Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue ever since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially replaced the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,801 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Accord transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #148

Jul 212014

Accord

  • 100,530 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at no particular speed the RPM's abnormally increased to 7500 independently. The vehicle started to jerk back and forth with the service light and acs lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, who stated there was a transmission failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,530.

- Zeptford, NJ, USA

problem #147

Apr 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving slowly to park the vehicle, it lunged forward and crashed into a wooden fence. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis and the contact was informed that the throttle was faulty and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 31,000 and the current mileage was 32,000...updated08-30-12 updated 09/07/2012

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #146

Jun 212012

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
2004 Honda Accord. Consumer states the vehicle had catastrophic transmission failure while driving on the highway. The consumer stated he read on the internet, where a recall was issued, but he never received a notice.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #145

Apr 122012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 94,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. While stopped at a stop light, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal and noticed that the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was towed to the an independent mechanic for a diagnostic test. The mechanic stated that the transmission would have to be overhauled. After the repair, the contact noticed a vibration in the transmission. The vehicle was taken back to the mechanic. The mechanic installed a new clutch. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,100. The consumer also stated the front hydraulic and side motor mount was replaced. Two weeks later, the consumer was informed the motor mount was broken. Updated 06/04/12

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #144

Mar 302012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Driving on the highway, the automatic transmission in the V6 model (85000 miles) seemed to slip into neutral, and any application of gas red-lined the engine. Had to Dodge through highway traffic slowing down to 25 mph before the gears would engage. After exiting the highway, the same problem persisted at lower speeds; complete gear slipping. The problem persisted in D or D3. After letting the car sit turned off for a few minutes, it seems to now be functioning properly, but there is no telling when it could happen again. This is a safety issue to due sudden failure of a critical system. Had I been less fortunate on the highway, I could have been involved in a serious accident. Also, if this happened while turning through or crossing a busy intersection, I would have been broadsided. www.carcomplaints.com has logged over 100 of the same complaints in cars that have never been recalled, it's only a matter of time before someone gets killed. This car should have been recalled with the other 2004 Accord V6 models.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #143

Dec 012011

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to transmission recalls the consumer was informed the transmission needed to be replaced at a cost of $ $4,150.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #142

Jan 292010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 106,786 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In January 29, 2010, my wife was driving home with my children when the car suddenly lost power. We had it towed to my mechanic who checked it and told us that it was the transmission. We eventually had it replaced for $2300. I was really surprised that the transmission failed so prematurely but since it had passed its warranty I didn't bother notifiying Honda. However, the same thing happened again this November 11, 2011 while my wife was driving my children home. The rebuilt transmission we had put in failed as well after 30,000 miles. Luckily, it didn't happen on the freeway. My family could have been killed. Now I'm having it replaced with the used one because I don't want to spend another $2300. I thought I was alone on this but I found out that a lot of people are having the same problem. My neighbor has an Accord and the same thing happened. I hope something can be done about this before somebody dies.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #141

Sep 132011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
My transmission was recalled in 2004 however the "fix" was to install an oil jet kit and extra lubrication to the gears. The transmission still failed at only 65K miles. Honda now refused to pay for the repairs. Honda knowingly put my safety and the safety of my two year old daughter at risk by not replacing the transmission. The incident happened while driving my daughter to school and I become stuck going up a hill and started rolling backwards into oncoming traffic.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #140

Sep 072011

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
I own a 2004 Honda Accord ex coupe V6 engine...and the transmission has failed at 79,000K miles. A safety issue because I was almost rear-ended as I was trying to go up a hill and the car did not want to go forward anymore although it was in drive and I was pressing the gas...it kept rolling backwards as if it was in reverse, and I have an automatic transmission!!!! this seems to be an ongoing problem for this make and model of this year's vehicle...I want to join the other thousands of people out their to report this as a safety problem, it could've cost me my life an anybody that was behind me!

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #139

Aug 202011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 162,000 miles
2004 Honda Accord transmission failure it just stop working Honda did a recall on this yr and model but said my VIN is not in the recall its failure is the same as the recalled vehicles.

- Buford , GA, USA

problem #138

Jul 082011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 97,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2004 Honda Accord ex V6 and the transmission started slipping and I took to a Honda dealer and told me I need a new transmission it not covered by the recall they a full of it I think there is a scam going on at Honda.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #137

Jul 102011

Accord

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact was driving 60 mph when the tachometer malfunctioned and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle would not shift between gears and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer advised that the transmission had failed due to burned transmission fluid caused by excessive heat. The dealer did not replace the transmission. The failure mileage was 127,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #136

Jun 302011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 105,987 miles
The transmission of my 2004 Honda Accord V6 slips between 1st and 2nd gears. This happen while trying to accelerate onto an interstate. Towed into repair shop, but no problem found. Problem recurred next several days, but not as severely. Just had 105000 mile check up with no issues, and now this expense! I see there have been recalls and class action suits for this transmission. What is my relief?

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #135

Jun 162011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Driving on interstate highway the car suddenly stopped working.the car then with difficulty had to be pulled to the breakdown lane with the momentum of the car. Engine was running but could not accelerate the car. Subsequent diagnosis suggested that there was a failure of the automatic transmission.

- South Windsor, CT, USA

problem #134

Jun 112011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
I purchased a 2004 Honda Accord in October of 2008, the car was running and functioning well until the year 2010 where I started to have problems with the radio not working, the transmission failed and now in 2011 had to replace the sop ECM (per Honda dealer the memory card of the car), I have spent more than $6,000 on this car because I had so many major a minor problems with it. And even though I have followed the schedule maintenance visits to the dealer this car still reflecting problems. I have gotten everything fixed till this moment and im afraid the car will still give me problems in the future.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #133

Jun 112011

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. When the vehicle stopped it began to lunge forward. The contact placed the gear shift in neutral and then back into to drive; however, the vehicle continued to lunge forward. The contact added transmission fluid and was able to drive the vehicle to an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 123,000. Updated 07/20/11 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The consumer stated the transmission was replaced after the vehicle began lurching and soon after, it would not move at all. Updated 08/05/11

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #132

Jun 132011

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
I was trying to merge onto the freeway and was almost rear ended because I could not get the vehicle to go over 30 mph. I was scary to say the least.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #131

May 272011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 103,500 miles
Driving on freeway with no warning the car comes to a sudden stop as if the brakes were being slammed on. I own a 2004 Honda Accord V6 automatic. After this incident the car did not want to drive as if it was in neutral. I was slowly able to get onto shoulder. This caused a huge traffic jam. I was nearly rear ended by full size truck. After I had stopped for approx. Ten minutes I was able to drive the car home with no issues. I discovered that Honda issued a recall for this same exact problem. I've read many other people have had this same incident happen. One of which involved a child getting injured. I brought the vehicle to the capital city Honda dealership in olympia, wa. For the recall work to be performed (it had not been done, issued in 2004). The dealership had my vehicle for a full day before I received a call saying my vehicle needed an oil kit installed which was part of the recall. The next day I was told the kit was installed and it did not fix the problem. I was also told that during the test drive the transmission locked up on the technician driving it. They then told me that the failure had nothing to do with the second gear which the recall states and that I would be responsible to pay for the repair approx. $4,000. The next day I call back stating that I believe the transmission should be changed under the recall and that they were supposed to inspect the transmission before installing the kit. They then told me they never installed the kit and the failure is not a part of the recall. Many other 2004 Honda owners have had the same problem. If it's not related to the recall shouldn't there be an investigation into why these transmissions are failing like this now" or are the dealerships not performing the recall inspections correctly" I implore that another recall be opened to inspect these transmissions again and further than just the color of second gear. I don't want another driver injured or killed due to this or a child injured or killed.

- Tumwater, WA, USA

problem #130

May 132011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
2004 Honda Accord V6 - "not under existing recall" 1. transmission started to slip 2. brought to dealer to diagnose 'complete failure due to internal mechanical part' 3. towed to independent garage for repair.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #129

May 032011

Accord

  • 134,000 miles
There was absolutely no warning that my transmission was going to fail. I was stopped at a red light. When it turned green, I started to go and was entering onto an interstate on ramp. I was in 5pm traffic, which was thick. My car wasn't picking up speed. I looked down and the rpms were high. I let up off the gas. The car started to go, and then jerked like it was stopping. The car behind me almost rear ended me. I was in the interstate on ramp with no where to pull over. I tried to give it gas, and the car would not pick up speed fast enough. I let up off the gas again and it would go and then jerk to almost a stop. It was like someone else had control of the gas pedal and break pedal. It did this five or six times until I could get off the road. I had it taken to the dealership, where I was told the transmission needed to be replaced which would cost $4,000. Again, I had no warning this would happen and had no prior problems with the transmission. The fluid had been changed just 3 months before this happened. The car had always been maintained at the dealership. This is a 2004 Honda Accord ex, 6 cylinder, with 134,000 miles at the time. Honda refused to help with any cost. Although there was a recall on some 2004 Accord, they said my VIN number was not one of those. A website shows 78 other people who experienced the exact same thing...with no warning and with mileage between 80,000-140,000. Surely, Honda is aware of this issue and it was broader than they thought. This is a safety issue. I was almost rear ended!! I plan to bring this to the media's attention.

- Cecil, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?