2015 Chrysler 200 electrical problems: engine won't turn over, won't start

Engine Won't Turn Over, Won't Start

2015 Chrysler 200 (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chrysler dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
17,225 miles
Total Complaints:
21 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (19 reports)
  2. replace battery, repair wiring (1 reports)
  3. white spot inside driver door.wipe off and back in two days (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Chrysler 200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Nov 102015

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car has given me so many problems since I got in new. 6 months starter goes out then a recall ignition switch, then the starter went out again in 6 months and now the car in had another recall transaxle. So, needles to say I have now put my car in the shop again now they are putting in a new motor the car has 49,000 miles on it and I kept up with all my oil changes I just got a peace of sh*t. Never will I ever buy another Chrysler.

Update from Aug 29, 2017: so now the electrical component of the throttle quit working the car would not go more that 30mph. So it's in the shop again. I will never buy another Chrysler!

- , Round O, SC, USA

problem #20

Dec 192016

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Just got the car 3 days ago from Car City in Conway SC. Horrible. Between Chrysler making this piece of junk and the crooked car salesmen I feel helpless :( ............I broke my own rule shouldve stuck with a Nissian or Honda!

- , Florence, SC, USA

problem #19

Aug 012016

200 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,069 miles

Started with car wouldn't start and no lights...completely dead. Call roadside assistance, got a boost and drove it to dealership. They found 2 dead cells in the battery and replaced the battery. Next morning my car wouldn't start again but I had lights. Called roadside assistance got a boost and drove it back to dealership. They had my car for a week and discovered an issue with a wire. They replaced the wiring in that area and gave it back. My car sat for 3 weeks and again wouldn't start. Now I'm told the battery will only hold a charge for a month if not driven and with command start it will only last two weeks. I personally think this is a crock of sh*t. I have no doubt they have no idea as to why the battery won't hold a charge. I'm in Alberta and I'm thinking Chrysler Canada should buy back their lemon for what I paid for it.

- , Spruce Grove, AB, Canada

problem #18

Oct 292016

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car has had so many problems. I bought it brand new and been in rentals and abandoned waiting for tows. I want some compensation for my days off work ,time wasted and need a reliable car.

- , Middle River, MD, US

problem #17

Jul 012016

200 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,069 miles

A lemon...sensor issues, battery had dead cells, transmission lags and shifts harsh and now car won't start. Starting issue started July 2016. These issues started the same month I bought my car, Oct 2104, and has been one thing after another. I want my money back...I'm scared to drive it with all these ongoing electrical problems. My fear is that it's going to catch on fire like so many others have. Chrysler needs to be held accountable for these lemons they produce.

- , Spruce Grove, AB, Canada

problem #16

Nov 042016

200 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,077 miles

I HATE THIS CAR!!!!! IT'S NOT WORTH WHAT I'M PAYING MONTHLY FOR I DESERVE BETTER SOLUTION FROM CHYSLER.

- , Carson City, NV, USA

problem #15

Jul 292016

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,095 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

SO Ummm yea I got my car June 20 I STILL HAVE THE DAMN DEALER TAGS ON MY CAR!!!!! and yea it won't start at all . I mean my lights come on in the car but thats about it. I BROUGHT THIS CAR. It stalls out like the engine wants to turn over but does not have enough power to do so. I am currently blocking everyone in the house luckily I was at home when I discovered this problem. CAN YOU SAY THE WORST

- , Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #14

Jan 042016

200 LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,690 miles

The vehicle was turned on by remote start but as soon as we got inside the car shut off and when we tried to restart it it would just crank and crack, and they showed up on the display that we didn't have a key fob in the car. but we had both of the key fobs inside the vehicle, we have had many many problems with the car before but never had a problem with it starting.

- , Point Pleasant, WV, USA

problem #13

Jan 032016

200 Limited 1.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,155 miles

Car turned off , I attempted to restart five times but, would not start. Had to call roadside service, and get my car towed to dealership.

I'am very upset, for that car only has 13000 miles.

- , Orlando, FL, USA

problem #12

Aug 122015

200 C V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles

We were on a trip back from Seattle and stopped off in Oregon, spent the night, went out to load up and the car wouldn't turn over. Nothing, no sound, nada. Had to have it jumped.This continued to happen over a period 3 months where we had to jump it, then it just wouldn't even take the jump. Had Chrysler Roadside service tow it to the dealership, they "fixed" it, said it was due to a recall. OK fine, drove it home, got up the next morning and same problem, wouldn't start. Had it towed again, so the dealer has it still and has told me that the tech was on the phone with Chrysler because they couldn't figure out the problem. I have a rental that the dealership is paying for but IF they fix it I'm getting rid of the car!

- , Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #11

Oct 052015

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fitzgerald Auto is a rip off and they finally fixed my car yesterday 10/29/15 after 3 whole weeks. I told them I do not want the car and I will be calling the billing office because it's poor customer service. From Chrysler Corporate Adam Andler is giving me an extended warranty for transmission and engine or a free one month payment, mind you my payments are over $450 so what is that going to prove? Take your lemon of a car back and I don't want it anymore.

I have endured too much bad customer service on both ends, he couldn't even leave me a number to call him back on. Come to find out he was recording my conversations I was having with him. And Fitzgerald Auto is no better, loaner cars not worth a dime. Be careful, make sure you take pictures cause they will get you, crooks, people hanging up on you. I mean I'm a single black woman and it's ridiculous every time I needed a car I would always ask for a new one. Come to find out you give me a new one when you want to blame me for an accident that did not occur, but yet your representative took pictures of the car because a guy had the loaner car before me and then the representative is going to say he didn't do that or doesn't remember.

I'm so sick of this, it's ridiculous, take your car, get it off of my credit report and give me my MONEY BACK!!

- , Lexington Park, USA

problem #10

Sep 142015

200 C 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,245 miles

This is a new car. It cranked up when I left work, went 5 miles down road to my shop. When I went to leave it would not crank for anything, with key fob or the button on dash. Kept turning over and then it stopped completely. I had to ride home with my husband. He came the next day and it cranked when you used the fob. I have brought it back with me to work, hopefully it doesn't do it again. I am 1.5 hours from home and that is 3 hours a day on the road, not counting the 10.5 hrs that I work. I cannot have this happening. I do not know why it did this. It sounded like a starter trying to kick in but hangs up.

- , Hull, TX, USA

problem #9

Sep 182015

200 CO 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

the car is brand new and shouldn't have any problems i want a new car different model

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #8

Sep 182015

200 CO 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

pain in the ass I CAN'T START THIS CAR MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #7

Jul 142015

200 Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE CAR STALLS WITHOUT WARNING

The car has just over 10,000 miles on it.

The car stalled while driving down the road. July 13th, 2015. Was able to get over to the side of the road. After a while it restarted check engine lights were on. Got it to the dealer. The car was there 4 days. They said they had to re-program the computer.

We picked the car up and it worked until August 4th, 2015. The same problem happened. Got it to the dealer. They worked on it said there were computer pins not making good contact[service bulletin] They had car until August 10th.

We picked car up and it worked until August 17th. Same problem. We are in the process of getting this back into the dealer I have contacted Chrysler and the gave me a complaint number and a contact person. The contact person is not very responsive hide behind voice mail. Very dissatisfied with the Chrysler's response at this point

I will say the dealer is very responsive and concerned with the problem. They want it resolve and much as we do. The dealer could fix it if they are told what the problem is unfortunately it appears Chrysler is just guessing at this point.

- , Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #6

Feb 012015

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,200 miles

Push the ignition, "Service Park Tran Engaged Park Assist" comes on, all shifter lights comes on and the car is locked and does not want to start. Today is the 4th times I'm back to Chrysler. This is happening a lot lately and its very FRUSTRATING. The answer I get from the shop is perform flash and trans update. Then it happens again. I have a brand new car that I don't have faith whether or not its going to start. EGGGGGGG!!!!!! I asked the dealer if they can replace the car and I don't think I got an answer. Can anyone out there help me out?

- , Reno, NV, USA

problem #5

Apr 122015

200 Limited 4 cylinde

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,200 miles

I had this car since 1/30/2015. I was 7 hours from home and my wife and I got out of the car to go inside to eat. When we got back in the car and push the button to start the car, it was shuttering and then it would die. So after about 20 minutes of this it finely started and when I backed up the car died. Then tried starting the car again, got on the highway and it acted like it was gonna die again, however it didn't.

2 hours later stopped at gas station and I forgot and turned the car off and tried to turn the car back on and it just went click,click,click and then started.........I took the car to get checked today ,that's our only car and they didn't offer to give me a ride home or give me a loner car. I will never buy another car in this town again......

Update from May 22, 2015: I took the car to the dealer ford in Vernon Texas they said they didn't find any thing wrong with it. Well it has 4,200 miles on it now a thousand miles later and it did it again. I called the dealer ship in Vernon Texas were I bought it and told the service guy that it happen again and he placed me on hold and never came back to the phone.

- , Vernon, USA

problem #4

Mar 272015

200 S 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,025 miles

Car would not start. Starter would crank and all display lights worked. Acted as though it was not getting fuel. Roadside assistance towed it to dealer on this Friday evening. Monday afternoon I got a call to pick up my car, it started fine and they could find nothing wrong with it. I drove to work on Tuesday and that afternoon it would not start again. I had it towed to dealer again and this time when it arrived at the dealer I was there and had the service manager come outside to observe that it was not starting. As of today it is still in the shop.

- , Bristow, OK, USA

problem #3

Feb 112015

200 C 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles

car froze up not allowing it to start, had to call for a tow

- , Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #2

Dec 282014

200 200C V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

I have no major gripe, just yet. I am more intertested in if anyone esle is having trouble with this type of vehicle. Since this is my very first ever Chrysler car purchase, having it not start with 900 miles on it is not a selling point to indicate I made a smart choice. These cars have a lot of bells and whistles operating that just might be overwhleming the battery on a lot of short runs.

- , Greenville, WI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?