ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Print this page
2010 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems: excessive oil consumption

Excessive Oil Consumption

2010 Chevrolet Equinox (Page 1 of 4)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,060
Average Mileage:
68,500 miles
Total Complaints:
68 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (31 reports)
  2. replace engine (19 reports)
  3. engine rebuild (10 reports)
  4. repair/replace rings (5 reports)
  5. replace catalytic converter (1 reports)
  6. replace timing chain (1 reports)
2010 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #68

Oct 312016

Equinox LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I initially purchased my truck I bought an expensive extended warranty. The dealership had me return for oil changes every 5k miles the 1st few times I had my oil changed. Without saying a word about it, one day I took it in & they put "return in 3k miles for your next oil change" on my sticker.

So three months later (following their instructions) I took it in thinking it was probably an error on the dealerships part. I didn't say a word & neither did they. When my truck was done, the new sticker had "return in 3K miles" again. I went back into the dealership & asked why I was being scheduled for 3K mile oil changes instead of 5K miles like previously. I was told at my last oil change, my truck was about a quart low on oil and it could be due to an excessive oil consumption issue.

I took it in religiously every 3 months/3K miles & every time I questioned "Was the oil low" and I was told "NO" it was not. My husband was also checking my oil every few days and it was never low. Less than 30 days after my extended warranty expired I was pulling out of my parking space at work & my truck jerked/lunged forward really hard and started idling very low and died. I restarted it and when I got to the stop sign it did it again. It did this every-time I stopped all the way home that night (Pretty Scary!)

The next morning I called the dealership and explained what it did and the guy said "Huh, we've heard a lot of things but I've never heard of one doing that!" They couldn't get me in that day and I was going out of state the next day and had to pay out of pocket for a rental b/c I was too afraid to drive my truck!

I got it to the dealership and finally got a call a few days later saying the problem was due to excessive oil consumption. I had to pay out of pocket for the repairs! The truck still lunges forward/jerks from time to time & it idles really low all the time (to the point it feels like it's going to die.) They act like I'm crazy or making stuff up when I mention it at the dealership, so I don't even mention it anymore!!!

I can't remember exactly what I paid out in repairs but it was over $500 and it cost me $200 for the rental. I do NOT feel safe in this vehicle, I haven't ever since that happened! It hasn't ever died on me like that again but the low idle (feels like it's going to die) and the lunging forward scares me!!!

- mvp, Greenwood, US

problem #67

Oct 242017

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,502 miles

On 10/24/2017 I was driving stopped at a light, went to take off car was hesitating and would not excel, I pulled off the road. Once I pulled off the road the car stalled and would not start. I called my husband, he and his dad show up. They checked the oil and it was low. I have it towed to the Honda Dealer that I bought the car but they suggested I have it towed to our local Chevy Dealer. I did just that.

I get a call from a rude ass person saying the reason my car went was because there was no oil in the car. I said that couldn't be true for my husband said it was low but there was oil in it. He says no, it was gone. He said the car should have been making one hell of a noise, I said no, he said well I find that hard to believe. I said something and he rudely says, well I can see this car wasn't taken care of, and I said oh yes it was. His rude comments came from the inside being dirty.

My granddaughter had use the car and I just got it back and her 2-toddlers had a mess in the back seat and who the hell was he to judge the car condition from 2 boys making a mess that I had not yet cleaned up. That comment pissed me right off so now it is on between me and this asshole. I find out the engine was shot. I pissed this jerk off so he decides to call the insurance company that I bought the extended warranty through and tells them the reason my engine failed was there was no oil in the car. My last oil change was overdue but how many engines blow when people are late getting their oil changed.

So because the engine blew, my oil change was late, and he told the insurance company there was NO oil in the engine, the insurance company declined paying for anything. Funny my husband checked the engine oil and there was oil on the dipstick but was low. Where did the oil go from where I had it towed to it got to their store. So I had the car towed out of there, took it to someone else. Spent $3000.00 to get the upper engine replaced. Now the car is running great when I get it back, then.... in a couple days it all starts.

The car kept wanting to stall. The company that did my engine said it's not anything they did so they suggested letting Chevy dealer take it from there. We had to go back to the rude ass man I had to deal with previously. They take it says there is nothing wrong with the car they said it drove fine. We bring the car home , next day acts up, take it back they played with it changed out some things says it is ok, next coupe days acts up. This went back and forth from 12/21/2017 until 3/2018.

Now I buy a GM Book Haynes Repair Manual. Now I am a woman 60 year old and I am fricken pissed as all hell now. I read this book and I came across a section that was talking about the same stalling problem. Now in between all this sh*t codes are coming across the engine lights they clear the program and fix one thing and then it all starts over again. Now I go to Auto Zone and buy an ignition switch. I google how to change it out and so I did! so proud of myself. Take the car out and drove beautiful no wanting to stall.

This good news makes me so happy! Then I start having oil consumption problems. I start looking up online and I find out all about this consumption crap. Now why didn't Chevy tell me anything about this?? So right from the start my engine failed due to this 1st issue. I no am really pissed. I write to GM Motors they get in touch with Chevy, Wow my oil problem is here again only difference is now I am aware of this consumption issue.

I speak to GM Motors and they tell me that there is no recall but there is a Code 14159 that is a "Special Coverage Adjustment" warranty with a 10 year/120,000 mile coverage on this oil consumption issue. They tell me to contact my Chevy dealer. My husband calls my buddy at Chevy and he tells my husband he will call him back. Well just so happens I speak to GM Motor, they give me this code, and he said they were going to get in touch with our Chevy dealer. Less that 10 minutes go by and how about the ass from Chevy calls us and said , hey Don I found out that there is a warranty that covers this issue.I yell out and say I just hung up with GM and I know about this code 14159. I take the phone from my husband and I say to my friend at Chevy and I said about the other problem with the stalling, I got a book and fixed the issue myself. I said I just thought I would tell you.

Now I am going to be dealing with them performing my consumption testing. Now I am pissed even more. My initial issue was oil related and it was not my fault, this was the problem that my engine failed the 1st time. Now it is on. I better not have any fricken problem with this 14159 warranty because I want my damn car fixed and I would really like to be reimbursed the money I put into it before. Right now I need to get through this with the oil loss because every few days the oil is burning and we are pumping oil into the engine. Time will tell.

I may be a 60 year old woman but I am not backing down from these people. Why wasn't I told about this issue the 1st fricken time?????? I had to dig and call Chevy GM Motors and go through all this stress. DO NOT BUY AN EQUINOX!

- Debra M., Erie, Pa, US

problem #66

Aug 242017

Equinox LS 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,935 miles

Purchased 2010 Equinox in Feb. 2014. Came with12 Month/12000 mile warranty. Mileage 60,571.

October 2014 - Using 2 1/2 quarts of oil in just 1000 miles. Took into Betten Chevy. Had to go thru 2 weeks of oil consumption tests to prove the oil issue.

November 2014 - They rebuilt my engine. Under warranty.

August 2017 - Check engine light coming on - code P0016 - took back in. Again they replaced timing chain, gaskets and gasket kits. Charged me $2271.00

August 28th 2017 - Engine acts like it gonna stall at stop signs. Took back in: could not duplicate, possible throttle body or cam actuator causing int problem.

April 29, 2018 - Check engine light back on - Code P0013 - this is a lemon. Betten Chevy in Muskeogn won't stand behind their own warranties.

- Paula B., Fruitport, US

problem #65

Jan 052018

Equinox 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought the 2010 Chevy Equinox on 8/17/2017. Probably the worse decision ever made.

A few months after purchasing my car as I was driving to work my check engine light came on. I work 12hr shifts so after returning to my car the next morning the light was off. Figured I just needed to check oil, and I did and realized I had none. Figured it was time for an oil change so I took it to Delta Sonic a week later to have one performed. To my surprise they told me I had NO oil in my truck. I couldn't believe it because I had just put a quart of oil in there and maybe have only driven 100 miles at most!

About 2 weeks after that I started to feel my car shake when I would approach a stop sign or stop light. It would seem as if I needed to turn the car off to give it a brief break and turn it back on. I didn't understand what was going on until I checked my oil again and once again, no oil. Now it's winter time in Buffalo NY so the temperatures can get pretty freaking cold. My husband told me it was probably all the snow and cold weather, my truck was taking more oil than normal. Still not convinced I put more oil in my truck and waiting 1 week to have my husband take it to the shop this time.. once again they told him upon arriving there was no oil in my truck. Un-freaking- believeable. I never had a single indicator light come on in my car!!! Nothing!

Fast forward to a few days ago, driving my car and all of a sudden it completely stopped in the middle of the road!! And I could only start it back up enough to move it a few yards before it would cut off again. It has shut off before, but I was always able to just restart it and drive off. But this time I couldn't. Got it towed to Chevrolet Keller (3600 Genesee St) Buffalo NY. DON'T! I REPEAT. DON'T EVER PURCHASE, RENT, LEASE, LOOK, BLINK OR EVEN BREATHE IN THAT DIRECTION. I've never felt so violated and disrespected as a customer in my life!

I bring my car in with NO indicator lights on of any kind. Leave out with $140 diagnosis fee, $1900 estimate to fix the timing chain, BS excuses on why they have to pull apart my truck to find out what other issues it may be ( even though GM is well aware of the issues they neglectfully didn't inform me about) they just are making any way possible to make a problem even bigger! They fought with me saying my indicator lights had to be on and I have had to known about the issues because the test came back that problems occurring would have showed an indicator light. There was never!

The only reason I knew it was a problem was from taking my car in to get an oil change and shortly after my car stopping and jerking and making noises that began getting louder.i will be bringing this matter so any and everybody's attention until this matter is resolved because it's unfair.

I drive with my 3&4 years old in the car daily, so to suggest that I would drive around with my indicator lights on, jeopardizing my children's life is asinine! That's what put me over the edge. I would have never bought this vehicle knowing the ongoing issues that persist. I refuse to get the matter resolved until GM acknowledge, covers and recall these dangerous vehicles!!

- Kiaya B., Buffalo, NY, US

problem #64

Nov 012017

Equinox LT 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles

Uses at least 1 extra quart between 3,000 mile oil change.

- Michael J., Howe, US

problem #63

Aug 082016

Equinox LT 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,349 miles

Bought two vehicles from this particular dealer at the same time! After driving the Equinox for 1200 mi. had to add qt of oil. Then in Oct 2016 received a recall notice that the fuel pump on the engine was leaking fuel into the crankcase and needed to be replaced. Dealer preformed the recall but failed to change the engine oil and filter because they said it was not part of the recall !!! I went home and changed the oil and filter myself.

After driving the vehicle it continues to use oil at the rate of about 1 qt per 1000 to 2000 miles. I have had to add 5 qts of oil in the 8000 mis I have driven this piece of crap !!!!!!! I have been researching the problem and found this to be a problem with the 2.4 L engine and that there is suppose to be a recall for this problem. I'm collecting all the info I can and found that there has also been a class action lawsuit filed against GM. Going to see what the dealer has to say about taking care of this problem.

- truckinck, Marion, US

problem #62

Mar 112015

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,984 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought my 2010 Equinox to the dealer on 3/11/15, after seeing the engine light briefly flash on and off. The car did not sound right and engine was making a ticking noise. After being checked out, I was told there was no oil in the car. The last oil change was at 81,843 miles, so all the oil in the car had been consumed after driving 5,141 miles. I mentioned to my service advisor at Schumacher Chevy that I had received a letter from GM regarding issues with excessive oil consumption and had the letter with me. No leaks were found so an oil consumption test was set up. It was also almost due for an oil change so they did that was well. After bringing the car back twice for the oil consumption test, I was told that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle and that the engine was "operating as designed" so I went on my way. On approx. 6/9/15,

at 91,174 miles (4,190 since last oil change), I decided to check the oil. The oil barely covered the end of the dipstick. I was not able to immediately take it to service department so I put oil in it until I could get it there but I took pictures of the dip stick so my service advisor could see where the level was. I brought it back Schumacher on 6/16/15. Another oil consumption test was set up, vehicle was brought back 2 times to check the oil level, and again I was told the vehicle was "operating as designed". On 2/9/16, at 102,962 miles (4,202 since last oil change) and after the engine has been running rough and engine ticking again, I check the oil and there was no oil registering on the dipstick. I return for the 3rd time to Schumacher and am told the vehicle was 2 quarts low on oil but that it is normal to use 1 quart of oil every 2,000 miles and the car is perfectly fine. They filled the car with oil and I again went on my way. On 3/1/16, at 103,073 miles, I take my car to Eco Lube for a quick oil change (I was going out of town and did not have time to take it to Schumacher and frankly was disgusted with them). I told them of my problems with the oil consumption and they told me that it was 2-3 quarts low on oil. On 4/10/16, I decide to check the oil again. Again car is running rough and engine sounds terrible. The car now has 106,000 miles and it has been 2,927 miles since my last oil change. The oil is now at the very bottom of the bottom hash mark so it will need to be taken back to Schumacher in the very near future and I am sure they will tell me yet again that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. The letter I received from GM around August, 2014, stated that they are aware that my vehicle may exhibit excessive engine oil consumption due to piston ring wear. They have offered to fix this problem, if it occurs, within 10 years of the date the vehicle was placed in service or 120,000 miles, whichever occurs first, free of charge. I believe I am being strung along until I reach 120,000 miles so that they do not have to fix the problem.

- Alexia P., Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #61

Jul 152015

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I purchased this car in August of 2011 when it had 34,000 miles on it. It started leaking and using oil 3 months later, so it was covered under warranty. I have had this car into dealers at least 10 times alone for transmission troubles and the way it jumped while driving. When car was put in dealers under warranty they supposedly replaced pistons, rings and timing chain. Now with 133,222 miles on it, the engine blew all of the oil out in neighbors driveway and had to have it towed back home. Don't know what's wrong this time, but this car is the lemon of all lemons!!

- Dick S., Sellersburg, IN, US

problem #60

Jun 272016

Equinox LS 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

Called the dealership that sold it to me to check the vin and they said there was no problems with the oil consumption. They wouldn't run the test to see if it had oil consumption. Thankfully another GM dealership took in the vehicle, ran the test and realized it was a recall and had the problem fixed.

- Audra Z., Nicktown, US

problem #59

May 012017

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Excessive oil consumption 1 qt every 2,000 miles and getting worse fast

- Roy U., Vernon, BC, Canada

problem #58

Apr 012014

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought the car new. So many recalls. Started to have excess oil consumption around 50000 miles. I was busy in school and after father insisted I take it in for repair there was a large leak identified from crankshaft which I paid out of pocket. Oil consumption continued. At 70,000 miles April 2017 the engine seized and had to be towed to dealer. Was told I need a new engine that would cost $6800. This 2.4L is know to have serious failure issues which include a recall issued September 2014

- Ed A., Wheeling, WV, US

problem #57

Mar 062017

Equinox LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,847 miles

I purchased the car in 2015 and car is 2010. I have only driven vehicle for just over 60,000 KM and just at 1.5 years, car has been burning oil like no tomorrow. Twice I went for servicing to discover that no oil was reading on the dip stick and oil changes were within 4-5 months from one another. One of the times was just recently even though I barely drive the vehicle.

I work and live downtown and I walk to and from work every day. Car is driven very little. Even though no oil was reading on the dip stick, no engine lights come on to indicate low or empty oil and oil life still reads at 24 % My motor plan purchased was for 36 months or 60,000 KM and low and behold, just after 60,000 KM, my engine fails but one should have seen the issue at the start but dealership looked past it. Its absolutely pathetic that after driving the vehicle for 2 years to the date and the engine is gone !

I stuck to my servicing from the day I purchased the vehicle until the day the engine died ! what was the point, the engine was maintained but it died anyway. I just had the car for servicing last week and then 1 week later, I am bringing the car back to the dealer as it will not start. This is just after the fuel injectors were cleaned and then spark plugs changed along with the regular servicing of oil and such. I drive the car 2 times in 7 days and when I go to start the car for the 3rd time in 7 days, it will not start and will not turnover!

The week that I put the car on an oil consumption plan, the engine dies ! How ironic and how ironic, just after the motor plan that covers bumper to bumper expires due to KM's. On top of it all, the majority of the KM driven were highway driving and the past year, the car sits in a parkade more times then its actually driven !

- Shannon A., Edmonton, AB, Canada

problem #56

Sep 202016

Equinox LTZ

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles

1 week after I bought this 2010 Equinox I had a 600.00 repair ,then oil consumption problem where Chevy replaced the engine, I have had tie rods bushing, brakes, bearings, cracked manafold repaired now it's in the shop for a front differential replacement !! IT HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PURE AGRAVATING HELL!!!! I used to BELEIVE in CHEVY AND WOULD BUY NOTHING BUT A GMC, THIS HAS CHANGED MY MIND !!

- Cindy B., Rockford, IL, USA

problem #55

Apr 012015

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I always get my oil changed on time at my dealership. I noticed a knocking sound about 2000 miles into one of my oil changes. I checked it and it was dry of oil. I thought that maybe someone forgot to put the plug back in when they changed the oil. I put oil in it and brought it back to the dealership. They checked it out and said everything was fine. The technician told me that it was normal for an older vehicle to use some oil.......it wasn't even 5 years old and it was DRY! After about 2,000 miles, it did it again, the engine knock was so loud, I though something was going to shoot out of the engine. I called the dealership and the technician then told me not to worry because there was always a few quarts of oil in the oil pan even if it wasn't touching the stick. I guess because I was a girl, they thought I didn't know anything.

I Googled the issue and found that there was an extended warranty up to 120,000 miles on this issue because there was a flaw in the engine and this issue was very common with this vehicle. I produced my findings to the tech and then I had to do an Oil Consumption Test. I had to come in every 1000 miles to see how much oil it had used. The dealership did an engine rebuild and replaced the rings and several other parts.

My thing is, if there is a flaw in the engine and they replaced the parts, how do I know that the issue wont return after the 120,000 miles and then I have to spend over $5,000 to replace engine? I'm getting close the 120,000 miles and now everything else in the car is breaking. Never again Equinox, never again.

- Ruby D., Reidsville, GA, USA

problem #54

Jun 292016

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,500 miles

Bought the vehicle from CarMax in April 2015, just a little over 1 year ago. In December 2015 (just 8 months into owning it), we were told it had a leaking head gasket that was causing oil to spew. GM was "nice" and allowed us a deductible since it was just barely outside of the 5 year powertrain...$2000 to replace the head gasket and timing kit. Started having problems with it running hard and stuttering. I kept getting told that it just burns through a lot of oil. Every time I took it to get the oil changed, they told me I was a quart or more low on oil, but there was no leak. Replaced spark plugs which were worn. Again, running rough and stuttering. Took it to my local mechanic who ruled out transmission, but suggested we take it back to Chevy since they did so much work on it before. Took it to Chevy, who told me that there are 5 OPEN SPECIAL COVERAGES on it! One of which is excessive oil consumption! Took it in for their oil consumption test, and it wasn't deemed excessive yet. Therefore, Chevy won't fix it. What's the fix? Replace the pistons. The pistons!!!! So, I basically have to wait until it starts going through quarts and quarts of oil and further destroy the engine. They did, however, replace the engine balancing chain, timing chain (again), and high pressure fuel pump. It's so upsetting. We don't have a lot of money to throw around in the first place. I will never buy another Chevy ever again. Please don't buy the 2010. There is no lemon law for used cars in our state. It's upsetting to know that Chevy KNOWS this is a crappy engine, but refuses to do the repair unless it's to the point of being dangerous.

- christys, Bealeton, VA, USA

problem #53

Apr 222016

Equinox LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Took the car in at 3800 miles, it was making a lot of noise. No 'idiot' lights came on or anything. Mechanic said engine will make that kind of noise when there is no oil in the engine. Got the Oil change- How can 3800 miles burn all the oil. Took it back for a check at 967 miles, needed another quart. Just took in again at 1016 and needed another quart.

- Dorothy S., Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #52

Nov 172015

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

Surprised that a vehicle purchased for the fuel economy consumed so much oil. Getting it changed/checked every 10 days - 2 weeks

- audnj, High Bridge, NJ, USA

problem #51

Sep 162015

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

It started to happen at about 75000 miles, GM had extended the warranty to 10yr /100,000 miles but would not replace the engine. The dealership would keep a log of the oil use. In the summer months it used a quart every 2k miles, in the winter months it only had a quart left after 2k miles. They talked me into some minor repairs that might fix it, but it never did. When it hit 100,000 miles, we traded it in on a different vehicle, problem solved!

- joeyspcs, Wadena, MN, USA

problem #50

Apr 012016

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,232 miles

It started with an oil consumption recall, which I had to bring my car back every 1000 miles for 4000. As someone who works, this can be tough. If you miss going at exactly 1000 and don't get the car back to the dealership until 1200, you have to start over again........ F THIS...

So, from this delay-with something that just should be fixed,, since it is a recall- My catalytic converter went.. I was told one had nothing to do with the other, I call BS. All work together and the over heating and burning of oil had to have played into this issue. Under 100, 000 miles and they want me to spend 2100 for it on my pre-owned Equinox. No thanks and I will never purchase another Chevy..

- Douglas W., Turnersville, NJ, USA

problem #49

Apr 202016

Equinox LTZ V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

In January I had to have the engine replaced due to the timing chain being stressed. But ever since I bought this car (March 2014) it's been burning through oil, I get an oil change every 3,000 miles, but beforehand I have to add 1 to 2 quarts because it's low. Now this Jan 31, 2016 after I replaced the engine the check engine light kept coming on and driving very rough and loud. I brought to Gengras Chevy in East Hartford CT on March 21, 2016 because it was driving rough and loud and kept stalling, they said it was low on oil and that’s why it was doing that, I paid $168.23 for the diagnostics and an oil change (and that is with a discount they gave me because they broke the latch to my center armrest last time it was in the shop). Then 1 month later it is doing the same thing but more frequently, it cut off on me 10 times while driving home in rush hour traffic. I brought it directly to the dealer on April 20, 2016 and today (4/22) they said they have to replace the cylinder pistons and rings (but it's covered under some special factory warranty that’s up to 120,000 miles), and that due to that the cam shaft actuators need to be replaced and they need to do something to the timing chain but that isn't covered by warranty and will cost me $480.

- Tonya V., East Hartford, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?