NHTSA — Structure: Body Problems

2004 Acura TL (Page 2 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,960 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Acura TL body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Acura TL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Acura TL Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Oct 062013

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that dashboard was fractured under the passenger's side air bag area, exposing part of the air bag. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000....updated 11-12-13

- Whitestone, NY, USA

problem #27

Jun 122013

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that dashboard was fractured under the passenger's side air bag area, exposing part of the air bag. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was unknown....updated 12/03/13 updated 12/06/2013

- Newport, VA, USA

problem #26

Dec 012011

TL 6-cyl

  • 111,300 miles
During the month of December 2012, I noticed that my dashboard on the above the passenger side airbag started to split. The car was not in any accident, and I am the only individual who operates the vehicle. As of this date, one split have turned into two large splits on the passenger side that measure at about a foot each. Additionally, I have noticed a smaller split in the dashboard now above the driver side. I took my vehicle to an Acura dealer on 11/10/2012 (Acura of manhattan) for routine maintenance and to also inquire about what Acura is doing to fix the issue and replace my dashboard at no cost to me due to the design defect in their product. I do not want to wait until the airbag deploys and does physical damage to my passenger or myself because Acura was negligent in their duty to ensure that they manufactured a part that would not fail and cause injury to passengers of their vehicles. This dashboard needs to be recalled as soon as possible.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #25

Oct 012009

TL

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cracking dashboard.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #24

Aug 092010

TL 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that dashboard crack under the passenger side air bag. The contact stated the passenger side air bag had become exposed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the dashboard was not covered under warranty. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 125,000....updated 12/03/12 updated 12/06/2012

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Oct 152010

TL

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that the dashboard was cracking. The dealer was notified of the failure and stated that the failure was normal. The dealer offered to cover half of the repair expenses however, the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 148,000.

- Hephzibah, GA, USA

problem #22

Jun 042012

TL 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dashboard in my 2004 Acura TL is cracked on the passenger side along the airbag. Started out just a crack about 1/4" and two days later the crack is over 8 inches. Also the dashboard on the driver's side cracked first from just in front of the steering column all the way to the windshield and is now a complete square from steering column to windshield and back to steering column. If this isn't a safety issue, I don't know what is! we own two other Honda, 2001 and 2000 civics, and neither of those cars have cracks and are in better shape than the Acura TL.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #21

Aug 012012

TL

  • 148,000 miles
While driving we heard a loud pop that sounded like a very large rock hit the windshield. While inspecting the windshield we noticed that the noise had come from the dashboard splitting. The area covering the passenger side airbag has split and the entire dash, withing just a few days, has split from the initial 4 inch split to about 8 inches. I am concerned that this could affect airbag deployment as the decreased resistance could mean the airbag deployment speed is greater. (worth noting: We purchased this car new and it has been garage kept its entire life. Also, when the car is in the sun I always use a sunshield.)

- Colfax, NC, USA

problem #20

Aug 062012

TL

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that a large crack developed on the dash board. As a result, the air bag became exposed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 98,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #19

Jun 302012

TL 6-cyl

  • 100,465 miles
Dash separating around passenger side airbag.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #18

May 182012

TL 6-cyl

  • 49,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle is a 2004 Acura TL. It is mainly garaged kept and well maintained. It has developed a large crack in the dashboard running from the windshield towards the passenger seat. It appeared one day for no apparent reason. The car has not been in any accident. There is an extended warranty on the car but they won't cover this. In my opinion, this is due to inferior materials and/or design and should be repaired by the manufacturer. What happens if there is an accident and the air bag deploys...will the cracked dash prevent the air bag from deploying properly" or will there be pieces of the dashboard acting as little missiles posing a threat to the occupants"

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

problem #17

Jul 142011

TL

  • miles
The dashboard on the passenger side has cracked. There are two vertical cracks over the airbags. I asked the dealership about replacing it and I was told it's considered wear and tear. I was quoted a price of over $1700 dollars. After looking into it on the internet I was amazed at how many people had the exact complaint. I was told by a collision shop that this is very dangerous if airbag mistakenly deploys. Many Acura.owners have had the exact experience with the dealership unwilling to replace it. Can someone look into this issue? it would be greatly appreciated.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #16

Mar 172012

TL 6-cyl

  • miles
There is a water leak under the right rear passenger seat that has caused the bottom of the seat cushion to be covered in mold. The water leak is a known condition with the '04 TL that Acura has documented in their April 2005 service news. Acura has been aware of the issue for at least 7 years and has done nothing proactive to correct it even though it's a simple fix. I'm confident that the long term exposure to the mold has caused me the sinus and lung/asthma problems that have been plaguing me for the last few years and that began shortly after I purchased the car and never connected to the car even though I have undergone a variety of testing from different doctors.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #15

Feb 162012

TL

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that a crack was present on the passenger side portion of the dashboard. The contact also stated that the crack was getting worse with time. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 102,000 and the current mileage was 103,500.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 012010

TL

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that the dashboard cracked due to defective material. The dashboard had an extensive fracture at the air bag area. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the defect. The dealer advised the contact that the fractured dashboard would not affect the deployment of the air bag. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 130,000.

- Johnson City , TN, USA

problem #13

Aug 152011

TL

  • 80,000 miles
There are cracks appearing in the dash. One long one is next to the passenger side air bag and there are several others on the driver's side as well. They have severely decreased the appeal of the car and hence the value. I had a Toyota corolla for 245,000 miles and there wasn't a single crack in the dash and no special care was given to the dash. Acura should be embarrassed. I have seen pictures of other defective dashes from the internet and the cracks appear in the same places. This is obviously a design flaw or a material quality issue.

- Warren, AR, USA

problem #12

Dec 012011

TL

  • 99,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that a large fracture, the size of an airbag, was present on the dashboard on the passenger's side. In addition, there was a long fracture up the middle of the dashboard on the driver's side. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they informed the contact that the dashboard and airbag may possibly need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 99,500.

- Otto, NC, USA

problem #11

Jul 012009

TL

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact noticed that there was a long crack on the dashboard where the passenger side air bag was located. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #10

Jun 012010

TL

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura TL. The contact stated that the dashboard failed and split in half near the passenger side air bag housing. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact that the dashboard failure was caused by wear and tear and was not considered a safety defect. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 94,000.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #9

Dec 012010

TL 6-cyl

  • miles
Several large cracks have appeared across the dashboard. It appears to be a huge complaint among Acura owners. The largest crack runs over the passenger airbag raising the question of airbag integrity and function. Such a widespread problem should be considered a manufacturer's defect and therefore be recalled and repaired by Acura.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?