Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,622 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments

problem #16

Feb 282014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 12,099 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my vehicle and it made a loud noise/ sound like it came from the heating and cooling vent inside. I went to the store and the key was stuck in the ignition. I got it out. Start the card after I left the store. The car speed was 10 mph to 25 mph with no meter moving for the gas, thermostat, there was no electricity. Triple a pick up my vehicle on February 27, 2014. Weber Chevrolet replaced cylinder and ignition switch. The total cost was $854.22. I had this ignition switch replaced for the 3rd time. I would like to have and refund on my ignition switch.

- Overland, MO, USA

problem #15

Apr 052007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 62,269 miles
4-2007 gas was pooling around engine, replaced intake gasket, next time I drove car, same problem, they had to do over ( their dime) because failed to replace O-ring. 9-06-07 would not start at gas station, 9-13-07 pass lock sys. Installed ignition switch lock cylinder. 11-13-09 turn signals, tail lights not working, between 11-13-09 @ 4-07-2010, I have been back several times, because signals failed off and on while driving. Told me, they could not do anything until they could see it fail, which it did on 4-07-2010 while I was close to shop. Flasher switch/relay bad, replaced. 6-10-10 harmonic balancer worn and serpentine belt & seal replaced. 2-23-12 water pump leaking, replaced. 6-14-12 replaced sparks plugs, wires, complete injection flush. 9-14-2012 strong fuel smell (fumes) inside car and under hood, performed fuel leak test, no visual signs of fuel leak. Checked vent canister, gas cap, no fuel codes. Have been fumes several times since but by the time I drove to shop could not smell fumes. 4-22-13 fumes very strong inside car and under hood, drove to shop and they could smell fumes, put it up on rack and checked all underneath, no sign of leak under car or under hood. No one can tell me what the problem is but say process of elimination is only way. Why on 6-10-2010 need to replace serpentine belt and seal and again on 2-08-2013 remove and replace serpentine belt and belt tensioner"? when this car reached 62,000 I have had nothing but trouble with it and now I am afraid of a fire, gas is leaking somewhere!!!! I only have 97,461 miles. Is not there some way or someone who can find origin of the fuel leak"

- Hermiston, OR, USA

problem #14

Jul 242010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 147,257 miles
I have a 2000 Chevy Malibu. It has something called the passlock system or theft system and it prevents the car from starting. It prevents the car from starting all the time. This isn't the first time you have received this complaint I bet. I have put an extra $2000 into the car after I brought it hoping it would fix it but I still have the problem. I have read on-line and everyone who owns a 96 and up GM car has this problem. Everyone says GM doesn't care about this problem and they won't fix it. They say this is the only way to get them to fix it. If we complain on here. Please make them fix this problem with their cars because you would save over 1,000,000 people time and frustration. No joke, literally 1,000,000 people have this problem. This is why they went bankrupt. GM sucks. This is why America sucks as a nation. We have to complain on here to fix our problems. No offense to you. I don't have enough money to by another car, as most people with this problem. Please do the right thing and make GM fix it. I know it is not the american way to give the people what they want but maybe this time we can make an exception. Please help all of us who would love to buy a different car but don't have the money. Thank you.

- Hawk Point, MO, USA

problem #13

Sep 302010

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 141,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Sept. 29, 2010, I bought a 2000 Chevy Malibu in NY from a NJ dealer, the next day I noticed the check engine light on, so I took the car to a mechanic who told me that there was an issue with the gas emissions. I paid him to do a special emissions gas treatment, the check engine light remained on. The same car also has exterior lighting issues (the turn signals sporadically work and suddenly stop without warning and the emergency blinkers won't work either), I submitted this issue in a complaint on this website NHTSA.dot.gov on yesterday Oct. 22, 2010. However I am submitting this because it is possibly related to the recall gas tank issues of this make, model and year car.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #12

Jul 152008

Malibu

  • 6,000 miles
This is a nice car, only one complaint this car burns too much fuel. It's been tuned up and it stills burns a lot of fuel ! ! !

- Mansura, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Nov 252007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While we were driving our 2000 Chevrolet Malibu had a sudden failure of some component in the gasoline storage or delivery system. We smelled gas and saw it being spilled on the road behind us. We pulled over, cut off and exited the car. Within 30 seconds of exiting the car, it burst into flames and was completely destroyed by fire. Fortunately no one was burned or hurt, but the potential for catastrophic injury was apparent. The vehicle was a total loss.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #10

Jun 202007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that she has had to replace the vehicle's fuel filter on several occasions. The first time was shortly after the vehicle was purchased. The most recent fuel filter change was on June 20, 2007 and it now has to be replaced again on July 17, 2007. There is a safety recall on the fuel filter, but she does not know if it applies to her VIN. The purchase date and recall number were unknown. The current mileage is 120,000 and failure mileage was 30,000.

- Chisago City, MN, USA

problem #9

Feb 052000

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
I have been having problems with my hazard lights as well as turning signals. They have been replaced since the last recall, but have went out again. I also have been having problems with my fuel line, such as my vehicle not wanting to accelerate, it seems that it idles at a intersection light with the RPM's going up to the 2 or 3 then acting as if it wants to shut off. I had the fuel line replaced not even thirty days after purchasing the vehicle. I purchased the vehicle Jan of 2000, and I did see some investigation concerning the fuel line months prior to the purchase. My vehicle stopped on the side of the highway, and my vehicle was towed to a chevorlet dealer outside of lansing near lake odessa. I at that time was not charged for this fuel pump which they did try to charge but because it happened within the thirty days they replaced the fuel pump at no charge. I do see on this site that this vehicle a 2000 Chevy Malibu has been investigated due to fuel problems so I hoping this was looked into properly and brought to the surface once again because my pump was changed in 2000 and has been giving me problem since 2002. I have had tune-ups, transmission changed, routine oil changes, fuel line cleaned, diagnosis ran, and the results are nothing I'm hoping to get to the bottom of this before taking any documentation to a lawyer concerning a matter that has been brought to the surface but nothing done about it. Also I've took this vehicle back to the dealer where it was purchased and they can't find anything wrong with it. The question they ask is whether the check engine light has come on or not. I have all sensors checked out and that not the problem, but my gas leaves fast and I have a hard time accelerating on the residential streets as well as the high way. I also have been having to change the fuses in order for my horn and cigarette lighter to work. So someone please look into this because it's getting worse. Thanks for your time and consideration.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 302006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
: the contact stated if the gas tank is not kept above half full, the vehicle shuts off completely, and will not start again until at least 5 more gallons of gas is put in the tank. The vehicle has been taken to an independent mechanic, who changed the air and fuel filters. They can not determine the cause of the problem unless the vehicle is brought to the repair shop at the time the incident occurs. This has occurred more than 10 times while driving, and usually at speeds of 60 mph.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 232004

Malibu 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
I am the owner of a Chevrolet Malibu. This car is very dangerous and should be recalled. The car will shut off when driving speeds of 55 or more. I have had nothing but problems since I purchased this car. First, it was the intake manifold gasket. Second, it was something wrong with the fuel system. Third, the car quit on me and my daughter when we were driving on the express way going 60 miles per hour. We could have killed ourselves and someone else.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #6

Jun 152004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 30 mph vehicle completely stopped without warning. A dealer examined the vehicle and found that the fuel sensor malfunctioned.

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #5

Nov 022003

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
Intermittently when the brake pedal was applied, the brakes grabbed so hard that the entire vehicle vibrated severely. When this occurred, the vehicle failed to stop immediately. This resulted in extended stopping distance. The brake rotors warped. On one occasion this failure caused lost of control, in which the consumer almost crashed into an 18 wheeler, but was able to pull over to the medium. The dealership has acknowledged that there was a problem with the braking system, but was unable to correct the problem, and was now refusing to work on the vehicle. There was a rattle under the hood at the firewall area while the vehicle was in motion, the hose assembly was found rubbing under the vehicle, both front rotors had wore thin, the fuel pump sender did not hold the correct amount of fuel pressure, there was an open circuit in the 24X crank sensor, there was a rattle in the front suspension due to weak front lower control arms which were noisy (the right lower control arm was replaced), the coolant level sensor shorted, the water pump assembly leaked coolant, there was a vibration at highway speeds, hardware was bad and was loose in the caliper, rotor pulsation which was replaced per bulletin, the turn signal was inoperative, and the A/C had internal damage and would cut on and off.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #4

Mar 252004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,725 miles
My 2000 Malibu/4dr sedan would stop running while driving down the road. There would be no warning it would just stop. This cause all the power to stop working(steering, brakes). Taking the car to a GM dealer shop for repair, they connected the test equipment up and said they found no codes. I instructed them to take the car on a road test, when they did this the car stopped on them also. After researching this problem they found a tech bulletin(ref:replacement of fuel pickup screen and filter). After this repair the car now runs fine. It has 45725 miles at the time of trouble.

- Lakeview, OH, USA

problem #3

Feb 212001

Malibu

  • miles
Ses light illuminated due to secondary air injection pump seizure, dealer replaced, ses light also illuminated due to a spark plug being improperly installed.

- Bloomfiield, NY, USA

problem #2

Oct 222001

Malibu

  • miles
Bought my car new off show room floor and have had numerous problems since had it in for starting problems battery problems fuel problems window problems door lock problems engine noise engine oil leaks vibration problems brake problems dying problems popping noises in front end struts bottoming out rough ride and steering problems and so on too many to list all have had front end realigned stuts checked and repalced brakes checked and replaced wheel studs replaced fuel pump and float replaced pistons replaced battery replaced remote start system replaced alarm system replaced window regulator replaced front crank seal replaced alt checked and tested started checked still having fuel problems brake problems vibration ect had in this last week fo 6 days and when returned still having engine noise steering problems radio problems fuel problems and found impact mark on L/front of bumper one of dealers tech's hit something and now wanders to left left head light out of line and pushed back under fender hood out of line fenders bumpers driving lights and numerous other problems and damage possible that I am unable to detect at this time have contacted Chevy and complained have talked with dealer and still no responsibility taken and statements of we might have bruised it it has been wrecked now I amd paying good money for junk and want refund of all costs to me and the car taken back engines should not need to be overhauled at 14000 miles the car is 2 yaers old and acts like its 20 need responese and info to help resolve problems trying to have returned under lemon law uniform conformity act and magnuson-moss act car has become instrument that is substantially impaired and whose opperation is frought with apprehension sincerly unhappy and hurt consumer is the highway safty devision interested and going to do anything for all of us who are having problems or are we out of luck "???????" response requested

- Midvale, UT, USA

problem #1

Sep 222000

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When applying brakes at 40 mph vehicle shakes. Dealer replaced front rotors at 3000 miles. However, problems persisted, dealer did not replace rotors again. Last visit to dealer consumer was escorted off the lot. Dealer refused to look at vehicle. Consumer also states there is a fule systems problem, the fuel will splash back at consumer when filling up tank, and a lot of fuel spills on the ground, also the rear brakes in wet weather, howl when accelerating.

- Wellington, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?