Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,654 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Dec 212015


  • 19,448 miles


Electric power steering stopped functioning after 2nd start up of the day several hours later. Amber light on dash, no steering. Cannot move steering wheel at all. Shutting off and turning back on doesn't help resolve issue as per some complaints. Appears to be related to Honda tsb #15-055 and 15-056.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #104

Oct 012015


  • 30,000 miles
Honda has notified of an electronic power steering torque sensor defect which could cause loss of power steering. They provided a software update which only retains partial steering control and that the vehicle would still be disabled, I would be stranded and would have to be towed. I have requested a replacement of the electronic power steering assembly to prevent my having an accident. They acknowledge the safety defect but are only willing to replace the defective parts if there is a failure. After discussions, they offered to pay half of the cost (approx. $500) but I can't afford $500. I would like assistance in correcting this safety issue.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #103

Nov 132015


  • miles
I would like to make a complaint about a serious safety concern that happened to me recently while driving my Honda Accord 2013, luckily I was able to avoid an accident.I am afraid to drive my car for fear for my life.I was driving in Pennsylvania on rt 33 South traveling at about 65 mph when my steering wheel locked.I had to lean into the steering wheel with all my body weight to try to get it to turn but it was locked.I was able to stop the car and shut it off.after a few minutes I started it back up and it returned to normal, I was lucky that part of the road I was driving on was straight and curve or mountain section like most of Pennsylvania.I am afraid that this will happen against and I won't be so lucky.please investigate my vehicle and work with Honda to get this fixed so no one has to die. It more than this, I been having problems with the radio, sunroof, kieys alarm go on went I was driving.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #102

Nov 212015


  • 27,000 miles


Eps light came on. Lost power while driving. Hard to steer the vehicle. Turned off the engine and turned back on couple times waited a few minutes in between. Warning light was gone and got power back.

- St. Clair, MI, USA

problem #101

Oct 272015


  • 20,000 miles
10/27/2015 suddenly lost steering ability while vehicle was moving under 15 mph. This was on a city street. Steering became stiff and almost unmovable. Turned the car off and restarted. Steering functioning again. 10/28/2015 received in the mail from Honda a product udate concerning the eps torque sensor(dtc53-1 or 53-2).I will upload the Honda.this Accord has less than 20000 miles on it. I am bring the car to a dealer tomorrow. Greatly concerned that a software update will not be a benefit if the steering fails again. Product udate from Honda this week

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #100

Oct 182015


  • 48,000 miles
My power steering failed twice in one day. While trying to parallel park the engine was running and the power steering shut off and was very difficult to turn. This continued for about 10 minutes then it corrected itself. The same thing happened about 30 minutes later. Each time it was from a stationary position on a city street trying to parallel park. I am lucky that it didn't happen on the highway.

- Fresh Meadows, NY, USA

problem #99

Oct 092015


  • 75,500 miles


On 10/09/2015 the eps system indicator came on and the steering wheel became hard to turn while re-parking the vehicle in a driveway. On 10/10/2015 the eps system indicator came on and the steering wheel became hard to turn while pulling up to a fast food drive-through window. On 10/12/2015 the vehicle was taken to the service department at the Honda dealership from which it was purchased. On 10/15/2015 repair was completed at no charge. Invoice states: Cst: Customer states check esp light has been reported on, and stiff steering intermittently caused by 53601-T2G-A02 dtcs 53-01, 53-02. Verified stiff steering. Corrected by (5Z200) (JT600)

- Falkville, AL, USA

problem #98

Sep 212015


  • 22,000 miles
Steering wheel is stiffer to the right than to the left. I need extra effort to turn the steering wheel to the right. It happens everytime I turn the steering wheel.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #97

Oct 012015


  • 20,000 miles
I am driving between 20-30 mph. The power steering light comes and immediately loses power steering. I am a big guy and I have to use a lot of strength to move to the side of the road. I shut off car for a few minutes and restart car. The problem went away. This happened 3X time in the last month

- North White Plains, NY, USA

problem #96

Jul 022015


  • 28,850 miles
On July 2, 2015 while driving 40 mph, power steering failed and indicator light came on. Had car towed to dealer next day, software update done, and I was told the problem should not reoccur. On Oct 6, 2015, while turning into a parking lot, it failed again. Had car towed to dealer and told they will now replace gearbox. I asked what was causing this and how this fix will work and was told they don't know! they're following instructions from the manufacturer. This is very unsafe, and appears Honda does not truly know how to fix this.

- Madisonville, LA, USA

problem #95

Sep 132015


  • 44,000 miles


Power steering failure on September 13 2015 while driving the car. Drove car with no power steering home system reset the next day. Failure again on September 28. Dropped off at Honda dealer lou sobh in cumming

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #94

Sep 142015


  • 25,000 miles
Cannot steer when turning and when turning the wheels keep turning, cannot get the speed up normally have to pump the gas hard for car to accelerate.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #93

Sep 112015


  • 35,000 miles
I've had my car for about two years now and about a month into me owning the vehicle I was driving around town and the steering wheel locked up and the eps light came on for about 5 seconds and then cleared. I took it to the Honda dealership where I purchased the car and their service department could not find anything wrong. I havnt had any problems up until last week. I was driving home on the freeway doing about 55 mph and all of a sudden the steering wheel locks up and the eps light comes on. I had to muscle the car over a few lanes to get to the emergency lane to avoid hitting anyone. After a few seconds the eps light clears and the steering wheel function goes back to normal. Since this happened once before I figured it will be fine. I thought that until my steering wheel locked up on me again a few miles down the road. Then again as I am a few miles from home. I had to drive to school and from school the next day and only had access to my car and my power steering locked up about a dozen times. I don't feel safe driving my car and I'm setting up an appointment for later on this week to see what's going on.

- Honolulu , HI, USA

problem #92

Sep 102015


  • 48,460 miles
During a trip to Virginia from fla. I stopped at rock hill carolins for gas. Upon leaving the station and before getting back on 95 North my power steering failed. I was able to pull over and restart the car resetting the steering. Approximately 40 miles later on 95 the steering failed a second time. I again made the next exit and was able to reset everything. I turned around and went home with no subsequent failures. The power steering electronic module was replaced by Honda approximately a year ago or less and this is a repeat of the symptoms at that time. This is a principal safety issue.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #91

Aug 312015


  • miles
Power steering suddenly failed in the vehicle, making it impossible to steer.

- Yazoo City, MS, USA

problem #90

Aug 032015


  • 27,614 miles
While driving on I-95, I experienced a sudden loss of power steering. A caution light appeared on the instrument panel. I was within a few miles of a Honda dealership, so I drove there. After the car sat for a few minutes, the indicator light was no longer on; and, the power steering appeared to be normal. I was told the problem was transitory and I resumed traveling on I-95. Less than 20 miles later, the same problem happened again. I pulled to the side of the road, and once again shut the vehicle off for a few minutes. I then drove approximately 250 miles without incident. Later that same day, while driving on another highway at 60 mph, the power steering suddenly failed. At the same time, the caution indicator light appeared on the instrument panel. I made an appointment for two days later at another Honda dealership. On the day of the appointment, while driving in city traffic at 25 mph, the power steering failed three times before I arrived at the dealer. That day, the service department was unable to find the source of the problem. They cleared the fault indicator from the computer's memory; and, told me to return if the problem occurred again. Several days later, while traveling on an expressway at 55 mph, the power steering failed one more time, along with the indicator light again appearing on the instrument panel at the same time. The following day, I brought the vehicle back to the dealership. They informed me, that after talking with Honda advisors via telephone, Honda was aware of the problem; and, instructed them on a fix. After performing that fix, they said Honda informed them, that if the power steering didn't fail within 500 miles, it wouldn't recur in the lifetime of the car. After driving approximately 400 miles since the fix, the power steering again failed. The car is going back to Honda, again.

- Melbourne Beach, FL, USA

problem #89

Aug 132015


  • 40,650 miles
The car has lost power steering on three occasions over the past one and one half weeks. The first time, 8/19/2015, after waiting at a red light to make a left turn, I could barely turn the steering wheel to make the turn. I forced the turn and could smell a burning smell. I turned the car off, read the manual, then turned the car on and drove the less than a mile to my home with no problem. On 8/26/2015, after driving less than a half mile from home at not more than 20-30 miles an hour, the car lost steering power again. I pulled over, turned the car off, then turned it back on. I returned home and drove the car less than 20 miles to the Honda dealership in wesley chapel Florida. They kept the car. When I picked it up on 8/27/2015, I was told that a software update had been done. On 8/28/2015, I drove the car approximately 50 miles around town doing errands. When I started the car to back out of a store parking lot, I noticed the steering symbol was lighted and found that the car would not steer. I turned the ignition off, then right back on and returned home. I am now going to take the car back to the Honda dealer in wesley chapel.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #88

Aug 032015


  • 51,278 miles
While changing lanes on the highway the steering wheel stiffened, that caused me to go to the shoulder with breaking hard to stop from going into the guard rail.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #87

Aug 142015


  • 28,800 miles
At a stop sign, made a right turn. Right after I made the turn, at approximately 15-20 mph the power steering abruptly failed. Power steering failure light then came on. Pulled over and after turning off the car and then back on, the steering worked again, though it failed in a similar manner after driving for about another 5 minutes.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #86

Aug 062015


  • 23,015 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the power steering warning indicator illuminated, the steering wheel then became difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 23,015.

- Agoura Hills , CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?