Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
119,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Nissan Maxima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Nissan Maxima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Nissan Maxima Owner Comments

problem #13

Sep 182015


  • 184,400 miles


Driving on circle intersection the car shut off unable to turn steering wheel and crashed into a building totaling car.

- Lodi, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jun 212015


  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Maxima. While driving at approximately 35 mph, there was a sudden loss of acceleration and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart after approximately fifteen minutes. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. The VIN was not available.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #11

Aug 242009

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Per Nissan, no recalls on the following= player does not work, shows error 2. fuel gauge does not work, shows full all the time and have ran out of gas-complete safety hazard!! 3.transmission needed replaced-did not have reverse-complete safety hazard 4.catalytic converter needed replaced-stalled on the side of the highway due to loss of power and avoided an accident-complete safety hazard 5.motor needed replaced-motor quit working while on the highway-avoided an accident while I lost power. I went over and beyond always replacing the motor oil & filter at 3000 miles 6.speakers quit working and will blare back on unexpectedly while driving startling me, the volume does not work-complete safety hazard 7.front air bag sensor corroded and had to be replaced-thankfully no injuries as a result if I had been in an accident! 8.front suspension replaced including pin-Nissan shows a notice on this but not a recall!!!!"???" 9.drivers side door arm rest broke apart and had cut my elbow while driving 10.rear wheel wells/fenders are rusting thru.

- Bourbonnais, IL, USA

problem #10

Apr 032014

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


In reference to > NHTSA campaign number: 03V455000 component(s): Engine and engine cooling I nearly crashed when my car died while merging onto a freeway. My car doesn't start like it used to. Very rough starts, continuously to get the engine to turn. It will die while car is moving. This happens abruptly and suddenly while driving. Rpms idle higher than normal. Engine loss. I used obd scanner to decipher the problem. I looked for recall online and found the one located above. It is identical to my issues.I contacted Nissan and they refused. I could have died. Please help thank you!

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #9

Mar 182014


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, there was loss of engine power with warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who stated that the engine wiring harness would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 06/10/14

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #8

Mar 072012


  • 147,000 miles
Driving home on freeway my Nissan engine shuts off while driving in excess of 65mph and being that its a manual transmission it tries to start from rolling but jerks real hard like the brakes are locked up and ive almost went off the road 10 times. Ive tried changing the crankshaft position sensor but cannot locate it and all area autozones don't know where it is either. From what ive got my car has already been part of the sensor recall but has been failing for the last 2 1/2 years and recently blew a coil pack from the damaged sensor. Also the car wont start on one quick turn in a millisecond like it used to, it takes about 5 seconds of turning over to start everytime now.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #7

Jan 292013

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 25,612 miles


The car had a recall performed on 08/02/2011 to replace crankshaft and camshaft position sensors, the car ran perfectly before the said recall. The mentioned recall also included an earlier recall which was ineffective. Some time after the recall was performed the car would stall intermittently without triggering a code. Finally the stalling triggered a code on 01/29/13 which was a crankshaft position sensor. The dealer confirmed that the crankshaft position sensor code was triggered but denied that it had anything to do with the stalling problem and returned the car with the intermittent stalling condition without a diagnoses. Eventually the car was diagnosed as a bad crankshaft position sensor and repaired on 11/08/2013 after two more visits to the dealer and numerous calls to Nissan North America. This was very same crankshaft position sensor installed by the recall #R3022 which was bad and in effect renders recall #R3022 (Nissan) ineffective, at least in my case. Nissan refused to pay for diagnoses and repair of the failed recall. This failed recall cost me $656.08 as well as endangered many lives. Note: The car only has 26,000 miles on it.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #6

Aug 102013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, various warning indicators illuminated prior to the vehicle stalling. The vehicle was coasted to the roadside and restarted. The vehicle resumed normally for a short distance before the failure recurred and the engine failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, who replaced the alternator. The failure recurred after the repair. The independent mechanic informed the contact that the defect was contributed to the cam shaft position sensor. The vehicle was previously repaired under a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired for the recent failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #5

Aug 052013

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 123,500 miles
Driving at highways of greater than 40 mph and beginning to brake, the vehicle will cut off. It will restart; however, this has started to be a frequent and dangerous occurrence. After several times, I did some research and found that there was a voluntary recall campaign bulletin R3022 and NHTSA #03V-455 (engine sensors), being reported on Nov. 17, 2003. Nissan North America, Inc. Says that the recall campaign has been closed out. NHTSA says the recall campaign is open for 10 yrs from the date the recall was reported, being Nov. 17, 2013. Today's date is Aug. 23, 2013. Nissan will not honor the recall. The cost to repair is $625.19. Additionally, there was a voluntary recall campaign bulletin R2006 (transverse link replacement) which Nissan North America, Inc. Claims they cannot see. Lastly, there is another recall R1302 (front passenger air bag inflator) of August 14, 2013, that Nissan claims they aren't showing as well. I am utterly frustrated and fed up with Nissan North America, Inc. The dealers will not honor any recall that Nissan North America, Inc. Does not recognize even if you have the documentation of the recall.

- Great Mills, MD, USA

problem #4

Aug 102013


  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 175,000.

- Alexandria, AR, USA

problem #3

Jul 062013

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 135,823 miles


While driving on they highway my vehicle "jerked" while I was going roughly 70mph. When that happened it kind of hesitated and then my "slip" and tcs light came on. Later on that day my vehicle completely stalled while stopped at a intersection. It started back up but started very hard. I arrived at my destination and turned it off for roughly 10 minutes. I tried to start it and it would not start. My vehicle sat for about 2 hours and when I tried it again, it started right up. I researched this problem and found that there was a recall for Nissan for the crank position sensor. All of these issues I had seemed to match up with this recall. Per Nissan my VIN number was not one of the affected vehicles. I find that hard to believe. I had to get my vehicle fixed so I did that today. The problem with my car was the cam position sensor and the crank position sensor. The auto service place called Nissan and Nissan stated to them "this is a known issue" I am not very happy with Nissan right now. I feel that my issues should be taken into consideration for the recall. Everything that happened relates back to the recall. Recall I am referring to is campaign id number: 03V455000. Please review my notes and maybe I can get some help!

- Sun Prairie, WI, USA

problem #2

Jul 042013


  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled after braking to a complete stop. Several warning lights in the instrument panel became illuminated. The check engine warning light was illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop however, they were unable to determine a cause of failure. The failure and current mileage was 137,000.

- New Carrollton , MD, USA

problem #1

Dec 292012

Maxima 6-cyl

  • 123,273 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Maxima. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine warning light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a diagnostic was performed. The failure was located at the camshaft position sensor. The dealer replaced the camshaft position sensor and the electrical connection was cleaned however, the failure was not corrected. The check engine warning light was also still illuminated. The stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 03V455000 (engine and engine cooling) was prior to the failure. The failure and current mileage was 123,273. Updated 01/30/13 updated 1/31/2013

- Rockie River , OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?