Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,424 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Feb 062016

Accord

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pre mature engine oil consumption.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #47

Jan 252016

Accord

  • 48,427 miles
I got in my car in the morning in the garage, stepped on the brake to start the engine and it wouldn't start but the car power was on. I ended up having to call aaa to tow the car to Honda. Aaa was able to jump the car and I drove it to san leandro Honda. They couldn't find anything wrong with the car. I looked on line and saw you tube videos with other people who had Honda's and the same thing happened to them.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #46

Nov 302015

Accord

  • 25,500 miles
My Accord hesitates when put to D from a stop or accelerating from stop, low RPM or zero sporadically even while leaving my driveway. It usually happens from park to drive or reverse to drive. It has stalled while leaving a stop sign or an intersection on the street, should be considered a safety issue because it could cause an accident. I've been told by the dealer that is a Honda issue and to basically live with the problem. I've been have this issue since I bought the car in November 2015.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #45

Dec 302015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On several occasions over the last six weeks when turning left, the car will stall for a second or so losing all power. It then will suddenly accelerate. I have nearly been hit when turning onto a road by on coming traffic when I should have had plenty of time to get out of the way. This is a major safety issue! the dealer had the car for three days. The service rep drove it home. The mechanic drove it. They could not reproduce the problem. The day I got the car back it again stalled or lugged. Most of the time it stalls when turning left but it has failed in reverse and when leaving a stop lite. The service manager said he would call Honda engineering to see what problems they might be aware of. That was a week ago and I've not heard back. The problem does not happen if you are over 20 mph. This is a 6 cylinder Honda. The problem happens with ecco off or on. I purchased the car certified used 10/2015 from a Honda dealer. It has 18,000 miles. I am an experienced driver of Honda's for the last 25 years.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #44

Dec 122015

Accord

  • 35,750 miles
My 2013 4 cylinder Accord at approx. 35,000 is burning oil. I have taken to local Honda dealership for routine servicing per the maintenance minder system, last visit was 4,000 miles /3 months ago. I checked the oil level and it was below the mark on the dipstick to indicating to add oil. I called Honda corporate who suggested I take in to the dealer. Appointment is in two dyes from now. I surely hope I am not told this is normal as no engine this new should burn oil at this rate; fortunately I am still under the bumper to bumper and powertrain warranty.

- Ashland, MA, USA

problem #43

Nov 212015

Accord

  • miles
Car will not start in the mornings: Within a months 3 times. Engine check light constantly lighting up. Back and butt pain including legs falling asleep

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #42

Oct 232015

Accord

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car had intermittent starting problems. Turned the key multiple times and just heard clicks. Engine does not crank. Would not start while running errands and had to push it to a nearby garage. They replaced the starter and it never had the problem again. Car had just passed 36K and american Honda will not reimburse for the work done because it was not a Honda dealership, but it was oem starter. Bad starters on these cars. Honda should be accountable for this as the car is only 2 years old. Significantly below the average life of a starter. Unacceptable...

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #41

Jul 012015

Accord

  • 8,000 miles
Driving on the highway at 60 to 65 mph, grinding noise inside the engine compartment. At cruising speed (65 mph) release the gas pedal to maintain my speed. Then tap the gas pedal lightly to get back on speed, there is a loud grinding noise inside the engine compartment. I start noticing this around 8000 miles on the car. Car now has 13,200 miles. This was reported to the dealer, but Honda is saying it is normal. Grinding noise inside the engine compartment at that speed is not normal. This can be a safety issue done the road, grinding noise is caused by two objects rubbing at each other, one day this objects will wear out and fail. Ive been trying to explain it to Honda, but no resolution. I'm hoping NHTSA can help

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #40

Oct 062015

Accord

  • 37,447 miles
I purchased a new 2013 Honda Accord sport (cvt) in 2013. As of October 6, 2015, the car is about 2 years old and has approximately 37,447 miles. The vehicle started having intermittent starting problems. The engine does not crank and all I hear are clicks. It takes 3-5 ignition attempts for the vehicle to start. Sometimes it will start on the first try. Furthermore, sometimes I leave it alone for about a second or two with the key out and then it will start. Once it starts, everything seems to be fine. I brought the vehicle to the dealership to have them test the battery and the result was a good battery. The dealership could not duplicate the intermittent starting issue and will not give a goodwill warranty to diagnose and repair this startup problem. They said I woud have to pay if not covered under warranty. This is a new car and this should not happen.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #39

Sep 282014

Accord

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the engine failed to start. The failure had recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #38

Aug 142015

Accord

  • 25,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Went for lunch, and parked my car on the street. After finishing lunch, about half an hour later, got into the car and proceeded to start it. Everything worked, but the car immediately shut off (radio and ac would stay on however). Tried again, but the same thing happened. Followed by a check engine light warning, and tire pressure warning. Took key out of ignition, waited a minute, before trying again. This time, turned off radio and ac. Car immediately shut off still. Tried 2-3 more times, and car finally started, all with a total of 4 warning lights. Check engine, tire pressure, power steering, and another one I cannot recall. Took it the dealer immediately, and waited 2-4hrs for them to tell me, the throttle body needs replacing. They advised it wouldn't be safe for me to drive the car home, so they gave me a free rental until it can be fixed.

- Rosemead, CA, USA

problem #37

Jul 202015

Accord

  • 59,136 miles
I have a Honda Accord 2013 (just 2 years old) with 59209 miles on it. Car sometimes clicks and will not start. Sometime it will start after about 5 to 10 tries, or waiting for a while. Sometimes the car starts fine on the first try. I talked to Honda of America on 7/20/2015 and they said it might be the starter or ignition going bad and should be covered under the 5 year/60K power train warranty. I took it to the dealer yesterday and they diagnosed it to the starter motor and replaced it and said that it is not covered under the power train warranty. I then talked to Honda and they said that they are sorry for the misinformation I received and it is not covered under the power train warranty. The new car warranty is covered only by the 3 yr/36K which ever comes first. The car is only 2 years old and the starter motor shouldn't go bad.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #36

Apr 212015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
My vehicle shut down while parked in an plaza on pembroke road at the beginning on March 2015. This happened again X 2 while the vehicle was parked (engine running) on separate days. The last time it happened I was driving along pines boulevard in peak hour traffic (Tuesday April 21st 2015), as I approached the intersection of hiatus road and pines boulevard, I started slowing down for a red light. The vehicle then shut down/stalled again. The fact that there was a red light helped to prevent and accident, as everyone driving in the same direction had to stop. This time I had to call for a police cruiser to stand in place until I was able to get a tow or get it started again. After about 30 minutes, I finally got it started again and made it home. I took it to a Honda dealer on Wednesday April 22, 2015. They were able to replicate the issue but after replacing the battery (4-23-2015), fuel pump (4-24-2015) they said that the issue still persists and is now getting more frequent. They (autonation Honda in miami lakes) have been trying to 'fix' the problem but they have not yet succeeded. Today is May 3rd 2015 I am asking that the ntsb looks into this issue, as the last time it happened I was in peak hour traffic, this issue can lead to an accident.. I also contacted Honda corporate customer service and reported the issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pembroke Pines , FL, USA

problem #35

Mar 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 450 miles
This has happened to me several times during the past two years. When I slow down to turn a corner, or slow down for a traffic light, going at a slow speed from approx. 15 mph to 25 mph, the car appears to stall. As if the engine has stopped. When I push on the accelerator nothing happens. If I take my foot off the gas, then push down again, the car surges ahead. I have called this to the attention of the dealer and the service tech always says that they checked it and found nothing wrong. I am afraid that on one of those times that the car suddenly loses power that I will be tailgated if there is someone directly behind me. I am also afraid that one of the times I again put pressure on the gas pedal that the car may surge ahead too fast and I may cause an accident. I would like to know if other Honda owners have had the sane experience.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #34

Oct 092013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Oil or fluid leak between transmission to engine mating surface.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #33

Nov 172014

Accord

  • 8,500 miles
It was a main road that was recently repaved. It is a main road. It is asphalt. I was driving at night. It had rained all day but was not raining at the time of crash. There is traffic on this main road so I was going about 25 miles per hour. Suddenly the car accelerated and went right. I hit a parked car and my car flipped over. I was cut out of the car and taken to the hospital. I have cuts and bruises but I am otherwise ok. The airbags worked. What I am concerned about are the tires. Original equipment Goodyear Eagle. The best guess is the car hydroplaned. I have read on the internet these tires tend to do this. I can't prove it was the tires but I want to go on record that I believe these tires are dangerous and should be recalled. They are original equipment on many new cars. If there are enough complaints like mine maybe it will be the smoke of a starting fire.

- Rockville Centre, NY, USA

problem #32

Nov 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Backed out of parking spot, upon shifting to drive, the rear view camera display was black except for two red lines. Drove about 60 feet then upon making a right turn I realized there was no throttle response. The engine continued to operate. Removed my foot from the throttle then reapplied my foot and the engine was then responsive to the throttle. The distance was approx. 20 feet and the time 10 seconds that the engine did not respond to the throttle. This car has many intermittent electrical problems, but this problem could be very serious in traffic.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #31

Sep 022013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Upon acceleration from a stop or a speed under 15 mph, the car occasionally hesitates for 2-4 seconds. Nearly have gotten T-boned several times when making a left turn well in front of approaching traffic. Have been to dealer three times. They installed a hardware/software to the cvt to no avail, but have been unable to duplicate, as it typically happens about once a week. This is definitely a safety issue.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #30

Jul 132014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
While driving to Chicago (2 hours away) with my wife and 11 year old my maintenance minder light came on to tell me it was time to get an oil change. Since it was a Sunday I couldn't take it in. I couldn't make an appointment until 7/16 to get in for an oil change. On 7/16 I sat in my car to go home, but my dash lights were all lit up. Brakes, electric steering, ABS, check engine, my speedometer wasn't working and many more lights remained on. I called the dealer and they told me it was safe to drive it over to them although I heard a grinding sound, my brakes were soft and my steering wheel was very stiff. I went very slow since my speedometer or mileage wasn't working at all. The next morning my dealer called and claimed that a rodent was the culprit who chewed on some main wiring harness of the entire car. I find this hard to believe because why didn't it happen after the oil light came 2 days before" why didn't my wife's SUV get affected by this? this is a huge quality control issue that Honda needs to fix. What would have happened if all of these lights came on while I was driving my family on the highway"

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

problem #29

Dec 132013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 4,374 miles
Oil lamp indicator light began blinking and heard noise from the engine. The car was taken to the dealership and they did an oil consumption test and basically the engine is burning oil about 2 quarts are burning around 3000 miles and oil lap indicates oil change is not due for another 70 percent. I did the test many time and they are buying time. If I don't check oil and keep driving then the engine will burst. The dealer wont help me its a manufacture default vehicle and they keep says its normal. Its not normal for oil lap light to come on a brand new car and the oil change was not even due. Its a lemon and needs to be taken care of.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?