Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,875 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Feb 232015


  • 45,500 miles


This was the second incident, while I was stopped at the red light, as the light turned green I let go of brake and applied the gas and suddenly the RPM went to almost red line and I was real lucky to be able to put the gear shifter in to neutral and pull over and turned the engine off, few minutes later started the engine and it was normal again, this was the second time in a month that this happened first time I didn't even apply any gas my foot was still on the brake pedal, I will be calling american Honda to report this also and will take my car to the dealer, but they said this problem is not going to show on the scanners, the service advisor told me that he has heard about this, but has not seen one in person, I told him to do a google search and he can see this problem with Honda's all over the internet. This is known as unintended acceleration that forced Toyota to recall their calls and now is Honda's turn to do the right thing before anyone dies.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #29

Oct 152014


  • 19,500 miles
On two occasions in the last six months, my 2009 Honda Accord experienced what I would describe as unintended acceleration while operating the vehicle at a low speed (first time turning on to a road; second time accelerating while attempting to park the vehicle). The engine surged with power and nearly redlined the tachometer. Each case I shifted to neutral to disable the drive train and then shut down the car; waited five minutes and restarted the car. I scanned the ntsb data base to look for similar reporting but found none. I bought this car used, in 2014, from a Honda dealership, with only 15440 miles on it. I drove it without incident for at least nine months. I now have about 25500 miles on it. I also own an older Accord and consider their vehicles to be quality products. I am not treating this as a complaint as much as I am trying to determine if similar incidents have occurred. Unlike the recent Toyota issues of floor mats inducing acceleration, the mat I used is secured to the floor of the car and does not come within three inches behind and below the vehicle's acceleration pedal. Of note, this model variant is powered by a 4-cylinder engine. Given the infrequency of this; I am wondering if this is a software glitch in the vehicle's computer command module.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #28

Feb 012013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I have had my Honda Accord 2009 V6 serviced for constant spark plug fouling and oil consumption. After a total of 10 visits, and over 40 days without my car over the course of 3 years, I had received a total of 3 spark plug sets, two oil consumption tests, lost two catalytic converters, and O2 sensors. Even with this constant spark plug replacement, it did not alleviate any issues. I kept breaking down on the side of the road with a rumbling, misfiring engine. After numerous trips to Honda, they refused to acknowledge the problem. After speaking to a district rep and being referred to paragon Honda in woodside, NY, they had agreed to replace my engine. They have now had it for two months. After receiving a new engine, I instantly received check engine lights stating the car was running too lean. After returning it for another week, I received it back, but this time, it would literally choke out and stall at every other red light. I returned to Honda with a check engine light for too rich and a car that would not make it more then a few miles if stop signs were involved. It has now been there for two weeks, on top of the two months. Plus the 40 days, that's a total of 4 lost months. I had to fight this weekend for a loaner car, which for them, seemed like a very difficult thing to do. Honestly, I don't know how the NHTSA has allowed Honda to keep their oil consuming dangerous cars on the road, I have broke down in the left lane of a 4 lane highway, and I know this should not be happening. I am a meticulous person, who constantly checks his own oil, plugs, filters, etc.... I monitor my O2 sensors for bad fuel trims constantly, and I have never been nothing but disappointed with this hunk of junk. I've filed consumer complaints, Honda complaints, to no regard.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 022014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles


Gas light came on 11.01.14, check book stated check gas cap and tighten which I did. Driving on highway next day and car made loud sound lots of smoke coming from under hood. I pulled over and call tow truck, vehicle taken to repair shop. He check oil stated that it was 3 quarts low, after further investigation it was shown that engine blown. I contacted Honda waiting a response.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #26

Sep 182014


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. While driving 55 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted. In addition, the vehicle accelerated and decelerated independently without engaging the accelerator pedal. The contact sustained bruises to the right hand and left arm. The contact did not seek medical attention. The contact mentioned that the vehicle moved after being shifted into park and the engine warning indicator was illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #25

Sep 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds the ABS/vsa and the check engine warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle unintended accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the vsa system and the timing change needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,000. Djr updated 11/14/14 updated 7/28/2015

- Lake View, NY, USA

problem #24

Aug 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 112,650 miles


Upon accelerating from a stop, the car has no power making it unsafe to move out of the way of approaching traffic. There is a considerable amount of hesitation between shifting gears until the vehicle reaches a level driving speed. There is a hard downshift when slowing the vehicle to a stop or even just decreasing the speed. There is a significant amount engine noise during acceleration until the transmission changes gears. Driving up a hill from a stop or slow roll causes the vehicle to barely respond and the rpms reach very high levels before the gears change and acceleration is achieved.

- Union Church, MS, USA

problem #23

Sep 012011


  • 30,000 miles
Engine makes whispering noise. Pulled over to find no oil on dipstick. Oil light never lit. Filled with 2.5 quarts oil and went to dealer. Told there was a recall related to timing at start-up causing excessive oil consumption, but told that a quart of oil every thousand miles is normal. Dealer performed recall service and monitored oil several times at thousand mile intervals. Oil consumption about a quart each time and told it is normal. Vehicle went out of warranty and monitoring stopped. Vehicle now around 50K miles and oil consumption now much greater than 1 quart per thousand miles. I must constantly monitor and add oil. Honda recently had a class action settlement for 6-cylinder vehicles for excessive consumption. However, based on online research there appears to be many owners of 4-cylinder engines that also have similar problems. Clearly Honda knew/knows there is a problem but has failed to address it. In addition to the extra cost of oil, I'm sure there will be problems in the future. The vehicle oil pump makes noise at startup and there will likely be repair costs in the future. Honda should fix the cause of the oil consumption.

- Brackney, PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 192014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the engine failed due to high oil consumption. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure.the failure mileage was not available.

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #21

Feb 012012


  • 40,000 miles
Ever since I bought my car I've noticed that my oil burns up a lot faster than other cars. When I get an oil change done it only takes less than 2 months for the oil in the tank to burn away quickly. I use the recommended 5W 20. I'm having to top off the tank more often and spend more money on oil consumption.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #20

Feb 012013


  • 75,000 miles


There was a grinding sound on a cold startup for approximately 1 second. I took it to the dealership about a year ago and they fixed the problem at no cost. Even after they fixed the problem the sound still existed but wasn't as loud. I recently took the car back to the Honda dealership and they wanted to charge me over $500 for the same problem and claimed that they fixed a different problem last time. They said the issue had to do with the vtc actuator. Now the problem has become a lot worse and the sound is very loud.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #19

May 162012

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Engine noise on cold start. Honda states a defective vtc actuator. Tsb 09-010.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #18

Oct 182013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 125,816 miles
Engine light and vsa warning light came on while driving on the freeway. Luckily my family reached our destination shortly after this occurred in fontana, ca. While the vehicle was in motion it would jerk and hesitate backwards while driving. I took it to rock Honda the following morning on 10/18/2013 in fontana, ca and they charged me $638.60 stating the vehicle needed a PCM updated software and adjusted valves. In doing further research it seems I should have never been charged this as there is a recall id #74308 stating issues with the PCM and tcm and that Honda would update the control module software free of charge.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 022012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My car uses 1 qt oil weekly and makes a grinding noise when starting. Change oil every 7,000 miles and have to add 1 quart weekly. Vsa & oil lights stay on even after clearing the error codes. Replaced the cam shaft sensor which malfunctioned weeks later. Pearson Honda & West broad Honda, richmond va informed me there is no recall for this problem. Unbelievable after reading so many blogs about this issue from other Honda owners. This model Honda is a lemon and Honda needs to repair at no charge to the owner. Replaced wheel bearing on front and now the rear is making a loud noise. Never had a Honda with these many issues. Wanted to trade it for the 2013 and dealer offered me $6,700 for a car I paid $26,000 for. This is ridiculous!

- New Canton, VA, USA

problem #16

Sep 132013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 36,750 miles
I have 2009 Honda Accord I purchased from bayridge Honda 23089 miles at 2011. Today 36700 miles. When I was driving brooklyn queens expressway two weeks ago vsa and engine light is on. And feeling engine is vibrating& uncontrolled brake distance, two weeks ago I visit my car dealer; there is vsa & engine light on when my car 36500 miles. Bayridge Honda service checked there is no mistake in the car. When I back my car engine light is off everything looking smooth. (charged 105.00$)following weekend short trip Connecticut- new haven (180 miles) and I returned as some problem engine is irregular working or stalling when is working. I called american Honda before serviced my car.just suggest serviced your car. First vsa following engines light and uncontrolled loose brake condition is came when engine not take gas irregular. Engine vibration and shut off personal auto technician test driven car with me, he diagnosed some problem. Something is running wrongly. Please be advice this unsafely condition where complaint this situations. I will be international trip September 20 to October 1 out of usa, car is parking not driving for unsafely condition. Sincerely

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 232013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 99,483 miles
A noise was coming from the engine. I had it checked twice by an outside mechanic then twice by Honda. They all agreed that there are 2 issues. One is per Honda's service bulletin 08-017, the rocker shaft bridge has excessive clearance which causes the rocker to rotate and make noise. The second, and most important, is an oil consumption issue, of which Honda is well aware of a problem. I currently get 755 miles per quart. I contacted american Honda and they will not pay for the repair.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 152012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 57,520 miles
I went to independence Honda and asked as to why between maintenance, I was having to add oil. I was told to bring it back when it was needed, and he would document it. Come to find out, they were doing an oil consumption test. Independence Honda closed and is now legends Honda. He told me to bring it in and they would fix it. Gave me a loaner car. Called me back and said they would have to do a oil consumption test. They claim they only put in about a quart per 1000 miles. Regardless of what my dip stick shows. I will just need to watch my oil. I've had to have my spark plugs replaced twice in the year. Honda continues to actively conceal the defect from consumers and deny there's a known problem.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #13

Jun 102013


  • 60,300 miles
Car burns engine oil at a rate of 1 quart + per 1000 miles driven.

- Stewartsville, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 052011


  • 48,000 miles
My Accord is using a quart of oil about every 1500 - 2000 miles and more than 2 quarts every 3000 miles. There is no oil dripping on the floor and the engine is clean; however, there is no blue smoke coming out of the tail pipe. I am aware of a federal class action lawsuit and have also read that Honda did acknowledge a problem (quietly) in 2011. I will be contacting Honda tomorrow to hear what they say.

- Oostburg, WI, USA

problem #11

Sep 042012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My 2009 Honda Accord has a grinding noise that occurs when the ignition is activated from a cold start. The noise lasts for approximately two seconds and sounds like the timing belt system is ratcheting into place. This only occurs on a cold start, meaning the engine has not been running for 4 or more hours. I have had this problem for over a year. An internet search located Honda service bulletin 09-010 dated 08/17/10 and then updated on 10/21/11. The safety bulletin describes the variable valve timing control (vtc) actuator as being, "defective". additional internet search identified that the grinding noise was common with the 2009 Accord. I spoke with my dealer, hugh white Honda, columbus, Ohio. The dealership agreed with my diagnosis and noted that Honda was aware of the problem, but had not issued a recall on the vtc actuator. Further, the dealer noted that Honda issued a 2011 software update on the 2009 Accord to address complaints of excessive oil consumption. A September 2011 notice from Honda is titled "product update: Software update to improve fuel-injector and vtc timing" the notice states that the fuel injector timing and vtc timing at cold start may create deposits on the oil control rings that could contribute to increased oil consumption." The dealership confirmed that my car had the software update. The dealer argues that the update is separate from the current grinding noise and that the vtc actuator has failed. The dealership could not explain why my grinding noise appears to have started after the 2011 software update was completed. Based on the foregoing, I am forwarding this complaint. I believe there is some evidence to indicate the vtc actuator is defective as being not suited for its intended purpose.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?