9.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$436.00
Average Mileage:
85,418 miles
Total Complaints:
56 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (45 reports)
  2. replace win module (3 reports)
  3. new motor (2 reports)
  4. replace TIPM (2 reports)
  5. replace ABS module (1 reports)
  6. replace crankshaft sensor (1 reports)
2010 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Jun 132015

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2010 T&C in July 2014 and June 2015 the van started to stall while driving. The stalling never occurred on the freeway thankfully, but has occurred a number of times even after the WIN was replaced in September 2015.

- , Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #35

Feb 012015

Town & Country Touring 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

It's simple, had recall on the win module done twice, new egr valve, new throttle body. Van still stalls when you let off of the gas pedal and the engines is under min. load. Usually in a turn, loose power steering arm and power brakes, an accident is just waiting to happen, then I will go off. It's been like this for almost a year now, dealer says, good luck.

- , Windsor, ON, Canada

problem #34

Dec 202015

Town & Country Touring 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

FIRST STARTED IN DECEMBER AND IT CUT OFF A COUPLE OF TIMES. I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS JUST MISSING OR NEEDED PLUGS OR SOMETHING. THEN IN JANUARY IT HAPPENED MORE OFTEN AND THE CAR CUT OFF AND WOULD NOT START BACK UP. I WAS AT THE MALL AND HAD TO CALL MY HUSBAND AND AFTER ONE HOUR OF WAITING HE FINALLY GOT IT TO START. THEN IT CUT OFF AGAIN A COUPLE DAYS LATER AND I CALLED THE DEALER IN BERLIN. I TOOK IT IN AND THEY SAID THEY DID NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG BECAUSE MY ENGINE LIGHT WAS NOT ON. SO THEY SAID MY THURDDER WAS CLOGGED AND THEY CLEANED THAT OUT. AND I MAY NEED A NEW BATTERY. THAT COST ME 250.00. THE NEXT WEEK AFTER I GOT MY CAR BACK HOME IT CUT OFF TWICE AND I CALLED THE DEALER BACK AND BY THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. THEY CALLED TO TELL ME I NEEDED A TIPM A NEW BATTERY AND EGR- EXHAUSE RECIRCULATER VALUES NEEDED RELACING. TOTAL $2107.00. YOU CAN IMAGINE MY SHOCK WHEN I HEARD THIS SINCE THEY CLAIMED NOTHING WA WRONG JUST THE WEEK BEFORE. WELL SINCE I DID NOT HAVE THAT MONEY JUST LAYING AROUND THE HOUSE I WENT TO PICK MY CAR UP TON FIGURE WHAT WE WERE DOING NEXT. I CHECKED ON THE COMPUTER TO SEE WHAT KIND OF PART THIS WAS AND TO OUR SURPISE IT WAS A DEDFECT IN THE CHRYSLER MODELS.

I AM REALLY UPSET AND WOUNDER WHY THE COMPANY WOULD WANT TO CHARGE ME FOR SOMETHING THAT IS DEFECTED. DON'T KNOW WHERE TO GO FROM HERE.

- , Berlin, MD, USA

problem #33

Jan 082016

Town & Country Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,578 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At first, there was no knowledge or communication regard what is now known to be a widespread issue among many 2010 Town and Country owners. Therefore, it took 2 months to finally determine that it was in fact an issue that warranted a federally mandated recall. I received no communication about the issue from either Chrysler or the dealer. I was told that if I did receive such communication it would come in the form of a USPS mailed letter. Really? How can Chrysler prove it arrived at my house? How can I prove I didn't receive it? How about a robocall and/or an email instead? Low and behold, I get the mailed recall notice Friday, Jan. 8, 2016 -- two days after the issue was discovered and resolved by the dealer.

Now for the kudos. A service manager at Royal Gate Automotive Group, Ellisville, MO, by the name of Wendy Jacobson, embodies the very best in customer service and deserves high praise from both the dealer and Chrysler. This woman believed my complaint and completely understood the serious gravity of the issue from a safety perspective (when the engine dies at 70 mph, the power steering goes out and can easily cause a fatal crash). Ms. Jacobson demonstrated an outstanding attention to safety in a business environment that demands cost containment (this issue required dealer/manufacturer-paid resolution). I imagine the parts and labor costs are astronomical and Ms. Jacobson did not hesitate to own the problem on behalf of Chrysler and Royal Gate.

Moreover, she understood the extreme loss of confidence one would have in driving the vehicle until it was certain the problem was completely resolved. She and her team, including a service tech by the name of Marty, were thorough and responsive. They have brought my confidence in the safety of my car. Thank you Royal Gate and Wendy Jacobson.

- , Ballwin, MO, US

problem #32

Jan 112016

Town & Country LTD V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,613 miles

Seller :Chrysler / Fort Erie Ontario Canada

I wanted to inform you that a report has been made this morning with Transport Canada file # 2016-0088 And with Chrysler Canada file # 285-47284.

I explained to both above mentioned - of the details of the incidents with the 2010 Town and Country LTD that the power, while driving, shut off and the traction symbol on the dash came on for two seconds on three different occasions over the last eight days. The vehicle suddenly lost power with no steering, brakes or accelerator. The key was in the on position. So not the key turning to off position the cause ! I have nothing on the key but the steel ring It came with.

Yesterday while driving from McMaster hospital with wife and daughter - Drove 1/2 mile from Hospital and it happened / I called immediately and spoke to the dealer manager he suggested to bring it in asap and see if they could diagnose the errors.( They did not charge me to diagnose and they did try and figure out why this happened. ) The test drive by the mechanic the issue did not occur.

I left the dealers shop with a verbal quote to replace the ABS module and with no guarantee of re-occurrence. I felt that risk and danger to my family and others on the road was too high with no guarantee, and this point I have no confidence in the safety. And WOW, the power goes off like ticking time bomb ! No warning and obviously no real fix as I am learning from blogs today, re-occurrences are often !! And no explanation to why the vehicle went into a power off mode.

This is a hazard and after reading today so many same vintage year and model and 100's and possibly 1000's of other owners-- having the same issue. and after $ thousands and thousands of dollars spent to hopefully fix / not one person said it was completely resolved and some said that they had their fingers crossed that the latest fix will work !

How can Chrysler know this and still put out these repetitively flawed - potentially long term injury and or death - for sale and keep charging for repairs that don't work ! This problem is a benefit for the dealers and Manufacture / A Cash cow and potentially a death trap waiting to happen / Don't buy one ! really! DON'T

I called Chrysler Canada and offered to provide them my vehicle - and during my discussion this morning after they basically said they can't do anything for me, I suggested they consider the opportunity to investigate this issue and perhaps they could loan me a vehicle while they pin pointed the reason this occurred and get to the bottom of it! I regret to inform you that they declined.

Plan B / So what can I do? Sell it? Or store it until a real fix or recall comes available. That is not practical.

It would not be fair nor honorable for me sell this vehicle to another unknowing family and the possibility of them getting hurt or worse killed.

These vehicles have repetitive reported and unexpected power shuts down while driving and for no physical reason / like sliding or slipping and what a complete hazard of trying to navigate to a safe location on the side of the road This puts my family and other vehicles and pedestrians at risk. On the HWY rear or side impact is very probable when you have no power and no control. And lets face it most of the people who drive these vehicles are mothers taking kids to where they need to go.

Well FYI - The Report error # suggest that ABS module needs to be replaced which was explained to me controls a lot of functions and functions like a Brain ! The Traction control system is suppose to help you control your vehicle when your slipping on ice or a wet surface. well yesterday the TCS light came on and the road was dry and while traveling 45 -50 KM and in a split second lost power steering , power brakes and no acceleration. There was a utility truck that was stopped in front of me and it took pounding the Brake and pulling hard on the steering wheel to avoid a collision I stepped on the gas pedal and nothing.

I decided that the Brain transplant is not a complete solution but merely it is the recommended repair that hopefully resolves the issue and at my expense and with no guarantee. I am taking the car off the road and storing it for now.

I cannot understand why Chrysler would not be keen to further investigate and continue to let this happen and that really has my attention.

I do truly understand the position of the dealer they didn't build the Chrysler and can not afford to pay for the parts and labor to try and fix this dangerous issue - But they will sell you one.

Actually the staff at this dealer are very good and nice people and said they never heard of this happening before and Ill give them benefit of the doubt- I believe them.

But Chrysler without a doubt has many and many of times heard of this and There is a proven track record of this occurrence and enough is enough !! They had the nerve to say that they were unaware of this incident happening elsewhere. Shame on you Chrysler ! I always buy North American built vehicles.

FYI - Chrysler - said at this point they cannot do anything in efforts to resolve this and therefore I am now forced to take full action and will voice this issue to the fullest extent which will now include legal advice and action.

We took this vehicle to Florida and back a few weeks after and it was a purchased and this a beautiful vehicle and at the time a pleasure to drive. We all loved it and now- how can I take the chance to allow my wife and kids to be in that situation. I hoped for a better outcome. I am very concerned that it will likely take a fatality or a large group of complaints to get to a recall. My only choice left is to put nearly all of my time and my resources to the max and I am going try and reach out to my many contacts and social media / news papers in targeting the Chrysler factory towns both US and Canada.

I can assure that if all the people who experienced this both US and Canada - collectively could drive this issue to a head ! and rest assured this will go viral towards Chrysler and force their hand to do something or even better a strong legal hand and big fines ! My next step is to do my own controlled test and have it on video - when this issue re-occurs I will post it for everyone to see.

Public needs to know of the danger of driving a Chrysler TOWN AND COUNTRY and the manufacture will eventually have to address this safety hazard.

Sincerely

2010 Chrysler Town and Country / Black V-6 / DONT BUY ONE - You and your family lives may be saved if you don't .

Update from Jan 25, 2016: Chrysler Canada said no to any help what so ever. Dealer called and offered to replace the EGR Valve for $ 308 and said if it doesn't fix the issue to bring it back they will refund the money and I can trade in the T&C fro another brand of vehicle with no history of this issue. / So far after half of a week no re - occurrence /Originally they the Computer said the ABS module needed to be replaced. The Mechanic at the dealer looked into further and felt the ERG Valve is what he felt needs to be replaced. NOTE the Van was not running rough at an idle and I also updated my file with Transport Canada. / Another interesting comment from my insurance company about this situation was that if my vehicle was in an accident that was caused by power failure while driving and I that drove the car knowing that - that I may not be covered should the Van power fail while driving and an accident and or death occurred and that I would be the one who is liable.

- , Wainfleet, ON, Canada

problem #31

Oct 012014

Town & Country Touring 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Purchased used 2010 Town & Country Minivan in September 2014 with approximately 80,000 miles. Experienced intermittant stalling with and without traction control light at low speeds soon after starting. Happens more often now and I've learned the safest way to resolve issue in the moment is to put van in neutral, restart, and shift back to drive. This is still very dangerous since you do lose power steering and brakes and the stalling dramatically slows down vehicle putting you at risk to be hit from behind. Also, the vehicle had excessive oil consumption with a quart needed every 900 miles or so.

Mechanic stats that there is an internal oil leak causing an imbalance in the motor that can only be fixed with new motor. Extended warranty should cover most cost but will update soon with more details.

I have also been told many less expensive excuses but it is clear to the mechanics what the problem is and they just don't want to replace everyone's motor regardless of the risk. Don't pay out on these supposed solutions. It will not fix problem. Go to an outside mechanic and pay approximate $100 diagnostic charge.

- , Elgin, IL, USA

problem #30

Dec 182015

Town & Country Touring 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,532 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine stalling problem has been intermittent. On 12/18/2015 the engine stalled a total of 4 times. Prior stalls only occurred once in a while. This problem is very upsetting because Chrysler is unable to duplicate the problem. It is also a safety issue because the whole vehicle shuts down. It does however start right up after I put the transmission in park.

- , Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #29

Dec 032015

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

So we replaced the ABS module back in April b/c that is what the dealership said was the problem. Now they are telling me that it is the EGR valve. Really angry about this issue. This is a safety issue that Chrysler should deal with. Us families buy their products because we are hauling our kids around. Does someone have to die before this gets fixed?

- , Somerset, OH, USA

problem #28

Apr 152015

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Car would stall while driving. The traction control light would come on then the steering went out and the brakes went out. Once I got pulled off the road I would restart car and it would be fine. The stalling was intermittent with no rhyme or reason to when or why it happened. The Chrysler dealership replaced the ABS module and seemed to fix for six months till it happened again.

Update from Dec 10, 2015: Stalling again at 105000 miles. Now dealership is saying that it is the EGR valve. It seems after reading much on this online that this problem is a real problem that Chrysler has. I have three kids and this is very dangerous for me to have them in the car. Could cause a serious wreck.

- , Somerset, OH, USA

problem #27

Oct 082015

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Van died at low speed. Search found TIPM info. Chrysler recalled the Durango and Jeep for TIPM. There were 10 claims / 100K vehicles. Only 0.6 claims / 100K vehicles for the Town and Country. Fuel Pump Relay on the TIPM can cause stall or no start. If you have a stall, report it so Chrysler can see the claims.

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2014/08/23/automobiles/chrysler-owners-sound-off-on-defective-power-module.html?referer=

http://www.autosafety.org/sites/default/files/imce_staff_uploads/Chrysler%20TIPM%20-%20Gibbs%202nd%20Amended%20Complaint%205-14.pdf

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/acms/cs/jaxrs/download/doc/UCM483348/INFR-DP14004-62460.pdf

- , Maryville, TN, USA

problem #26

May 182015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Second time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #25

Nov 082015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,400 miles

This is the eighth time this car has stalled while driving. Only this time, rather than happening at low speed, I was going between 30-40 mph. Once I was able to coast to the side of the road, avoid being hit by traffic, I was able to re-start the car and continue driving.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #24

Nov 072015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,400 miles

Seventh time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #23

Nov 072015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,400 miles

Sixth time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #22

May 052015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

First time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #21

Aug 092015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,400 miles

Fifth time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #20

Jul 182015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

Fourth time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #19

Jun 142015

Town & Country Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

Third time this happened, right after the car had been started, driving in the neighborhood at low speed 5-10 mph. Engine completely shut off, no power steering, etc. Stopped the car, re-started and carried on.

- , Toledo, OH, US

problem #18

Sep 132015

Town & Country Touring Plus V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

As I was driving home, with heavy traffic behind me, I noticed a big rig behind me, I also noticed him riding my ass, so I decided to signal to get out into the next lane problem is the car stalled as we came to a red light, the big rig blowing his horn not very happy when the ;light turned green, all of a sudden everyone and their mother was beeping, and yelling, or screaming foul language at me because this Chrysler lemon broke down again, as I tried to restart it again it started up no problem. I went down a one way road to avoid the angry people and it did not do it again. That was yesterday, today my kids have school that are in college and once again stalled now I am pissed, Chrysler better fix this lemon God forbid anything happens with Chrysler one has to loose a life in order for them to rectify any issue. Any attorney interested in my case please help.

- , Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #17

Jul 122015

Town & Country Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

click to see larger images

engine stalls/shuts down while driving engine stalls/shuts down while driving

Purchased vehicle June 2015. Been a nightmare ever since. It was turning off in traffic twice a month. Now its twice a week. I am disgusted with Chrysler and how they have no regard for human life. We're a family of 6 (4 children included) and put in danger daily because Chrysler is too cheap and trifling to fix their worthless vehicles. Can't we start a class action suit?

- , Charlotte, NC, US

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?