Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,095 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #19

Jul 012016


  • 18,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Honda Accord. While driving various speeds, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was braking independently without warning. In addition, the steering wheel stiffened and turned right and left independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #18

Jul 022016


  • 9,980 miles
I was pulling in to a parking spot at 2 mph or less, and when I put my foot on the brake to stop, the engine surged and the car lurched forward out of my control, across the concrete barrier, over a walkway and into the wall of a restaurant, where it stalled. I had to restart the car to reverse it away from the crash. Fortunately no-one was hurt although there was considerable damage to the front of the car and the wall of the restaurant. This also happened in March 2014. I was pulling into a parking spot when the engine roared, the car lurched forward, and I crashed across a path and through a wooden fence. The damage then was $10K. The car was taken to the dealership's collision center, which reported only that "no defects in materials or factory workmanship were found." There are at least 11 other reports of this problem from other people in this string, and it is clearly a very dangerous fault in the 2014 Honda Accord which needs to be investigated. There should be a recall before someone is seriously hurt or killed.

- Oberlin, OH, USA

problem #17

Mar 292016


  • 21,500 miles
Unintended acceleration: Car started without any issues, as I was driving a slow speed down my driveway as I attempted to stop before entering the street, the car lurched forward under acceleration. I shifted the car into neutral and with the engine racing to about 4,000 RPM with rev limiter cutting in I stopped the car with the brake, I turned the engine off and restarted in neutral. Engine again raced to 4,000rpm with rev limiter cutting in. Stopped engine again and restarted a third time, this time engine idled normally and drove without incident. Called dealer, no records from anyone indicating a similar situation.

- Madsion, AL, USA

problem #16

Sep 192015


  • 24,500 miles


My car surges while driving occasionally and surges while stopped. I was sitting at a stop sign waiting on traffic to pass by and my car surged so hard that it pushed it out a couple inches. I took it to the dealership but they can not find anything wrong. Read other complaints here and my car isn't the only one doing this. I have a 3 year old and no longer feel safe in my car.

- Wewahitchka, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 082015


  • 4,250 miles
Car accelerated while pressing the brake causing the vehicle to crash into the exterior wall of the store.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #14

Jun 242015


  • 2,600 miles
When pulling into my parking space at my condo the car suddenly accelerated and went over the parking space cement marker, over the shrubs and onto sidewalk. I was finally able to apply the brakes hard enough to stop the car before crashing into the building. I just nicked the edge of the cement doorway leading into the walkway to my condo but it was enough to cause the hood to buckle. There was some damage to the undercarriage of the car and the total cost of repair was $5500. MA 10/14

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #13

Feb 182015


  • 5,000 miles


5/1/2014hesitation (unexpected acceleration) occurs intermittently at low speed. When the car is at a low speed and more power is needed and the accelerator is pressed there is no response initially; accelerator is then pressed more and the car then accelerates much more than was expected, resulting in a jerky, on/off type action. I believe this could cause an accident either when trying to merge into traffic or when trying to accelerate gently and having the car accelerate more than expected (in a parking lot or heavy slow traffic etc).

- Fort Wright, KY, USA

problem #12

Jan 072015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,497 miles
I was getting service done on my 2007 Honda civic recall I was given 2014 Honda Accord as a loaner vehicle for the period my car was getting fixed at the dealership. I was able to drive this vehicle without any problems for 3 days. However, on Jan 6th 2015, we had snow in our area and the temperature outside was below freezing. I had the vehicle in my garage and when I left for work on Jan 7th, I had backed out the car from the garage and when I turned on to our street, I had noticed the steering wheel a bit stiff. I thought it was the snow on the ground that had made it little difficult to turn. As I proceeded to drive on our street at speed less than 10 mph, I came to the first turn that I make to get to the street leading up to the main street. As I tried to make the right turn, I noticed that the vehicle was difficult to turn and due to snow it started skidding to my left. At speed of less than 15 mph and steering wheel locked, the vehicle skid to the left pavement. It caused minor scratches on the front left rim and caused the alignment to be off. I took the vehicle to the dealership as it was a loaner vehicle and dealership proceeded with getting 'front suspension' and 'steering gear & linkage' replaced through my insurance. It cost me $750 as deductible cost that I've paid to the dealership. Upon researching this event further on the internet, I found that similar complaint is under investigation for 2013 (my loaner vehicle is 2014 model) Honda Accord that had surfaced in Nov 2014 ( I feel that this issue with 2013 Honda Accord has/will-be continued with 2014 Honda Accord as the symptoms I had observed were similar to those 2013 Honda Accord.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #11

Dec 182014


  • 5,687 miles
My 2014 Honda Accord sport with only 5687 miles on it suddenly accelerated as I was pulling into a parking space. I was driving approximately 5 mph. I had to slam on the brakes to avoid driving over the concrete barrier. I have recently noticed a strong gasoline smell upon starting the vehicle, which dissipates after a few minutes. This was an extremely scary experience.

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #10

Dec 022013


  • 1,000 miles
My acceleration conditions/problems are identical to NHTSA id #10607907 & several others. Upon acceleration there is a severe hesitation to the point of almost stalling before it accelerates. At 15000 miles it appears to be getting worse. I was also told by a service rep this was computer controlled and not cable controlled as in the past. There definitely needs to be a fix to this as it is extremely dangerous pulling out in traffic.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #9

Oct 262014


  • 6,500 miles


As I was inching into a parking space, with my foot on the brake, the engine suddenly starting racing and the vehicle lurched forward. Before I could put on enough braking power to stop it, I hit a pole causing minor damage.this racing has occurred on a number of previous occasions but I was able to control the car before any damage was done. The dealer has looked at the problem several times but has not been able to help me.

- Seabrook, MD, USA

problem #8

Apr 182014


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to respond and there was a sudden increased in engine rpms. The contact mentioned that the accelerator pedal had to be depressed all the way to the floor in order for the vehicle to respond. The dealer diagnosed that the mass air flow meter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximately failure mileage was 1,000.

- Staton Island, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 800 miles
I have a brand new 2014 Honda Accord sport. It hesitates when I accelerate from almost any speed. This is dangerous as I am nervous if I have to accelerate quickly for any reason, and getting on the highway can be tough too. I have seen others list this same issue on here, it's obviously a big problem with this car.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #6

Jul 222014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
I had just left the dealership after they cleared a "fcw system failed" message and I entered the interstate. While traveling in the lane adjacent to the far left at a speed of approximately 68 mph, the car violently jerked, the fcw system failed message returned, all emergency icons were illuminated on the dash, and my car lost acceleration in traffic. Despite repeated attempts to accelerate the vehicle, the engine had no response and was sitting at idle while I decelerated in the middle of traffic. The vehicle was returned to the dealership where it underwent 3 days of service for what was determined to be a failed accelerator position sensor. The day after picking the car up from the service department, the vehicle was being driven on the highway at approximately 65 mph. The car, without symptoms or warning, again violently jerked, lost acceleration, and displayed the same system failed message. The car has been at the dealership for 8 days and the ECU and main wiring harness are being replaced.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #5

May 262014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
The car is experiencing a very hesitant acceleration upon initial acceleration to the point of almost stopping. This has continued now with just over 1,000 miles. Called the local Honda dealer and was told by a maintenance representative that this problem has been reported to them, but there is no fix known. The problem is definitely a safety hazard as you can not depend on the car accelerating when needed. It does not have reliable acceleration from a stop. I was told by the maintenance representative that the car is a fly-by- wire and has no throttle cable any longer, but is controlled by the computer. He assured me there was no fix known nor did Honda Corp inform them of a problem or a fix. I feel very unsafe with this condition and have no feeling of reliability with the car's acceleration.

- Shalimar, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 162014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 65 miles
Cars forward collision warning system is not working consistently, nor correctly. When it works it goes off at about half a car length only, no matter how you adjust the alarm to go off, one car length, two car length, or three car length. I have reported this to Honda, and I do have a case number, and Honda did send a area manager to check this out. I still feel that the system does not work, it is not a dealer problem, this is our fifth Honda. If more cars with this system are produced and let out on the highways there will be some massive accidents. Please help us correct this problem.

- Winters, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 252013


  • 4,200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 4,200.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #2

Jan 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 117 miles
I purchased new 2014 Honda Accord on 1/27/14 with 34 miles. On 1/31/14 with only 117 miles, I was attempting to park, perhaps 2 mph when all of the sudden, the car lunged forward on it's own with great force. I was appx 5 feet away from stopping when suddenly the airbag deployed, the car lunged, hit the concrete stop, jumped over and stopped only by steel cables.this occurred on the 4th floor (spiral parking). If the cable system were not in place, I would have ended up landing on the top of the cars parked on the 3rd floor. This entire incident occurred in 2 seconds or less. I was completely straight in line having turned right from the central aisle, about 5 feet from the concrete block, traveling no more than 2 mph. With no warning, the car lunged forward, airbag deployed and sent the car into the cables. I received a burn to my right hand from the airbag and was completely and utterly in shock. I have an exemplary driving history for 44 years and have never had anything so traumatizing occur ever. As I stated, this occurred so quickly as I was only 1-2 seconds from turning the engine off. In reporting this accident to Honda, they recommended having it towed to seidner's with whom they partner with. They completed the repairs on 3/1/14.the damage was extensive, $11,600 to the front end, hood, etc. The car was at the collision center until 3/1/14. Because of the claim I opened with Honda, they inspected the car 3/10/14, however only made a hand-written note that they test drove it for 48 miles, noting "no defects in mechanical inspection, no repairs recommended." I am utterly terrified that this could occur again. Please, can you direct me as to what I can do to ensure that this never recurs.

- La Verne, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 262013

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2014 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration. As the consumer was trying to park the vehicle, with her foot on the brake, the vehicle suddenly accelerated out of control, and took off on its own, even though her foot was on the brake, as she pulled into a parking space. The vehicle careened at a high speed around the parking lot, jumped several curbs, and side swiped three other cars, before coming to a stop when three tires blew out and the front passenger side wheel turned perpendicular to direction of motion. The axle broke, so the vehicle ended up traveling on the rim sides with the engine still running.

- Bowie, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?