Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 1
Average Mileage:
41,973 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #88

May 292016

Accord

  • 69,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle airbag light turned on twice within the last 5 months. Each time it stayed on when I started my car. After a quick internet research I learned that with the airbag light on my airbags would not deployed if I were in an car accident. The first time it happened I took it into a Honda service center for testing. I was told that I needed to replace my battery because the low voltage could be the cause. After replacing the battery the light turned off and everything was good. Months later, the airbag light turned on again. I took my car to another Honda service center and had it tested once again. This time I was told that my SRS control unit needed to be replace due to corrosion/old age. After researching this further, I found that there is a recall on the SRS control unit for Honda vehicles. Unfortunately, this recall excluded my particular year. I understand that this is public safety issue and I believe that Honda should expand this particular recall to other years. Others may not be as proactive in taking their vehicle in for testing or paying for the test and unit out of pocket. This is a huge safety issue that needs to be review before someone outside the recall classification gets injure or worse.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #87

Nov 052016

Accord

  • miles
I'm complaining because I have dealt with two dealerships and Honda on numerous occasions. I am getting tired of receiving notices for the same thing over and over again. My Honda case # 04732018. Can someone please update my record so I can stop getting notices?

- Hartshorne, OK, USA

problem #86

Oct 132016

Accord

  • miles
C

- Mocksville, NC, USA

problem #85

Sep 282016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata inflators. My vehicle appears on lists of affected vehicles and New Jersey has now become a zone 2 state, yet my vehicle has not been recalled to replace the inflators and I have not received any explanation as to why. I called Honda and NHTSA and have been told only that my VIN is not on the recall list - I know that - that is the very reason for my concern. I do not trust that only the recalled vins are at risk. It is unacceptable that specific information about my vehicle and its airbags is not being provided. Even the high-level general criteria provided by NHTSA and Honda changes frequently, and recalls keep expanding after the facts of new deaths and injuries. Also, the notion of waiting for takata analyses, previously falsified is not reasonable at all, let alone until Dec 2019. NHTSA needs to see to it that all of the listed / affected vehicles be recalled for replacement of airbags/inflators now or that loaner cars be provided now. Also, NHTSA needs to see to it that we are given specific information on the particular airbags in our cars along with detailed information on why each has not yet been recalled.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #84

May 202016

Accord

  • 104,000 miles
My wife was involved in a collision while driving our 2007 Accord. She was in motion at about 20 mph when another vehicle crossed her path, whereupon the front of our Honda struck the right side of the other vehicle. This was on state route 66 at the on-ramp to I-215. The problem is that the driver's frontal airbag did not deploy despite the fact that the seatbelt is locked and the airbag light is now blinking. She suffered minor injuries from hitting her head on something during the collision and there were about $3,000 in repairs to our Honda. It would seem that the airbags should have deployed in the crash since the airbag light is blinking, which I presume to mean that the module has recorded a permanent deployment event.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #83

Aug 142015

Accord

  • miles
My Honda Accord 2007 LX has its front passenger and driver airbags replaced with part number 04785sda306 and 04770sda305 in November 2014 and August 2015. It was replaced with the exact same part that was it was recalled for. Do the 2 airbags have ammonium nitrate in them" if so why are they being replaced with the same part? also the was a desiccant put in"

- Chatham, NJ, USA

problem #82

Jun 282016

Accord

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. After the vehicle was started, the front passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #81

May 272016

Accord

  • 120,025 miles
While driving the car, battery light turned on and off, steering wheel became stiff, car turned off and steering wheel locked it self.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #80

May 042016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. Our Honda Accord 2007 airbag inflator under recall was replaced in 2014 at delray Honda, boca raton, fl. In today's nytimes, May 4, 2016, a news article states that the problem now found is that ammonium nitrate in the takata inflator is now the most critically unsafe problem in the airbag. In a conversation today with a Honda representative named sheryl, she stated she knew nothing about the ammonium nitrate problem, and that our inflator had been repaired in 2014. I requested that sheryl give me the phone number of a supervisor who might know more about the ammonium nitrate problems & repair solutions. She stated she couldn't give out any number, or connect me, but she could send a request to a supervisor laura, and added that laura would not be able to give me any explanation or information different that sheryl's. there are six family members, the youngest an 8 year old who sometimes ride in the passenger seat of our 2007 Honda Accord, and wish to receive answers to what Honda plans to do to remove the inflator with ammonium nitrate in our Honda, and what will be the chemical compound that will be used instead of ammonium nitrate. We wish to be safe and sound in a car, not anxious that there could be a problem causing serious injuries, or god forbid, death to anyone. If I don't hear from a Honda supervisor re: What solutions will Honda has to replace the ammonium nitrate, or install an safe airbag in our care with a safe inflator & chemical solution, I will let you know.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #79

Apr 152016

Accord

  • 83,000 miles
Takata recall why are some cars with takata air bags being recalled and others are not. If my car has takata air bags then it should be recalled.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #78

Jan 202016

Accord

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #77

Jun 242014

Accord

  • 95 miles
Truck hit me. Totaled car. Broke shoulder. Had surgery. Over 5000O in bills.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #76

Jan 262016

Accord

  • 59,700 miles
Tuesday, January 26th, 2016, approx.9:45pm, my wife and I were traveling home from New Jersey back to New York through highly populated traffic and pedestrian zones. Our 2007 Honda Accord 4cyl, sedan with 59,700 miles came to a stop while traveling approx 20mph as we passed an intersection due to driver side curtain and seat deploying without cause. No other vehicle/pedestrian was involved, fortunately, and no damage was done to our vehicle. However the airbags strictly on the driver side, that are not part of a recall, deployed/malfunctioned thus potentially may have caused a serious or fatal accident had another vehicle or pedestrian been nearby. Local dealer, paragon in woodside, appraised damage and cost of repair at $6,000 parts and labor. The service engineer concluded any dips in roads, potholes, hills, basically landscapes that direct/force the front of a vehicle forward could potentially set off the sensor for airbag deployment. Contrary to their 'professional' statement our vehicle did not see such a scenario where only driver side of vehicle would require airbags being deployed. Should the road conditions been severve all airbags should of deployed. Having said that this should not be the case. Should their statement be "true" consequently airbags would be going off with no accidents more often, and this would be a regular repair and putting a greater population at risk. We believe the driver side malfunctioned and we cannot be held reponsible when this safety feature is out of our control. We cannot stress this enough that there was no accident. Vehicle was moving in a straight line 20mph going through a green light, on a modest incline downhill at best. Bear in mind I've driven through that intersection on a regular basis and this has never happened before. I would happily re demonstrate. The airbags that deployed are not part of a recall

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #75

Nov 272015

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, another vehicle failed to yield. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of the vehicle. The drivers side frontal air bag failed to deploy entirely and exploded emitting chemical substances and smoke. The contact stated that he inhaled the chemical substances. In addition, the contact stated that the rear passenger side occupant sustained left shoulder and back injuries but did not receive medical attention. The other two rear passengers did not sustain any injuries but required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #74

Nov 112015

Accord

  • 145,196 miles
My Honda Accord had a recall for both drivers side and passenger side airbags. I called the Honda dealer closest to me to set up and appt. To get them replaced. Took my car into the ryan Honda dealership and they performed the work in a couple of hours. When I left the dealership, which was at the service department closing time, I noticed my seatbelt/airbag light was on, and would never go off (this light was not on before I had the parts replaced). I called the dealership to explain to them that the light came on after the airbags were replaced and will not go off. They told me that my seatbelt sensor was out and that had nothing to do with the airbags! well, my seatbelt sensor was not out before they did the work on my car. Now, I'm leary that the airbags were not installed properly or something because of the light being constantly on. I do appreciate Honda sending the airbag recall and footing the bill, but don't think it's fair to go into the dealership and something else gets messed up and I have to pay to get it repaired at my expense.

- Choudrant, LA, USA

problem #73

Aug 012013

Accord

  • 37,000 miles
I drove my car over a bump or a debri and my side curtain airbag deployed I brought to dealership and told them there is a posible sensor malfunction. Dealesrhip accused me been in a accident and I need to file with my insurance. I told them if I was it will show on record accident and police report. And I cant file insurance without incident. I call Honda America they said there is nothing they can do about it and I been driving without safety device since

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #72

Aug 092015

Accord

  • 96,350 miles
Air bag ruptured in a accident I had. Ther were no other vechical involved. I was driving and I can't really explain what happened to make me loose control of my car and make my car roll over. I know the bag ruptured leaving me with a gush between my eyes. Which none is scared. I was in motion on a 2 way road that really didn't have that much traffic on it.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #71

Apr 022015

Accord

  • miles
I purchased/financed a used- 2007 Honda Accord on 4/2/2015. Outside of an airbag recall notice received in June, there were 4 consecutive electrical malfunctions that occurred and is currently pending - 1) rear driver-side window motor seized, 2) both keyless fobs stopped working and requires reprogramming, according to mechanic, 3) cd/aux button no longer functioning, and 4) rear driver, passenger, and front passenger-side window motors have all seized and no longer functioning. It should be noted that the salesman did not disclose physical front bumper damage on sale date, and did not offer any corrective action upon notification. Vehicle was stationary in dealership's possession over a year - from sale date. However, they (owner/salesman) guaranteed the condition of the vehicle as above standard and recommended extended warranty.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #70

Aug 292015

Accord

  • miles
The 2007 Honda Accord also listed as "vehicle" was traveling South bound on anson rd near 50th St, near wellington, ks. Vehicle struck mid-center of a extended SUV that pulled out from a farm access road. Vehicle was traveling at approximately 55mph, with cruise control set. Driver applied breaks to try to stop, but failed to stop in time to avoid collision. Vehicle failed to deploy airbags. Safety restraint did not fail at time of impact, but failed to resend once unhooked from driver. Impact by vehicle was primarily mid-center, and vehicle was traveling well above the 30mph at time of impact which should have released the safety devices to protect the driver.

- Derby, KS, USA

problem #69

Feb 202009

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
The car swirled on black ice and had a substantial damage on side when it hit a tree on the ramp. When car was repaired the technician said they had to replace the control module of the air bag as it had burnt out. They were not sure if the air bag should have deployed or did not because of this failure. Having read the recall for 2008 Accord for a similar issue, I remembered about this incident and thought I will bring it forward incase there are any 2007 Accord as well that should be looked at.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?