ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Print this page

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,749 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chevrolet Impala engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chevrolet Impala Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Feb 252016

Impala

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Throttle arm replaced for third time

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #52

Jan 192016

Impala

  • 145,000 miles
The antifreezes it gum up the motor the orange antifreezes.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #51

Oct 232015

Impala

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but details of the diagnostic testing could not be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 170,000.

- Fairhaven, NJ, USA

problem #50

Oct 122015

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 20 mph, "service stabilitrac and traction control, may lose some engine power." Was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the line that goes to the accelerator pedal needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact did not attempt to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who diagnosed that the line that goes to the oil sensor was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000....updated 01/20/16 updated 02/05/16

- Fairport Harbor, OH, USA

problem #49

Sep 192015

Impala 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. While driving at approximately 75 mph, the vehicle stalled and the traction control and the check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that after the failure occurred, the service electronic stability control, the engine power reduced, and the throttle body disabled warning lights displayed across the instrument panel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 74,000. Updated 11/03/15.

- Billings , MT, USA

problem #48

Mar 052014

Impala

  • 60,700 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the reduced engine power warning lamp and the service stability traction control warning lamp illuminated. Each time the failure recurred, the speed decreased to less than 20 mph and the vehicle shook and vibrated abnormally. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who replaced the throttle body position sensor. The manufacturer stated that the accelerator pedal position sensor was to be replaced in a special condition coverage customer satisfaction campaign. The failure did not recur from the dealer's repair which was over a year ago. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,700.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #47

Jun 282015

Impala

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on a highway, traction control warning came on, then a warning that engine power reduced, the car slowed down from 65 to 0 in about 10 seconds. I was able to pull over to the shoulder to avoid getting hit, and shut the car off. When I tried to restart the car, it would not turn over. I sat there for about 10 minutes and tried to start the car again. I was able to start it and get going again finally, but was very nervous to drive on the highway especially since I had my grandchild in the car with me and cars were behind me. The sudden loss of power to the car could have ended up tragically.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #46

Jan 062015

Impala

  • 77,000 miles
Starting in Dec 2014 while driving at random speeds, the 2010 Chevy Impala will jerk hard and then the traction control light will come on. Upon this happening, the reduce engine speed appears in the display as well as service traction control, and service stability. This has been happening with various speeds and various weather conditions. If you pull over and turn car off for about 5 minutes, it will start right back up and engine reduced will no longer be on the display.

- Mt Vernon, IL, USA

problem #45

Jan 052015

Impala

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and all of the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000.

- Amanda, OH, USA

problem #44

Dec 172014

Impala

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle was diagnosed with a faulty engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 121,000.

- East Charlesburg, PA, USA

problem #43

Jan 062015

Impala

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I was driving to work my car suddenly lost its traction control, the engine went to have power and the check engine light came on. It happens very fast, and now my car wont go over 40 miles per hour. I research on the internet I see lots of people having this problem so I wanted to report it.

- Amanda , OH, USA

problem #42

Dec 052011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the check engine and stability control warning lights illuminated. The contact mentioned that the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The contact would have to restart the vehicle in order for it to resume normal operation. In addition, the air bag warning light would illuminate sporadically. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. Updated 3/12/15 updated 03/26/15.

- Bensenville, IL, USA

problem #41

Nov 122014

Impala

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 60 mph, the service stabili track control and engine power reduced warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle stalled. The failure occurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #40

Jun 032014

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
Traction control light and engine reduce speed light came on and car started stutter and slow down on the highway. Replace throttle body twice and replace gas pedal sensor.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #39

Sep 232014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 81,060 miles
The car experienced a reduction in power and the engine began making a "knocking" noise. The check engine light came on as well as a "reduced engine power, service traction control" alert.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #38

Oct 282010

Impala

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact indicated that the vehicle stalled intermittently. The vehicle was taken to various independent mechanics who were not able to replicate or diagnose the failure. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for the recall repair. The dealer was unable to provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #37

May 022014

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled. In addition, the contact stated that the key failed to turn in the ignition on several occasions. The vehicle wad taken to the dealer several times but the failure was unable to be replicated. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V355000 (electrical system ) and stated that the part was not available to complete the repair. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #36

Aug 282014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
After an attempt to start the vehicle, the ignition would not turn over. Several attempts to start the vehicle were made to no avail.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #35

Aug 222014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the key was difficult to turn and the engine stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number 14V355000 (electrical system). The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 10/2/14

- Kyles Ford , TN, USA

problem #34

Aug 192014

Impala 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
My family was driving down the interstate at 70 mph, all of the sudden these messages started to appear on the message center. Engine power has been reduced, something about traction control and another message that I can not remember. The car then lost all power, it shut off completely. We did make it over to the "slow" lane, but there we sat on the interstate with traffic all around us. The car would not start!!! need less to my girls and my self were terrified that we would be hit. After about 10 minutes the car did start again and we made it to our destination. The messages are not displaying now, but the engine light is still. I am taking it to the shop today. What will it take before GM does something about this"????"

- Rocky Gap , VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?