Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,805 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Oct 272014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that she was involved in a minor crash where the air bags deployed. The specifics of the crash were not available and a police report was not filed. The contact sustained burns to the stomach due to the air bag deployemnt. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #23

Jan 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Honda Accord. While driving at an unknown speed during inclement weather, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a guardrail several times. The driver and passenger frontal air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the chest, head, and elbow. The front passenger sustained back and neck injuries. The rear driver side passenger sustained injuries to the face and head. The other rear passenger sustained injuries to the neck and waist. The driver and both rear passengers required medical attention. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 12/09/14

- Springfiled , MA, USA

problem #22

Oct 202014

Accord

  • 91,000 miles
Airbag warning light on dash is on and won't go off. Honda dealer states I must pay $125 to have it tested. If test shows it is caused by seat belt problem, cost will be waived, otherwise I must pay for both the diagnostic test and the repair.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #21

Sep 012014

Accord

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag warning lamp on dashboard began to light up sporadically. Later in the month the car was taken for routine maintenance at a certified Honda dealer, it was explained that there is a problem with the driver side airbag and the light indicated a problem which prevents the mechanics from knowing if the airbag will deploy in the event of an accident. This defect is only covered for Honda Accord V6 models 2001-2005 and has a quoted repair of $700-900.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 112014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated and the air bags deployed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic was unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 10/24/2014 updated 4/17/15

- Foley, AL, USA

problem #19

Aug 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle airbag issues. The consumer was informed, the air bag issue, did not included his model, because it was not registered or first sold in one of the humidity states.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #18

Jul 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dear sir or madam, the air bags (driver and passenger side) deployed on my 2006 Honda Accord at less than 10mph with my seat belts on resulting in scratches on my left front bumper (no other visible hard impact damage). This incident occurred while performing a slow turn into a parking lot spot. I had contacted both Honda usa and my local dealership expressing my concern that once repaired, the air bags could again unintentional deploy while driving the car. Honda usa asked me to take car to local Honda dealer for inspection and evaluation. I brought my car at Honda dealer but they said they were not equipped with skill and tools to inspect and evaluate and stated that I should go to a third party collision shop. I contacted Honda usa again and they asked me to go to my insurance company to determine if a defect is present. I believe those are unacceptable and surprising suggestions. It is my believe that Honda has a major defect in the air bag sensor and does not wish to investigate and/or acknowledge culpability in a defective safety component. Requesting to advise me on how should I proceed.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #17

Jul 132014

Accord

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 35 mph, the passenger side air bag deployed without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000. Jcc

- Geneseo, NY, USA

problem #16

Jul 132014

Accord

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 35 mph, the passenger side air bag deployed without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 124,000. Jcc

- Geneseo, NY, USA

problem #15

Nov 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while the driver was traveling 40 mph, she was involved in a crash where only one air bag deployed. A police report was filed and the driver sustained injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 63,000. Updated 08/11/14

- Romney, WV, USA

problem #14

Jan 282014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 82,944 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the morning of 1/28/2013 at approximately 7:30am cst, I walked out to my car to start it. When I turned the key, the passenger side curtain air bags deployed. Since it was -12F outside, I figured there was some sort of mechanical failure and Honda would cover it. I called Honda of lisle, il and they asked that I bring it in for diagnostics. I dropped the car off Thursday morning and later they called and said they found scrapes under the car and that the computer returned SRS codes that indicated a collision took place. I told them that there have only been two incidents with the car, neither of which required any body work. We ran over a very deep pothole in 2006, which required the rim to be replaced. In 2007 (or possibly 08), I fell into the rear passenger side quarter panel while attempting to roller blade for the first time and dented it. Because the scrapes that he described seem to have been in the exact same area as where we hit the pothole, I figured they must have come from that. They told me their zone manager from Honda America needed to investigate the issue further and would be in the next day (Friday) and that they would contact me with the results. On Friday, I spoke to my service advisor and he informed me that the zone manager denied my claim due to his belief that a collision had taken place and because my car is out of warranty. On Monday, 2/3/2013, I called Honda of lisle again and spoke with the general service manager, [xxx]. after explaining my situation to him, he said there is nothing he can do and that covering the expense is up to the discretion of the zone manager. I then called Honda corporate, only again to be denied, given the same reason. I am now stuck with a car with deployed airbags that are going to cost over $2,000 to repair. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #13

Jan 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
My car crashed into several wooden posts where the entire front end was damaged including the frame and my air bags never deployed. The car was totaled and I suffered injuries which required medical treatment. I informed american Honda of this issue on 2 seperate occasions and not once did they mention about looking into a possible defect in their vehicle.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #12

Jan 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
My car crashed into several wooden posts where the entire front end was damaged including the frame and my air bags never deployed.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #11

Dec 172012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Airbag light stayed on without accident. I brought it to dealership and they did a diagnostic scan. The guy said driver positon sensor harness is broken. I researched this problem and its look like this a common problem with Honda. I called Honda and they said the VIN is not included in the recall. Honda must be increase the scope of the recall!!!

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #10

Dec 262012

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, another vehicle crashed into the driver's side of her vehicle. Upon impact, the air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was completely destroyed and the driver sustained injuries to the head and spine. Both the manufacturer and dealer were contacted but neither provided any assistance. The failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 10/29/13

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #9

Dec 282012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
My husband was on his way home when his left turn light turned green. A lady ran the red light and T-boned our car. The car is totaled. My husband suffered injuries, was knocked out and has concussion. Not one of the air bags went off and our car was loaded with bags in front and back seats. It is the reason why we purchased the car. We called "Honda America" and all they did was listen and told us to contact our dealer where we purchased the car to have them look at it. The dealer laughed and told us they have nothing to do with the manufacturing of the car. Honda America told us to also have our insurance company figure out when happened. We talked to our insurance company and they said they could wrap the Honda and send it to Honda America, "but" Honda America said they don't have a place for the Honda to be looked at. "Honda America" needs to take responsibility!!!! called an accident attorney to deal with Honda America.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #8

Nov 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
My SRS light indicating a malfunctioning of the front airbags came up just when I closed the dashboard cabin. When reported this to Honda dealer they say it is not covered under warranty and they don't know how it came up as this light should only turn on incase of accident. Now they want me to pay $1100 - $1200 to replace the whole SRS unit. Please suggest.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #7

Jul 162012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
Airbag light went on. Replacement of drivers seat position sensor needed. Parts from Honda $700 plus labor. No water located near seat at time of light activation. No electronics near seat at time of light activation.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 282012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
We were stopped at a stop light waiting for the light to change. Our car was completely stopped for 30+ seconds when both front air bags suddenly deployed. The car was not hit and there was no other car within 10 feet. When we got out of the car, both air bags exploded again.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 122012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I filled up my car at the hess station on route 112 in coram, long island, New York. I put my car, slowly in reverse and the car took off like it had a mind of it's own. I stepped on the brake, but nothing happened and the car continued to speed up in reverse- with my foot on the brake - heading towards a van with a baby in it in a car seat. I quickly put the car in forward, and with my foot still on the brake, the car flew across the parking lot of the gas station, crossed two lanes of traffic, crashed into the woods. I steered away from a telephone pole I was definitely going to hit and, when I went into the woods the air bag went off and covered my face. I then went back across two lanes of traffic again, with the airbag over my face, and crashed into the curb in front of the hess station when I reported the accident to my insurance company, the hartford, I asked them to check out the speed sensor-. my insurance company said they would not be able to check out the speed sensor. I then called Honda customer service and told them of the incident. They informed me that, unless they received a request from the hartford, they would not check out the speed sensor. I then called the hartford and requested that they call Honda to have the car inspected by Honda themselves. Hartford told me that they would not pay to have Honda inspect the vehicle - they were just going to have their adjuster look at the car and told me they were not going to look at the speed sensor at all. So, basically, no one is willing to do anything and I almost killed a baby in a car seat and myself this seems ludicrous to me that no one is even willing to check this defect out. I sincerely hope that you can help me with this very difficult situation.

- Center Moriches, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?