Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,441 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Aug 012009


  • 19,000 miles


2008 Honda Accord LX, rear brakes worn out at 19000 miles, this is clearly premature.

- Hutto, TX, USA

problem #14

Oct 012008


  • miles
I have a 2009 Honda Accord exl w/navi 4 cylinder. It currently has 6000 miles and I bought it in September 2008. I have taken it to the dealer 3-4 times about the brakes squealing. It occurs every time I apply the brakes, no matter the speed or use. They first told me it was too new and they had to break in. Then that it was because they were cold due to the winter weather and I needed to drive 55-60 mpg and slam on the breaks to warm up. Then it was due to new brake pads not being made like they used to be when they used asbestos in pads. Then it was because all the rain had caused a build up and they needed to be cleaned. Everytime they told me it was normal and something I would have to deal with. It is not normal for a brand new car's brakes to squeal everytime they are applied. This seems to be a common complaint on this website and Honda needs to do something about it.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #13

Nov 202008


  • 15 miles
2009 Honda Accord. Squeaky brakes since I drove if off the lot. Salesman said it was because car was so new. Squeak got worse. Have taken it back 4 time for service on this matter, deglazed, sprayed, trimmed rotors still not resolved. Honda is not forth coming about this character flaw in this vehicle. After googling issue today I found this is a defect with 2008 and 2009 Honda Accord. They need to be made responsible for correction without futher inconvience to buyers.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #12

May 062009


  • 565 miles


I purchased a 2009 Honda Accord ex-L on April 11, 2009 from hoffman Honda in avon ct. Within the first 500 miles, the brakes started to squeak loudly. I tolerated it, barely, until the first oil change at 3,000 miles at which time I complained to the dealer. The service representative said he could not hear it though it was apparent that he temporarily fixed the problem by cleaning the brakes pads and/or rotors. It's been 300 miles since the first service and they are squealing loudly again. This is extremely dangerous because it forces the driver to not apply the brakes correctly to try to quiet the deafening noise. It is only a matter of time before someone gets hurt. This is a known problem and should be corrected by Honda.

- Farmington, CT, USA

problem #11

May 102009


  • 300 miles
I bought a 2009 Honda Accord on May 5, 2009. I've noticed the breaks squeak terribly. This should not be happening with a brand new car. The Honda dealership will do nothing as they claim Honda sent them an email advising them they are working on the problem and should have a solution by July 1, 2009. It is July 25th and still nothing. There are several complaints about this very problem and Honda needs to remedy this in a timely manner.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #10

Oct 012008


  • miles
The day after I purchased my 2009 Honda Accord ex 4dr sedan, the brakes have squeaked. I have made several attempts to get this issue resolved, however every time I speak to either Honda corporate or the local dealership, I am told "the mechanics are working on this issue and Honda is aware." I have had my car serviced 4 times since I purchased the vehicle for the obnoxious sound coming from my braking and still there is no resolution. I am told time and time again, there is " no safety " issue, however, no one seems to know what the true problem is. So how are the 100% sure there is 'no safety issue?' I am in the process of filing a lemon law suit against Honda and I feel very strongly about the need for a recall.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #9

Jul 232009


  • 250 miles


2009 Honda Accord sedan V-6. currently has 2400 miles. Brakes have been squeaking since new. I took it to the Honda dealer and they said that Honda is aware of the issue but that it is due to the composition of the brake pads and they do not currently have a fix for it. The brakes seem to work ok but the squeaking is disconcerting, and I believe it is a safety issue as the existing squeaking will make it difficult to ascertain when the brake pads actually become worn down.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #8

May 102009


  • 140 miles
Honda Accord ex-L 2009. Purchased May 2009. Brakes have been squealing since purchase of car. I took it in and the service person said, "90% of all 2008 and 2009 Accord are having the same problem. American Honda is aware of the problem but that there is no current recall for it. As to when there will be a recall, it may be next year, if there is one. Until then, there is nothing we can do about it. And there is no point in replacing the brake pads and rotors because it will end up with the same problem. It won't go away by replacing them." If 90% of the new Honda Accord are having this problem, then certainly american Honda should do something about the squealing brakes.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Jul 072009

Accord 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
I purchased a brand new 2009 Accord ex-L V6 coupe in September 08. I only have about 19K miles and the dealership says the rear brakes are at 0% while the front brakes are at 90%. this is a front wheel drive vehicle and there is no reason the rear brakes should be completely gone.

- Kent, CT, USA

problem #6

May 162009


  • 2,232 miles
2009 Honda Accord. Brakes squeal very loudly when applied. Been to the dealer 3 times about this issue. First time they cleaned the brakes, second time they turned the front rotor and sanded the brake pads. Third time (6/20/09) they handed me a tsb about the issue. The Accord had 2232 miles when this first started and was taken to the dealership. Today it has 3816 miles. Very poor for Honda. Really nice car to sound so cheap.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #5

May 012009


  • 200 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact purchased the vehicle on April 1, 2009. She heard a squeaking sound when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that this was a common issue with her make and model vehicle. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle back to the dealer. A mechanic test drove the vehicle, but found no failures other than the squeaking brakes. The contact believes that this is a safety issue. The dealer advised her to wait until Honda issued a recall. The failure mileage was 200 and current mileage was 2,000.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #4

May 132009


  • miles
2008 Honda bought new after 28,000 miles hondaland said I needed back brakes, everyone knows the front always go out first and I called the Honda Corp. And after all the frustration they insisted I pay by cash or certified check, my wife was on the way to pick up the car when they call me stating this. When she got to hondaland they insisted that she have them shuttle her to our bank to get cash, this is totally ridicules and I want something done about this. The Honda Corp. Called the dealership and said I must pay cash, I wanted to put it on my credit card so I wouldn't be short on cash this month. I am appalled at there actions and I expect a cash refund and I want Honda to pay for this brake job that never should have been needed, I went on the internet and there have been over 200 complaints, the worst was only 5,000 miles and the back brakes were shot. Factory recall !!!!!

- Odessa, FL, USA

problem #3

May 022009


  • 2,000 miles
Brand new Honda Accord sedan V6 cylinder automatic transmission. Less than two weeks old, rear brakes howl madly, vibration when braking on firm stops. Dealer turned the rotor-out of round.12mm. Results better for now, but....I wonder how long it will last. Honda has reputation of poor brake system apparently.

- Blythewood, SC, USA

problem #2

Apr 162009


  • 150 miles
Brand new 2009 Honda Accord ex-L/ w nav 4cyl engine. After 1 day of ownership the car has a terrible shudder in the steering when applying the brakes. Dealer service manager said give it a 1000 miles and we will see if it goes away!

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 102009

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 938 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. While driving 50 mph, the steering column shook violently when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not duplicate or remedy the failure. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that water would freeze inside the wheel rims in wet, freezing conditions. The failure caused the rotors to rust and the braking system not to perform at its full potential. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that no compensation would be provided because the VIN was not included in a recall. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 938 and current mileage was 1,024. Updated 6/3/09 updated 06/04/09.

- Buffalo, WY, USA

Not what you are looking for?