Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
33 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 8 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Jan 212015


  • miles


My airbag light stays on and the alarm doesn't go off when the seat belt isn't put on. I just began to have trouble starting the vehicle. Now I can't start it and I've had to have it towed to my home.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #104

Jul 282015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V320000 (air bags) and 15V370000 (air bags) were received in July of 2015. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carleton, MI, USA

problem #103

Jun 142015


  • miles
First incident was on 6/14/2015. I was driving on the highway as my engine light came on and the car started shaking. I pulled over and turned the car off because it smelled like smoke. As I tried to turn the vehicle back on it would not cut back on. The car had to get towed and repairs had to be done to the tune of $1,500. The battery, gasket, plugs & alternator had to be replaced. Second incident was on 7/17/2015. As I was making a left hand turn the car stalled & I was hit by another vehicle. All air bags deployed and burst. The right front wheel was pushed in.

- Morrisville, PA, USA

problem #102

Jul 132015


  • 82,000 miles


The air bag sensor (driver side) light is on and Honda refuses to determine the cause at their expense. Claims the car is not covered by the massive airbag recall. Although from us dot investigation they previously hide warranty issues from the public.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #101

Jun 032015


  • miles
I have not had an accident yet but my airbag light stays on all the time my seatbelt light does not come on at all that is with them on or off.I cared it to Honda dealership where I service my car was told by the manger that this was a safety issue that this would be taken care of so they ask me to leave my car with them come back next day car is not fixed change of heart they say they will have to charge me over 600 dollars I have checked into it Honda is suppose to fix seatbelt issues up to 150 thousand miles my car has 119 thousand miles I have so many reports about 2008 Honda Accord with this issue but they have not sent me anything about this problem please help with this thank you.

- Red Springs, NC, USA

problem #100

Jun 132015


  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While the vehicle was parked, the passenger side curtain and front side air bags deployed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #99

Jul 012015


  • 121,000 miles


My SRS warning light is on and will not go off. My research is showing that this could be my air bags have been disabled. My car has not been any type of accident and now I have an expense to get this repaired....updated 12/29/15

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #98

Jun 152015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 68,093 miles
Air bag malfunction light illuminated on dash, making airbag system useless. Taken to dealer said the SRS computer was bad, had computer replaced at a cost of $430.69. Had to wait 4 days for parts because they were on backorder they must have a problem with these units, they should not go bad anyway, I think it is a defective part. I called Honda customer assistance, they said basically it is out of the 3yr/360000 warranty and I am responsible for the safety equipment. I do not agree with this at all, seems to me they could care less about safety..updated 07/20/15

- Carl Junction, MO, USA

problem #97

May 202015


  • 141,596 miles
Pulled into subway sandwich shop, passenger got out of car shut door and passenger side air bags deployed.

- Bristow, OK, USA

problem #96

May 162015


  • 124,000 miles
I purchased my 2008 Accord ex 4 door 10 months ago. Well 05/16/2015 I got out windows were down and closed my door and boom sounded like a gun shot my neighbors all came out the entire driver side curtain air bags deployed for no reason at I am stuck with $7000 of damages ripped seat, air bags deployed hanging out and the dealership will not take no action saying its not a recall. This will be the last Honda I purchase. It has 124K miles on it when this happened.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

Apr 302015


  • 67,500 miles


The air bag light on the dashboard came up around April 30th 2015 and in May 14th 2015 I took the vehicle to the Honda service center in tallahassee. After a multiple points inspection the mechanic said that the "side curtain air bag" was non functional and replacement will cost $526. The vehicle has never been involved in any kind of accident or incident were the air bags could have been deployed. The mechanic was very careful not to say the air was defective. How a part that has never been used could be non functional? the Honda people knows about this defect but want to pass the cost to the customer and when we can not afford that kind of sticker price they are putting our lives in risk.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #94

Mar 302015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
My son was driving my car and did not make a turn and ran into a concrete block wall at about 50 mph. The air bags did not deploy....updated 05/14/15 updated 09/16/2015 updated 12/21/2015

- Belleview, FL, USA

problem #93

Apr 252015


  • 89,000 miles
At a full stop passenger exited the vehicle and shut the passenger front door and the side curtain airbags and front passenger seat side airbag deployed. The force of the airbags being deployed also damaged the back passenger door weather strip that creates a seal when doors close. Headliner is damaged as well. Seat belt on front passenger side has been deployed and is non functioning.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #92

Feb 202015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I was in a car accident on Feb. 20,2015 a complete crash in the front side of my Honda Accord 2008 (hood, bumper,2 front finders, head light) it was a horrible accident. The car is a total loss and the air bags didn't deploy, so I hit the steering wheel with my chest and the seat belt locked on my shoulders so nothing stopped me from being injured. How Honda one of the biggest popular cars don't care about the life of their customers.....I felt really bad of that. I'm seeking real help from U guys to support and keep the United States safe from this inhumanity manufacturing defects which killed and injured many people. They don't care about any of our complaints on their products when I called their products help customers service they said it's an old car that is absolutely ridiculous because they care only about the sale numbers and staying in the market what ever happened to the riders of this car.....I expect real action towards Honda America I will keep following and steps up until I get all my rights. Important note: My car checked with a team of engineer & technicians experienced only in the car safety&air bags and I do have all of this reports and what they said the front airbags sensors a&B sensed the crash and reported that to the control unit (car computer) and the airbag didn't deployed or exploded because there's a poor manufacturing or defect. U guys as a government Agency responsible for our safety and safe production of this cars which kills and injuring the riders. Thank you for paying attention and waiting for your decision and I documented all the reports for this accident....updated 05/07/15

- Monrovia, CA, USA

problem #91

Mar 020201

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord: Air bag warning light sensor activated and stayed on. Local dealer in Maryland advised the SRS module needs replacement ($700 cost). Dealer also stated they are "not sure if the air bags would work properly" without replacing the SRS module. Online research indicates numerous similar complaints involving SRS modules that needed replacement as a result of an activated air bag warning sensor for the 2008 Honda Accord (ie. based on this recurring issue, this item is believes to be a faulty/defective part that originated from the manufacturing process and directly affects the operation of the airbag system. This also means that the safety of the vehicle passengers and operators are in jeopardy and potentially face serious injury or death. On April 3, 2015 I spoke with a Honda usa representative and informed them of the recurring issue. I suggested a recall and conveyed my concern for the safety of all affected operators. They advised I was out of warranty....05-27-15

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #90

Apr 022015


  • 100,000 miles
Approximately at 9pm 2 April 2015, my son was getting ready to drive home from work in his 2008 Honda Accord when his drivers-side airbags deployed hitting him in the head. There was no accident or side collision involved. He was parked in the clarkson public library parking lot. The safety recall on the airbags are only up to 2007. After this, then the recall should be extended to cover the 2008 models.

- Clarkston , MI, USA

problem #89

Dec 262014


  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 50 mph, the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air bag system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Winston Salem , NC, USA

problem #88

Feb 282014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 189,000 miles
I was driving van was in front of me came to a complete stop I crashed into vehicle hit my head have damages to my face air bags did not come out at all.I have pictures of car so you can see the damages to my vehicle and air bags should have came out but they didn't..... updated 06/30/15 updated 9/15/2015

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #87

Feb 132015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My fiance got out of my car and closed the passenger side door. As soon as the door slammed the curtain I heard a loud bag and looked over to find that the airbags went off in my car. Luckily no one was in the backseat or they would have been hit by the explosion.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #86

Dec 182014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Air bag light came on intermittently, then stayed on. When to Honda dealer in yorba linda, ca. Dealer tested SRS system, no errors on diagnostic code. Only thing dealer said was to return and leave car for several days, that they had no idea what is causing this. Dealer also said would be at my expense if they found anything wrong and for time to investigate. I have not returned.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?