CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)

8.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,410
Average Mileage:
89,200 miles
Total Complaints:
27 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (9 reports)
  2. replace computer (7 reports)
  3. replace ECU (3 reports)
  4. replace engine (3 reports)
  5. pay for repairs on a 2005 no i want ford to or buy car back (1 reports)
  6. removed aftermarket alarm system (1 reports)
2005 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Nov 062018

Escape XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought car used, 117,551 miles 8/08/18. Trusted Ford as American car maker but have had constant problems which I have been fixing, & scrambling for rides to work. Very disappointed in car & it being TOTALLY unreliable.

After reading these comments, I fear driving it, if it starts. My daily drive is turnpike 70 mph. Replaced rail sensor (code it threw) fuel relay, fuel filter, and fuel pump. Morning after I installed pump, started & shut off again. Borrowed a car AGAIN. All the issues pointed @ a PATS problem. Used a different key next day, drove to work,home & out to run errands. .Started up to drive home started & chugged, stepping on gas has no effect. Cant afford to keep struggling with issues. Who buys a car to keep dumping cash into it & burdening people for rides?????? No wonder there has been one the parking lot where my co-worker picks me up..... w/flat tire for a month. How to ditch your carrrrr. Go to another state & leave it there.

Thanks FORD, I certainly wont believe in American made cars..Made a point to buy American, what a let down...Yes Ford should be held responsible for not backing the manufacturing and letting down a lot of trusting people. Im sure some people have been insured but are still unaware of cars deadly issues....FORD U SUCK!!!!!

- Janice K., Lansdale, PA, US

problem #26

Aug 302016

Escape XLT 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles

I was a hundred yards away from my house and the dashboard lit up with all possible warning lights, then the engine died, and refused to turn over. I was stopped at an intersection. When I got the car to the shop, they tried to turn the engine over with a breaker bar, and could not get it to turn. Having already planned to get a new vehicle in the near future, I went to the Toyota dealership the same day and left with a 4Runner.

I think it's worth noting that this car had been treated well with oil changes every 3,000 miles and regular maintenance and checkups. Oil was present in the engine and no other major issues seemed to be present before this one. Until this point I had considered a Ford F-150 as a viable option for a new car. I am now relatively convinced that I will not be persuaded to buy another Ford in the foreseeable future, until they learn that they must keep pace with foreign competition on quality and engineering

- Michael V., Fair Oaks, CA, US

problem #25

Oct 012015

Escape LX 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,602 miles

Ok I was driving and it just shut completely down after I found out my ignition coils was going bad and was about to replace it. well 2-3 months later I get it to crank with a phone call from a mechanic I paid to call, and boom my brand new ignition coil pops up in smoke under the hood. after I was happy that it had crunk up an was running again, so I changed it imediately and crank it up and same thing happens again. I can't keep buying and replacing coils on this thing since it's not paid off and in my bankruptcy I can't trade it in either. Why can't ford be held acountable for thjese and fix them at no charge. COME ON CAR COMPLAINTS MAKE THEM HELP US.

- Timothy S., Campbellsville, KY, US

problem #24

Jul 082014

Escape XLT 3.0V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In my opinion, the computer caused the problem due to a very deficient manufacturing of it. I had to carpool for about a week, and the warranty did not cover the problem. Although the car is ten years old now, it is really very low in mileage so as to face this kind of problem. FORD Motor Company should take this problem into account and call this model cars for recall.

- Rene M G., Miami, FL, US

problem #23

Aug 202015

Escape XLT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,980 miles

Last week I was driving down my street and the engine stalled. I was able to restart it and drove it about a 100 yards and parked it in my driveway.The next day I was at my childrens school waiting to pick them up idling in park and the car died. It started back up and ran fine. Today, while driving it died. It was very scary. Luckily there were no other cars near me. I coasted to a stop and restarted the car. It was very shaky. The car vibrated and the engine ran jerky not smooth, and sputtered as I drove it about 2 miles to my house. It is now parked there and when I start it the ECM light comes on.

- David W., Winter Park, FL, US

problem #22

Oct 242014

Escape

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,500 miles

Just bought a used Escape in August, everything checked out ok. I bought from original owner, low mileage (they upgraded). The car was driven from Florida to Philadelphia with no problems and it had its regular inspections. Suddenly on the road I experienced loud engine chugging over 45mph, a blinking check engine light (could barely be seen then it was off again), and so I immediately attempted to coast home (less than a mile away) to have a mechanic check it out during business hours. I didn't even make it home. The engine light went full and I lost power completely, with barely enough notice to pull off the highway. It was very unsafe. Then the car stalled out and would not restart for a long period of time. Took it to the mechanic the next day and they read me a long list of error codes that had been experienced, and all of them went back to this PCM problem, apparently, as described in TSB 10-18-10. Was told it would cost at least $2,000 to repair, and a second quote from another mechanic agreed.

I thought that the vehicle reacted rather sporadically rather than notifying me of an issue, and there should have been a recall if these engines can't even go 60,000-100,000 miles without becoming a hazard.

Update from Apr 24, 2015: I want this moved to computer_PCM_failure (91 complaints) instead of in the engine section.

- gator11, Westmont, NJ, US

problem #21

Nov 132014

Escape LXT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No hint that there was a problem before major mechanical problem. Dashboard lit up and immediately lost all power to car. My daughter managed to get car off the road. Would not start, had towed to mechanic. His report: computer fried, wiring harness burnt. Replaced computer, wiring harness, alternator (because diagnostic report showed problem), 3 coils bad, replaced all 6. Total repair cost $2,700.

Mechanic suggested I try putting claim in with insurance company since it involved computer burn but they said mechanical problem was the cause so no coverage.

I am writing Ford Motor Company to voice my concern but doubt it does any good.

- L D., Summerville, SC, US

problem #20

Nov 032014

Escape Limited 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

Well, I was driving to work as I do every day when all of the sudden I heard a "Pop" and my engine just stalled. I was in a lot of traffic, 2 lanes and I was in the left lane. All I could think about was to move over into the right lane and get off the road somehow. There was no power steering and I believe I could have had an accident if I wasn't strong enough to turn the steering wheel in order to get off the road. It was a very scary situation. However, I was able to get off the road and make a right turn at the next road and pull over.

So the first thing I did was open the hood and make sure nothing was on fire. I got back in the car turned the ignition and after a few seconds it started and I could tell it was only running on 4 cylinders instead of 6. I managed to get it to my mechanic. I could barely get it to go any faster than 25 MPH. Well anyway, come to find out later that 2 coils were cracked, which in turn fried the PCM, Then I find out my Catalytic Converter has to be replaced, then I need a new Mass Air Flow Sensor. After spending 2,400.00 Dollars, that I had to borrow, the car is still not running right. I'm Sick, Frustrated, angry, about to lose my job, what else? I always liked Fords, but I don't know now. Thanks for listening

- glennsom, Rancho Mirage, CA, US

problem #19

Aug 052014

Escape Limited 3.0L Vg

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

I was driving on freeway to pick my child from daycare when all the sudden the car stalled out. I had no warning was in bad traffic from a collision just up ahead when the car just died. I had no warning, no lights had been coming on. I had it towed to the shop and low and behold it is the computer and catalytic converter so far and the mechanic states he hasn't seen anything like this since car is in good shape. So far we are at $5000 just for the parts.

I have been reading a lot on this car and its problems people have come into and wonder why no recall has been issued. I was on freeway and could have been severely injured if I was hit. Anyone know of recalls to this problem? I mean it can't be normal wear and tear or for that matter why did I have notice of a problem from my system check.

I really feel a class action suit or recall is needed. I have no other car and a small child who requires medical attention on weekly basis and this was NOT an expense I had in mind. I am very good to my car so now what. Can't they look at this and make them recall it? Seriously, someone is gonna get hurt. I am gonna submit mechanics report everywhere once I get it and he completes. I can't afford repairs or a new car.

Update from Aug 8, 2014: we received our repair slip estimated at 6,000.00 For Computer, 6 coils , 6 spark plugs , 3 cats , gaskets and labor. Ford is being weenies about this when I call they nadethe original spark plugs to be quieter and ended up being the root problem of car. In case Ford needs good reason to do recall how does I fear driving after stalling no warning on freeway and have 3 people almost hit me on Tuesday at 130pm 8/5/14 check ktvu bay area news see what traffic was like yep could have been killed.

- Heather P., Concord, CA, US

problem #18

Jun 052014

Escape XLT 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles

I recently bought a 2005 Ford Escape. I only had it a month and the check engine light came on. I had it checked, the coil number 3 was showing up, had it fixed. [By the way it was also sputtering}. I got it back and it was still sputtering and then the check engine light came on again. I then replaced a coil pack.

About a month later, I was coming home from WalMart and was at a stop when the car cut off. Me and my seven year old daughter was in the car. Suppose I was going 60mph, I would have lost control of the vehicle. I have read that you can report problems like this to the NHTSA and if there is enough complaints that they will investigate it and from what I hear this problem is very common.

- Ashley P., Phenix City, AL, US

problem #17

Apr 262014

Escape LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,566 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have a 2005 Ford Escape on my out of town car stopped. Had it towed to the nearest town. Four coils are bad and it burned the circuit board or whatever you call it. I looked on here and it seems a lot of Escapes have the same problem. I see someone already pointed out no recall on this problem. They told me it would run like $80 for each coil plus $800 for the circuit board on top of labor if that's all that is wrong with it.

- lisacayla, Houston, TX, US

problem #16

Jul 162014

Escape Limited 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

Apparently this is a ongoing problem with these vehicles. I just bought the vehicle 6 days prior to the problem. Wad driving fine for 5 days. On day 6 I accelerated to 50mph and the dash lit up like a christmas tree and just stalled. No warning whatsoever. I brought it back to where I bought it and they said computer was fried. So now I'm still paying the loan on it while it sits in shop waiting for the part. Thought there would of been a recall on it considering amount of complaints.

- dragonsbane4381, Brick, NJ, US

problem #15

Nov 252013

Escape Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles

Ford knew that they put the wrong spark plugs in a number of 2005 & 2006 models including mine. They issued memo's to their stores, (which I have copies of) but NEVER sent a letter to the owners. The plugs burned to hot for the coil packs, and burned them out; which in turn burned the computer out; and the catalytic converters; and sensors, all for a set of faulty plugs :( I was able to get a few parts after market including the computer and the catalytic converters and only spent $3000.00 for repairs. This problem caused my car to quit while driving down the road, it could have ended in and accident. I reported it to Ford, and got a nice complaint number. Then I wrote them a letter and here is the last line of the letter they sent me " Thank you for contacting Ford Motor Co. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. WHAT????

My First and Last Ford!!!

- Mary O., Byron, MI, US

problem #14

Jul 022009

Escape XLT 3L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I bought this car in May of 2009. In July the engine misfired several times on a 400 mile trip. I was 80 miles from home when the engine shut off. I restarted the engine and 'limped' home...in second gear. The Ford dealership, where I purchased the car, diagnosed the problem. They said it was bad ignition coil packs. They estimated the repair to cost $2300... I had purchased an extended warranty from that dealership and the dealership said that the Ford warranty would not cover this... The extended warranty company also refused to honor the warranty also.

I told the dealership man that I would not be having them do the work,,,and he tried to charge me a fee for diagnosing the problem... I refused to pay that. I had the work done at an independent repair shop. Cost $1800. That shop showed me a Ford technical Service Bulletin on this issue but the dealership refused to help

The check engine light came on the next day....but I was out of money

- Bruce O., Hendersonville, TN, US

problem #13

Jul 202013

Escape 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,250 miles

I had already replaced 2 coils at 300 a whack. My car started chugging and running rough so I figured it was another coil. Was going to take it to the mechanic on Monday and the car just died. Would start up but could not go over 10 miles per hour. Had it towed to the garage and he called me with you blew out the computer and 3 coils? He can have the computer rebuilt and guaranteed for life if all 6 coils are replaced according to FORD. That is costing me 1600.00 dollars. If I wanted the new computer the part alone is 1100.00 and probably would have gone through the coils again. This car has had so many issues, never again will I buy a FORD!!

- jbrady, Methuen, MA, US

problem #12

Oct 132012

Escape XLT 2.3L Inline 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Filled up with gas on Friday evening. Escape had not exhibited any issues going home. Next evening, turned on ignition and the Escape starts running rough in the driveway. Within 10 sec. at idle, it went away and everything was fine. We thought is may have been the gas.

Drove for approx 10 miles and then it started running rough again and appeared to be losing power. CK Engine light came on and started flashing. Was on a busy interstate doing 70 mph and managed to get the car to the side of road on the shoulder. Turned off the engine. Waited 2 min. and started it again. Seemed just fine. No lights and not running rough. Proceeded back onto highway for about 2 miles. Escape started running rough again and power loss was noticeable. CK Engine light came on SOLID this time and as I started to pull off the highway onto the shoulder, once again the engine died. Tried to start 2 times for about 10 sec. to no avail.

Car was towed to Bob Allen Ford in Overland Park, KS. PCM ( power control module ) was fried according to service manager after spending a day " diagnosing " and running volt/ohm checks on everything. 1 of the 3 connectors to the PCM on the wiring harness was so melted it could not be used. They could not get any codes out of it so then the guessing game started.

They basically didn't know what was going on with the exception of first replacing the PCM for $1200 at Fords cost. Lucky for us, my daughter works for Ford. I called her and had her send the part over at HER PRICING of $820 total. Marcus, the service manager informed me a new wiring harness was now needed since the original one was melted by the PCM shorting out.

So, OPTION A.....get a junkyard to cut off the end for $50 and splice/heat shrink on to existing cable. Unfortunately the junk yards want $200 for the cable and didn't want to do that. So, OPTION B....spend $200 for the used cable, let the Ford tech. install it and then test the new PCM.

Got it installed, volt/ohm tested the harness and also tested the new PCM and everything looked good. Once they got the engine codes " reloaded " and tried to start it........guess what......4 coils were blown out and the car would barely run. Once again.....$120 EACH or about $750 at their prices. So yet 1 more call to my daughter for 4 coils at her discounted employee pricing.

So now were waiting to see what Sat. 10/17 will bring once they get them installed and try starting it one more time. I fully suspect a set of wiring and spark plugs will also turn up in this " open checkbook event " just as apparently most everyone else has had for the " FIX " to this NASTY problem with the '05 FORD Escape.

FORD is TOTALLY AWARE of this issue, even the service manager, Marcus looked up the warranty ( 80K and 8 years he told me ) on it and of course we bought ours in Sept. 2004 I believe and it is now October 2012 about 30 DAYS out of the " warranty period ", CONVENIENTLY I MIGHT ADD!

Ford should be very glad that there was not an accident at 70 mph. in this instance with the loss of power steering and no one was hurt or even killed due to their little " known problem " that they seem to have conveniently put on the " back burner " for the public ( their customers and REPEAT customers ) to shell out bucks due to their obvious PARTS FAILURES over and over.

I am keeping ALL of the paperwork on this little " open check book " EVENT with Ford as I smell a class action law suit brewing in the near future with their less than stellar " customer service " on this obvious RECALL event. Right now, we have spent about $650 at the dealer for " diagnostic tests, PCM reload with data, wiring harness replacement and another volt/ohm check, $200 wiring harness cable, $850 new PCM module and we obviously still are not done yet.

NOT ACCEPTABLE FORD and my wife and I will not be giving you ANY business in the future as my 4th Ford product in 15 years will now be something other than a Ford with 100K and a 10 year warranty from a competitor.

- rhumphre1, Overland Park, KS, US

problem #11

Jun 262012

Escape XL 3.0V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

Add another to the list. Costly repair of a known problem. I will not be buying a Ford ever again. I cannot believe they knew about this issue and moved on. Looking forward to the class action to recover the cost of repairs.

- Irvin C., Clermont, FL, US

problem #10

Apr 222011

Escape ES 6v

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

There was little warning. On the way home from the movies late one evening my Escape just cut out on the expressway. It wouldn't start again. I managed to get the dead metal off the road and into a store parking lot. Thank God it was all down hill.

The suv was towed to my mechanic. He quickly discovered it was a computer problem and it needed to be replaced. What was upsetting is that this is a common problem for this year of Escapes. My mechanic called the dealership expecting Ford had a recall or would do something to help since it's clearly a problem with this particular year. The guy at the dealership wasn't helpful or friendly.

Ford should at least offer the computer at a discount. It's only right that Ford take care of their customer since this is a common problem and a big mistake on its part. When shopping for a new suv I likely won't even consider a Ford. Before I buy another vehicle, I'll be sure to check online to discover how well the manufacturer took care of problems.

- troykentucky, Ta, KY, US

problem #9

Jun 042011

Escape Limited 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,914 miles

I have had myself and two other mechanics working on this thing.. Cars have become way overly complicated and in so become very untrustworthy. Auto company's should be way more responsible for the crap they have created...

- robtrucker, Orono, Ontario, canada

problem #8

Apr 272011

Escape V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

If I am on the freeway running 70 mph, get off the ramp and the engine stalls.

The oil has been changed, air filter, radiator fluid, battery good.

Still stalling out.

- Carrie A., Sebastian, FL, US

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?