Notes: A frustrating electrical issue is causing an ever-present “door ajar” warning light for 2011-2013 Ford Edge owners. Even with the doors latched shut, faulty sensors convince the vehicle’s computer they aren’t. With no way to override the system, owners have no choice but to stare at the warning light, listen to the warning chimes when the car is stopped, and deal with interior lights that won’t shut off.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,042 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Edge electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 1 of 20)

problem #391

Oct 172017


  • 62,000 miles


Interior lighting and review mirrors lighting. This vehicle lighting stays on for and extended period of time after the vehicle has been parked and removed the keys from the ignition. There are times when the lnterior lights will be on when parked or in a stationary position.

- Monetta, SC, USA

problem #390

Jun 172017


  • miles
Display panel: Door ajar indicator. Open and close the driver side door on several accounts and indicator light would not go out on the display panel. This indicator remains whether stationary or in motion.

- Monetta Sc, SC, USA

problem #389

Dec 262017


  • 78,000 miles
Car has been having electric issues for a while. Usually detected once trying to start. First issue is the back up camera. That no longer works while in reverse. Screen indicated it is not available. We also recently had to replace the shifting column. After a trip of driving coming to a full stop shifting to park the car would not stay on "park". it would not catch the gear unless the button on the shift column was toyed with a few times pressing on the button so car recognizes "park". it would search for "park" when car was off which would cause the battery to eventually die. We first purchased a battery thinking it's time to replace but once we did, it killed our battery again and then is when I knew I had to take it into Ford. $700+ to fix issue currently not recalled. This also forced us to buy jump starting cables before it was taken in. Car left us stranded a few times because of this. Dead battery:( third electric issue is that the bluetooth system doesn't always catch a device. Often the sync screen on the display will pull up with a loading bar. This happens randomly when starting car at times while in part.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #388

Dec 132017


  • 81,000 miles


The warning 'driver door is ajar' is displayed on the dashboard even though the door is closed. This is an intermittent problem. The warning is displayed once the car is started and will remain on while the car is running. The next time the car is started, the warning may or may not display but it does not change while the car is running. I would estimate that the warning is displayed about 1/2 of the time the car is started. If the warning is displayed, the interior lights stay on for an extended amount of time and the doors do not automatically lock. Once the car is turned off, the doors cannot be locked by pressing the right most two buttons of the door combination lock panel and the lights under the mirrors remain lit for an extended amount of time. It has been doing this for about 6 months. It does not seem to be impacted by temperature.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #387

Sep 012017


  • 80,000 miles
Door ajar sensor lights up for drivers door when it is securely shut. This makes the dome light stay on and constant warnings place unnecessary strain on battery. This is very dangerous to drive at night because the dome light stays on as well. Just purchased this car in July 2017 used and it began this issue in September 2017.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #386

Oct 222017


  • 40,266 miles
Door ajar light stays on even when door is closed. The issue is causing lights to stay on and draining battery. Alarm system cannot be activated because it will go off unexpectedly if it senses that the door has been opened.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #385

Oct 062017


  • miles


Faulty door latch sensor on rear driver side door. The door ajar light comes on when the door is fully closed causing the interior lights to come on as well. The interior light stay on even after the car is shut off causing draining of the battery. The door ajar light has even come on when driving. Problem started over a month ago and has been sporadically happening

- Lambertville, NJ, USA

problem #384

Sep 152017


  • 42,000 miles
09/15/2017 driver door ajar came on showing door was open. Closed door several times and it would go off. This happened several times until 10/10/2017. Now it won't go off and my doors wouldn't auto lock when in motion and wouldn't stay locked manually either. My dome ligh would stay on also. 10/16/2017 car would not start, battery was drained and no lights were left on. Called garage and jump started vehicle and took it in for repairs. Just got call that the battery and door ajar sensor will have to be replaced. It will cost almost $800 to fix. The warranty just expired on vehicle and that leaves me with the bill. I read numerous other complaints about the same vehicle and same problem. There should be a recall on this. It is a big safety issue especially when you have children and the doors won't stay locked.

- Nitro, WV, USA

problem #383

Oct 092017


  • miles
Door ajar stays

- Bay Minette, AL, USA

problem #382

Sep 282017


  • 62,500 miles
Drivers side door ajar sensor is defective. At about 60K miles, the driver door ajar light stays on. Slamming the door repeatedly over a dozen times will sometimes turn the lights off. After googling the issue I see that it's a problem for hundreds of Ford Edge owners between the years 2011-2013. This should be considered a serious recall issue. This is my wife's car and she drives our daughter to school and practice. When the door ajar light won't go out you cannot lock the doors. At night the interior lights won't turn off, so it's hard to see outside the vehicle and is an accident waiting to happen. If she's in an accident and the doors fly open, damage will be much worse. If she's at an intersection and a criminal opens her door because she can't lock the car it's on Ford. There's a lack of overall security and safety with this door ajar issue. This should be a recall. I am lucky enough to be able to afford the $439.95 we were charged to repair it, but those who aren't put the rest of us on the road at risk.

- Sarasota, FM, USA

problem #381

Sep 112017


  • 76,000 miles


Vehicle is stationary. Dash warning "driver's door is ajar". door is closed, but computer indicates the door is not closed. When this occurs, a warning light appears on the dash indicating "door is ajar". if I drive with that light on, another warning is displayed to "shift to park". when warning is on, the dome lights stay on. If I attempt to lock the car with the remote, the horn beeps twice (as opposed to once), indicating the doors are not locked.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #380

Sep 012017


  • 85,000 miles
The door ajar warning stays on when door is closed

- Tenants Harbor, ME, USA

problem #379

Jan 012016


  • miles
The drivers side of the car blows extremely hot no matter the temp setting. This has been happing for over a year now off and on. It started last winter when the passenger side blew icy cold no matter the temperature setting. My driver side door always shows ajar therefore my kicks will not engage while driving. This malfunctioned 2 years ago

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #378

Dec 152016


  • 103,000 miles
When you close the front driver's side door, the door ajar light remains on. All the interior lights still lit. They eventually go off once you start driving but when you stop it dings, telling you to put the vehicle in park due to the door being ajar. You can not lock any of the doors at all, which is a safety hazard. Due to this issue it can drain your battery if you don't shut the door over and over again until it registers the door is closed.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #377

Jun 012017


  • 104,000 miles
Door jar light remains on (drivers side rear door). Drains battery, causes interior light to turn on while driving. It's a known problem with the switches in the 2011-13 Ford Edge and Ford is doing nothing to fix the problem.

- Harrison, TN, USA

problem #376

Jul 052017


  • 60,000 miles
Door ajar light stays on even when door is closed. Interior lights stay on while driving, dangerous at night. Has already ran battery down and almost stranded. I purchased the vehicle new and never been mistreated and garage kept.

- Stanford, KY, USA

problem #375

Dec 022015


  • 90,000 miles
Driver's door latch is not registering as closed. Lights stay on, I cannot lock my doors. My battery dies if it is not "shut". a lot of money loss in batteries and time lost in standing in sometimes snow or rain for minutes trying to get it to register. Also, I have children and would prefer my child is unable to open their door while in motion. Purchased the car used in November 2015 and it started malfunctioning after a month. I find it shocking that there is not a recall on this. It is an obvious safety issue and very well known with dealerships and repair shops, but the fixing price is around $500.

- Delano, MN, USA

problem #374

Sep 142015


  • 32,000 miles
Driver door ajar warning stays on even after several attempts to close door.

- Bemidji, MN, USA

problem #373

Jun 192017

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,676 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Edge. Each time the passenger door was closed, the door ajar indicator illuminated. The door had to be opened and closed a couple of times in order for the warning indicator to go off. The vehicle was taken to boulevard Ford in lewes, Delaware where it was diagnosed that the sensor and latch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact stated that the failure occurred for two months. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 48,676....updated 10/23/17 updated 10/24/2017

- Milton, DE, USA

problem #372

Jun 122017


  • 33,000 miles
Driver's side door indicates open/ajar when closed. This leads to multiple problems -- doors won't lock, interior lights stay on, etc.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?