2015 Ford Explorer exhaust system problems: exhaust smell in cabin

Exhaust Smell In Cabin

2015 Ford Explorer (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
20,634 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (23 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Ford Explorer exhaust system problems

exhaust system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford Explorer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Aug 082017

Explorer Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Every time I hit the accelerator there is a horrible exhaust smell, to the point of choking. This could cause a serious accident up to death.

- , Argyle, TX, US

problem #22

Aug 012017

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

Passenger cabin fills with exhaust odor during rapid acceleration.

- , Ottawa Hills, US

problem #21

Jun 152017

Explorer XLT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

I purchased a carbon monoxide detector in May after hearing the problem on the news and having some odd smells in my car. Since I put it in my car it has went off twice, once in June - I was in school and did not have time to take it into the shop so just rolled the windows down and kept going. Went off the second time August 5th with all of my family in the car. I let it air out, reset the detector, and it went off again. I just want them to find the fix.

- , Byars, OK, US

problem #20

Jul 072017

Explorer Sport 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took the truck in for normal maintenance and when I told them about the smell they keep the truck for four days. After getting it back we still have the smell. They know they have a problems and are not being proactive about it.

- , Largo, US

problem #19

May 152017

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,681 miles

Concerned because when mentioned to dealer at next service they dismissed as no problem...we have a 6 month old and 3 year old! They shouldn't be smelling fumes!!!

- , San Luis Obispo, CA, US

problem #18

Apr 202015

Explorer Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111 miles

The exhaust smell is really bad. I find myself having to put the windows down to get fresh air. I had to take it in to the ford dealership and they reprogrammed the HVAC, replaced the air extractors (both) rear molding. None of which fixed it at all! I have called back a few times to see if there was anything else that they could do. Each time they told me they have done all they can do. I think Ford should do something about it. Everyone I know that has one has the same problem.

- , Temple, US

problem #17

Aug 022017

Explorer Limited 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

exhaust smell in cabin exhaust smell in cabin exhaust smell in cabin exhaust smell in cabin exhaust smell in cabin

This is the second time,14 months after the first time, I've taken my Ford Explorer to the dealer due to a rotten egg smell. This time however it follows months of headaches and nausea, by myself! The week prior to making it to the dealership I had spent several hours in my vehicle with the windows up and front and rear air conditioning on. When I got home that evening I had blurred vision and an excruciating headache, I went to bed.

The next morning I woke up, excruciating headache still present, continued blurred vision, unable to look at anything on my phone and nausea which led to several hours of vomiting. My husband put it together that I had symptoms of low level carbon monoxide poisoning which would explain the nausea and headaches over the last several months as I would drive to college three days a week, spending and hour driving each way.

I purposely did not drive my Explorer for three days and the headache resolved as well as the blurred vision. On the 4th day I drove it to work and school and by the time I was home the headache and nausea were back!!! We took it to Gurley Leep Ford in South Bend Indiana where it was confirmed that AGAIN exhaust was leaking into the cabin area. They again recommended sealing the rear and replacing the exhaust but this time the cost was out of my pocket to a tune of $2500!!!! They advised Ford would not cover the cost of repair again!

- , Osceola, US

problem #16

Jul 262017

Explorer Limited 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,200 miles

Ongoing issue, last visit to dealer was on 7/26/2017 which was the 5th visit for this problem. We purchased our 2015 Explorer 12/2014 and have had an exhaust odor inside while driving. Exhaust odor is very strong while going up long grades and hills or if the engine is under a load over 3500 rpm such as accelerating onto the highway. It is even worse if the A/C is on and in re-circulation mode which should not be letting in the outside air. It is so strong that we have to roll the windows down to ventilate and we have had frequent headaches and light headedness while driving from all the fumes. We have had both TSB's completed which still have not solved our issue. On our 1st visit we were told nothing was wrong even though Ford has had a TSB on the issue and known since 2012. The next two times to the dealer, they did the TSB's. On the 4th visit they noted on our work order that odor may occur even with the repairs completed and did nothing else to try to resolve it. After another 300 miles and more headaches we took it back for the 5th visit on 7/26/2017 and they removed and resealed the rear spoiler per a Ford reps instructions. The dealer even had the nerve to tell us to not drive the car over 3500 RPM or use the re-circulation mode at all. So, we cannot basically use the car normally? Why did we purchase a new car? Just so I can have safety issues that my old car never had? At this point we are afraid to even drive the car as it really is just not safe and we STILL have the same issue, it is not resolved.

- , Las Vegas, US

problem #15

Oct 292015

Explorer Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles

I purchased this vehicle in October of 2015 and since that time, I have had nothing but issues with exhaust odor. It happens mostly under heavy acceleration or when putting a heavy load on the engine. When the smell comes in the cabin, it smells like rotten eggs or sulfur. I have contacted a dealer about the issue and was told it was normal for a new vehicle to have this type of smell. I have called multiple times since 2015 and was told the same thing time and time again.

Coming this week, I will contact my Ford Dealer again and will ask them to investigate Service Bulletin TSB 14-0130. Hopefully they will see this is an issue and attempt to resolve the problem.

- , Kingsport, US

problem #14

Jan 012017

Explorer XLT V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 14,000 miles

The potential of carbon monoxide poising is NOT to be taken lightly. This is potentially deadly, and I do not want to roll the dice or hope it doesn't happen to my family.

- , Concord, US

problem #13

Aug 302015

Explorer Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ALWAYS HAVE EXHAUST SMELL IN CABIN WHEN YOU PASS OR GET ONTO FREEWAY. HAVE COMPLAINED TO DEALERS AND SHOWED THE TSB 14-0130-- SEVERAL DEALERS KNOW ABOUT PROBLEM BUT HAVE NEVER FIXED OR REPAIRED ANY EXPLORER'S. LIVE IN TEXAS HILL COUNTRY NEAR SAN ANTONIA. LATELY(JULY 2017) AUSTIN POLICE HAD HAD SEVERAL OFFICERS OVERCOME BY CO IN THEIR EXPLORER PATROL CARS. WE LOVE THE EXPLORER BUT PROBABLY GOING TO TRADE OFF AND LET A DEALER DEAL WITH PROBLEM. FORD HAS GO TO CRAP HAVE ALWAYS DROVE THEIR VEHICLES, LEARNED A LESSON "ALWAYS DO A RECALL OR PROBLEM SEARCH WHEN LOOKING AT A VEHICLE" I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER THAN TRUST A DEALER 500 MILES OUT OF 36,0000 MILE WARRANTY DID NOT KNOW FOR SURE HOW TO FIX. SOMEONE IS GOING TO WRECK AND GET KILLED FROM CO . OR A CHILD IS GOING TO DIE FROM CO POISON FROM SETTING IN THEIR CAR SEAT ON A LONG TRIP.

- , Concan, US

problem #12

Feb 212017

Explorer Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,567 miles

Performed TSB 16-0166A muffler ASY Center and rear

Replace exhaust pre procedure 2 of TSB 16-0166

- , Chester, US

problem #11

Jun 202017

Explorer Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,192 miles

Ford service dept reports "No problem found". They suggested that I take it to a different Ford dealer since this is the 4th time my vehicle has been in for the same problem. They've done all the TSBs and therfe's nothing else they can do. I continue to smell this "sulfur" type smell in the vehicle cabin when I accelerate. I've documented 4 times since the last time I had it in for service on 6/20/17: 6/26/17 acceleration on interstate, 7/20/17 interstate acceleration, 7/22/17 interstate on ramp acceleration, and 7/23/17 noted when pulling onto a busy road from a stop.

- , Chester, US

problem #10

Sep 052014

Explorer Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

The exhaust of the fumes coming into the cabin occurs during full throttle applications, especially when merging onto highways or climbing steep inclines and since the start of the problem has been causing members of my family health problems such as asthma.

We have filed a complaint with Ford at least 3 times for which they held the vehicle 3-4 days for inspection, but found no discrepancy, We wonder why they can't smell it as it happens when it is being driven on the freeway and during instances mentioned above.

- , Rancho Cucamonga, CA, US

problem #9

Feb 012015

Explorer Limited 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 351 miles

My Explorer has had a problem with an exhaust smell in the cabin since I first bought it. I happened whenever I accelerated pretty hard (for example, in a hurry to pass someone on a two lane road). I looked around on the internet and found that others had complained about it too but Ford had done nothing. It was very annoying but I didn't think anything was going to be done about it and it only happened under certain circumstances, so I didn't make a big stink about it.

Yesterday, I received a notice in the mail asking if I had paid any money to get that problem fixed because lots of other people had that problem and there was a law suit being filed against Ford to get people reimbursed and to get the vehicles fixed that had not yet been fixed. Apparently, someone had passed out while driving and hit a tree because of the level of exhaust in the vehicle. I did some more research and found that there is a Technical Service Bulletin out (TSB 14-0130 ) which has a procedure for Ford technicians to follow to correct the problem. I don't understand why Ford has not notified me about this bulletin themselves. Seems like they wouldn't want someone to get killed from inhaling exhaust fumes while driving and then crashing as a result. I am currently trying to arrange for that TSB to be applied to my Explorer. If it really does get fixed, I'll come back here and update this post.

I do not know how many times this has happened over the last 2 years but it has happened many times. I cannot put one of these write ups in here for each occurrence. It happens enough that I can predict when it is going to happen because all I have to do is accelerate hard to make it happen.

- , Fort Walton Beach, FL, US

problem #8

Jun 012015

Explorer 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles

We have been smelling this terrible exhaust odor since we bought the 2015 Explorer. Especially when accelerating and with air conditioning on. Been to two different dealers to fix the problem. The Dealers sealed something at the back of the vehicle but still the smell is there. What will it take for Ford to fix the problem; when someone dies from the fumes? If I know this was going to happen, we would have bought another vehicle from another dealer and not a Ford.. We like the vehicle but might have to trade it in if not fixed soon???

- , Toccoa, US

problem #7

Aug 312015

Explorer V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12 miles

Happens regularly. Heavy acceleration and when air on are when it is the worst.

No fix. No recall.

- , Louisville, KY, US

problem #6

Jul 282015

Explorer XLT 3.5L, V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,900 miles

Purchased the Explorer new from Autonation Ford in Fort Lauderdale, FL. Exhaust smell hit us about two weeks after purchase when I had to accelerate to get into traffic. Took back five times with several repairs and TSB work overs. Fifth time Ford denied any smell and returned car. Filed Lemon Law in Florida and BBB did a terrible job representing us and helping with our case. There is a class action lawsuit and Ford lost so we may have a way to recoup our losses. Ford is being very stubborn on this issue, it's there it's real and someday someone is going to pass out and get killed. I guess they'll fix the problem them?

- , Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 122015

Explorer Sport 4wd 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 556 miles

At hard acceleration there is a horrible smell in the cabin. I did some research on a Explorer Forum and read if you turn on the air condition circulation the exhaust will not enter the cabin. Seems to work but as the owner of a $50,000 vehicle I should have to take some steps to prevent this form happening. Since its hot here in Southern LA I just keep the air recircualtion on.

- , River Ridge, LA, USA

problem #4

Aug 032016

Explorer XLT 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

The car will be going back to Ford for the final time as a recent trip from Naples to Orlando with my grandchildren was a nightmare. Will not accept this death trap back until the dealer can demonstrate that the car is fixed.

- , Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?