacting the service dept again tomorrow, but this is totally unacceptable, on both Honda's part and on pat peck Honda's part. The fact that takata is the only manufacturer of this airbag is also highly concerning, both in their denial to take responsibility and in their lack of concern. Honda has always had a great reputation and high resale value, but this will be the last Honda we own. This is not a minor safety issue and I happen to value my 22 year old daughter's life a little more than Honda does.......that point has been made very clear. There has not even been an offer made to disconnect the airbag, which is what we will have done, if these are not replaced immediately. Totally unacceptable................

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #70

Dec 102014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,293 miles
Air bag warning light stayed on for sometime before I could get an appointment at a repair shop. Auto repair mechanic explained that the driver side air bags would not function due to a faulty driver side seat belt buckle. Buckle was replaced on 12/17/14 & air bags were enabled.

- Rotonda West, FL, USA

problem #69

Oct 072013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Another death could be avoided, this car was recalled in 2014 too late for ea domination of the car, and now after speaking with attorneys again the air bars are involved. Our son was so evict rated that there was nothing to do, pronounced dead at the scene. Emt's were helpless, he lost his face and his chest. No protection from this vehicle, pleas notify others. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Vineyard Haven , MA, USA

problem #68

Dec 012014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Honda Accord the air bag is not designed to adjust to a person's weight. The consumer would like permission to deactivate the driver's side air bag. The consumer stated she has to sit close to the steering wheel in order to reach the pedals.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #67

Jul 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 84,400 miles
My vehicle's airbag light has been coming on and off since July 2014. Until recently (end of November 2014), I had no idea about the manufacturer's recall. In today's world, businesses are not even trying to be responsible towards their customers and try to charge for airbag light checking or replacement. To prove it, even during the major national recall for Honda airbag, the Honda dealer: Columbus, oh: Germain Honda of dublin 6715 sawmill rd dublin, oh 43017 United States declines service. They initially denied service saying that there is no recall open for my vehicle by the VIN number, then she said that it was already taken care of sometimes in 2004. We have owned the car since 2005 and we never had it repaired for this problem. I want to prevent an accident and not look for trouble, but it is difficult to be proactive when the dealers want to charge you even when there is a well-known nationwide recall for the very problem you are reporting. Please help with making it easier for customers to have their cars repaired without having to fight for it or convince the dealers that it is their responsibility. Thank you!

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #66

Nov 152014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated the driver fell asleep behind the wheel and lost control of the vehicle. As a result, the contact crashed into a bus tunnel and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained neck and back injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed from the scene. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Oceans Spring, MS, USA

problem #65

Nov 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 129,005 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Saturday, November 15, 2014, at around 8:20 am, I was driving northbound on 880. Traffic was very light and the road is very smooth in that area because it was repaved in the last year. My speed was 65 mph. I was driving in the rightmost lane because I was close to my destination and because flow of traffic is somewhat higher than 65mph in the other lanes. Without warning and without impact from any other vehicles or from anything on the road, the passenger side airbag activated. Although my ears were ringing, I was able to take the next exit, hegenberger rd, which was about 1/2 mile from when the airbag exploded. There were no warning lights or other indications of problems before the airbag activated.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #64

Sep 012013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
About a year ago I noticed the passenger side airbag warning light on the dashboard now I am afraid to let anyone sit in the front passenger seat in light of this new information about exploding airbags.please keep me updated on this recall. Thank you.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #63

Oct 282014

Accord

  • miles
I took vehicle in for air bag recall with takata part -- Honda fixed driver side but now says that the passenger side airbag for my vehicle will not be available until March 2015 -- how can they allow the seriousness of such a defect go on for so long while putting me and any passenger in my auto in potential danger including death. I live in miami fl which falls in the most high risk hot/humid areas of the country!

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #62

Oct 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to recall concerning an airbag defect. The consumer stated the vehicle was recalled in 2004 for a safety defect related to the air bags. Soon after the defect was supposedly remedied, an intermittent seat belt warning light illuminated, on the dashboard. The vehicle was taken to an auto repair shop, where it was determined, it was not a seat belt issue, but an air bag issues. The consumer was referred to the dealer, where they informed him, it would cost % $199 to correctly diagnose the problem. The consumer contacted Honda motor company, and was informed, they would not pay for any repairs, that were not related to the recall.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #61

Sep 102014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light on.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #60

Oct 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to an alleged takata airbag flaw. Updated 12/02/14

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #59

Oct 122014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 129,416 miles
Air bag sensor light came on abruptly and stays on. Turned the ignition off and on multiple times but the air bag sensor light stays on.

- Rosedale, MD, USA

problem #58

Aug 012014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V353000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The dealer informed that the contact that she would have to wait approximately one month for her vehicle to be serviced under the recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Hialeah , FL, USA

problem #57

Sep 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
This Accord is equipped with takata airbags. Honda had recalled vehicles but only in certain states. This recall should be nation-wide. What is NHTSA going to do about this? [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mendota Hts, MN, USA

problem #56

Sep 102014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
Today, I had passenger side ceiling and seat air bag inadvertent deployment while driving on highway. There was no passenger in the passenger seat. As the driver, I was the only person in the vehicle (however, approximately 30 minutes later, there would have been a toddler in the passenger side of the backseat). I was startled and confused by the unexpected explosive noise ("boom") and only noticed the side air bag "curtain" a few seconds later and after that, the protruding passenger seat air bag.

- Randolph, NJ, USA

problem #55

Aug 142014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 112,189 miles
I took my car to a local Honda dealer for a recall to be repaired. After getting the car back, I still get a dashboard warning light indicating that the part may still be defective. The part in question is the passenger side power seat wire harness (seat SRS sensor). I was not aware of this recall, but the dealer was kind enough to inform me, but I just don't feel the issue has been corrected.

- Patterson, NY, USA

problem #54

May 222014

Accord

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- Portsmouth , VA, USA

problem #53

Jun 302014

Accord

  • 87,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated intermittently. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 87,500.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #52

Apr 052014

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was to be inspected. The contact was not notified of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V353000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 8/19/14 updated 09/11/14

- Port Richey, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?