Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,654 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Aug 102014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 20,771 miles


2013 Honda Accord (20K miles) issue: Defective rack-N-pinion I attempted to put my Accord in reverse and realized that I wasn't able to steer out of the driveway. It appeared that the steering wheel locked up or something was holding me from backing up. I also noticed an orange steering wheel indicator on my dash. (please keep in mind that my vehicle is in great condition. I've have it for over a year and I have never had this happen). I attempted to start my car a second time. This time it turned on just as before and the orange indicator light turned off. I felt it may have just been a fluke and I began driving down the street. However, not even half-A-mile down from my parents" house my Accord steering wheel locked up again! this time it happened in the middle of the road while I was driving and while other vehicles were driving on the opposite side of the road. I could not maneuver my vehicle off the road. I just barely managed to angle the front part of my vehicle to the edge of a curb while the second half of the car was still in the street. Dealership informed me that it was a defective electric rack-N-pinion which caused my steering wheel to lock up. I asked him if this was a recall, or vehicle malfunction and he couldn't completely 100% provide me with an explanation. He did inform me that it"S going to be a $1,200 part to be serviced and that I will probably be without my own Accord for about a week. I strongly feel that the Honda Corp should be aware of this issue, so I contacted Honda via twitter. I felt completely brushed off and the rep, he said well sorry to hear that sir but they are repairing the issue sir. This was my second and last Honda that I would purchase. I know I'm not the only one with this issue. Honda should definitely look into it. The rep told me that they haven't had this issue previously-doubt it!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #24

Aug 222014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
On Jan 24th, 2013 I took my car to the Honda dealership for a problem with my power steering. The eps (electric power steering) system indicator came on and off several times and lost power steering during those times. The problem has been intermittent. The Honda dealership tried to fix the problem 3 times. On Feb 5th, 2013 the intermittent power steering problem seemed to be fixed. Then on Aug 21st, 2014 the power steer problem started again. I returned to the Honda dealership and Honda tried again to fix the intermittent power steering problem. On Aug 22nd, I drove my Honda Accord out of the dealership and had to turn around and bring it back because the carsżż eps (electric power steering) system indicator light came on and off again and I lost power steering during that time. IżżM now waiting to see if the intermittent power steering problem can be found and fixed. Since I bought my car the smart entry system indicator light has turned on and off intermittently without an adverse effect that I know of. I know an intermittent problem is hard diagnose and fix but IżżM starting have less and less confidence in Honda the company that manufactured my car..updated 11/03/14

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #23

May 012014


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #22

Aug 122014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles


While driving at approx. 25 mph, suddenly the power steering completely failed and power steering warning light came on. As I was only a couple of blocks from home, I was able to hard steer it home. Spouse turned engine off, started it back up and power steering reset. Took it to the dealer. Did diagnostic and determined : diagnose eps system per isis. Found faulty torque sensor. Replace complete power steering rack and perform alignment. After reading other similar complaints, I am hopeful that this will not happen again. It is extremely dangerous when this happens.

- Paisley, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 092013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
My power steering went out and I hit the right side of my car in a parking garage. The power steering light came on. My husband brought the car into the service center at Honda of bowie. The service folks said it was fixed after doing a computer update. I brought it back because the problem kept reoccurring. My husband brought it back in again on July 2, 2014 because the problem reoccurred several times since the last "fix." The service personnel did another computer reset and my car has had the same power steering problems since then. Today (Monday, July 7, 2014), the power steering failed again and steered the car into oncoming traffic resulting in another near miss. I have called Honda of bowie to get a loaner vehicle but they are out of loaner vehicles so I need to continue to drive the car to and from work.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #20

Jun 162014


  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn as the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact mentioned the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The techncian diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 6,700.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #19

Jun 072014


  • 12,500 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. When the contact started the vehicle, the steering wheel automatically engaged and turned in a full circle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 12,500. Updated 8/11/14

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #18

May 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
While driving on Florida turnpike at approx 65 mph, I first felt a subtle change in the tires/traction of the car, so I look at the dash to see if I had a low tire pressure indicator, nothing. I took my foot off the gas, and I felt a slight swerve, then I saw "eps!" indicator on the dash. The steering wheel was completely locked up, with no play left to right at all! completely stiff. I let the car continue to coast because I was scared to apply the brakes if it would make it worse, thank god no one rear ended me, and as the road curved, I ran off into the grassy median of an exit ramp and nothing was in my path. I looked up what eps! was, and the owners manual suggested to restart the car. Upon restarting, the indicator was gone. The car is being towed to the dealer in the morning. I am scared to drive the car, not knowing if this can happen again, and if my family and I will be safe in this car.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #17

Apr 202014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 15,152 miles
The driver was turning left into our neighborhood. The power steering failed and he could not turn. The vehicle went over the curve and crashed into a fire hydrant. It pushed the car up in the air and back down hard. None of the airbags deployed.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #16

Apr 052014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 8,200 miles
While coming to a stop in my parking spot, I applied the brake and the vehicle suddenly accelerated, with engine surge /loud noise and there were no brakes...... car plowed over parking spot barrier, into shrubs, balcony beam and neighbor's screened patio. There is considerable damage to my vehicle, shrubs, neighbor's patio and my balcony. This was a terrifying event. Investigations by insurance co and mechanic are pending at this time.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 112013


  • 3,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the power steering assist malfunctioned as the wheels seized and the power steering warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the rack and pinion assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 3,000 and the current mileage was 6,000. The VIN was not available.

- Guaynabo, PR, USA

problem #14

Oct 302013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
The power steering malfunctioned on the New Jersey turnpike exit 9 highway entrance ramp. *trupdated 06/03/14 on 9/30/13, the steering wheel had locked (technically the electrical power steering, or eps, malfunctioned and stopped working) on a highway as I was changing lanes at high speed (and the steering system proceeded to move the car in the direction of the highway median) and I had to force the wheel as strongly as I could to turn it back onto the road- all less than two months after purchasing the car brand new. 10/30/13, the eps stopped working while I was on a sharply bending on-ramp to a highway and veered the car into the median on the ramp.updated 9/15/2014 by SC the consumer stated the vehicle was totaled. The electronic power steering system indicator appeared after the steering malfunctioned. It is unknown if the warning appeared on 10/30/2013. The vehicle first failed on 9/30/2013 then again on 10/30/2013. The power steering was repaired after the first failure. The steering rack was replaced. Updated 06/09/2014

- Weehawken, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 092011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 70 miles
Pick this vehicle up from the dealer got one exit down on the highway and turned around because even holding the steel will perfectly straight with both hands on the wheel the car just drifts from side to side in the lane and is extremely difficult to keep control of while at highway speeds, I brought the vehicle back to the dealer who said that they put it back on the alignment machine and that there was nothing wrong with the alignment, I also am having issues with the rear defroster not working properly. I also pointed out a visual defect in the paint on the hood of the car which the dealer said I'll will call you back in a week or two and set up an appointment and will have to have the hood repainted I have yet five months later yet to hear back from this dealer ship as to when the going to actually repaint the hood on the vehicle.

- Winchendon, MA, USA

problem #12

Jan 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
As my vehicle was accelerating onto a highway on-ramp, I lost almost all power to my vehicle, and it became more difficult to steer. The check engine light came on, the electric power steering light came on, the traction control light came on, and my tire warning light started flashing. Was barely able to make it into the emergency lane, and probably would have been rear-ended had a car been following close behind. Once in the emergency lane, a burning odor could be smelled by all 4 passengers in the car. There was nothing wrong with my tires. Car had to be towed to dealership for repairs which are pending. This vehicle has the new "cvt" transmission, and I suspect this may be part of the problem. This should not be happening in a brand new car, this is a safety issue for sure.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #11

Nov 172013


  • 6,458 miles
Driver was making a left hand turn. Steering jerked to the left and then to the right. Driver was able to regain control of the steering. If another vehicle had been in the lane next to the driver, an accident would have occurred. After first and second incident, Honda service department in burleson, tx still say they can find nothing wrong with the vehicle. Honda of burleson is still in possession of this vehicle. Their advice to us was to trade it in and they would sell it at auction. We found that to be unacceptable. No one should be driving this car, as it is unsafe to drive.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #10

May 252013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 3,230 miles
Driver was making a right hand turn in a residential area. In the process of making that turn, steering jerked to the left and driver was not able to maintain control of the vehicle because the steering was not responding; therefore, causing driver to run into left hand curb.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #9

Oct 092013


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that wheel seized with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Waldorf , MD, USA

problem #8

Sep 212013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized without warning while exiting the highway at 30 mph. The contact was able to coast the vehicle onto the shoulder where it was towed to the dealer. A diagnostic was performed, which was unable to locate a failure code. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 2,000. Updated 07/03/14 MA updated 07/11/2014

- 305 Guaynado, PR, USA

problem #7

Sep 062013


  • 1,450 miles
As I was turning into a parking lot, the electric power steer froze up. I had no control over the steering and almost went into a building. Also another car was coming the other direction and had to stop short just shy of hitting my car. It worked again once I turned off the car and restarted it. When I came out of the store, the steering locked up again when I try to get out of the parking space. I felt unsafe to drive the car and had it towed to the dealership.

- Barrington , RI, USA

problem #6

Dec 272012


  • 1,162 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed several times. The steering wheel would become hard to control with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The contact was able to coast onto the shoulder, shut the engine off and restart. The steering wheel then resumed normal function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The electronic position sensor and the wiring harness was replaced; however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,162 and the current mileage was 1 6,922.

- Santa Rosa , CA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?