ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2015 Chrysler 200 transmission problems: shifts rough

Shifts Rough

2015 Chrysler 200 (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chrysler dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 Chrysler 200 carries the torch of "never buy the 1st year of a new vehicle generation" with pride.

The 2015 model year is the first year of the Chrysler 200's 2nd generation. It has been plagued by problems from the start. Transmission failure at extremely low mileage, many recalls, problems stalling while driving... the list goes on. Maybe Chrysler should have stuck with the 1st generation.

7.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
7,550 miles
Total Complaints:
25 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (19 reports)
  2. replace transmission (3 reports)
  3. update software (3 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Chrysler 200 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Feb 282015

200 S V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The reason I bought this car was to surprise my wife on Valentine Day. But as of today I am the one getting surprise every day. Since day one I had reported to Chrysler that this car is defective and a danger to the public. I have been told to take this car to the dealers for inspection numerous times. Every single time being told that the problem has been fixed (Lie). This car has had problems after problems, such as: Transmission, tires, tires sensors, recalls, head lights, Uconnect, electrical, steering wheel locked, and now a new one, the push to start won't recognize the key remote. Chrysler refuses to take it back or fix it.. Worse car ever.

- Cesar P., Lancaster, CA, US

problem #24

Nov 012015

200 S 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,800 miles

shifts rough, transmission failure into d, transmission jerk

After about a month of purchasing my Chrysler 200, I started having transmission problems. When my car would shift into 3rd gear it would shift hard and that would cause a jerking effect. I took my car to get looked about the problem. They "updated" the transmission and also told me that my car shifts like a manual. This problem was never resolved. A couple months later, my car started shift harshly in 5th gear, also making a click noise. I told the dealership about this problem and their answer stayed the same as to why is was happening. I made the effort to call Chrysler and made a claim. The issue still never got resolved.

- Maxwell G., Fulks Run, VA, USA

problem #23

Jun 162016

200 C 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,400 miles

SINCE WE HAVE HAD THIS CAR MAYBE SIX MONTHS THE TRANSMISSION HAS SHIFTED ERRATICALLY. NOW IT IS HESITATING TO PULL OUT, PLUS SHIFTING HARD. REVS UP AND DOWN, SHIFTS IN SECOND GEAR AROUND 30 MPH. DEALERSHIP HAS DONE A SOFTWARE UPDATE BUT HASN'T HELPED SO FAR. WANTS US TO DRIVE IT LONG ENOUGH TO LEARN OUR DRIVING HABITS? WIFE HAD ONE TIME WHEN THE CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT FROM 1ST GEAR WHILE PULLING INTO TRAFFIC. NEXT STEP IS TO TAKE IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP

Update from May 25, 2017: SINCE I FIRST LODGED MY COMPLAINT THIS CAR HAS ACCILERADED TO THE POINT I HAD TO HIT AND HOLD THE BRAKES AS HARD AS I COULD TO KEPT FROM BEING PULLED INTO A VERY BUSY INTERSECTION THIS IS ONE UNSAFE CAR HAD GENERAL MANAGER AT DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT FROM TELL ME HE CONSIDERED THEM UNSAFE AS HE HAD SEEN THE CARS LOCK THE WHEELS UP IN HIS PARKING LOT

Update from May 25, 2017: CAR HAS DROPPED IN VALUE TO THE POINT I LOST OVER $15000 JUST TO GET RID OF IT NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY A CHRYSLER

- Kenneth S., Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #22

Mar 192015

200 LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car hesitates when taking off and jerks hard when coming to stop. Took to dealership was told "this is how the car feels, nothing wrong with it". I will never buy Chrysler again, car is junk. Has so many other issues.

- Annette P., tignall, GA, USA

problem #21

Dec 012015

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,200 miles

I had just bought the car brand new back in late July/early August. Around December is when I noticed it was shifting rather rough. I assumed it was because it was cold and maybe I hadn't let it warm up enough. But as the past few months have gone on, it's gotten a lot worse. It use to only be when I was shifting in the first few gears (9-speed automatic transmission). But now it does it in the middle of the highway, while I'm accelerating. Not sure what's causing it, but it makes me uncomfortable. I am going to get it looked at, as soon as I can. But I came here to see if there were any recalls I should know about!

- cschobernd, Hardin, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 212015

200 Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,668 miles

Took my perfectly driving 200 in for an oil service and tire rotation. The dealer also stated there was a software update (no detailed explanation so I assumed it was the radio security) Nov 21th, 2015. I waited for the service to be completed and upon driving home noticed the car acting weird, the transmission was not down shifting correctly and lunging forward terribly.

I immediately contacted the dealership and they advised the software flash would take 1,000 miles-WHAT? Sounds like bull s**t to me but I drove it over 1500 miles for Christmas in IN with everyone riding along asking what the heck is wrong with my car! I contacted the dealer upon my return and after some excuses and a Service manger with an attitude it now goes back in Jan 9th, 2016 but they are already trying to blow it off.....Drove Perfect till my dealer and FCA screwed it up!

If they even attempt to tell me it needs to reflash or its my driving style I will immediately request a test drive in a new one and video it.

Update from Dec 31, 2015 FCA tells me my car had the TCM and PCM updated when the problem started.

Update from Feb 8, 2016 Well after two more visits......This car still does not down shift correctly without a lurch forward between 2nd and 1st. Some nice pieces of crap you have built in Detroit Chrysler!

Update from 2/25/16 FCA (Chrysler) customer assistance called me to inform me the rough shifting is a known problem and no repair is currently available but engineering is aware...Big whoopi! He did not offer a decent driving car until a fix is available nor a buyback. It may be legal time.

- Terry C., Manassas, VA, USA

problem #19

Jan 262016

200 Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,412 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please save your money and dont buy a chrysler because if they break they will not help you get a loaner car so you can get to work.

- Donald P., elkton, USA

problem #18

Feb 092016

200 LX 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 9,154 miles

I took the car in for hesitation and check engine light on. The dealer said that the computer needed to be reflashed. Had the work done. Still not working correctly

- rlc403r, Vancouver, WA, US

problem #17

Nov 192015

200 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,552 miles

I had a safety recall on my 200, take it to the dealer and had them Reprogram Module, Powertrain Control on Nov 18th, 2015. After I left the place the car started to act weird, the transmission is not shifting right or down shifting. Called the dealership again and asked to take a look at it. On Dec 2nd, 2015 they said they re did the transmission and advised me to drive it for two weeks to relearn driving (!). If it doesn't improve I have to take it back.

It is unfair for an owner who pays so much for a 2015 brand new car to get instead a vehicle with bad shifting, weird -acting tachometer and so. I do not understand how I ended up with a car that has nothing to do with what I test- drove when I bought it and I do not see any improvement as I am still driving it. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle anymore.

Update from Jan 15, 2016: Had my car in service for three days, first the dealership said "they are still trying to figure it out what's going on with my car" and that "they've contacted the factory", then they said they have performed another transmission flush and my car should be OK, problem solved. Well, it is NOT! I have taken the car to AAMCO for a complete inspection, I do not trust the dealership anymore. Once I get the results I will contact a lawyer.

Update from Jan 25, 2016: Had another software update done couple weeks ago, the car still jerks really bad at very low speeds. It is painful to drive it in traffic and even on the highway it seems like the transmission is slipping and it's not changing speeds right. I went back complaining about this problems to the dealer so many times and every single time I've got the same response: the 9 speeds transmission looks fine, there's no technical problems found and my car still needs to "re-learn driving". I am sick and tired of this whole situation.

Update from Apr 19, 2016: Months later, still stuck with the car and still having problems. It shifts and downshifts like crazy, it jerks now EVERY single time I come to a complete stop. It is an embarrassment in traffic, I have the feeling the other drivers can see the shaking and the craziness. I don't want to go back to the dealership because I already know what they are gonna say: the computer doesn't show anything, they cannot fix something they cannot SEE, blah, blah, blah. It's a shame people like me end up paying top dollar for something that was DESIGNED this way. Chrysler should let the customers know what's going on with this transmission before they agree to buy these cars.

- Doina I., Lisle, IL, USA

problem #16

Oct 242015

200 9 Speed

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

to anyone who has had their new car computer flashed and when you left the dealer it lunges forward when downshifting from 2 to first please email me. tampa6996@mail.com

I have been to the dealer 4 times now and they do not have a fix for it. They tried to replace my Transmission valve body, but that had no corrective action. I am going through the lemon process if Chrysler cant offer a replacement or buy it back.

- sanzoro, Aurora, CO, USA

problem #15

Aug 062015

200 Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First let me say, my complaints echo the same as many others. The main issue is the transmission is junk...it's just that simple. I had the car about 4 months before I took it in for an oil change, I was told at that time the car needed an update. The update was completed, and the car was never the same, in fact after the update the shop told me the car (which I had no prior issues with, I had even driven it across the country a couple weeks before) needed a new transmission due to it being faulty. Needless to say, I now enjoy frequent visits to the shop to complain about the car, and even I get to drive loaner cars from time to time, so the shop can attempt to do more "updates" to my car. I've lost track how many times they've attempted fixes for the transmission. Since the new transmission, the car shifts violently at times, usually in the first gears. Sometimes it hesitates then shifts, throwing you and your passengers into their seats.

I should also mention the other scary thing about this car....it loves to jet in reverse, and what I mean by jet, i mean it takes off like an actual rocket out of my garage or parking spot. I know to keep the brake on when I put the car in reverse to hold it back from blasting off, but why should I? This doesn't occur all the time, but it's alarming enough that I'm very cautious about going in reverse.

Oh and by the way, I have been told by the dealer and showed an email written by someone at Chrysler that there is no making these customers happy, this car is just the way it is...and that these issues will be more evident to customers in the cold weather. Don't buy one of these cars please!!

Update from Nov 23, 2015: First let me say, my complaints echo the same as many others. The main issue is the transmission is junk...it's just that simple. I had the car about 4 months before I took it in for an oil change, I was told at that time the car needed an update. The update was completed, and the car was never the same, in fact after the update the shop told me the car (which I had no prior issues with, I had even driven it across the country a couple weeks before) needed a new transmission due to it being faulty. Needless to say, I now enjoy frequent visits to the shop to complain about the car, and even I get to drive loaner cars from time to time, so the shop can attempt to do more "updates" to my car. I've lost track how many times they've attempted fixes for the transmission. Since the new transmission, the car shifts violently at times, usually in the first gears. Sometimes it hesitates then shifts, throwing you and your passengers into their seats.

I should also mention the other scary thing about this car....it loves to jet in reverse, and what I mean by jet, i mean it takes off like an actual rocket out of my garage or parking spot. I know to keep the brake on when I put the car in reverse to hold it back from blasting off, but why should I? This doesn't occur all the time, but it's alarming enough that I'm very cautious about going in reverse.

Oh and by the way, these issues are even more evident in the cold weather. Don't buy one of these cars please!!

- a_d, C, MN, USA

problem #14

Sep 052015

200 ES 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

So annoying when I am at a stop and try to accelerate the car won't go and then all of a sudden it jerks and takes off.

- Denise B., Akron, USA

problem #13

Aug 012015

200 Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

I bought this car brand new in February 2015. The car was great! I loved it... Not one thing wrong with it. Transmission was fine. Then one day I got a notice in the mail saying the transmission needed a software update. I scheduled an appointment and had it done as ASAP. That's when things took a dark turn.

Immediately after the update while driving home the transmission would shift extremely hard when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. I mean it was bad. I called the service department and they stated the transmission has to "learn" how I drive and give it 400 miles or so. 600 miles later the problem was still there. I took it back for service.

This time they gave the transmission two available software updates. Not only does it still shift crappy, but now it gives me the pleasure of lurching forward when it down shifts. Not to mention it slams in to 5th gear now too. Not as violently as 2nd gear, but it gets your attention. I was under the impression updates were a good thing. I wish I would've stayed away from the updates. Made things bad!! My car was fine until then, I figured the warranty would be void if I didn't get said updates.

- ptdanielsonpd, Savage, USA

problem #12

Aug 252015

200 S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,711 miles

click to see larger images

shifts rough

Obviously if you look at my history you will see I have nothing but multiple issues with this vehicle since purchase. I'm on record for having been to the dealership 15 times in 11months, for them. I'm very over owning a Chrysler product and will never purchase one again. Stay away!!! If you are thinking of it , don't run the other way. A very poor product despite its wonderful looks, you can slap lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig, that's the situation here with the 200's.

Update from Aug 27, 2015: Learned this new issue due to engine light again.

Update from Aug 27, 2015: Think it's time for all of us, 200's owners, to consider a class action lawsuit before someone gets killed driving a new car with so many defects. They at least owe us the courtesy of buying back our lemons, stop selling them to their next victims and fix it right before putting them back on the market.

- nevadalemon, Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #11

Jul 012015

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

When starting from stop or going at a very slow speed, the car will lurch/lunge. Also when doing higher speed limits and then take foot off the accelerator as the car slows between 55 and 50 the car also will lurch/lunge. The dealer reset all transmission values, allowing for us to drive it so the transmission can relearn our driving. Unfortunately, as soon as we were on the way home from the dealership, the car continued to do the same thing.

I've heard others have complained about this and that Chrysler is actively investigating this issue.

- pebo7215, Stillwater, MN, USA

problem #10

Mar 012015

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

After driving my 200 for about 2 to 3 months, the vehicle started jerking as it would shift gears. It seemed to do it when the car was cold and didn't do it all the time. Occassionally it would jerk violently when accelarating..I didn't take it in becasue I thought it would stop as the car broke in, and it was difficult to get off from work. Eventually, the car stoopped on me. (see other post).

- dpark66, Zion, IL, USA

problem #9

Apr 102015

200 Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,856 miles

Recall- updated software flashed tcm/ecm module. Still shifting hard after recall, no problems before recall!

- Anthony S., fort mill, SC, USA

problem #8

Jun 302015

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,380 miles

Brought it to the same dealer for the fourth time and they couldn't find any issues with the car. They said maybe it is the way the vehicle is. We have several cars we use that does the same thing your car does. They told me to pick it up it is something I have to get use to and deal with. Never ever go to Branhaven in Branford, CT. The service department is paying these jokers to do nothing. I am so angry with these guys they call techs. Send them back to school and certify them better.

- ginabct, West Haven, CT, USA

problem #7

Mar 152015

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,100 miles

I COMPLAINED TO THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE SHIFTING ISSUE ON THE 9 SPEED AUTOMATIC AND THEY MENTIONED THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE. I GOT IT DONE UNDER WARRANTY.

- ginabct, West Haven, CT, USA

problem #6

Jul 052014

200 Sport V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles

I bought the car on July 5, 2014. I noticed immediately that it shifted very rough. It would lunge and shift prematurely. I waited until the 4000 mile oil change figuring that sometimes transmissions need to learn your specific driving habits. It never learned. I reported this to the service person at the dealership. They said they would check the problem. They actually fixed it.

I was very happy up until the 12,000 mile oil change when they did the recall for a trans axle problem. They did the check and found that there wasn't a problem. The problem now is the transmission went back to the same problem it had when I first had the car. Now it not only shifts very roughly. As I go around corners from a stop the car lunges while shifting. It seems to shift at the wrong time. Not a smooth ride at all. Now I also hear a knocking sound when I go over small bumps. Like the shocks are failing.

I can't quite put my finger on the problem but something isn't right. It seems that after the recall check they must have done something. Like they reset the transmission to the original settings. It just doesn't feel right. I hesitate to go to the dealer until I can definitely identify the problem. I don't want to go there and have them tell me there is nothing wrong or that they can't identify what I am experiencing. I will bring it to the dealership soon. I am not enjoying my new car.

- Joseph A., Toms River, NJ, US

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?